If you get pinged by a Speed Camera, don't pay the fine.

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:13
ThreadID: 61515 Views:37539 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
I got nailed for 80 in a 70 zone.

In VIC, 10 to 25 over the limit gets you 3 demerit points and a $220 fine.

So I decided to write to the Penalty Review Board and plead my case. In brief, good driving record, only 2 minor infringements in the last 13 years (the last being over 5 years ago).

My request was that they write it down to 9 over the limit and hence only one point, or if they were feeling really generous withdraw it altogether. Naturally this was written in a most polite and respectful way.

Got a response yesterday that the notice was withdrawn and replaced with an "Official Warning".

Well worth the 10 minutes it took to write the letter and I recommend it to you all.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:21

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:21
Jim, A copy of the letter or it never happened..!

Yes please post your magic doctor spinning story in all it's glory..!

Share and Share alike..!

That being said it wouldn't help a lot of us who don't have the perfect driving record..! LOL

AnswerID: 324496

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:26

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:26
OK, here it is.

Penalty Review Board
Civic Compliance Victoria
GPO Box 1916
Melbourne 3001

Dear Sir/Madam

Re: Infringement Notice xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Could I please ask that you review this infringement notice? I believed, mistakenly, that I was in an 80 zone and hence was doing 80. I realise that this is no excuse, but given my driving record I am asking for some leniency.

This is my first infringement in five years, the last being for doing 113 in a 100 zone in about June 2003. From memory I also had one for 91 in an 80 zone in about January 2002. Between 1995 and 2002 I do not recall any infringements at all. In summary, this amounts to two minor infringements in 13 years.

I am 46 years old, a responsible driver and parent, and have never had my licence cancelled or suspended. In addition I have never been involved in an at fault accident other than reversing into a parked car at walking pace.

My current infringement for exceeding the limit by 10 km/h is at the very lowest end of the 3 point infringements. My request is that is be reduced to a 1 point infringement, or should you choose to be extremely generous possibly withdraw the matter.

Your consideration of this is appreciated.

Yours Sincerely,

Jim Best.

FollowupID: 591581

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:47

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 10:47
Jim, Well written, that is gold. Honesty is always the best tack, I believed, mistakenly, that I was in an 80 zone and he was doing 80.

Nowdays with so many cameras and police it can be hard to maintain such a driving record, well done. I think my last 5 years shows only one offence, prior to that it was play the juggling act with Points and Time.

FollowupID: 591583

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 18:42

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 18:42
Jim,

Well worth the few minutes if your licence is coming up for renewal - If there are no infringements for a set period you get a discount on your licence renewal fee.

I may work that you've saved on the fine and the new licence - more money for touring in your pocket!

Tim
FollowupID: 591635

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:35

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:35
It is a well known fact that if you have had a clean driving record for at least 10 years and you write a letter, then you will receive what is commonly referred to as a "Caution" It will show up on your record and the next time you write a letter, it won't work as you have already had you "One off caution"

This will happen in most States !!!

You were very lucky !!!

AnswerID: 324504

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:56

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:56
i'm suprised it happend in Vic?
FollowupID: 591593

Reply By: new boy - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:48

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:48
Have a mate in Perth who got pinged by the camera 2yrs ago He paid the fine returning the form with correct name and address but forgot the driver's licence number .They wrote to him asking for his licence number but he ignored the letter .To date he hasn't lost the 2 demerit points so just goes to show it is the money they're after .
AnswerID: 324507

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:26

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:26
if he was pinged in perth 2 years ago he should just about be ready for his fine.
I got flashed (thought i was a 70 and was doing about 68 in a 60) ON Pinjarra road 6 months ago and still waiting. Apparantly 9-12 months isnt uncommon
FollowupID: 591606

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 16:50

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 16:50
Got flashed twice......once in Byford and once in Armadale....about 3 years ago......have not heard a thing....just renewed my drivers licence...no worries there either.....I was sweating for a while but!
FollowupID: 591621

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:50

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 11:50
Gday Jiim,

Bloody Hell! They are human!

Good job, and thanks for the heads up.

Hairy
AnswerID: 324508

Reply By: HowdyDoody - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:26

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:26
Sorry to hijack this post, but it got me thinking. Does anybody know if those fixed camera's along the Hume are switched on?
AnswerID: 324514

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 13:20

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 13:20
The location of them all is now available from website along with certificates showing when they were last tested .

The hume hwy distance ones require and additional survey certificate , and only a few are listed and these are closer to melbourne.
The one below is link to its certificate and it was last checked april this year - so I presume its operational .

http://www.justice.vic.gov.au/wps/wcm/connect/Road+Safety/resources/file/ebff9e07810dc19/Craigieburn-North-2-zones.pdf

FollowupID: 591594

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 13:23

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 13:23
They are turned on but not operating on the "point to Point" basis that they were intended for.Brumby was on the tele a couple of months back copping a flogging over it. I don't know if they operate as a fixed speed camera for that particular point though.

FollowupID: 591595

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:12

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:12
I always write letters...well....2 different ones for Nathan this yr...one was a parking ticket and one speeding.

The parking one I argued that we did see the parking officer - but he was in his car and if he had time to stop and write the details down then he had to have been making a parking infringement himself and if he did stop then he would have noticed that more than half the car was within the parking area.....

the speeding one....typical...been good driver for 10 yrs or so....please let me off....was a mistake wont do again thing.....!
AnswerID: 324527

Reply By: deserter - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:12

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:12
I copped a parking fine on the Gold Coast for parking properly at the kerb but facing in the opposite direction. This was in a quiet back street out in the suburbs. Simple revinue raising in my opinion. I plan to try the letter bit before I pay the $70.
AnswerID: 324548

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 20:19
Well dont go to New Zealand if you park like that as not only will you get a fine for incorrect parking but also one for careless driving as you had to drive on the wrong side of the road to get there.
The parking wardens in Dunedin used to have a field day with foreign tourists who parked like that.

Saw one in the busiest block in town park like that and they towed it.
FollowupID: 591670

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:39

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:39
Well done Jim. my concern is how many drivers drive around without knowing the speed limit for the particular stretch of road on which they are driving.

Is it driver error or a lack of decent speed signs?
AnswerID: 324551

Reply By: nathanj - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:46

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:46
Might need to try this shortly!

Today I was travelling down Albany Highway in Perth and the speed camera was setup really wierd!

I am the red car and the blue arrow is the front of the camera so normally the arrow would point towards incoming traffic however it was turned around. Did I get flashed? I didn't noticed but did brake _hard_. Is it possible?
AnswerID: 324553

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:16

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:16
Nathan

The camera in this instance is set up to catch vehicles traveling away from it in the opposite lane to yourself...
FollowupID: 591645

Follow Up By: nathanj - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:01

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:01
Well that ensuring. :D

It wierd why wouldn't they want photos of the front to f the vehicle?

The blue thing with the arrow is the front of the camera.

I never seen them set up like this.
FollowupID: 591680

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:11

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:11
Because Motor Cycles don't have number plates on the front...all vehicles have them on the rear....
FollowupID: 591685

Follow Up By: neil&brenda - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:04

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:04
Pray tell, why were you braking hard??
Speeding...maybe??
FollowupID: 592020

Reply By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:48

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 17:48
you to see a well written letter --- check this one out -- also a traffic related incident --- just download this PDF and have a read

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=ef1dac8572a17cb3d2db6fb9a8902bda

Boc
AnswerID: 324554

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:41

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:41
Pure Magic, I loved it.
FollowupID: 591658

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:44

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 19:44
hehehe , i am getting him to write my letter for me :)

Boc

FollowupID: 591659

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 20:56

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 20:56
Jim, if my memory serves me as well as I think it does, you have said in the past "do the crime, you serve the time or pay the fine". Have you changed all your philosophies?
AnswerID: 324582

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:31

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:31
Hey John

The funniest thing I find is that Jim used the words and I quote ( Naturally this was written in a most polite and respectful way.) and had his name in the same Post.LOLOLOLOL.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 591697

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 07:23

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 07:23
John,

I believe if the punishment fits the crime, the offender should be duly punished. In this case I thought the punishment to be severe considering the circumstances. The Penalty Review Board agreed with me.

That is why we have a legal system in Australia. The Police lay charges and then it is up to the Judiciary to decide guilt or innocence and an appropriate punishment/penalty.

It's a wonderful country we live in.

FollowupID: 591714

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:51

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:51
Gees Steve do you get your wife to do all your dirty work ... LOLOLOL

Richard :-)))
FollowupID: 592023

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 00:02

Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 00:02
Only when she tells me. LOLOL.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 592024

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 23:22

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 23:22
It has been a superb day in Melbourne. A beautiful spring day, 24 degrees and sunny.

Jenny and I spent the morning at the factory developing new products and finalising a new camping product.

Then we went and sat on the Verandah of a local reataurant, enjoyed a glass or two of plonk and had a most lovely lunch.

Our 25th wedding anniversary is about two weeks off, business is great and I can't remember the last time I was so happy.

My Kind Regards,

FollowupID: 592265

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:09

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:09
Certainly doesn't work in CQ. Tried it a couple of times. Had an unblemished driving record of over 28 years. Got two speeding tickets via patrol cars within 12mths of each other. Tried writing letters and politely told to pay up and shut up.
AnswerID: 324600

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 05:56

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 05:56
Well done you guys in getting off.
I'm living in Switzerland these days, and a few months ago I was pinged by a fixed camera for doing 51kmh in a 50 zone.
I didn't even try writing and just paid the damned CHF40 fine and had the Notice sealed in plastic for posterity as a "war injury".
ONE kilo over.
AnswerID: 324624

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 19:25

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 19:25
I guess when in Suisse you have to calibrate your tyres every 5,000km...
FollowupID: 591826

Reply By: Member - Michael M (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 23:45

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 23:45
Gday Jim
Just got the combination of mobile coverage and 240 volts together at the same time! Just doing a quick check of the forum and will post something properly over the next few days. have made it as far as Kabra, near Rockhampton, about 2,400km mark. All's good but about to have 10 days off as Marg is coming up for our wedding anniversary and the need to wait for the next driver for the car! Well done on the speeding ticket too! Have met some great people up here, not wound up like down south, maybe it's the weather?
Cheers, Michael
AnswerID: 325335