Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Barkly Highway

Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 11:35

2 grey nomads

Hi, Is there anyone who can tell us the condition of the Barkly Highway from Mount Isa to Camooweal? We last travelled on this stretch of road in October 2005 and it was very narrow and not ideal to have to pull off with a caravan on the back when came the especially in the wet. They were installing bridges and I think widening the road so my question is Is it finished? We are looking at going from Queensland to Darwin and back to Adelaide in August/ September this year.
ThreadID: 57256 Replies: 8
Views: 568 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 301970   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 11:58

Member - Puffin (NT) replied:

G'day grey nomads,

The road works have finished and the road is excellent. We are travelling in the opposite direction in late July on our way to Caloundra. Have a great trip.

Puffin
Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 568041   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 13:14

2 grey nomads posted:

Hi Puffin
Thanks for the info. Which way do you go to Coloundra and do you know if all the roads are good. We will be spending time in Tin Can Bay with family before heading to Darwin and we are trying to work out the best route.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 568045   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 14:19

Member - Puffin (NT) posted:

We're going through Mt Isa, Cloncurry, Winton, Longreach, Barcaldine , across to Rocky and straight down the Bruce Highway to Caloundra. Friends have returned from Bundaberg recently and roads were ok.

Puffin
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 301974   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 12:49

Baz & Pud (Tassie) replied:

Gday 2gn's
Travelled from Barkly Homestead to Mt Isa some 18 months ago with 18' van in tow, road great, no problems at all.

Baz
The Dutchmans Stern Con Park near Quorn
Click Image to Enlarge
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.
Reply 2 of 8
AnswerID: 301977   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 13:09

Ozrover replied:

Barkly Highway was good as of two months ago, Expensive fuel at the homestead $2+ for diesel!
The Devils Marbles
Click Image to Enlarge
Jeff@MtDare

"Better to burn out than fade away!"
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 301978   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 13:09

Ozrover replied:

Barkly Highway was good as of two months ago, Expensive fuel at the homestead $2+ for diesel!
The Devils Marbles
Click Image to Enlarge
Jeff@MtDare

"Better to burn out than fade away!"
Reply 4 of 8
Activities Index
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 'Private Charter' 4WD Ecotour
Blue Mountains - NSW
Discover the best kept secrets of the Blue Mountains you thought you knew!
60 Minute 737 Flight Adventure 60 Minute 737 Flight Adventure
Hobart - TAS
60 minutes in a full-size 737 flight simulator.
Day Spa Express Facial Treatment Day Spa Express Facial Treatment
Brisbane - QLD
You've been juggling work and family life for too long and it's finally time for a little indulgence
Penguin Parade Evening Tour (384) Penguin Parade Evening Tour (384)
Melbourne - VIC
Enjoy an afternoon/evening tour that visits Phillip Island and view the unique event that happens ev
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 301981   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 13:40

Member -Walkabout(NSW) replied:

G'day Grey Nomads
I took this sometime in the last 12 months....Use this road quite a bit so have forgotten exact date.This is the 82 mile bore between Mt Isa And Camooweal
Have a safe trip.

Click Image to Enlarge
"How the west was won!"
Reply 5 of 8
FollowupID: 568122   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 08:53

2 grey nomads posted:

Thanks for the photo I feel so much better about travelling on this road again.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 302018   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 19:01

Member - Carolyn M (QLD) replied:

great road info and photo - will be towing my van out this way in August too, so very useful info.
Happy travels,
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 302048   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 22:03

flashwillie replied:

just came over last week from gympie towing 22' ranger trekka road ok we came via murgon durong south to chinchilla stayed overnight @wallumbilla show grounds free elect great place then c/v parks till avon downs over the road from cop shop not much traffic overnight then on to tennant ck. cheers gordon
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 302087   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 08:56

2 grey nomads replied:

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for all the replies and info it is a great help. Now we can enjoy the trip.
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website