AnswerID: 334125 Submitted: Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 19:08
kiwicol
replied:
Hi Vicar, i also have a supercharged 4.2 diesal GQ, just wondering what system you run as the unit i run gives no room to intercool after the S/C. Also dont know what your after but for normal driving with camper trailer, on black top, and dirt have never felt i needed more as the charger gives me more low down tourge in low revs which i feel real casual 4x4ing is about, but if your into high reving compitition, then i feel you sjhould have stayed with a turbo. I have a pyro guage fitted, which i use with the rev counter to con trol temp variations and fuel consumption. I can get the pyro up to 700 degs on uphill long flogs fully loaded with camper, but have used guages and gears to control temp. Vehicle has done 370,00ks fitted with S/C for 200,000ks and have had no problems, and no oil consumption whatso ever. I also have to say thye supercharger has given me more than a turbo can ever hope to offer for my needs for casual 4x4ing. Col
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 602007 Submitted:
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 17:13
Vicar posted:
Hey mate,
Yeah, had a custom setup done using a supercharger out of a Toyta Crown 2L. Goes well. Just always looking for better torque without the high revs.
Been ultra reliable, want to look at the 4.8 GU next, reckon they are an untapped beast!
Cheers for your info mate.
Vicar.
FollowUp 1 of 1