Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Camping at Coffin Bay in January

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:56

Patrick W

Article Overview - Coffin Bay
The Coffin Bay penninsula is a large wilderness area, almost surrounded by water, reaching out into Great Australian Bight. It is situated at the southern-most tip of the Eyre Penninusula near Port Lincoln. View Full Article...

Planning to get away from Melbourne at Xmas and think we've settled on Coffin Bay SA as a destination for some sand driving, beach camping, fishing etc. We'll be towing off-road campers and are looking for any suggestions as to best spots to 'get away from the crowds'. Somewhere good to launch a tinnie is a high priority as well. All suggestions appreciated. Cheers.
ThreadID: 62554 Replies: 5
Views: 942 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 329927   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 20:31

jdwynn (Adelaide) replied:

I really like Morgans landing area in the Nat. Park. Nice spot - got shade in the camp spot, beautiful beach. Bit of traffic goes past and bees can be an issue. cheers JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge
"Browned Out" Gawler Ranges 09/09

Success is getting what you want. Happiness is liking what you get.
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 329931   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 20:45

Patrick W replied:

Thanks JD, that's one of the spots I've been thinking of. Possible to launch a tinnie there do you reckon?
Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 597383   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:12

jdwynn (Adelaide) posted:

I'm not a boater but I'm sure you could launch a tinnie there. Think some campers leave boat in water - always seems a calm place (unlike further out at Point Sir Isaac). Few photos of the beach - see dolphin in shallows - views across to other side - oh what a place.

beach thoroughfare
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge
"Browned Out" Gawler Ranges 09/09

Success is getting what you want. Happiness is liking what you get.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 329932   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 20:50

Member - Ron H (SA) replied:

Patrick,
I recommend trying the Pool - adjacent Point Sir Isaac. Good selection of campsites, toilet, beach access and sheltered beach to launch the tinnie. This area is further into the Park and avoids some of the traffic. You will cover a fair bit of the Park getting there, including sand driving along beautiful Seven Mile Beach.This site is close to Sensation Beach for some great sand-driving, beach fishing and swimming.Will probably head down there myself for the Australia Day holiday. If you haven't already done so checkout the Park brochure - link below:
http://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/pdfs/BROCHURE_COFFIN_BAY.PDF
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 597386   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:26

Patrick W posted:

Thanks Ron, and yep got the parks brochure. Looking forward to it, big time!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 329935   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:07

Member - Borgy.. (SA) replied:

G'day Patrick

Both spots above are excellent camping areas, not sure if you still have vehicle access to the beaches anymore though, a lot of those places have been closed off...Another beaut spot is Black springs, at that time of year i dont think it will really matter where you camp, I lived in Pt Lincoln for quite a few years and every oppurtunity we had we used to head to Coffin Bay, along with 50000 others..If you go right thru to the point make sure you take note of tide times when driving 7 mile beach, have been caught a few times ...lol...anyway Coffin Bay National park is one of the best 4 wheel driving , fishing and camping places you will ever come across, heaps to do and plenty to see......If i can be of any more help to you mate let me know and i'll give you my email addy....

Cheers.......Borgy
Nolans Brook....July 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers.....Dave
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 597388   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:29

Patrick W posted:

Brilliant work Borgy, I reckon I'm just about sorted! Cheers
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Sydney Sights with the Works Sydney Sights with the Works
Sydney - NSW
Combine our Morning Northern Beaches and Manly Tour with our Afternoon Downtown Sydney, Bondi and Ki
Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - NSW Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Hire a bike and ride all day, as fast as you like on one of our Suzuki GSXR 600 bikes, with Yoshimur
Twilight Corporate Sailing Event for 20 people Twilight Corporate Sailing Event for 20 peopl
Sydney - NSW
Our twilight sailing regattas offer a unique and thrilling experience.
The Joy of Baking Cooking Class The Joy of Baking Cooking Class
Sydney - NSW
Our hands-on cooking classes are more than a cooking lesson.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 331262   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:03

Bricky replied:

Have to agree with the others. Have lived here for three years and anywhere in the Coffin Bay National Park is great. Not sure if you can launch at The Pool, I think you can at Morgans.

Daryl
Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 599041   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:42

Patrick W posted:

Thanks Daryl, Morgans is sounding good. Cheers.
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions