Is it True??

Submitted: Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:54
ThreadID: 60259 Views:5301 Replies:16 FollowUps:27
An old friend of the Forum is returning??

Welcome back mate :-))

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:17

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:17
?
AnswerID: 317750

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:19

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:19
??

One more than yours :-))

FollowupID: 584099

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:28
your got to be joking, lets hope not.. :-((
FollowupID: 584103

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:36

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:36
Now now Richard, he's a fellow Troopy driver and everyone knows if you drive a Troopy your a good bloke :-)

FollowupID: 584106

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:44
I saved the dummy spit so if anyone needs reminding of what was said about the site and the people that run the site they can have a read..

It will be good to read some of the replys.. LOL not

FollowupID: 584111

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:27

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:27
richard..whats the tread number?? i missed it all..........
FollowupID: 584286

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:16

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:16
maybe
FollowupID: 584384

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:20

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:20
Goodbye @ ExplorOz

Goodbye
Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:34
Member - Doug T (FNQ)
To all the friends I have on the forum it's time to move on ,
I am resigning from the membership , all I can say is Thanks ,

Doug
Member: My Profile

AdvertisementSuppress Advertisement - Members Only ThreadID:
58443 Replies: 44
Views: 1692 FollowUps: 39
Thread Summary

AnswerID: 308127 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:40
Gramps (NSW) replied:
Doug,

What on Earth for? I've always enjoyed your posts, even the ones I
disagreed with. Just travel under the radar for a while and see how
it goes.

Al

Waiting for Queensland to win a football match is like leaving
the porch light on for Harold Holt - (Apologies to Jack
Gibson)

Reply 1 of 44 FollowupID: 573940 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 11:52
Member - Doug T (FNQ) posted:
Gramps
Not much point if I cant use my GPS and 4x4 pages to help you

. Member: My Profile

FollowUp 1 of 2 FollowupID: 574003 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 17:37
Member - Duncan W (WA) posted:
Doug you may of answered this further down the page, but who said
that you can't use your GPS and or 4x4 pages????????? Most of us
regulars have your web site in our Favourites and enjoy reading it.
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 2 of 2

AnswerID: 308129 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:48
blue one replied:
Doug,
Thanks for your advice regarding the Nuvi 760 & OZ topo. Even the
missus likes it.

Reply 2 of 44 AnswerID: 308130 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:03
Member -Signman replied:
Doug
I'll still have your site in Bookmarked in Favourities...
Cheers mate...

Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 R3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY

Reply 3 of 44 AnswerID: 308131 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:10
Member No 1 replied:
Buy a first ai kit for your car..or your employer if they have a
petty cash system

Click Image to Enlarge
"Dad why are wedding dresses white?"
The father looks at his son in surprise and
says, "Son, all household appliances come in white."

Reply 4 of 44 AnswerID: 308132 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:13
Cruiserman1961 (QLD) replied:
Hey Doug,
it has been a pleasure to read your posts in the past. I always
valued your humour and opinions.
Take care mate, hope to meet you here again sometime!
Cheers, Udo
Click Image to Enlarge
Never iron a bomb!

Reply 5 of 44 AnswerID: 308133 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:23
Member - Matt (Perth-WA) replied:
Doug... I enjoy your posts and look forward to using your knowledge
on GPS in the future when I look to upgrade.

We know where your website is and can find it again when needed so
it would be a shame to lose you over that!!

But if you have to do what you have to do then all the best mate!!

Click Image to Enlarge
Lessons in life are free but if you have to be taught
something, its usually costs you!

Reply 6 of 44 AnswerID: 308135 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:27
Member - Paul Mac (VIC) replied:
G'day Doug,

Although I haven't been a member myself for very long I too would
like to echo what others have said and thank you for taking the time
and trouble to respond to several of my past forum post questions.

I have always found you to be honest, sincere and at times jovial
and I wish you only the very best in the future.

I too hope that one day we might cross paths somewhere out there in
the great blue,red,brown,green yonder.

Thank you for your help mate.

Click Image to Enlarge
What goes around comes around.

Reply 7 of 44 AnswerID: 308136 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:31
SKP replied:

DougT(FNQ),

You can't do that, you are one of the reasons that I read the Forum.

Don't go, p l e a s e

Reply 8 of 44 AnswerID: 308141 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
12:56
Member - Mfewster(SA) replied:
Geez Doug, we have crossed swords several time on environment
matters but I will also miss your posts. I was particularly looking
forwards to your views on the new Hema GPS when it is released.
Besides, we have a difference of opinion on what the world will look
like in the year 2020. How the hell will one of us be able to say
"Told you so" if you aren't online?
Think a bit more about it. Member: My Profile

Reply 9 of 44 AnswerID: 308143 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
13:05
Member - Duncan W (WA) replied:
Doug this your idea of a Friday funny???? Hope it is because if as
you say you are pulling the plug I will be very sorry to see you go.
Many people don't appreciate your subtle wit (or lack of sometimes),
but on ething that can not be disputed your facts are usually spot
on. BTW who will take over the Sunday History Lesson or do all of
the updates on the Places pages?

All the best Doug and to your little 4 legged mates. I'll still drop
you the occassional email though to say g'day.
Click Image to Enlarge

Reply 10 of 44 AnswerID: 308144 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
13:08
Sir Kev & Darkie replied:
Have you discussed this with the kids??

I am sure Dusty, Slim and Joy want you to continue being a member on
ExplorOz along with all the other who have replied.

Cheers Sir Kev
Click Image to Enlarge
NSW winning Game 1 is just a Queensland ploy to get NSW into a
false sense of security...
Go the MAROONS

Member: My Profile My Blog

Reply 11 of 44 AnswerID: 308146 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
13:13
_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx replied:
Is there some form of cryptic message here?

It appears to be some form of protest, or am I reading too much into
it?

_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx
Advertiser: My Profile

Reply 12 of 44 FollowupID: 573955 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 13:26
Gone Bush (WA) posted:
If you look at Thread 58426, it appears that a post of Doug's, with
a link to his website, was removed.

Don't know why but if Threads that conatin head-banging bewteen
members and the owner of Boroma caravans can stay on the site I
don't see any offence in a link to Doug's website.

Beats me.

If it was intentionally removed maybe an explanation might be
forthcoming.
Click Image to Enlarge
Who was the first person to look at a cow and say,
'I think I'll squeeze these dangly things and drink whatever
comes out'?

FollowUp 1 of 10 FollowupID: 573994 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:14
Member - Dick (Int) posted:
It is unfortunate that David felt it necessary to moderate Doug for
posting a link to his (Doug's) site but obviously David has his own
commercial interests in mind, and does not like to see another sight
progressing. We have to respect David's right to do this as we have
to respect Doug's right to leave this forum.

Doug's departure is certainly a loss to this Forum and we have to
hope he will return.

Click Image to Enlarge
Dick
in Phuket
and sometimes in Newcastle

FollowUp 2 of 10 FollowupID: 573996 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:19
Sir Kev & Darkie posted:
Dick,

So does that mean everyone that has their own web site listed in
their rig pic signature will be moderated and have to remove them??

Will every website that gets linked for answers to posts be
deleted??

Where will the moderation finish?

Just wondering

Click Image to Enlarge
Go the MAROONS

FollowUp 3 of 10 FollowupID: 573997 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:26
Kev,

I have the same thought myself. It seems that "self promotion" of
ones web site is not allowed.

Sad day.

Click Image to Enlarge
Dick
in Phuket

FollowUp 4 of 10 FollowupID: 573999 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:28
Gramps (NSW) posted:

Bloody ridiculous or more to the point PATHETIC.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 5 of 10 FollowupID: 574000 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:31
Sir Kev & Darkie posted:
Gramps,

Which bit??

Click Image to Enlarge
Go the MAROONS

FollowUp 6 of 10 FollowupID: 574004 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:44
Gramps (NSW) posted:
Kev,

I could understand it if it was a competing business, but it is'nt.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 7 of 10 FollowupID: 574005 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 17:47
Sir Kev & Darkie posted:
Gramps,

I agree.

Click Image to Enlarge
Go the MAROONS

FollowUp 8 of 10 FollowupID: 574032 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 18:43
Member - Michael J (SA) posted:
I have probably missed quite a few posts, certainly the ones
pertinent to Doug's ' goodbye'

"It is unfortunate that David felt it necessary to moderate Doug for
posting a link to his (Doug's) site but obviously David has his own
commercial interests in mind, and does not like to see another sight
progressing"

If in fact this is true then the people who run this Forum need to
take a real close look at themselves.

Knowing Doug as I do, I do not believe that he has, or had, any
ulterior motive for directing others to his website. He has put
heaps of work into it and I cannot, for the life of me, understand
the motive behind the removal of his site.

Would the 'moderators' care to explain why this has happened?

There are some really good people on here but you do not have to pay
to appreciate them.

I might just join Doug and become a visitor............

What a load of crap!!

Michael
Click Image to Enlarge
Yes we did give him just a taste....

FollowUp 9 of 10 FollowupID: 574081 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:20
Top End Explorer Tours posted:
I rang Doug and spoke with him this afternoon, He is quite upset.

The post and link were moderated because it took people away from
the forum, GET REAL he was trying to help someone with researched
info relating to their question.

I have sat down with Doug and seen the passion he puts into
obtaining info to help others, He does it as a hobby and a selfless
act for no other reason but to help others, he certainly doesn't do
it for financial gain, yet there are others on this site that
outright self promote with out paying for the privilege, these
people get away with it on a regular basis by simply using there
Business name as their user name, no one moderates them.

When you need to ask a question about GPS or how do I post a link,
or how do I post a photo, or what is the quickest way between, you
get the drift, 9 times out of ten he has the full process or answer
before you click refresh, sure he has a way with words, even I
didn't understand him to start, but now he is a mate.

David and Michelle, there are other people on this forum with
ulterior motives that deserve to be moderated, well before Doug.

I think that Doug deserves an apology to start and a personal phone
call to rectify the situation, just my thoughts.

Doug as I said this afternoon keep in touch.

Cheers Steve Anja and Philip.

Top End Explorer Tours
Advertiser: My Profile My Blog

FollowUp 10 of 10
AnswerID: 308147 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 13:16
Kiwi & "Mahindra" replied:
Nooooooo!!! Dont go Dougy!!!

Ohh Im gunna miss you!!!!

But like the others your page is already in my faves and I still
have your email addy.....

Take it easy hey wit those kids of yours!!

Laura
Click Image to Enlarge
I am an angel, promise! The horns are there to hold the halo
up!

Reply 13 of 44 AnswerID: 308148 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
13:34
Member - Andrew (QLD) replied:
He'll be back.....just as a non-member.

Haven't we been done this road once before?

Click Image to Enlarge
It may be that my sole purpose in life is to
serve as a warning to others!

Reply 14 of 44 FollowupID: 573956 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 13:40
Member - Andrew (QLD) posted:
"down"
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 3 FollowupID: 573957 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 13:43
equinox posted:
That's correct Andrew,

Doug posted a similar post about a year ago but never kept good his
promise.

Click Image to Enlarge
Southern end of Lake Johnson Road.

FollowUp 2 of 3 FollowupID: 573960 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 13:59
Member - Andrew (QLD) posted:
I'm not saying he should go, as Doug is a fascinating character in a
way only Doug can be....i'm sure things will calm down and it will
be forgotten about for another year. :-)

I'm just calling it as i see it.

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 308149 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 13:41
Kiwi & "Mahindra" replied:
Forgot to add Doug that all the gps info that you have offered over
how ever long its been has been really helpful, all of your input
has been very muchly appreciated.

There are people out there who should be forced to render their
visitorship and membership well b4 you leave us......

Hope to see you one day!
Click Image to Enlarge
I am an angel, promise! The horns are there to hold the halo
up!

Reply 15 of 44 AnswerID: 308152 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
13:58
Member - Footloose replied:
Doug, don't take your bat and ball home just because someone removed
a post. I've had about 5 of them removed:))
I understand the work that goes into such a site, and sympathize
with your disappointment.
But you've been such a great resource here that even though I
haven't always agreed with you, I feel it would be a great loss to
the forum.
Get back on the bike, laddy :))))))))
Click Image to Enlarge
Footy

Reply 16 of 44 FollowupID: 573963 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 14:07
TerraFirma posted:
Doug, You should take the weekend to re-think your position. No rash
decisions please. Obviously something has upset you otherwise you
would never resign. The beauty of the forums is the varying
opinions, the wealth of experience, the sharing of knowledge, the
friendships etc etc. You belong here Doug & Dusted..!

Cheers, TerraFirma....
FollowUp 1 of 1 AnswerID: 308155 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 14:26
Member - Damien L (QLD) replied:
As with some others I am new here too. will miss your comments here,
but at least you are still from/in FNQ and will stay up here Doug.
From fellow FNQ, Cairns Member: My Profile

Reply 17 of 44 AnswerID: 308156 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
14:26
Member - Damien L (QLD) replied:
As with some others I am new here too. will miss your comments here,
but at least you are still from/in FNQ and will stay up here Doug.
From fellow FNQ, Cairns Member: My Profile

Reply 18 of 44 AnswerID: 308158 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
14:32
Stephen M (NSW) replied:
Hey Doug I hope you reconsider. I have asked some stupid questions
over the time and you along with others have answered what I wanted
to know. Not sure exactly what has pi##ed you off but going by what
I have just read some thing to do with your website being removed.
(which I have in fovourites anyway so will still be able to ask you
stupid questions lol) All the best and hope you get it sorted. Take
care and hope you will reconsider and stay on here. Regards steve M
Click Image to Enlarge
Take Every Day As It Comes

Reply 19 of 44 AnswerID: 308161 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
14:54
Member - Oldplodder (QLD) replied:
Sorry to see you go.
Might have misunderstood each other a few times, the dry sense of
humour is hard to express some times, and gets read the wrong way.

Stay well, travel safe.
Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
In touring mode, the way it should be.

Reply 20 of 44 AnswerID: 308166 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
15:33
Member - Borgy.. (SA) replied:
Doug , Im stuffed if i know why your post was deleted , im buggered
if i could see anything wrong with it??? Unless you added more to it
after i saw it , but i doubt it, it wasn't there long enough.....To
all those that didn't see it all Doug said was that he couldn't
understand why his link to his website in another post had been
removed and that he had recieved a message from the moderators about
it....words to that affect anyway.....Doug reconsider mate , we all
get p i s s e d off at times , but we just Build that bridge
mate.....Have a great weekend and look forward to more of your posts

Cheers......Borgy
Click Image to Enlarge
"It is much more comfortable to be mad and know it, than to be
sane and have one's doubts."

Reply 21 of 44 AnswerID: 308167 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
15:42
Member - Dunworkin (WA) replied:
Hi Doug & Dusty, add my voice to the protest of you leaving, I will
miss your posts and sense of humour. (Maybe a rethink wouldn't go
astray)

More importantly Hubby and I appreciated your response to the loss
of our beloved Simba, for that we thank you again it was a wonderful
gesture.

I have found your website and have added it to my favourites where I
go and visit the photo of Simba regularly. (I always visited from
your profile but it is gone).

Take care of your four legged children!!!!!!!!!

Cheers and all the best for your future plans and maybe one day we
will run into you in the wide back blocks which is outback Aus.

D
Click Image to Enlarge
RIP Our Darling Simba

Reply 22 of 44 AnswerID: 308169 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
15:46
dedabato (SA) replied:
Hey Doug !!!!
Sorry to see you go (may I add) Mate. For the short time I have been
on the forum I totally enjoyed and respected your comments on
various subjects and that was also one of the reason I've decided to
join up EO. What ever the reason for your decision to leave us is
respected but mate, you'll be greatly missed even by those that made
you decide on the next step in your life. Hope you stay good and
healthy..
Thanks Mate

Kind Regards & Cheers
dedabato Member: My Profile

Reply 23 of 44 AnswerID: 308170 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
15:49
Member - RFLundgren (WA) replied:
Doug

I also will add my voice to this. Have read many of your posts and
visited your site may times as well. Hope you will reconsider across
the weekend. All the best

Click Image to Enlarge

VKS737 - Whisky 1912

Reply 24 of 44 FollowupID: 573980 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 16:02
Member - barry F (NSW) posted:
Yep, I would like to second that. I don't contribute much to this
site as I am not much of an expert on anything in particular. It's
blokes like Doug & many other members & visitors who have added
their comments above that collectively make this a very informative
& interesting site. They are the reason I joined.
Doug, I hope you are listening to all your mates on this site.

FollowUp 1 of 1 AnswerID: 308175 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 16:21
Dave Thomson replied:
Honest Doug, yes theres times when you can get p#####d off here but
its still one of the BEST sites around mate, please reconsider, just
look at how many here WANT you to stay ???
even if its not what we want to hear your input is still valued
mate,
dont chuck it,

Reply 25 of 44 AnswerID: 308179 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
16:52
Member - DAZA (QLD) replied:
Hi Doug

I agree with all the replys to your decision to pull out of
Exploroz,
PLEASE CONSIDER, I think your contribution to this forum has helped
many people over the period of time you have generously given your
input and valuable information,
What ever the reason is, its up to you to decide whats right or
wrong
I for one look forward to your Photos ect, and humorous cartoon
descriptions you offer on a regular basis, plus gps info ect,
I personally think you are a lot bigger than whats actually making
you
leave us members and visitors, just stay on and sort it out.

Cheers Daza
Click Image to Enlarge

Grey No-Mad with Training Wheels.
Lifes Good

Reply 26 of 44 AnswerID: 308183 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
17:07
96 GXL 80 series replied:
Bye Bye DT, I think your only bailing out before Sandown on Sun/Mon
when Rick gets blasted off the track.

Bye 4 now
your mate 96 XXXXXXXXXXX

Reply 27 of 44 AnswerID: 308184 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
17:08
Member - Peter H (WA) replied:
Doug

I really hope you reconsider your position. I for one have always
enjoyed your posts and the info on gps units are second to none. If
you are form on your stance then I hope to see ya out there one day

Good Luck mate

Peter Member: My Profile

Reply 28 of 44 AnswerID: 308187 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
17:15
Member - Fred G (NSW) replied:
Obviously your choice with whatever you decide Doug, but I just love
your website and will be a regular visitor to it. Keep it going.
Fred.
Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers & Beers

Reply 29 of 44 AnswerID: 308189 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
17:24
Member - vivien C (VIC) replied:
Doug,

It's not goodbye...lets just make it "see ya mate". We'll all still
be checking out your website and keeping in touch that way.

All the best and I hope we can meet up one day

Viv

Click Image to Enlarge
"The most important trip you may take in life is meeting
people half way"

Reply 30 of 44 AnswerID: 308200 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
18:13
On Patrol replied:
Doug,
I for one will miss you & your advice/comment, right or wrong.
Good luck mate, stay safe and well.

If this is politically motivated then thats a real shame, and some
should look into their collective souls and rethink.

Your cyber friend, Colin.
Click Image to Enlarge
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, but some abuse the
privilege. I've abused it quite often in my journeys, but not
as often as those i've met.

Reply 31 of 44 AnswerID: 308201 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
18:15
madfisher replied:
I always looked forward to your posts Doug and will miss you. Hope
you will reconsider.
Goodluck and goodbuy Pete

Reply 32 of 44 AnswerID: 308204 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
18:30
oldpop replied:
Doug T
Can not believe it
with your help and others particularly yours sorted out my Garmin
and a few Cruiser issues
Thanks very much and Good luck in the future
Phill

Reply 33 of 44 AnswerID: 308205 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
18:31
Member - Ruth D (QLD) replied:
Doug, I've been away for a week or so - every time I go away
something terrible happens! I do understand your feelings on this
though. We'll always be in touch though, won't we? Maybe the kids
could write to me and I could counsel them. Don't go - think about
it over the weekend please.
Click Image to Enlarge
Storm over Bdv House

Reply 34 of 44 AnswerID: 308206 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
18:35
Member - extfilm (NSW) replied:
Doug,
I don't think there is anymore to say than what other members have
said above...... It is a real shame you are leaving the arena.
Although I can not remember asking for any gps advice on here I have
always listened to what you have had to say when giving others
advice.
The most important thing Doug, is to enjoy and I hope I may bump
into you and Dusty somewhere in the most amazing country in the
world.......
I will have to find your web address from somewhere and add it to my
Favs.
Have fun mate, you will be missed
Click Image to Enlarge
The best way to predict your future is create it.
Each moment in your life is a gift - that's why they call it
the present!

Reply 35 of 44 FollowupID: 574035 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 18:46
Member - Ed. C. (QLD) posted:
Dunno how long this'll last...
(this thread has been errr "moderated" already:((

Anyway, here's the link

Click Image to Enlarge
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in
hand............
Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowUp 1 of 2 FollowupID: 574043 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 18:57
Member - extfilm (NSW) posted:
Thanks ed...... Got it before it went
Click Image to Enlarge
The best way to predict your future is create it.
Each moment in your life is a gift - that's why they call it
the present!

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 308216 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 18:57
Member - Fred G (NSW) replied:
I am sure all members here would be happy to see a moderators
response forthcoming???????
Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers & Beers

Reply 36 of 44 AnswerID: 308223 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
19:12
The Explorer replied:
Doug who?
Click Image to Enlarge
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to
which he replied “All right,”.That was the last ever seen of
Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Reply 37 of 44 AnswerID: 308224 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
19:12
Member - Littleborgy (SA) replied:
"all I can say is Thanks"

No Doug... Thank YOU...

You're one of the most informative blokes on this site... It's going
to be a shame if you do pack up & go over what seems like a little
misunderstanding.

Hope to see you on the road one day...

Cheers, Brad
Click Image to Enlarge
Despite the old saying, 'Don't take your troubles to bed',
many men still sleep with their wives

Reply 38 of 44 FollowupID: 574064 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 19:58
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) posted:
As a guy who had no knowledge of GPS' and stuff this bloke has not
only assisted me in all thing GPS he has become a close mate (read
good friend and confidant as well) and a bloke who I now know would
share his last 2 bob with anyone who really needed it.

He is a walking encyclopedia on GPS stuff and his weekly
contribution with the Sunday history is something I believe most of
us look forward to.

A great loss to this site...

It is a crying shame this has happened and as a member I for one
would like to see a response regarding this issue. I don't believe
that this should have occured when you consider that Doug has been
putting his link up for that long it is not funny.

Doug has sat on his principles on this issue and he himself is quite
upset by the whole thing.

Enough from me. I will now havva chat with the man about all things
GPS, Sunday history and all those things he has stood up for and
guided us through for I don' know how long.

It is almost "VALE D&D" for me...

I'll be round to see ya soon mate.

Grrr!!!
Click Image to Enlarge
Crazy Dog... Cairns FNQ (Artificial intelligence is no match
for natural stupidity)

FollowUp 1 of 1 AnswerID: 308232 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 19:48
Member - Michael J (SA) replied:
Just had another read of Doug's website......

If the people that own/run this forum have a problem with it, any
chance of letting us know what that problem is???

Michael
Click Image to Enlarge
Yes we did give him just a taste....

Reply 39 of 44 FollowupID: 574066 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 20:00
Richard Kovac posted:
"This Page Updated: 6th June 2008" maybe
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 1 of 1 AnswerID: 308235 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 19:55
Richard Kovac replied:
Thats the second bit of good news I've had today.. Thanks

Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

Reply 40 of 44 FollowupID: 574068 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 20:03
Gramps (NSW) posted:

and the first bit was you're pi$$ing off for good I hope.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 1 of 15 FollowupID: 574073 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:11
Richard Kovac posted:
Gees your a Dick head... No No they sacked one of the workers at
work, good for nothing leach. should have done it years ago..

Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 2 of 15 FollowupID: 574076 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:14
Gramps (NSW) posted:

Pity it was'nt a worthless POS like you for instance.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 3 of 15 FollowupID: 574083 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:23
Richard Kovac posted:
Al you are just a wanker aren't you, theres always two side to a
story.. lets see how it plays out before the insults hey.. it's got
nothing to do with you.

Or has it?

Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 4 of 15 FollowupID: 574089 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:29
Gramps (NSW) posted:
Richard,

Perhaps you'd like me to publish the MM you just sent. For your
information I've heard BOTH SIDES of the story (or as much as they
both want to let on) so I know far more than you, AS USUAL.

As for the insults, read where they started.

PS Don't bother sending me any more MMs. I'm not in the least bit
interested in reading your filth but Doug's legal advisers may be
very interested.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 5 of 15 FollowupID: 574090 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:30
Richard Kovac posted:
Sorry brain lapse!!!!! you mean piece of bleep (poo) ... LOL

You should of used spell check if you are having problems like I
do..

Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 6 of 15 FollowupID: 574092 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:30
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) posted:
Mr. Kovac SIR!

I take exception (and my phone also tells me there are many others
who agree with me) to the way you have spoken about Doug and I hope
David and Michelle take appropriate action.

I don't want to be associated with people who write such things
about other people It would be much better for all on this site if
such writings were not forthcoming.. In simple terms get life bud..

My grand children quite like this site and your profanities are
going to take them away from what has been essentially a family
site. Not anymore thanks to you.

Click Image to Enlarge
Crazy Dog... Cairns FNQ (Artificial intelligence is no match
for natural stupidity)

FollowUp 7 of 15 FollowupID: 574093 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:33
Richard I spoke with Doug and he told me the reason for the post
being deleted, he told me the response he got from Damian.

Best you check your facts before you make a fool of your self.

Cheers Steve. Top End Explorer Tours

FollowUp 8 of 15 FollowupID: 574094 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:33

I have a copy of the Moderators email to Doug and it was very
straight forward. They will not allow "self promotion" such as Doug
has done.

Very sad indeed.

Click Image to Enlarge
Dick
in Phuket

FollowUp 9 of 15 FollowupID: 574095 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:38
Richard Kovac posted:
Grumps you are outstanding, quite hard to belive...

Crazy dog I don't know what your talking about.

Steve ??????

Dick Thanks
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 10 of 15 FollowupID: 574096 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:38
Hey Crazy Dog

Have a Rum for me with Doug when you see him next, I spoke with him
this afternoon, He certainly doesn't deserve this crap.

Cheers Steve. Top End Explorer Tours

FollowUp 11 of 15 FollowupID: 574098 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:40
Richard Kovac posted:
Gramps (NSW) FollowupID: 574068 they started there
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 12 of 15 FollowupID: 574099 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:41
Gramps (NSW) posted:
Richard,

Feel free to communicate with Doug and David to confirm it.

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 13 of 15 FollowupID: 574100 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:44
Gramps (NSW) posted:
Richard,

FollowupID: 574068 that's just my Wish List hahahahahaha

Al

Gibson)

FollowUp 14 of 15 FollowupID: 574101 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06,
2008 at 20:49
Richard Kovac posted:
No AL your got it wrong like usual..

you said "As for the insults, read where they started." and I
answered "Gramps (NSW) FollowupID: 574068 they started there"

I'm sure you know more than me...

Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There

FollowUp 15 of 15
AnswerID: 308240 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 20:11
Member - steve H (QLD) replied:
So where do I go now for my history lessons ???????
Click Image to Enlarge
Will it ever end (Hope not)

Reply 41 of 44 AnswerID: 308242 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
20:13
Gone Bush (WA) replied:
I think a fairly rash decision has been made here, by the EO owners.

Let's look at things in perspective and maybe think of a solution.

First of all, Doug is an enthusiast sharing his knowledge. His
knowledge just happens to be on a website. If Doug was making any
money out of his website he would not be living in a caravan park.
And I'm not saying that in some sort of derogatory manner. Doug's
background is obvious from looking at his website where, in a lot of
ways he bares his soul for us all to see. Doug's knowledge of gps
systems and website construction is all self taught and I for one,
am really envious of his knowledge.

On a website like this where we all meet cyber friends, sometimes in
person, we contribute where we can because we get a great deal of
enjoyment from EO. Bloody hell, it costs us money to get this
enjoyment and to make this contribution.

Next week I'm off to Innamincka via Melbourne. I have an EO window
sticker on the back of my caravan and on the front of my Cruiser.
I'm happy to promote EO because of the pleasure I get from it; and
it is 99% from this Forum.

My suggestion to David and Michelle is that they offer a section of
the website to members where links will exist to members' own
websites. Provided, of course, that they are scrutinised regularly
and the content is appropriate and acceptable to the community.

If they are commercial websites then a cost is negotiated as it is
at present.

David & Michelle, Doug has retired from a life of fairly hard work.
He got so much pleasure from your site that he enthusiastically
wanted to share his knowlkedge with his friends here.

You have just slapped that pleasure out of his hands.

Click Image to Enlarge
Who was the first person to look at a cow and say,
'I think I'll squeeze these dangly things and drink whatever
comes out'?

Reply 42 of 44 FollowupID: 574085 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 20:28
Gone Bush

Very well said.

The silence from David is sad.

Click Image to Enlarge
Dick
in Phuket

FollowUp 1 of 1 AnswerID: 308247 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008
at 20:40
Member - Mfewster(SA) replied:
I just don't see the problem with Doug's page. He isn't advertising
commercial services that I can see. I may disagree totally with his
position on things to do with the environment but so what?. When we
discuss things here we all leave links to stuff we think is relevant
to what we are saying. Unless of course there is a post I don't know
about that has been considered offensive, I'd also like to see an
explanation. I can see no problem with leaving a link to your own
page. Many of us have photosites that are our own pages and these
are our way of sharing photos. I love his love of history and the
trouble he has gone to on his site to share this. Member: My

Reply 43 of 44 AnswerID: 308251 Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at
20:48
Member- Tony C replied:
Hi Doug.
I was surprised and dissapointed to hear of you leaving explore
oz.It was some thing you where obviously very passionate about.Your
quick whit,sense of humour,history lessons great advice based on a
lot of experiance and Dustys antics will all be missed.
I read your site some time ago and meant to let you know how much
enjoyed reading it especially Dustys story.
All the best.
Tony

Reply 44 of 44

Directory: Advertiser Profile

FollowupID: 584386

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:17

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:17
Is it truckster

AnswerID: 317751

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:20

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:20
Nup!! Actually from your end of the country Eric.

Have a look at the Members List and see if you can pick it.

FollowupID: 584100

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:23
Where is the grumpy bugger??? :):)
AnswerID: 317752

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:24
:-))
He appears to have gone offline for the moment.

FollowupID: 584101

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:24
It's good old Doug T (FNQ) I reckon.

Kingo
AnswerID: 317754

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:31

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:31
That would be my bet.

FollowupID: 584104

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:33

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:33
Seems like a good bet :-)

May fire the place up again been a bit slow without him :-)

FollowupID: 584105

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:35

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:35
Who could it be?

Bolte, Askin and Bjeke Peterson are dead.

Fraser has reformed.

AnswerID: 317756

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:41
Lone wolf he may have moved.

AnswerID: 317760

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:44
It IS TRUE,

Hello to you all, including you Richard , I do not hold any grudges for you, but if you don't feel the same then that's not problem , I have no problems .

AnswerID: 317762

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:47

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:47
Good to see you back mate ;-)

FollowupID: 584112

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:49

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:49
Welcome back Doug. Ignore the gutless scumbags.

FollowupID: 584113

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:50

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:50
Doug

it's good to see the tears have dried up. the forum will be better for it...

FollowupID: 584114

Follow Up By: TD100 - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:50

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:50
Welcome back MrT

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 584115

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:04

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:04
Gramps
Old mate, that I will do,

FollowupID: 584119

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:16
I couldnt do the technical talking anymore (!!) ....Doug says it sooo much better....Im just good for the copy and paste buttons!!LOL!! and a little editing.....

Good to have ya back mate!

and ignore the rude comments...things may have been said and not regreted (or maybe they are regreted....who cares now...!!)about certain things, but friendship triumphs over all....!!
FollowupID: 584121

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:28

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:28
Welcome back Doug, not much has changed since you left...you got a lot of reading to do if you want to get updated ...lol..

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 584123

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:01

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:01
Doug

Glad to see you back again, same to Dusty and Slim.
Dick

FollowupID: 584137

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:29

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:29
Welcome back Doug.
Look what happened to the commodores since you left the forum LOL.
Vince
FollowupID: 584175

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:02

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:02
Good to see you back mate...and as a member again too!

Maybe some of the freeloaders will follow your lead haha!

Nah serious, welcome back.

FollowupID: 584183

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:22

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:22
Well done Doug, you have made a lot of valuable contributions to the site so I look forward to seeing more, especially as I now own a Garmin!!!

FollowupID: 584186

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:26

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:26
Grizzle
BRING IT ON....

FollowupID: 584189

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:29

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:29
G'day mate,

Nice to see ya back,

-now I have this problem with my Nuvi.......don't suppose you could direct me to somewhere I could find some info.......only jokin' Doug, only jokin'...lol lol

Michael
FollowupID: 584232

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:36

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:36
Michael
Yeh ...behave ya self, now lets see...a gps webpage.Hmmm , nup can't remember one

FollowupID: 584234

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 14:00

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 14:00
G'day Doug,

Welcome back!!

not forgetting Dusty, Slim and Joy either.

FollowupID: 584250

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:17

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:17
Hi Doug,

Good to see you back. Without your great "Garmin" advise I went to the dark side and no longer use my Nuvi but now run Sygic (for auto navigation) and Oziexplorer on a Polaris double din dash unit :)

AnswerID: 317776

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:18
Welcome back Doug T.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 317778

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:24

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:24
Ol' farts never die........the smell always lingers.

Good to see you back mate.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 317790

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 07:36

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 07:36
I hope Doug has not converted to non GME products ;)

His return will bring humour and goodwill back to the forum.

I can't wait till Sunday for the History Photo thread.

I just want an updated photo of the family, last one I saw Slim and Joy were still in nappies LOL

AnswerID: 317809

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 09:51

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 09:51
DOUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGGIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

Welcome back matey!

AnswerID: 317821

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:09

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:09
Welcome back Doug,

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 317830

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:36

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:36
Hi Doug

Its great to see you back mate, still wondering about the N T bit?
you deserted us Cane Toads, never mind, its better than going south.

Daza
AnswerID: 317895

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:55

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:55
See how many youv'e affected (or is it infected ???) Doug, told you they'd missed ya
glad your back mate,
regards,
AnswerID: 317915

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:36

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:36
Doug T ???

Who's Doug T....?

Now I remember ....... yeh ! Not a bad bloke I believe.

In fact he is a good mate of mine up here in FNQ but soon 2B elsewhere.... GR8 2 have ya back old son..

Go git em boy!!!

Grrr!!!

Oh and welcome back to the 2 boys...
FollowupID: 584301

Reply By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:59
Hello Friend!!!!!!
AnswerID: 317940