Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Tassie Ferry Fares

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:11

HGMonaro

Just noticed that the cost to take ones van over on the ferry has been revised. Hmmm, I thought, maybe we can do that sometime. Quick calculations of fares for 2A & 2C + car and van... $1596. (peak period... bit cheaper if you go in wwwiiiinttttter) ouch! And it's not the car and van that's the expensive bit... Sorry Tassie, we won't be coming :(

Nige.
ThreadID: 59429 Replies: 17
Views: 1696 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 313406   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:45

Member - Mark G (NSW) replied:

dont blame you,does a lot for Tassie tourism doesn't it.
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
Road to Rosehill Station 60 klm from St George.
Reply 1 of 17
FollowupID: 579538   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55

Member - DAZA (QLD) posted:

For the price they quoted, does that include a Cabin, or is that only
for Seats, plus your Vehicle & Van.

Daza
Patrol and Lassiter Off Road Van
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579550   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30

HGMonaro posted:

just seats... it's a couple of bucks cheaper if you don't want a reserved seat
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 313427   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:13

MAVERICK(WA) replied:

maybe they are just copying WA - they want tourism and tourism dollars - just not the tourists........rgds

Click Image to Enlarge
Slow down and relax......
Reply 2 of 17
AnswerID: 313440   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:56

The Geriatric Gypsies replied:

is that return or just 1 way

steve with beard & hair???
Click Image to Enlarge
currently in broken hill for a week or so
Reply 3 of 17
FollowupID: 579485   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:59

HGMonaro posted:

return fares... that's the kicker actually, they advertise everything as single fares these days which makes it sound good, until you realise you have to get back again!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 313451   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:58

Hairs (NSW) replied:

The Minister for Doom & Gloom,
Bob Brown probably has something to do with that.

Last seen near the Malara Fire Trail 01 2009 EO Northern NSW/SE QLD Gathering
Click Image to Enlarge
Jon
Which witch wished which wicked wish?

Don’t Take Life Too Seriously; You Won’t Get Out Alive
Reply 4 of 17
FollowupID: 579496   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:17

Member - Mark G (NSW) posted:

i thought he was your mate,Hairs!
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
Road to Rosehill Station 60 klm from St George.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Meditation one-on-one Session - Bondi Meditation one-on-one Session - Bondi
Sydney - NSW
Private Meditation Tuition one to one.
Harley Davidson® Beach & Park Patrol - NSW Harley Davidson® Beach & Park Patrol - N
Sydney - NSW
Get kitted up with leather jacket, gloves and helmet and hop on the back of the ultimate touring mot
Sea World Theme Park Entry Sea World Theme Park Entry
Gold Coast - QLD
Meet dolphins, seals, Polar bears and other marine life at Australia's Sea World.
V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 313452   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:12

Member - John G replied:

G'day HG

The most expensive road toll in Oz!

I think if you do the sums e.g compare 4 weeks travelling with car and van (incl the ferry fare) against 4 weeks of fly / drive + accommodation, you'd find that taking the car+van is the cheaper option by far.

I appreciate that it still comes back to the budget bottom line, but Tassie is a great destination and I think you need to look past the ferry fare, as steep as it is.

Click Image to Enlarge
age is nothing; waking up is everything
John G
Reply 5 of 17
AnswerID: 313454   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:21

austastar replied:

Ah, but in winter you get the whole beach to yourself !
Reply 6 of 17
AnswerID: 313459   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:02

RalfR replied:

For what it's worth, having lived in Tassie for a few years a long time ago, the winter is beautiful, you just have to dress for it -

Not a lot of rain!

Snow in the higher regions (Mt Field is fantastic)

No tourists (well not many)

The scenery is wonderful, as opposed to summer when Tassie dries off a lot.

I took a number of friends on a circuit during my few years there, and for me, winter was the best time. You wouldn't really want to be in a tent though.

I'd love to go back, but the ferry prices are a killer. What "s@*&s me even more is that fares are increased during the only time I (and many other other families) am able to travel there. I know it's all market forces, supply and demand etc, but I still retain the right to p&%*#d off with the whole practice.

They're al the same too - Kangaroo Island (the most expensive car ferry in the worlrd apparently, on a per KM basis) and the Lucky Bay ferry bump up thier prices for the school hols.

Ah that feels better now.

Back on tack now, don't be put off by travelling in winter, its quite special that time of year.

Reply 7 of 17
AnswerID: 313464   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:26

Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 replied:

We did the same trip before Easter and it cost us just under $1500 towing a little Teardrop Camper. Travelling from Brisbane down and back is not cheap either. I had a look and you can fly for $149 return if you plan ahead and get a small rental car over there. We will be going back but not by boat.
The Ferry was packed , it seems like nobody cares paying that much. Might be the same with petrol prices.........nobody seems to care.
Reiner
In Tassie 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never trade the thrills of living for the security of existence
Reply 8 of 17
AnswerID: 313467   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:43

Member - Nick (TAS) replied:

Yep, its a rip off.What more can I say.
And to make it worse, we dont have a choice to go holiday anywhere else bar here unless we pay big time, at least you guys have the whole of our great country to choose from.
Our Camps - Australian Mainland
Click Image to Enlarge
Our Camps - Mainland Australia
Reply 9 of 17
AnswerID: 313472   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:09

Crackles replied:

$800 each way for 4 people, a 4 wheel drive & a van at the xmas holiday period sounds half reasonable to me with the price of fuel these days particually for a one off trip. Would certainly become a major expense however for Tasweigens coming over to the mainland on regular trips & know one such couple who store their van in Melbourne to avoid the transport costs.
Cheers Craig.............
Reply 10 of 17
FollowupID: 579560   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:13

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath posted:

Yeh, Craig, I reckon the snorkel would have to lengthened a bit to handle the crossing, not just the diesel cost. LOL
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 313475   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:26

madfisher replied:

We went down in Feb(2 a) and cost about $1000.00 return. That was with a 4wd packed to the roof. We camped so our only expense down their was food and petrol. Considered taking boat but was an extra $600.00 so forgot that idea.
It was still a very cheap holiday costing about $2000.00 for a fortnight. If we had flown down we would have had to stay in motels or cabins plus hired a car, would have cost over $2000.00 and you are limited to what fishing gear you can take. (20kg I think
I really enjoy the ferry trip ea time as well. Hard to believe how quick that thing is if they are behind schedule.
If you go you will not regret it.
Reply 11 of 17
AnswerID: 313482   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:56

Member - barry F (NSW) replied:

I think the cost of getting there & back is also relevant to how long you intend to be there. We did a fly/drive about 7 years ago.
for only about one week & found it expensive. We stayed in medium priced motels (great western) but found food cost us much more than we had budgeted for.
We intend going back, but next time maybe for a month or so. We have not yet "done the sums" but have sought of hoped that if we took our van it would reduce cost of overnight accommodation & being able to use the vans facilities to cook our own meals would well & truly offset cost of getting the van over & back. Plus as already pointed out, we would think of the ferry trip as part of out adventure.
Any comments on the option of hiring a van over there? Cheers.
Reply 12 of 17
Activities Index
V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Snorkelling with Sea Dragons Snorkelling with Sea Dragons
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Take a Guided Eco Snorkel Tour to the unique Weedy Sea Dragon Colony in Port Phillip Bay.
Shopping Tour, Shop till you drop! Shopping Tour, Shop till you drop!
Sydney - NSW
8-hours of serious bargain shopping!
Helicopter & Luxury Hunter Valley Luncheon Helicopter & Luxury Hunter Valley Luncheon
Hunter Valley - NSW
Here is a truly five-star experience.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 313491   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:46

time waster replied:

Yep we had planned 4 weeks from boxing day day but after $1850 with van and kids decided too much thats 4 weeks of diesel for traveling.

Shame but.

Reply 13 of 17
AnswerID: 313502   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:38

HGMonaro replied:

trouble with kids is they don't get 4 weeks off in the middle of the year and they don't think holidaying in winter is great either.

Once you calcuate the total holiday cost, it's probably not as bad as it initially seems... can drive a fair way for that amount in petrol though!
Reply 14 of 17
AnswerID: 313511   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:43

geocacher (djcache) replied:

Cancelled our trip at Easter for exactly the same reason.

Went to Mallacoota instead. Stayed for 10 days at about $240 for the site. Fished my ar$e off. Awesome fishing.

Bit of 4wding, had a look at the excellent WWII Bunker Museum and spent many an evening in the pub. Did a day trip up to Merimbula too.

Came back with a couple of grand in change on what the Tassie trip would have cost.

Easy decision. No regrets.

The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
Have you tried geocaching yet?
www.geocaching.com
Reply 15 of 17
AnswerID: 313623   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:04

pjd replied:

stay on the main land & travel its much cheaper
melb to devenport 910 klm's
& $1596 = 887ltrs @ 1.80 per ltr
thats 97 ltrs per 100 k's
you could do better than that in a bugatti veyron
Reply 16 of 17
AnswerID: 314671   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:42

austastar replied:

Why not team up with another couple and share the car and van while in Tassie. couple 1 take the van and car do the holiday, fly back.
Couple 2 fly down and holiday and then drive back.
That way the cheaper airfairs help a bit.
You need friendly couples though.
Reply 17 of 17

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions