Wind Power and Solar things ..

Submitted: Friday, May 15, 2009 at 20:35
ThreadID: 68868 Views:9363 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
A while back I was discussing the possibilty of having a small wind generator in camp / on van / on CT etc ... We'e'ell I thank ah fownd wun !!

This is a 300 watt wind generator with twin 40w solar backup panels
not sure if it comes with the orange battery boxes at the base yet or not as I am currently trying to get a price out of the manufacturer ..

What do you think of that ?

Pretty damn cool I'd say as long as you can put a few guys on it !!

Rgds

Mandrake the Wind Magician

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:34

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:34
Holy Moly! Small :-) What size truck have you got? When the wind gets into that turbine I bet you it puts out more noise than my 1kva Yamaha that is light & small.

May be good for a home based setup. but as far as camping no practical I would say. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 365160

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 07:54

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 07:54
mandrake
It looks like you will be camping on your own because if you want guys with you to hold it down they will soon get sick of that.(LOL)

Without them I think it would be very unstable.
ian
AnswerID: 365164

Reply By: Grungle229 - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:25

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:25
If you go wind, stay away from the AIRBREEZE wind generators. We use them at the mines and the blades last around 2-3 months before they crumble as they are not UV stabilized.

Stick with the AIRXLAND as they are a much better item.

Also think about putting in a stop switch to lock the wind generator at night (stops the blades from spinning) as they can get noisy with moderate winds.

Other than that they are great bits of gear.

AnswerID: 365167

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:38

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:38
Hi Mandrake,
I had a mad idea of putting a AIR-X Marine 12v, 400W Wind Turbine on my caravan, did it for one camping trip with friends at the beach. There was plenty of wind gusts but for the hassle of setting up, expense and noise of it it failed miserably. I got 12 amps momentarily once but on average I got may be 1 or 2 amps when the wind was strong enough other than that nothing at all. Every one complained about the noise when trying to sleep even though there was surf noise in the back ground. Have since sold and bought solar panels, as a matter of fact I bought these the other night off ebay they are the same as the other 6 I have had for the past couple of years on the van

Wazzaaaa

link
AnswerID: 365170

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:38

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:38
link
FollowupID: 632801

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:51

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:51
Seems I have some competition there my single 140W panels sells for $860 - Oh well !!

Rgds

Mandrake
FollowupID: 632804

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:29

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:29
The Air-X Marine units are noisy and don't put out power in under about 10 knots.
The Rudland 913 Wind Charger has 6 blades, is quiet and begins to charge at 5 knots with a maximum of 19 amps at 35 knots.
I have one on my yacht along with 4 solar panels, but I would only recommend the wind charger for people that camp near the ocean often as solar panels are the way to go for most 4x4 applications...
FollowupID: 632891

Reply By: Member - Allan S (WA) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:35

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:35
G'day Mandrake
I have been down that path and I think you will be very disappointed with the wind turbine. Mine is now packed up in its box and ready for sale. I will stay with solar as it is quiet and works for me.
AnswerID: 365202

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:45

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:45
Mate of mine - Dan Cook from the USA took a year and a half off - to fly fish all around the world - including Oz.

He towed this hand made stainless steel and alluminium off road trailer with him, for the trip.

It included among many other things:-

Solar panels: Two Brunton Solaris 26
Solar controller: Morningstar Prostar 30
Wind Generator: 400 watt Air-X Marine Wind Turbine

He commented too me - with regard to the wind turbine generator, that on the West Coast of Oz it produced more power at night than the twin solar panels did during the day and was QUIET, with the special patented wind turbine blades that alter their pitch to suit the strength of the wind and thus also remain quiet for sleeping at night - even in strong winds.

He claims the whole trailer cost him more than $50K US to have it custom built.

I imagine that the electrical components werent cheap, but i KNOW that Dan spent a LONG period of time researching every item he had built into the camper trailer to ensure that it would make the triip without problems which it did do.

He has a fascinating blog site if anyones interested and I am sure would give anyone his opinions on any of the equipment used if anyone takes the time to email him or post on his facebook etc

http://www.flyfishingtheglobe.net/index.htm

Having the best of both worlds with solar and wind power seems to make the most sense, depending WHERE you intend to spend all your time camping, for example - IF you intended to spend ALL your time in the inland deserts prospecting for gold and never intended to vsit the coast to fish then maybe a wind generator isn't as suited to your application.

It's horses for courses - but after Dans lengthy experience with his wind turbine - I think its worng for one persons opinion to damn wind vane generators for all time for all travellers.

Dan obviously was & remains happy with his, as I am sure he would attest.

18 months continuous use all over the world experience is NOT to be sneezed at, how many of us are THAT dedicated to our camping travels?

AnswerID: 365245

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:02

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:02
Thats a damn interesting setup there ...
I really need to know just how noisy the wind turbine will be - and
unfortunately the only way to find out is to get one .... Hmmm

But I'd say a setup like the one I'm looking at would be more suited to remote "permanent" coastal accomodation rather than C/Ts etc ..

So my market may change a little ??

Price will as always be the be all an end all of this project ...

Cheers for all the comments good bad and ugly !!

Rgds

Mandrake - still solar-powered !!
FollowupID: 632895

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:15

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:15
I bought the identical airx marine for the same reasions, my research told me they were quieter than others due to the blades and the inbuilt reg was a plus, that was nov 2007. Got it from a US company when australian dollar V US dollar was high for $1100 del. As I camp at the beach mainly in strong wind at times I thought it would be good, but my experience although only 4 weeks of high wind was poor when you look at the power I got for the dollars I spent. Although the noise at night did not bother me that much it did for other campers, I guess it is like a barking dog only annoys the neighbours not the owners.

Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 632908

Follow Up By: Flywest - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:36

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:36
Mandrake,

It occurrs to me (having lived at remote permanent coastal accomodation) that IF i were to spend the $ installing wind vane power generation - I'd likely install much LARGER wind turbines than the one you depict.

I did do a small alternative power feasibility study for the owner of the Island Accom we occupied for a year off the Pilbara coast - and it included solar wind and tidal power options.

I came to the conclusion, that the "best" option, for such an application would be too:-

1) cart concrete pre mix bags to the island
2) make a ply timber tapered pole / staunchion mould.
3) Add pre stressed steel reinforcing to the mould
4). pour a pre stressed concrete support pole in situe for each windvane generator
5). Guy them well for the cyclones they would have to withstand
6). Buy a LARGE high output generator head and vane to attach to our home made support poles.

At the end of the day - carting diesel 1000 liters a time on our boat in a1000 liter cube at $2 liter for the 65KVA Perkins diesel generator was cheaper & easier.

Solar was quoted at over 1.5 million for our needs

Tidal was....possible as we had permanenltly moored barges that could have accomodated turbines and generators but again the cost to modify the existing barges...

Deisel wins out every time, even tho the "novelty" of carting and pumping your own wears off prety quick.

I reckon not much would beat the Airx marine myself for camping duties if near the coast.

With all that said, the one you depict COULD be ideal (if more than one were installed) for remote island tourist camping operations such as this place in exmouth gulf.

http://wilderness-island.com.au/

There would be a market no doubt, BUT, how big would it really be?

FollowupID: 632916