Safety features fail on Toyota 120 Prado

Submitted: Friday, May 22, 2009 at 10:40
ThreadID: 69062 Views:13343 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
A very interesting article regarding owners findings resulting from Prado roll-over, air bags failed to deploy etc.

Prado blog

Reply By: Mick W - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:05

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:05
DIO,

interesting but something Im not surprised about. In my line of work attending motor vehicle incidents is a regular occurence, and on many occasions there have not been air bags deployed in a situation where they may have benefited. Not being an expert, but from what I have seen (including the pics in the prado story), my thoughts lead me to beleive that the actual impact points are NOT areas where SRS deployment sensors are located. I.e. in the prado, it would appear the damage is in the top are of the vehicle, hence one would summize that the sensors are located low on the vehicle where they would normally be activated in a side impact with another vehicle, hence no curtain deployment.

Hopefully there is someone more enlightened that may be able to describe exactly how SRS systems work, and offer some 'expert' advice on these sorts of situations.

AnswerID: 366127

Follow Up By: timglobal - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:51

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:51
Mike,

Firstly my hilarious comment below reads like it's mocking you, but is aimed at the blogger. Just to clear that up ;)

Now we should not forget that SRS means *supplemental* restraint system. Always wear a belt - that's your primary system. These people appear to have - it worked, apparently. Not that they're grateful.

We should also remember that SRS is designed for primary impact, not to be a firecracker of pyrotechnic bags as your car pirouettes down the road.

SRS systems vary a lot, depending on age, bags fitted and manufacturer. Comment on this specific case without better information is hard as all that is offered is a picture of the damaged car and a line drawing.

Focusing on side airbags and curtains.
Side airbags are usually fixed into the seat and/or the A, B or even C pillars. These are primarily designed to cushion lower limbs and torso in intruding side-on impacts. A T-bone crash. These measure a specific level of unanticipated force from a certain angle range. Since this appears a fairly low speed roll-over (left side impact-leading windows are intact), there would not have been nearly the level of force to trigger these.
Curtains are normally hard-wired to the side-impact circuit. One goes off, so does the other. Or not as is the case here. The main purpose of these is to reduce lateral whiplash in intrusive side-impacts.
As the blogger alludes to, some manufacturers have an additional curtain circuit which uses ESP and other information about vehicle dynamics to determine a pure rollover trigger. This vehicle doesn't have it, but I would honestly question its benefit. As it only did one 270 degree roll, the speed was comparatively low, so I question the benefit of the curtain. As I mention before, they're a big bang going off next to your lug-hole!

Again, the blogger comes off as being more miffed at the non-explosion of their "I paid for them" optional airbags, than proposing any enhanced safety they would have brought to this situation.

T
FollowupID: 633849

Reply By: timglobal - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:19

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:19
That's hilarious in its misunderstanding of SRS systems. It reads to me like someone is dealing with their post-crash trauma by way of a blog. It doesn't seem to have that much common sense (IMO)

They pose three questions:
- Why this massive car (LC Prado) rolled over that easily?
- Why not a single airbag (side-airbags, window curtains – I paid for them all) opened up?
- Why this car can roll over being hit with no airbags opening at all?

The obvious answers to which are:
1 Physics. Because it is a high-c.o.gravity car, hit by another large, low-c.o.gravity mass, at right-angle, at it's furthest point from moment of movement. ie The worst possible place.
2 Because the forces required to deploy them were not endured. If the speeds and description are accurate, this doesn't surprise me.
3 This is another way of saying question 2.

The blogger should also consider that airbags are (barely) controlled explosions right next to you and are no walk in the park. Airbag Stuff This person could easily then be complaining that in a minor rollover that the passenger cell absorbed, the airbags went off and they all got scorching and secondary injuries.

The only injuries mentioned are heamatomas - bruises. Which, for a full rollover or any crash is par for the course. I presume they were all seat-belted and the pics suggest the passenger cell has stood up well. These were the major positive safety factors here that they should be focusing their blessings on, rather than why their $2000 optional firework didn't go off as they wished.

Any other thoughts?
AnswerID: 366132

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:13

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:13
"Any other thoughts?"

Go Volvos!

2 tonne of 4WD flipped by a Volvo in a low speed collision.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 633866

Follow Up By: timglobal - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:38

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:38
That's gold!

The blogger has endured a very successful, if unorthodox, PIT manoeuvre from a Volvo.

FollowupID: 633875

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:29

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 11:29
Mike, I agree....but what concerned me was the two fatal accidents I saw involved sedans that had head on collisions with stationary objects and the air bags had deployed BUT both drivers were killed instantly.....I could not understand why until I read a article concerning safety ratings of vehicles which they said that the standard tests with crash test dummies was not above 60 KPH when assessing....that was their benchmark when testing vehicles.

So does that make air bags false security?

The same thing is true when I read an article about drivers who instead of using the 10 and 2 o'clock steering wheel grip and the air bag goes off cops a mouth full of wrist and watch and as a result have to have major reconstruction work done on their mouth and face.

And passengers that rest their feet up on the dash usually die from severe chest trauma as their knees are rammed back into their chest when the airbag goes off.

Makes you think doesn't it.
AnswerID: 366134

Follow Up By: timglobal - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:04

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:04
Redbakk,

Your anecdote makes those crashes sound likely unsurvivable, not airbags a false security. They only become a false security if you expect them to do what they can't (ie - stop you from hitting trees too fast to survive) Rapid decelleration into stationary objects is particularly unpleasant as they often don't have crumple zones like cars and crash barriers, so inflict much on your other internal organs (aside from brain) for which an airbag can often do little.

Legs on SRS dashes should have sticker like for front kids seats. It's very ugly. Hands on wheel is less of an issue as the bag normally brushes your arm away unless you're yawning or hand is over the centre line of the bag. Think eating a maccas... Sunnies will often give you a couple of shiners too.

Equally bad is people who put clocks or remote controls on their steering wheel or dash. Same goes for charms etc as if they don't hot you, they often delay or distort the airbag deployment.
FollowupID: 633852

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:09

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:09
Well said Tim...I know at the time I was shocked and the drivers very dead.....one vehicle was almost totalled but the magna did not look too bad.....with this one I could not help but think his number was up regardless....even if he had crashed into a stack of pillows.
FollowupID: 633855

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:22

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:22
I agree Redbakk. I think some people expect an airbag will prevent injury altogether - it won't, but it could reduce it significantly. In the same way a seatbelt can even causes its own injuries - eg. seatbelt bruising. So why keep using them? Because a seatbelt bruise is generally better than the alternatives.

Face it: if you crash, you will most likely get injured - even with airbags. Driving on the road is not a computer game where you just tap the spacebar and drive on. Airbags and seatbelts might give you a greater chance to live on to tell your tale, but they certainly can't guarantee it.
FollowupID: 633857

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:26

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:26
Timglobal, there usually is a sticker - it's all that fine print that's written on the sunvisor filled with bright yellow sections of caution messages. Besides, the mere "SRS" logo on the dash should be enough of a reminder.

Personally I don't understand feet on the dash - apart from making the dashboard/windscreen dirty, it doesn't look comfortable to me. More importantly, airbag or no airbag, I can't imagine it helping your chances in a collision.
FollowupID: 633860

Follow Up By: timglobal - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:22

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:22
Hey Tim,

Seen stickers for kids seats, but never for legs on the dash. I guess it may be the cars I drive, or just using my noggin like the blogger hasn't. :)

T
FollowupID: 633869

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:35

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 13:35
Ah yes, sorry - I know the stickers you mean - the little graphic with a line thru it (usually on the end of the dash & visible when you open the door). You could have a sticker for feet on the dash, but how many stickers do you want to cover every possible thing someone could put on the dash? I guess car manufacturers (for the moment) can assume that people should be using the seats as they were designed to be used (ie. feet on the floor).
FollowupID: 633873

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 05:04

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 05:04
were they wearing seatbelts?

australian airbags are desighned to work with seatbelts
FollowupID: 634007

Follow Up By: timglobal - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 09:33

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 09:33
Reading it a few times, it increasingly looks like a troll blog. i.e. - someone has made it not to serve as a warning, but to antagonise Toyota and common sense.

The blogger specifically fails top mention some keys facts:
Where they live (though we assume St Petersburg).
Age of car and brief usage history.
Driver details.
Where, when and the details of the accident.
Precise number of occupants and their respective injuries.
Result of police investigation.
Why he wanted to fly to Finland to inspect a car that Toyota were happy to shift back to St Petersburg.
Why he mentions insuring himself durung transport what would clearly have been a write-off and covered by his insurance.

They are also unclear in what they actually want. Presuming they were insured and comparatively injured, then they seem to be seeking for roll-over curtains to be fitted to their crashed car, based on an accident where they clearly weren't needed.

On the flip side, if they were uninsured and are trying to mitigate their loss by claiming contributory injury negligence from Toyota, then it makes a bit more sense, but exposes their game very clearly.
FollowupID: 634016

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 11:49

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 11:49
" were they wearing seatbelts? "

yes.

FollowupID: 634031

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 14:39

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 14:39
Actually Timglobal, I think you summed it up best in your earlier post:

"Again, the blogger comes off as being more miffed at the non-explosion of their "I paid for them" optional airbags, than proposing any enhanced safety they would have brought to this situation."

Generally, at low speed impacts, airbags potentially do more harm than good so they are designed not to trigger in small impacts - many people have asked this same question afterwards: "I paid for this thing, why didn't it go off when I crashed?" The reason being that it was not really necessary at such a low speed impact. Some manufacturers are now working with partially triggering airbags so they can trigger, though less violently, for lower speed collisions. Still, at low speeds, they shouldn't trigger at all - imagine bumping something while parking and the airbag triggered!
FollowupID: 634064

Reply By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:53

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 12:53
This is a guide to the location of air bag sensors on a Prado

If the car was hit in the rear 1/4 the bags will not deploy

Also in a roll over the lower side of the car is generally not impacted, resulting on non-deployment.

Donks1
AnswerID: 366151

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 08:35

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 08:35
Hi Donks,
how did you get that info as I would like to find all the sensors in my 98 mod 100 ser L/C ?

Cheers John.
FollowupID: 634015

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 22:15

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 22:15
G'day Johnny

That image is taken from the Toyota parts catalogue

but you can have a look at this site. Enter your VIN, go to electrical and select air bags ( 13 )

Toyodiy link

Donks1
FollowupID: 634119

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 15:35

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 15:35
There is a fine line between what the limits are for deployment and not deploying, and it is very hard choosing those design limits.

If they had been 4wding on a rough track with side slope, and the car's rear slipped sideways into a tree at low speed, and the air bags went off, would the owner be complaining about them unnecessarily going off at low speed?
AnswerID: 366184

Reply By: beelzebug - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 16:00

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 16:00
I think the Finnish owner would have more reason to complain if he HAD been killed by the non-deployment of air bags.

It seems to me that he survived quite OK without the pyrotechnics.
AnswerID: 366189

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 17:18

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 17:18
Hey b

Dead drivers don't complain :-)

FollowupID: 633913

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 16:01

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 16:01
Prado & rollover in the same story....
Now where's Mr Robin M ? - this is right up his alley.....
AnswerID: 366190

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 20:36

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 20:36
Hi Mark

I don't think I need to say anything this time.

FollowupID: 633956

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 22:09

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 22:09
Hi Robin
No need to really is there? actions speak louder.... :)
FollowupID: 633976

Reply By: RobAck - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 18:14

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 18:14
The debate is interesting but to clear a few facts up

Firstly driver and passenger airbags will most likely NOT deploy in a rollover. What well the braking and progressive crumple sensors on the front of the vehicle will not have been activated to start with.

If the vehicle is fitted with side and curtain bags then the sensors that deply them are looking for side slip and a change of vehicle attitude measured on the X andY yaw sensors that control these bags

As well front airbags will not deploy when the vehicle speed is below, generally and I stress generally, 50 kmh as the progressive crumple characteristics tend to absorb more energy

So as someone stated airbags are another piece of passive safety technology that folk do not understand terribly well. It is correct to say that people's expectations are that these will save you but in the wrong combination of situations they can cause quite some injury. If you have never seen an airbag deploy and we have it is an explosion and quite a violent one.

As an aside when we train drivers we always recommend that if the vehicle is fitted airbags then do not carry a pen or similiar object in your pocket as the airbag can and has forced it into a body.

RobA
AnswerID: 366222

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 21:12

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 21:12
I T-Boned a mazda 323 with my VR seriesII calais at the time which had driver and passenger airbags that did not deploy, it caved the front in about 5-600mm on the left side, about 400mm on the right side. most people were stunned that they did not go off including the panel beater, i was going about 65k's when she pulled out in front of me but i barely felt the impact. she and her daughter were alot worse for wear, if those bags had gone off who knows what injuries i would have sustained as i hopped out of the car and was amazed at the damage and yet did not feel it. i have seen the wrecks of vehicles after accidents that i attend for work and am amazed at what sets them off and what doesn't.
AnswerID: 366267

Reply By: Wherehegon - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 22:05

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 22:05
With his description of how it was hit there is no way the airbag would deploy. The prado was hit drivers side rear wheel, prado or not, most 4wd.s taragos, hiaces, van even patrols etc would have possibly rolled been top heavy. So the driver didnt help the situation by probably swerving as well ?? Had the prado been hit between the two drivers side doors I bet the bags/curtains would have gone off. Having side airbags Im presuming the prado was a grande ?? Possibly. I wonder if it was a grande ?? stability control would have helped wouldnt it ?? Why didnt they go off during roll over ?? I have even read the books on my wifes vehicle which has front drivers, passenegers, one in both front seats plus full side curtain airbags as well, it explains in the book as too what will set off the airbags/curtains etc, rollovers is not one of them (the next part is not in the book BUT my mate has seen it happen) UNLESS you were unlucky enough while rolling to impact then slide sideways into a tree would be enough impact to set the aircurtains off..... Some of the top range BMW's even have ones outside the vehicle to protect pedestrians........WHG
AnswerID: 366274

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 14:48

Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 14:48
WHG - stability control will do nothing in this instance. Stability control works with the ABS system to prevent/control slides with the intention of keeping the car on the road, and therefore giving it a greater chance of staying on its wheels. All the diagrams I've seen explaining it show a car being pushed too hard into a corner when some/all the wheels start to slide. The ESP/ESC/whatever acronym applies braking force to certain wheels to correct the slide and keep the car in line. That's why people like TopGear drivers don't like it - because it ruins their fun of driving sideways round a corner!
FollowupID: 634069