Final Track Report from the Sand and Spinifex Tour.

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:01
ThreadID: 60638 Views:4182 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Finally home and back to work on Monday Damn it all. 9,500 km of great holiday of which more than 7K was on dirt, tracks and raw desert. 25 punctures between the two vehicles with 5 tyres destroyed (trailers gragged the numbers up somewhat). Quads were magnificent. Great for access into the remote and difficult country. Have posted the report to the blog area for a month or two as it'll only be current till the rains arrive.

Any specific questions, please mm me.

Cheers. Mick.

Track condition Report

Hunt Oil Road (North from Great Central)

First 17 km are magnificent. Deteriorates somewhat to a track with sections where the flora is overgrowing in many places. Generally a great outback track in good condition with few corrugations. Great camping around Mt Worsnop with several large waterholes present before Alexander Spring. Water in these holes has been fouled by the hundreds of camels using it.Alexander spring further along is in pristine condition. Hundreds of camels in the area as well as the odd roo and dingo. Climb Mt Worsnop for the sunset and take your binoculars. You’ll soon get tired of counting all the camels you’ll see!

Cut Line (Hunt Oil Road – Gunbarrel – Eagle (Mungilli outstation – 50km length)

Commencing at the “ON 1” survey mark, the track is very overgrown on the 20 odd km from Hunt to Gunbarrel. Line hard to discern in the Spinifex country and often forced to meander around larger shrubs and trees. Good condition from the Gunbarrel to the Eagle Hwy at Mungilli Outstation. Some water in one of the tanks at Mungilli but don’t count on it.

Eagle Highway. (50 km north from Mungilli to the Eagle Hussar Bore)

Generally good condition with some minor corrugations in spots. Some areas of the track have been overgrown by acacia but generally good condition.

Cleared Line running at 228 Deg from the Eagle Hussar Bore (53 km)

Soft in places and often hard to pick up having had little use. Some stretches are in excellent condition whilst other areas are washed out or deceptively soft. Plenty of good camping areas in the occasional stretches of Mulga. Turnoff to Walgoobaloo Rockhole is easily found.

Track north to Walgoobaloo and Mt Madley.

Starts well enough but deteriorates rapidly after the first 12 km. Didn’t find Walgoobaloo (but didn’t look to hard). Track to Madley is largely a “make your own” type situation although some stretches of it are detectable in areas where recent fires have passed. Very rough and sandy coming through Babool Rockhole (found but dry as expected) and Kata Kata Hills area but easily traceable once a km or two south of Madley. Track appeared fairly easy to follow to the north towards Warri, undetectable to the west towards Birrell Rockhole.

Canning to the Calverts.
Very corrugated as expected. Plenty of lose, soft sand and right hand turn approaches to dunes. Trip heading east is the hardest with the most dune approaches. West is a cruisy 3 hour run to the Canning.

Puntawarri Track.
Good condition and getting a lot of use. The section west from the Canning to Puntawarri section has a few sand hill crossings but is easily navigable. A few corrugations but nothing of note. The section along the Savoury Creek is rough with it’s rocky jump ups and some tight squeezes through the river bed. Plenty of plant life to scratch the vehicle. Once clear the last 5 km to Puntawarri and then on are comfortable. Road still seeing a fair bit of use. If camping, before Jigalong, I would recommend you do it once over the jump down of the Robertson Range about 25km shy of Jigalong. Nothing much after that and didn’t find access into Robertson Range ruins. Fuel at Jig $2.40 per litre.

Talawana from Jig to Rudall River
Recently graded but copping a heap of use from trucks just north of Jig so heavily corrugated around there.Billinooka Road is in fair condition through to the Talawana again and the T track is then good to Rudall Turnoff

Back Road into Rudall From the Talawana (30 km short of the main turn)

Bloody great drive. 3.5 hours for the 28 km and some tough going but well worth it. The track climbs a rocky range and then plunges into a large rocky gorge down a steep, rocky track. The exit track has become a creek so it’s slow and sandy going with many sections overgrown. Get’s better the last 7 km through the sand and Spinifex before meeting the main roads again north of the hand pump.

Rudall River.
Main track is heavy sand and corrugated from the 2 wheel drive use by locals. Jarra Pool is very low this year but there is still a good stretch of water at Watrara Pool (although no access for vehicles). Desert Queen Baths area has suffered the ravages of a bush fire but is still a magnificent spot to rest a while. Plenty of water in 3 Goannas Pool. Road north to Christmas Pool and Telfor, Sandy and corrugated but not difficult. The top hand pump has been hijacked by a survey camp who have set up nearby and dropped poly pipe into the bore. See them for water.

Telfer mine Road to Punmu and Wapet Track to Kunawarritji.

MAGNIFICENT!Grader was on it and we passed him 60 km west of Kunawarritji.

For Gary Junction Road, Sandy Blight Junction Road conditions See post 60230

Alice to Chambers Pillar

As you’d expect from the amount of traffic it gets. Very corrugated. Some works being carried out on a few stretches.

Ghan Heritage Trail – Very Corrugated with patches of rock. Generally poor condition. Slow going.

To Mount Dare – Corrugated

Mount Dare to Dalhousie – Very corrugated with good patches of exposed rock. Getting late in the season so road has seen a hell of a lot of traffic. Fuel at Mt Dare $2.389 per litre.

Dalhousie to Purnie Bore. Good run although corrugated and a few patches of bull dust as you would expect.

French line. - West to East. A good run. Most difficult section remains the 50 odd km from Knolls Track turnoff to Poepples Corner. Desert is a sea of wild flowers at the moment.

K1 – Great run down to the Warburton Track although some areas of the track are becoming covered in drifting sand.Warburton Track is still in very good condition with a few holes around Warburton Crossing.

Walkers Crossing Track

Good condition and a sea of wildflowers at present. The odd bit of water in dams and some creeks but otherwise very dry.

Adventure Way around Innamincka.

Copping a fare hiding from trucks and holiday tracffic so very rocky and rough. Working on it around the Bourke and Wills Bridge near the Dig Tree. Road south through Orientos and Santos in good condition across the gibber but some sandy patches in cattle country

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:31

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:31
Mick

Sounds like all your wishes came true :-)

Yep most tracks are as you have described. Either graded, corrugated or overgrown....lol

Where to next?

AnswerID: 319938

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:44

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:44
Mate it was. Wish I was still out there! Rudall was the highlight (once again) so we are planning an extended return in 2 years time (May 2010). That gorge of yours in the Calverts provided some of the most stunning rock etchings I've ever seen. Absolutely incredible as is any of the country east of there.

Where would I start mate? There's some country out round Mowla Bluff that interests me or a cruise west from the cut line east of Anna Plains (long haul that one). A cross country from Gwenneth Lakes to the Canning? Mt Webb-Lake McKay? - I could follow your tracks.

Between you and Equinox I'm sure we could come up with a few suggestions. Reckon I might have to try and get a job at Telfor for a few years and explore on the off-time.

Cheers. Mick.

FollowupID: 586555

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:01

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:01
Ahhh...food for thought!!!!

FollowupID: 586558

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:32

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:32
Some Pics of the travels!

AnswerID: 319939

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:19

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:19
Welcome back Mick..

You must be well and truely worn out. ;))

I hope Scott and Gabby are all right.

That night at DQB's there was only 1 other vehicle with 2 guys. Those hoons you spoke of left a lot of food scraps around but you were right about having first dibs at the firewood.

I wrote a message in your cache Tchukardine Pool.

So you named the Pinnacle, "Darlsen Pinnacle". Is that a mixture of your names or something more obscure?

I found some isolated outcrops about 40 kms east of Well 38 I have named "Temperature Rocks" as for the first time ever I was worried a bit about the temperature in the cruiser just prior to when I found them.

My heads only just starting to stop spinning since I got back. Enjoy the memories mate!!!!

AnswerID: 320012