The age old debate - diesel/petrol - Nissan/Toyota

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:48
ThreadID: 63550 Views:5560 Replies:9 FollowUps:15

I have a 2000 GU Patrol 4.5L petrol. Just got back from holiday towing a camper trailer as well as tinny on boat loader on the roof. Nissan went great except - fuel consumption overall 22l/100km; and significant power loss on the slightest incline or headwind.
My mate has a 2004 3L TD Patrol just towing camper trailer and averaged 12-13L/100km and seemed to have no reduction in power and could overtake easily.
This has made me consider my options, should I convert to gas, should I look at a 3L TD Patrol or a 100 series cruiser 4.2L TD for that bit of extra power.
The lack of research when I first puchased the patrol has led me to doing research now about a future option. I do love my Nissan but the cost of fuel and total range is a concern.
(I may also have the tinny and boat loader on the market soon too if anyone is interested!!!)

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:58

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:58
This is coming from a toyota and nissan owner.....so im from both camps.....

Please please please please dont touch a 3lt patrol....we're looking at getting rid of ours (2002 3lt) for a 4.2lt yota. (we're ex 80 series owners who went to nissan (navara and then patrol) and regret it!!)

the 3lt are very economical and very comfy riding, the only thing is the motor.....we average 10lt around town AND while we're towing through the sand with only the typical loss of power due to towing but nothing abnormal and very rarely felt actually unless we're chock-a-block full of gear.

The 100 series (or even look at the 105 series which are almost like a rebadged 80 series because of similar running gear) sits on around 14lt. (but someone could correct me)

As for changing or converting...Id change (our 80 series was on gas and although it was cheaper to fill up we would still sit on 22lp100 or more when towing....) we would get 420km max out of a 90lt gas tank. around town on easy driving. 370km when towing or loaded up.

hope this helps....

Laura
AnswerID: 335435

Follow Up By:- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:10

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:10
Thanks Laura

Have you had motor probs with the Patrol? the rest of the info about the Patrol was quite positive?
FollowupID: 603152

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:45

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:45
Hi Laura,
I find your fuel figures re the 3.0l Nissan very interesting.

Over the past 81,000k's my factory 4.2l TD Troopy returns the following,

Avg 11.53 l / 100k's

Max 13.94 l / 100k's

Min 10.32 l / 100k's

I'm a tourer rather than a rock climber but I do find those figures for the Nissan rather high considering their alledged technology advantage over the 4.2l Tojo injun!

How'd the guru go with the fault finding on grenade?

FollowupID: 603162

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:47

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:47
Laura
Reading this made me wonder ,,,,, where is Laura !

Guess what ,, deadly eh !..... first to reply..

Gotta love it

Cheers Bucky
FollowupID: 603174

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:41

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:41
The probs we think AREN'T the motor but it is at the 5th mechanic trying to diagnose the prob (which is linked to a heaps of sensors.....but I still dont trust this car...!)........there are a stack of posts that Ive put up about it and updating it when I can......not sure of the post numbers but if interested do a search of "grenade and kiwi".....that should bring something up.....

I still wouldnt touch a 3lt.....we did because we were told the probs were with series 1 and 2 (the early model 3lts).....but now more and more cases of the GUIII are coming up because of the km's on them....120,000+ and even some GUIV are having issues already.....there is another post on here with the details of one doing the pistons.....

the 3lts are good like I said but I dont trust them...especially when we were 1000km from nowhere when stuff was happening!

We neve took the navara or the taken the nissan rock hopping as we havent had the time for it....so that sort of fuel consumption is a bit of a mystery but usually going off experience wouldnt be too much more anyway.

As for where our car is now Geoff.....its at the mechanics in wollongong and havent heard anything about it yet so should do on tuesday when he's had it for a week...if not i might ring and see how its going....

Im around Bucky....quietly watching and waiting....!!
FollowupID: 603208

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:06

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:06
the fuel economy figures are quiet normal for the nissans.....10lt for the 3lt engines is average....

the 80 series on petrol sat on around 18 - 19lt / 100km in normal conditions (not htat it was on pretrol much....mostly used the lpg as you would!).....so their consumption of 22lt sounds pretty normal too (towing wasnt it...)......where our 80 was 24ish....worse was 28lt / 100km when nathan sat the thing on 120kph for 4 hrs!
FollowupID: 603210

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:06

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:06
The patrol and cruiser petrols are fuel hungry but they both have lots of grunt, I would think you have a tune up problem.

AnswerID: 335436

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 15:46

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 15:46
I had a 4.2 non turbo cruiser. I would not own another one unless it had a turbo. Heavy on juice when you try to stay at the speed limit in hilly country. Bit sluggish too. My 3ltr turbo Holden would outdo it with ease. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603225

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:07

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:07
Please this first...........

Site Link
AnswerID: 335437

Follow Up By:- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:16

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:16
Hmmmmm
FollowupID: 603156

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:32

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:32
Also here..........

Site Link
FollowupID: 603159

Reply By: lizard - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:23

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:23
Put it on gas .... I don't understand the powerloss you mention ... these 4500 motors have heaps of grunt .... get it tuned ..... I had one = best 4wd I had
AnswerID: 335440

Follow Up By:- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:31

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:31
Had one - what did you replace it with?

I know I had weight and wind resisitance but at the sight of an incline it would drop from 100km to 80km in a blk and really had to boot it to get any sort of respones, also overtaking was a real worry
FollowupID: 603157

Reply By: lizard - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:49

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:49
Replaced it with a 2006 GU ute ... 4.2 intercooled turbo diesel ...to enable me to carry more gear & tow off rd caravan etc .
Well , the petrol patrol wagon used approx 26 l/100 km towing van & loaded as well ... the diesel ute uses approx 22 l/100 km towing same van , but carrying a bit more weight .... the petrol wagon towed the van easier , and it was easier to drive (it was auto) ... it is a fallacy about diesel being a better tow vehicle (imho) ...will try ute on gas injectionwhen I can afford it.
I was looking to buy a Toyota ute - but the interior of the cab put me off - spartan & noisey , and so low geared for long distance cruising.
AnswerID: 335446

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:59

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:59
I have gone for a 2001 4.2 TD Patrol, and not the newer 3.0 lt job.
The 4.2 is a big slug, but I did not buy a sports car. They are incredibly good at what they are designed to do , just a tad slow on the highways.

Have you heard, the 3.0 lt can blow the doors off the older 4.2 TD motors, but they go bang !,, hence the term hand grenade.

Got rid of the 2003 STR Navara, nothing wrong with that vehicle. Same motor as the Patrols, but these seldome go bang, but the Navara's are about 1 tonne lighter.
Just hard ride finally wore me down. Mind you I did lift the thing, and put heavy duty suspension on it, which by the way was a softer ride than the original.

Latest economy figures. just a smidgeon under 8km/lt country and city drivine mix.

Towing. 5.7 km/lt...total weight (patrol & camper) 4.2 tonne

Dyno tested 2 weeks back at 98 kw, at the rear wheels.

AnswerID: 335461

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:17

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:17
Our 2008 3ltr Patrol goes ok towing the van, plenty of power
going up hills ect, tows it through the sand ok, has'nt got many ks
on it yet, will be better after it loosens up, maybe they might have
got it right, allso we dont thrash it, and get it properly serviced,
we allso got the extended warranty for a bit of insurance,
we traded a 2006 STR Navara which was great for towing ect, but
did'nt suit our needs.
FollowupID: 603188

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:17

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:17
It does sound strange that the 4.5 petrol struggles for power.
As for the 22l/100km it sounds about right. My 4.2 diesel GQ gets WORST figures, when fully loaded and towing full CT in off road situations, of 15l/100km. I still get good range with my 145 litre tank. Take 4 gerries and range is better again.

Despite many people owning the 3l Patrol for towing I wouldn't recommend it. Many owners state it goes fine but always when asked about towing low in the rev range, well...lets just say the 4.2 diesels in Nissan or Toyota form perform better.

As for LPG I suggest you look into how much it would cost to change to diesel and weigh it against an LPG conversion. It be more cost effective to convert to LPG despite having worse fuel figures. Just be aware that if you plan on doing some remote travelling then LPG probably won't be available and diesel would be far better.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 335544

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:18

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:18
Sorry a typo, it should have been 'it might be more cost effective to convert to LPG'.
FollowupID: 603237

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:44

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:44
This owner tows the Van up Teewah Beach, through soft sand,
getting on and getting off the beach, allso up soft inclines placing
the van where we camp, so far no problems yet, all I do is drop the
tyre pressure to suit, and it goes very easy, must be lucky huh.
FollowupID: 603261

Follow Up By: phil300 - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:43

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:43
Hey Dazza what size is the van you tow on the beach?

cheers Phil.
FollowupID: 604270

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:08

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:08
Hi Phil

Little bit over 6.5 metres or 20ft.
FollowupID: 604335

Follow Up By: phil300 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 18:25

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 18:25
Thanks Daza

I am thinking getting a Jayco Sterling 20.64-2 Out Back
just trying to figure which Dinning to go with the L shape
or the cafe style.

Cheers Phil.
FollowupID: 604408

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:06

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:06
Hi Posted

Comments about relative power don't make much sense unless car is faulty.

The 4500 GU never had an abundance of torque or power , which is why I waited for the 4800 however they out perform the 3lt.

Fuel honestly isn't really a main factor in the real cost of ownership of a car in its first 5-7 years of life , I'd think about the total cost of ownership and 4.2TD cruiser is one of the most expensive cars to own.

AnswerID: 335585

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:33

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:33
There must be something wrong...my 4.5 is a weapon. Go and get it Dyno Tuned and they should be able to sort it out

I am getting around 16-19 l/100kms which I am happy with
AnswerID: 335722