Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

O/T Maintaining some sense of sanity

Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 19:47

Kim and Damn Dog

As some of you know I work for a Council. Leading up to elections they all go a bit feral. We call it the ‘Dribble Season’.

Within the precinct there is a small wet land area, which is home to five Snow Geese. During the breeding season they get a bit territorial and are best left alone for a while.

Apparently one Councillor had a bit of a run in with them, and also complained on another occasion they blocked his parking space.

He’s now decided their a menace to society, and called for a Goose psychological assessment!

I’m at a bit of a loss. Should I recommend shock treatment for the Councillor (recommended) or put up Goose signs and charge them for infringements?

Any ideas would be appreciated before I lose my mind.

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A dog will quickly turn you into a fool, but who cares? I'm a fool for my dog and proud of it."
ThreadID: 61428 Replies: 5
Views: 615 FollowUps: 11
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 324030   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 19:56

Member - Mark G (NSW) replied:

KIM

let me get this straight, is the goose a goose or is it the councillor who is the goose?

he he he!!!!
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
Road to Rosehill Station 60 klm from St George.
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 591069   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:08

Kim and Damn Dog posted:

Gidday mark

I'm confused. The geese reckon he's a goose but he maintains their a mob goose's.

Seems to me that I'm stuck between a goose and a hard place.

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A dog will quickly turn you into a fool, but who cares? I'm a fool for my dog and proud of it."
FollowUp 1 of 7
FollowupID: 591070   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:13

Member - Mark G (NSW) posted:

KIM

they will (the council) do what most council do, get a consultant in & pay him/her thousand of $ to come up with something stupid.
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 7
FollowupID: 591071   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:17

Kim and Damn Dog posted:

Of course they will. I don't know a goose from a duck's bum

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 7
FollowupID: 591072   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:20

oh dear, your not cooking the chrissy dinner then, LOL
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 7
FollowupID: 591076   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:59

Member - DAZA (QLD) posted:

Good Evening Kim / Mark and all.

I was wondering what Geese would taste like, some thing like Duck
I imagine, nah give that a miss, Geese are a good Early Warning System, they seem to act like watch dogs and make a hell of a racket
when somebody has disturbed them, maybe the Council Security
Section could hire them, and leave them at one of there Depots, to
patrol the compounds at night, they could save the Rate Payers a
few Dollars, and Kim could be in charge of them, his new Council
Title could be Goose Man LOL.

Daza
Patrol and Lassiter Off Road Van
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 5 of 7
FollowupID: 591078   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:20

Kim and Damn Dog posted:

Daza

Buggar me dead, did'nt think of it as a career opportunity!

I'd want to be appointed as Team Leader Goose Man before accepting that level of responsibility......

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 7
FollowupID: 591089   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:45

Nah Kim give it a miss Mate, let the Councilor worry about it, thats
what he was elected for, the Council Employees are allways making
them look good.
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 7 of 7
AnswerID: 324040   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:50

The Geriatric Gypsies replied:

goodday kim
"no parking within 10m of the geese"and fine the councilor everytime he uses his parking spot
which goose councillor is it
as itinerants we no longer have to vote and i am glad we no longer have to vote in casey i seem to recall most of the councillors were gooses anyway

steve with beard & hair???
Click Image to Enlarge
currently in broken hill for a week or so
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 324051   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:39

Member - AJB (VIC) replied:

Simple. Shoot 'em.
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 591093   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:59

Kim and Damn Dog posted:

Who?

The Goose or the Geese

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 591094   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 22:02

Member - AJB (VIC) posted:

Either. Just claim insanity at the time or all the time.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 324060   Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 22:53

autosparky replied:

shoot the goose the geese will leave less crap
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 591123   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:36

shoot the councillor & let the goose make all the decisions,it couldnt do any worse than a councillor?
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Sydney Offshore powerboat for up to 12 Sydney Offshore powerboat for up to 12
Sydney - NSW
Charter our offshore powerboat for an hour (longer tours by arrangement) and ride the swell off the
Surfing Lessons Beginner,w/ World Champion Cheyne Surfing Lessons Beginner,w/ World Champion Ch
Gold Coast - QLD
World Champion Cheyne Horan Head Surfing Instructor "Standing and riding waves first lesson or
Melbourne Heli Flight for up to 3 people - 30 mins Melbourne Heli Flight for up to 3 people - 30
Melbourne - VIC
Sip sparkling wine in our V.I.
L-39 Fighter Jet Low Level Land Strike Mission L-39 Fighter Jet Low Level Land Strike Missio
Hunter Valley - NSW
For 30 minutes live the adventure of being a jet combat pilot on a top secret flight mission in your
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 324092   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:27

Louie the fly (SA) replied:

Kim, I think you misunderstood. The Goose psychological assessment is for him. Who runs your council, Mayor Quimby?

You could always stir the pot by contacting the local "goose civil rights activists society".

Psychologist - "so tell me Mr Goose, how does that make you feel?"
Goose - "well to be honest, it's dwriving me quackers"

Click Image to Enlarge
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 591141   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:07

Hey Louie

What if the Psychologist is a Quack.? do they both have a Quack Up.
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website