OT - Footloose is in hospital

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 13:55
ThreadID: 70390 Views:4823 Replies:35 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

Found out today that our HF guru "Footloose" is in intensive care on the Gold Coast after having a fall. From the Codan forum it appears he is in an induced coma and is expected to be that way for a while - 3 months in a hospital.

I'm sure that all members and visitors to EO who have read his words of wisdom re HF radios wish him a speedy recovery.

PS anyone on the Gold Coast who knows him - perhaps a visit to and give us a bit more info.

If anyone wants to send him a get well card Jim is at the John Flyn Hospital ,
Tugun. QLD.4224
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 14:12

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 14:12
That can't be good, head injurys (I'm assuming) are an unknown quanity, I really hope that he makes a speedy and full recovery.

Shane
AnswerID: 373063

Reply By: Canvas Charisma - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 16:16

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 16:16
Hi John,

That sounds no good at all. Can you please email me at ryjoe@netspace.net.au with Jim's surname and any other info you have and I will get something to him to say we are thinking about him.

AnswerID: 373080

Reply By: Wisey - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:32

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:32
Thanks John

My Dad and I wish him a full recovery with no further complications.

Get well soon Jim.

Andy & Peter
AnswerID: 373087

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:28

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:28
No Way not Jim!
AnswerID: 373091

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:34

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:34
John,

That isn't good news :(

I hope he pulls through, I'll be sending a few things to the hospital.

Thanks for the heads up

AnswerID: 373092

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:45

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:45
Get well soon Footy

AnswerID: 373093

Reply By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:56

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 18:56
Thoughts are with Footy and hope for his recovery.

Viv
AnswerID: 373095

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 19:17

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 19:17
Like all members and visitors to this site, I hope that Footy is able to make a full recovery very soon and looking forward to seeing him back on this site.

Our thoughts also go out to his family in this very trying time.

AnswerID: 373101

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:09

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:09
That's no good, Hope all works out OK, our thoughts are with Footy and his family.

Get well soon Footy.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 373108

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:34

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:34
Footy get well soon, our thoughts are with you

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 373113

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:42

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 21:42
I was only chatting with him a few months back.

By pure chance an old friend of his from 40 years ago happened to be someone I knew and I put the two of them in touch. Speaking to both of them was a very warming experience.

I feel like I know Jim well from our few conversations (but of course I don't), he is such a friendly bloke.

I'm saddened, deeply.

AnswerID: 373115

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 22:01

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 22:01
Better hang in there please Footy!
There are heeps of folk like me who love your straight talk explanations about things HF.You have explained in posts lots of stuff I didn't know how to ask about!!Thanks and just take care and get well.Cheers.Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 373116

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 22:16

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 22:16
Best of luck Footy ..........from all of us here.
AnswerID: 373118

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 23:57

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 23:57
Speedy recovery Jim. I phoned and spoke to a Jim's brother this evening. Met Jim when on the Gold Coast last year. I was told to look for a bloke in a cap that looked like a trucky in McDonalds and we had a good yarn for a while, the three of us.

On the way back from meeting Jim we saw a fellow in his 90s fall at the approach to the shopping centre at the top of some steps and administered some first aid and he was on his way again. Jim, I am sure is a resilient guy too.
AnswerID: 373124

Reply By: BT- Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 01:22

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 01:22
Okay Footy,
I haven't met you but have read many of your posts. Myself and family wish you a speedy recovery. We'll be thinking of you and keeping an eye out for further updates. Stay strong mate.
BT
AnswerID: 373127

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 01:46

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 01:46
Jim is a top bloke. Got all the time in the world for him.
Geez.. I was planning earlier on in the year to drive down and see him..had to cancel because of work...hurry up and get back on your feet mate, that garage is gonna be feeling awfully lonely without you!!
AnswerID: 373130

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 02:50

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 02:50
Gut wrenching news John,

Our thoughts go out to Footy (Jim) and his family, I think everyone on EO would agree he is one great guy and a speedy recovery is wished for.

Again reminds how fragile we all are.

AnswerID: 373131

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 07:03

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 07:03
I have had the pleasure of meeting Jim and he is a damn good bloke! As it happens, I do contracted work at John Flynn Hospital, next time I'm down there I will pop in to see him and post an update.... (should be Monday actually)

For any get well cards, the address is:

John Flynn Hospital
Inland Drive
Tugun
Qld 4224
AnswerID: 373133

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 07:52

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 07:52
Morning Brian

I'm sure all here would appreciate any update you can provide. Even though I've never met him, Jim always comes across as a very nice bloke who always provides informative info for HF users. And for those who have not read it - check out his EO Xmas poem on his blog on this forum.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 640336

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 19:47

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 19:47
Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) posted:
Morning Brian

I'm sure all here would appreciate any update you can provide. Even though I've never met him, Jim always comes across as a very nice bloke.......

John,

spot on mate, he is a gentleman!

FollowupID: 640414

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 09:37

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 09:37
All the best Footy - hope you make a quick recovery.

Haven't met him but he comes across as a good bloke. Just shows you don't know what's around the corner.
AnswerID: 373143

Reply By: Member - Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 10:17

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 10:17
That is terrible news..I was only wondering the other day why Footy hadn't made an appearance here for a while.

All the very best from here, Footy, and hurry back mate.

Brian perhaps you can print off this post and leave it for him as a sort of get well card. I am sure our support will mean a lot to him.

Fred & Chris.
AnswerID: 373145

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 16:16

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 16:16
Hello Fred & Chris, I will pick up a get well card for Footy tomorrow morning & thought I would print off the post & put it in with the card so that it made the card from all of us. Cheers for now
FollowupID: 640397

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:04

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:04
Barry

That's a great idea!

FollowupID: 640444

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 10:31

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 10:31
Take care Footy. Look forward to hearing that you are fully recovered and back to your old self. God bless.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 373147

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 11:47

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 11:47
Bad news indeed. Even though I have never met Footy I feel I know him from his contributions to the Forum.

Reading the description of the injury in the Codan Forum it is very bad indeed and it will be a struggle for him to recover from such a nasty thing.

Our thoughts and prayers for a speedy recovery.
Dick

AnswerID: 373156

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:04

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:04
So what are the injuries, what exactly happened? not all of us are on the Codan forum.
FollowupID: 640422

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:12
Posted by Malcolm Langley in the Codan Forum

Re Jim.
From what I understand he slipped over in the house and bruised himself quite
badly. Went to a doctor who said all was ok. A few days later the bruise started
to smell. It was then diagnosed as that flesh eating bug. Operation took place
to remove the damaged flesh and he was put in an induced coma to help with his recovery and prevent him from moving too much and upsetting the vacuum dressing applied to the rather large wound. They have no idea how long he will be there. One thing they do know is that he will require a number of skin grafts. It is expected that he will be in a hospital for about 3 months or so if everything goes ok.
Dick

FollowupID: 640426

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:19

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:19
Thankyou mate, appreciate it.
FollowupID: 640428

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 20:22

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 20:22
Dick,

Thanks for that information. To my simple mind that is good news. I had visions of a brain injury that required him to be comatose whilst swelling or some such reduced.

I'm sure it is a nasty problem he has, but he will, hopefully, recover from. One would hope that at worst he has some physical problems, scarring and a need for ongoing treatment, but in all probability he will lead to a realtively normal life.

Indeed I hope so.

FollowupID: 640524

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 00:26

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 00:26
Jim, as bad as it sounds, I think it is better than having a brain injury. Lets hope this flesh eater did not get anywhere the brain.

Dick

FollowupID: 640547

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 14:10

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 14:10
"Footy" has long been a favourite ExOz member. I wish him a full recovery, and my thoughts are also with his family; I have been there.

Get well soon Footy

AnswerID: 373169

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 16:33

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 16:33
Like many others I have always read Footies post and comments, they are good stuff.

Frances and I wish him a speedy and full recovery.

I hope someone can keep the forum inform of his progress.
AnswerID: 373194

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 19:50

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 19:50
I, like a lot of others have never met Footy but have followed a lot of his posts on here and feel as we know him personally.
As all above have said, get well soon mate and all my family's prayers go to you and your family
Come on Footy you can do it
Cheers Ray
AnswerID: 373224

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:03

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:03
We wish you and your family all the best Jim, get well soon
AnswerID: 373238

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:36

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:36
Get well soon Footy,you will be in our thoughts and prayers
Cheers Pete and Sally
AnswerID: 373244

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:59

Sunday, Jul 05, 2009 at 21:59
My best wishes to Footy as well.

I wonder if there is anything we can usefully do to help with the satphone/HF hire while Jim's incapacitated.

Adrian

AnswerID: 373249

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:31

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:31
Maybe another "EO Blitz" needs to be organised :))

FollowupID: 640445

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:43

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 07:43
Get well soon footy
AnswerID: 373269

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 17:35

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 17:35
Footy

I hear the western deserts calling you.

Get well soon

AnswerID: 373332

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 17:55

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 17:55
Hi John T and others - just arrived in Birdsville, been out of computer range for a week and very surprised and saddened to hear of Footsie's news. I do hope and pray that everything will go well with his recovery - I miss his particular brand of pith and humour! Speedy recovery old mate.
AnswerID: 373335

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 18:01

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 18:01
We do so hate it when the Forum brings bad news about one of "our" people. Please pass on our personal wishes for a speedy and full recovery. It sounds a major twist to a simple incident that could so easily happen to anyone of us. I hope this post full of good wishes from his EO friends helps in some way.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 373337

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:05

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:05
Hope everything goes ok! thinking of you Footloose.
AnswerID: 373372

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 00:46

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 00:46
Just in case you miss it

To all that are wishing Jim all the best, the following maybe a way to help out.

I have down loaded three E-books of Jim's for $15.00 USD I hope he gets some... also hope it's the right JIM. (Footy).

Anyway it's up to you no pressure to do or not

The Books

The books are

White Man's Dreaming
Have a Nice day
Glitter
AnswerID: 373401

Reply By: Luke SA - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 23:20

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 23:20
I haven't been on here for a while but did hear of Footys fall on facebook.

I to have never met the bloke and wish him all the best in a speedy recovery.

AnswerID: 374257