Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

NSW Fishing Rules Feedback

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 18:22

Wibbersnukle

Article Overview - NSW Fishing Rules
Fishing in Australian salt and fresh waters is governed by state rules and regulations and must be strictly followed as these laws are in place to ensure fisheries are ecologically sustainable. View Full Article...
I was told by a deep sea fishing operator that pensioners do not need a fishing license. Is this correct?
Advertisement
ThreadID: 67079 Replies: 2
Views: 799 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 355495   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 18:38

Member - Warfer (VIC) replied:

FISHING LICENCES

As from 23 March 2001 you now need a fishing licence to fish anywhere in New South Wales. Licences cost $5 for 3 days, $10 for 1 month, $25 for 1 year and $70 for 3 years. You also need a licence for spear fishing, diving, hand gathering and bait collection. Children under 18 years and Commonwealth pension card holders do not need a licence.

You can obtain information about New South Wales Fisheries at www.fisheries.nsw.gov.au
Reply 1 of 2
FollowupID: 623543   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 18:46

Wibbersnukle posted:

Many thanks Warfer. I thought it would be a good idea to get confirmation on this issue.
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 623546   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 19:15

Member - Ian W (NSW) posted:

Aboriginals are also exempt whatever their age or location in NSW

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 623549   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 19:23

Member - Warfer (VIC) posted:

No Worries Mate..
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 355528   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 20:11

Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) replied:

G'day Wibbersnukle

I can tell you from the Fisheries Officers mouth that holders of pensioner concession cards do not need to buy a "Fishing Licence"

However I must correct a post below that states that aboriginal people do not need a licence - in freshwater they are exempt but unless they meet some special circumstances in saltwater they are required to hold the licence.

Check www.dpi.nsw.gov.au for all NSW rules and regs

The Darling River upstream of Bourke - not tellin' how to find this place
Click Image to Enlarge
John T
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" (think about it)
Reply 2 of 2
FollowupID: 623767   Submitted: Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 20:23

Member - Ian W (NSW) posted:

Thanks John T,

I'll follow that one up as we have some part indiginous "locals" who are of the belief that they are "traditional" fishers and therefor don't require a licence.

FollowUp 1 of 1