Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

I need a gu know it all

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 09:05

Member - Kim (mr)

Just wondering if someone could tell me when the gu first came out and what year the 3lt came out and if when the 3lt had the intercooler on it right from the start etc. Thanks. And also where dose the 3lt get its power from, because it has almost the same figers as the 4.2 and it has these fig. at the same revs so it cant be working any harder?More drive'n less talk'n
Advertisement
ThreadID: 6319 Replies: 6
Views: 591 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 26608   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 10:38

Member - Bob replied:

Kim, you could find this out at redbook. When you look for second hand values they list all the models and variants released each year.
http://www.redbook.com.au/vehiclesearch/valuations3.asp?make=NISS&family=PATROL
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 26614   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 13:15

Andrew(WA) replied:

Kim

They always had the intercooler from day 1. Came out in 1998 I think from memory.

Don't know about where the power bit comes from, I'm not a techno head but you will get plenty of feed back from others.

Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 26615   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 14:30

bruce.h (WA) replied:

kim
the gu first hit the market in 1998 but was a 2.8lt td the 3lt td came out 1999 im not sure if the 4.2 was available straight off
regards Bruce
Reply 3 of 6
FollowupID: 18222   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 14:58

Michael posted:

Gday Bruce, the 4.2 was out at first, but non turbo and of course the old 4500 petrol guzzler, cheers michael
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 18532   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 00:07

srowlandson posted:

the zd30 (3.0 Tdi) GU was release as the 'Series II' in March 2000, with the First being sold in April 2000
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 26640   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2003 at 22:17

joc45 replied:

Can narrow it down a bit more;
The 4.5L petrol came out in beginning of 98, the 4.2 diesel DX (not avail in ST) around the middle of 98, and the 4.2TD in June 1999 (avail in ST wagon). The GU ute came out a bit earlier in 99.
In March 2000, the 3.0L diesel came out as the Series II. The DX was then also avail with the 4.2TD, and I recall they dropped the nat-asp 4.2 diesel from the wagons.
Not sure when they went to the 4.8L petrol.
rgds
Gerry
Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
3 Hour Natural Spa Treatment 3 Hour Natural Spa Treatment
Sydney - NSW
Come and let us pamper you with our 3-step Jobonga natural spa treatment, which includes feet treat
Lotus Exige Hot Laps Lotus Exige Hot Laps
Brisbane - QLD
Lotus are renowned for building some of the best handling cars in the world, strap into the passenge
Le Relais Bressan Lunch Trike Ride for 2 Le Relais Bressan Lunch Trike Ride for 2
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Imagine riding on a Harley Davidson trike through the quaint villages and lush rolling hills of the
Helicopter Flight - Just the Alice - 10 minutes Helicopter Flight - Just the Alice - 10 minut
Alice Springs and Central Australia - NT
Exciting from lift off to touchdown, take to the sky in one of our bubble-cabined Bell 47 helicopter
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 26684   Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 18:10

Billowaggi replied:

Hi Kim power from the 3.0lt comes from all sorts of hi tec lovelies like twin ovehead camshafts, four valves per cylender, variable vane turbo, computer controlled fuel delivery etc. compared with the 4.2 which uses 1940,s tecknology.
Regards Ken.
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 18298   Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2003 at 17:20

Nissan Man posted:

Billowagga,

That relatively simple technology in the 4.2 means you can fix it in the bush, unlike the 3 litre that would need to be towed to the nearest dealer!

Kevin
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 18348   Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2003 at 22:54

Billowaggi posted:

Hi Nissan Man, I fully agree with you but remember times are changing, the latest 4.2's [since they fitted the intercooler] have electronic control of the injector pump and fly by wire throttle.
Regards Ken.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 18407   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 21:03

tristjo posted:

Bill,

I thought they only had an electronicly monitored, not controlled, injector pump??

The 4.2 is still the best bet in my mind.

Tristjo.
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 26894   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 22:34

Billowaggi replied:

Monitoring is no use just on its own, what is the point unles you make some input into fuel delivery and timing,this can only be done when the E.C.M. has control over the injector pump. Nissan has always used the same Bosch/Zexsel as Toyota and have just upgraded tro the electronic governor unit.
Regards Ken.
Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website