suzuki 4x4

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:18
ThreadID: 62811 Views:7260 Replies:18 FollowUps:10
Hi Guys,
Just wondering if anyone has any experience with these 4x4,s
My son wants a 4x4 so he can come with us but he is a student and works part time so a patrol or cruzer would be to dear to run. He was thinking about a manual suzuki sierra or similar. No major trips away but local country fun in sand and rock and mud.
I am a little worried about reliability of them as have nothing to do with them
Any information is welcome.
patrolman

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:22

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:22
They are fantastic, easy to fix when something goes wrong, got a 35lt tank and are much better than the vitaras in the way of fuel economy.
I had a 1994 sierra and it had 310,000km on it.....with original motor still in fantastic shape.

They are great in the bush cos they are light and skinny compared to the 'big boys'.

We plan on getting another one cos the windscreen folds downand nath can go shooting in it easily.

my one was rough on highways but that rarely happened.....

fuel economy was good...I think with a 35lt tank I could get 380km or more - my gauge was always broken so could never tell....
AnswerID: 331432

Reply By: Mike - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:54

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:54
My daughter has had one for 8 years and it seems to be bullet proof. Don't know exactly what year, but it has the coil front end. She hasn't done a lot of 4X4ing excepy playing arround Cactus and Yorke's surfing, but for many years, it hardly ever got serviced. She's had it on Fraser and Morton when she worked in Qld. It has never let her down. (touch wood)

I would hate the old guy we got it from to see the way she has treated it, especially for the first few years.

I wouldn't deter any young person, who doesn't mind being bounced around a bit on the road, from getting one.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 331439

Reply By: Member - John D (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:06

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:06
Hi patrolmann, I have never had a Suzuki myself, but take a look at thread 61936 for more comments from those that have.

AnswerID: 331443

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:09

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:09
My son has a sierra and recons its great,we just drove to Braidwood from Mid North Coast for the weekend in it and didn't miss a beat,We got about 380-390k to the tank with two adults and a heap of gear,This car will go anywear my Patrol goes,It has 2" spring lift, 2" body lift & 29"rubber.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 331445

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:13

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:13
We have owned a "family" Sierra for about 8 years. Put a new (recon $1200) engine in it at about 150k and the recon has now seen about 170k - still going well. We fitted the engine ourselves - you can do that with a few spanners, a socket set and a chain hoist under the car port on these cars. You don't need a fully equipped workshop, a set of electronic diagnostic equipment and a degree in rocket engineering to make them work.

Off road they are close to unbeatable by other standard 4WDs and will withstand lots of rough treatment. On road they are... eeerrr... "testing" :) on a long drive but students are young and resilient so he won't notice - much :)

For a student who wants to do some 4WDing I would say they are the ideal vehicle. We won't be selling this one anytime soon.

AnswerID: 331447

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:14

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:14
Hi Patrolmann

Got given a new V6 one for a weekend , and took it to the bush.

Articulation was shocking , and it got stuck on a mild angled drain across a track, with wheelspin at both ends.
Bit surprized actually at how poor its 4wd performance once.

We then took it up a few tracks and its transmission got hot and oil smelly.

Looked pretty though in all black , and had good economy , just don't buy one for 4wding.

AnswerID: 331449

Follow Up By: Craigzy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:55

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:55
Patrolman was asking about the Sierra.
FollowupID: 599222

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:12
Robin - Put a driver in a sierra (not a vitara) and you will not beat him off road, standard car against standard car. Many tried but all failed ;-) Cheers Tony (ps An old modified Mitsibishi L300 Van was always close though above all other models and makes). Cheers again Tony - Love Suzuki - just to small and bumpy for an Older Bloke!
FollowupID: 599224

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:52
I was wondering what suzy he was talking about guys , but Tony I wouldn't have considered a Sierra after the experiences a friend had with with, it had even worse RTI than the Vitara and one day we went on a drive up a long seriously fun hill at my place and before he got to the top oil was coming out of the back of the gearbox - I believe its a generic weakness with them and we had to tow him back to camp.
He loved them though like you do and went through a second one which had similar issues before migrating to a V8 powered hilux.

FollowupID: 599265

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:59

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:59
Robin. Then for us its like talking tyres and fridges etc :-). I was also a member of the Suzuki 4x4 club of WA. No one in the club while I was a member ever had any troubles with their steed especially gearbox troubles, not enough power in the motor I would think (Actually they will bend diff housings if you jump sand hills). But hey your friend had a bad run sorry to hear that. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599269

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:28

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:28
Hi Tony

I'm not clear on my facts on this one, I don't remember if oil came out rear of gearbox or top near gearstick.
After the 2nd one we had some input from Suzuki and answer was something along the lines of the gearbox was not meant to handle continuous tilt angles of 30 degrees.

Was a fun car though.

FollowupID: 599379

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:04

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:04
I love them and have owned LJ50s, LJ 80s, and Sierras. All were great and terrific off road. There size and weight outdoing all the other shortcommings. Never beaten in 4x4 club comp weekends. Just check for previous use in salt conditions, lots of double panel joints and moisture will get in and rust they will. Motor service history and how it was driven is important, they are a small motor and if always flogged have a shorter life of around 150k. Other than that heaps of fun and they will go a lot of places with ease. Cheers Tony PS See my blog for some old LJ50 photos. That one rusted away as that is tidal mud near Townsville.
AnswerID: 331459

Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:23

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:23
Personally, I reckon a Vitara is a much better proposition as an everyday driver.
At least you can drive even a 1600 at highway speed and overtake, and their handling is good and SAFE. Mine used to get about 10Lper 100 Km at 100-110 and I drove it from Sydney to Cooktown comfortably. And they are good off road as they have a similar setup to a Range Rover underneath.

A leaf spring Sierra only steers approximately in the direction desired and the ride is horrible. Great fun for a while but ultimately a pain. The Sierra can be modded much better and I have seen one dropped off a cliff ( Long Angle Gully) with guys steadying it down. There are many enthusiasts for Sierras, but they usually spend a lot of money modding them, which they never get back.

You can also get a much better Vitara , as they are mostly hairdressers cars. The one I bought with 165Kkm on it had never been in low ratio as far as I could tell.
My daughter bought one as she liked mine so much .
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 331464

Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:27

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:27
By the way by the end of production , the Sierra was apparently the "most perfect car " ever made with the lowest warranty claim rate of any car.
So yes they are reliable.But so are Vitaras.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 331466

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:38

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:38
They are great vehicles. Plenty of people have years of knowledge about them so if you ever need to know something someone will be able to help. Plenty of after-market parts and accessories available.

About the only thing they can't do is snatch heavy LC, LR, Nissans, etc out of deep bogs. :-))
AnswerID: 331470

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:56

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:56
Kiwi Kia. Sorry must correct you. I have been a member of the landrovers owner club of WA. They used to take all makes. On one trip a fully optioned & loaded (incl 6 passengers) series III Landrover Stn Wgn got bogged to the chasis. No one could get to it. I drove around it with the black LJ80 (800cc) Suzuki (shown in my blog) hooked up the snatch, bagged it in the middle and hit the gas. When I got to the end of the snatch stretch, I came to a sudden halt was lifted and brought/landed back 4ft. The result - a lot of laughs, but a landrover well removed from a bog. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599240

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:34

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:34
it took 4 go's but it did the job.
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 599380

Follow Up By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:31

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:31
I have to agree with kiwi kia even back in the seventies I use to snatch my brothers Falcon 4WD ute out, at Stockton sand dunes & when he flipped it end over end it was the mighty LJ50 Suzuki that put in back on its wheels with all of its 540cc of power, I would not like to say it liked it or did it easy & I think its was making it the first long wheel base

the photo looks like the beach at hawks nest NSW use to be great beach fishing
regards Vince
FollowupID: 599915

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 17:19

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 17:19
Vince. The LJ50 was a toy, I owned 3 of them. The thread is about a 1 or 1.3ltr Suzuki - More Power More Weight and it can and will do the job if required. Cheers Tony.
FollowupID: 600004

Reply By: daisygirl - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:33

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:33
We had a Suzuki Sierra for quite a few years and only sold it late last year due to financial reasons that we needed the money. I was so sad to see it go. We had it lifted and a one litre transfer case and bigger wheels so not totally comfortable on bitumen but you couldnt beat it in the bush. Went on many night runs, day trips and competed in lots of gymkanas (and have a cupboard full of trophies too!!).

We sold it to a young guy just getting into 4wding so it went to a good home. Lots of my friends have had them too and nothing but praise.

We have even been to Straddie with two dogs and all camping gear loaded in!!

Definately let him buy one and you wont wipe the smile from his face!!
AnswerID: 331496

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 22:13

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 22:13
20 years ago I bought a new long wheel base sierra - was the greatest car I ever had - the 1.3 was great - was the most capable vehicle I have had off road - onroad was good too but that was most likely because it was a long wjeel base rather than the bouncy short wheel base - a cheap, capable and fun car.

Make sure you get a 1.3 rather than the earlier 1.0 engine. The last sierras were coils and I have heard they rode a lot better on the road.

Garry
AnswerID: 331537

Reply By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 10:29

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 10:29
Where I work in Africa we have 1600cc Vitaras and they have proved tough and reliable. Most are now 5-6 years old now and are still our daily drives to and from work and occasionally down to the beach.
They are serviced in a typical African manner...what service???? and only fixed when something breaks down.
If I was in the market for a 4x4 of that size it would be my logical choice.
Graeme
AnswerID: 331602

Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 12:56

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 12:56
Hi patrolman
i have had a 1986 1300 Sierra and a 1996 1600 Vitara, both manuals.
Both handled off road extremely wlll within common sense limitations.
The Sierra was economical taking it easy on the road, cruised at 100kph, but high revving.
The Vitara was almost as economical, better handling because of the wider track width, and more comfortable seating with better accessories. Crusied at 100kph with less revs, but still high revs compared to larger engined vehicles.
The revving isn't a problem, these things rev thier guts out, and rhe redline is high on the dial for that reason.
I covered 200 000k in the Sierra after buying is used with 120 000 already on it, and the only problem I ever had was a water pump seal and dodgy brakes at the end of my time with it.
The Vitara, over 120 000k's was faultless and I bought it used with 70 000k on it already.
Based on a good history, I believe either would suit your son's requirement if he keeps in mind they are not powerful, rock climbing trucks.
A bigger diesel vehicle with good credentials and surprisingly good economy and ability would be an Isuzu MU, especially the 2.8 turbo diesel. Many people are scared of them because they are grey imports, but most parts are readily available as they share heaps of Rodeo's mechanicals.
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 331619

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:19

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:19
Brushmarx. What is a good Rock Climber off the showroom floor?

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=DRhGkkTx2u0&feature=related

A siera will climb the rocks when setup to do so (see above link for 1). I have seen many that perform like magic when set up to climb rocks if thats what you want to do.

Only limitations are the ones you give them ;-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599460

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:39

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:39
Never had a sierra .... too small for my needs.

Plenty of mates had them when I had the troopy and they went everywhere and more that I did ... even if I did have to carry half thier gear for them ... lol

My impression from those times iis that the sierra is a top little unit for a beginner.

Worthy of consideration also, is the Daihatsu Feroza and the earlier model, swb diesel Rocky ( if you can find one with no rust ) in your shopping expedition.
AnswerID: 331642

Reply By: young_codger - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:28

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:28
Get a 1.3L as the 1.0L is pretty gutless

The early ones up to 95 had stiff leave suspension and can roll easily.
AnswerID: 331727

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:12

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:12
Have had a few from the Mid 70's & have a 94 Vitara now as a small around town car (have driven one to the top & back) they are reliable great little capable 4wd & cheap for any parts if they did them (rare). The sierra is a better off road 4wd but rough on the road & have a bit of a colt following so you will pay more for one & parts. The Vitaras front diff is the weak point but hell you must have to give them hell, the suspension is harder & more dollars to change. but if you want a better road car the Vitara is so much better. I have built up a few, so if you have any Questions send me a members Msg by the way ours is for sale 130,000klms ARB bull bar,Elec Winch,hard top & soft top, Air Con, Cd, New BF goodrich tyres & 12months Rego $4250.00
regards Vince
AnswerID: 332067

Reply By: NeilT - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 19:09

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 19:09
Well I wouldn't be trying this - I'm sure his electrics will never be the same again :

Suziki river crossing

But that's a pretty special little machine...
AnswerID: 332183