Winching 101- When the inevitable finally happens...Doh!

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:10
ThreadID: 62228 Views:5362 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Well I have returned from the week long sojourn through the Mallee Sunset, Big Desert and Kulkyne. Not one tyre was lost in the cause which is a bloody miracle for me! Had a fantastic time returning to visit some of the places we knocked about as kids in the NSW station country north of Wentworth. Proof that you don’t have to travel to far in this country to find some serious outback drives. Have to concur with Willem that the NatMaps are WAY out of date with the outback roads. Many are simple and long unused tracks rather than the major league Public Access Roads the maps purport them to be! Never the less the Track-Ranger program worked well and we managed to navigated our way through NSW and SA’s Dangalli Conservation Park and Calperum Pastoral lease down into Chowilla. It was home via Renmark and the border Track to Albacutya and then back to Melbourne.

I did however manage one mishap…more an adventure really. Here’s what one moment of inattention can do for you. Tyres slipped 15 cm off the track across a copi plain and she was all over. Image Could Not Be Found
At least I have now used my winch and I have managed to use the spare tyre as a well buried anchor point. Two more rungs up the "outback skills" ladder. If there’s one thing worse than digging deep trenches for tyres and moving more than a few square metres of earth to free your vehicle, it’s filling the holes back in again!

Cheers. Mick

Note that's a Cooper tyre boys...when only the best will do!(Note: I'd have been happy to winch off a BFG..lol)

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:23

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:23
Mick

Good to see you are now more experienced.. LOL

you may need a set of these maxtrax

AnswerID: 328204

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:37

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:37
I invented something similar for my first Simpson Crossing in 1985 Richard. It was six, 2 metre long strips of 25mm weldmesh. Did the job well enough. Shrubbery does the job, it's just a matter of how far you had to walk for it and that was over a kilometre in this case.

FollowupID: 595492

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:25
Bout time you got a haircut mate lol..

Almost did the same thing on Lake Poeppel, but managed to slide up again.

Must get myself a winch before the next big one. They look like they can come in handy.

AnswerID: 328205

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:33
Yep you're right but I'm the good looking bloke holding the camera. That's my offsider and back up excavator Hugh! I'll get one on Saturday.

My thoughts on winch use has always been an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure but I'd have been up the creek without it on this occassion. Cheers Al.

FollowupID: 595491

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 23:36
Oh come on Mick. You just wanted to play winches ! :))
Good job your mate is fit, and the ground wasn't rock. It isn't an easy dig in any terrain I rekkon.
FollowupID: 595510

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:28

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:28
if that were me i would just bury the cooper! hahahahaha Paul
AnswerID: 328206

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:50

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:50
If you'd had decent tyres you'd have driven out of that. :)
AnswerID: 328214

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 04:32

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 04:32
G day Pat

Now what would you call decent tyres, BFG's maybe ?

Anyway, how's the family ?

FollowupID: 595521

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:58

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:58
Finally someone has come up with great use for a Cooper tyre. Seriously nice photo Mick of a text book recovery. The hands on the hips say it all :-)
Cheers Craig.......
AnswerID: 328332

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:23
Poor old Hugh. He was, no we both, were rooted by the time we got out. 4 hours of digging. Who'd be a plumber!? Cheers.

Mick

FollowupID: 595589

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:50

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:50
Good effort Mic - Never had to try the buried wheel trick but physical fitness seems to be the key to it.

Just back from that way to , and the rain friday caused some real issues hear and there.

AnswerID: 328585

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:40

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:40
G'day there Robin. We had a great week but beat a hasty retreat once the weather started turning. The wind was a shocker on Thursday and the clouds were moving in from SA. You are dead right on the fitness thing, and I aint! My offsider Hugh is a 2 packet a day man so he's not the best either but we got it done. The clay we hit about 700 down was the hardest but it also played into our hands giving a firmer base for the anchor.

Just finished three days blog entries on the trip and posted them. Got some great photos. Had forgotten just how good the wildlife is in the Hattah-Kulkyne, Murray-Sunset. How many stumpies were on the march?

Mick.

FollowupID: 595852