Ev and Ren back from the Daintree- MARRIED AND ALL !!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:13
ThreadID: 63475 Views:2817 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Howdy all,
back to reality after a couple of weeks in FNQ.
Ren and I flew over for a few days before the big day to relax and get away from our little maggot Lee!
We arrived in Cairns, picked up the Budget Hire 4by (Patrol, pitty) no offens Lionel, and headed for the Daintree! With a quick stop in at Port Douglas for a beer at the Court House Hotel of course. (Many stop ins occured at this lovely establishment during our stay!)
All I can say is absolute paradise!!! If you get a chance, stay at the Daitree Eco Lodge!
2 thumbs up to Kent at the Daintree Eco Lodge for making our wedding day a stress free fabulous occasion. Thanks also for letting me and my motely mates make a bit of noise, sorry about the complaint!Image Could Not Be Found
The rain W51403 is certainly something to behold. Numerous activities included, swimming at Mossman George, (thanks to Doug who gave us a bit of local knowledge, that secret spot was awsome, we went back twice), fishing on the Daintree River with Jamie, your a champ, (even though I didn't catch a bloody thing, Ren was stoked with her hauls,) a helicopter flight over the rainforrest and Hinterland that blew our minds,and the Bloomfield Track,to Cape Trib and on to Cooktown. Ill do it again just go back and have a beer with the old fellas at the Lions Den Hotel! Characters to say the least!
Cooktown didn't really do it for us, but the drive back on the highway to Mossman was a nice contrast to the lush rainforrest, it's hard to believe that cattle country, dry and desolate as it is , is just over the mountains. Man they needed some water!
All you lucky people living up there, the place rocks!!! pity there ain't any surf cause we would be there in a heart beat!

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:28

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:28
Congratulations guys . Glad you enjoyed that neck of our woods, it's a very special spot as you found out.
PS the surf is a bit further down the coast......:)))))))
AnswerID: 334922

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:39

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:39
Glad you guys had an awesome time. I would love to visit up there one day.
AnswerID: 334941

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:12

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:12
Congrats guys, Im half wishing we went here for our honeymoon....ah well.....maybe for a kid free weekend!! It certainly is a good part of this country up there
AnswerID: 334947

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:37

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:37
Nah mate, no probs, just some will never learn.

Pleased for you guys,

Ev, look after that li'l lady, shes a gem.
Ren, blokes like Ev dont come along every day.

Now lets get down to the important stuff.......hehehe.
Did you mention something about the Warren River after Xmas.

Cheers......Lionel & Paula.
AnswerID: 334956

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:22

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:22
yep,

I'm home from work around the 6th Jan for a month. Let me know what dates suit and we'll post something on the trip gatherings. I know it is school holidays but got a few secret spots that we can hide away from the crowds. I haven't been there for about 12 months so I will take a drive tommorrow with Ren and and do a bit of investigating and track research.
Can't wait for this bloody rain to stop! it was freezing down here this morning!!!

Ev

FollowupID: 602737

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:45

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:45
Havent been anywhere since our Boyagin outing.

Goin stir-crazy. Anytime mate, I'll fit in with you guys.

January pretty slow work wise so all should be good.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 602755

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:54

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:54
PS: Hows Dono going, doesnt seem to pop his head up as much these days.

Has he got bubs behind the wheel of the Tojo yet.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 602757

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:01

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:01
I am going to a bash next weekend up in Perth and he is sure to be there! I too haven't spoken for a while, but I think fatherhood and work commitments have had him under the pump off late!
Don't worry, ol Dono's always lerkin!

FollowupID: 602759

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:27

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:27
Hi Ev & Ren

Congrats and glad to see you had a great time also!!!

Cya
AnswerID: 334983

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:14

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:14
Ev and Ren, congrats and pleased to hear that everything went well. As nice as it was to be away, I bet its nice to see little Lee's smiling face again.
Will try and catchup soon. We have bought 2 sit-on kayaks and have been trying them out down your way. Unfortunately we get pretty busy over summer so we are trying to fit another weekend away before the silly season.
Cheers Craig and Dale
AnswerID: 335011

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:58

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:58
Hi Ev & Ren,

our heartiest congrats to you both on the big day - sounds like it was an absolute cracker! Funnily enough, Juani & I were talking about tieing the knot earlier on in the week as we've just celebrated 8 years together (strewth!)

I was thinking about taking the munchkin up to Paynes Find for a bit of a fossick a few weeks back, but decided she's still a bit too small - another month or two should do it though. Might head down to Denmark for a bit of a break in the meantime. We're certainly overdue for another WA get together and now Lionel's Patrol is firing on all 6, us Tojo boys will be in real trouble!

As for FNQ, it's the only place that's really ever tempted me to move from WA. I lived in Pt Douglas and worked in Mossman for quite a while when I was working on the WW2 film 'The Thin Red Line' in the Armoury Dept. For some of that job I was seconded to the Action Vehicles Dept, so we had a Diamond T tank recovery truck, GMC's, Studebaker's, Stuart Tanks, Jeeps, Dodge Power Wagons etc. I also did some insane 4x4'ing in my trusty old 75 series towing 37mm anti-tank guns up all those hill climbs. It is truly a magic part of the world - it really is. (BTW, the Southern Highlands of NSW is pretty special too if ever you're down that way).

Anyway, we'll see you all at the B's pre-Tassie bash next week.

Adios

AnswerID: 335339