Filling gas bottles.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:23
ThreadID: 70707 Views:13750 Replies:11 FollowUps:14

I heard today, from a fairly reliable source, that it is possibly to fill LPG BBQ gas bottles on a caravan via a service station bowser.

I'm told that with the proper connection it can cost only $7 to fill a 9kg bottle.

Can anyone confirm if this is practical

Kev

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:32

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:32
Someone is pulling your leg.

As far as I know it is different gas ??????

AnswerID: 374687

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:09

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:09
Not in country SA tanker fills pub @ hospital bulk cylinders same trip I fill my barby cylinder from mycar tank for years now had no prob with the gas.
FollowupID: 642105

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:13

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:13
Not in country SA tanker fills pub @ hospital bulk cylinders same trip I fill my barby cylinder from mycar tank for years now had no prob with the gas.
FollowupID: 642107

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:39

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:39
Ive got a mate in Melbourne that has done it.The servo attendants dont like it and you need to do it "on the sly".He has made up a fitting and simply has his gas bottle in the window near the vehicle filling point and fills it up through the window.Of coarse its highly illegal...............
AnswerID: 374689

Reply By: lbudgie - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:18
Yep. had a mate that also made a fitting and he would go to the servo with a trailer with three of those 1meter tall bottles under a tarp and fill them up. they were for his home as he lived out of town.
aparently easy to make the fitting. just get the filler conection from an old clunker on gas from the wreckers and hook it up to the gas hose to the bottle.
AnswerID: 374701

Reply By: Canvas Charisma - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:44

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:44
Hi Kev,

Got to wonder how safe that would be hey?

People put their own neck and that of others on the line for a few extra dollars saving.

IMO a bloody stupid thing to be mucking around with.

AnswerID: 374705

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 06:08

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 06:08
I don't see the danger, it is being done in the open air, the cylinder is in the open, not enclosed. Can it be any more dangerous than filling a car with petrol?
Please unwrap the cotton wool!!!!

I know i'm gonna get hounded, but what's new?

Krakka
FollowupID: 641980

Follow Up By: Canvas Charisma - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 08:21

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 08:21
Hi Krakka,

Open air is probably good, but when you hear stories of people filling them through car windows into enclosed spaces or under tarps etc then I see that as not a good idea.

Cheers Brian
FollowupID: 641992

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 11:15

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 11:15
Surely it can't be more dangerous than filling fuel into a jerry?
FollowupID: 642016

Follow Up By: Camoco - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:18

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:18
Tim_C

Surely you can't be serious?

I would feel reasonably comfortable (given a choice) to be standing in front of a container of petrol and set it alight, than to be doing remotely the same thing with gas. The expansion rate of gas is the killer not so much the ignition.

When I did my gas fitters license training, we did some very surprising experiments to ensure we all had a visual grasp on the dangers of gas.

Whilst petrol can be dangerous given the right circumstances, Gas will almost always be lethal in the same circumstances. We are lucky to be able to handle gas the way we do due to the safety built into the devices and storage facilities we use. Don't take gas for granted. Obviously LPG, Nat and mixtures behave differently but in general be very careful.
Liquid fuels are so much safer for us mere mortals because they remain a liquid at normal temps where the previous gases turn from liquid to vapour at much cooler temps and thus it is this that usually is the problem.

LPG is heavier than air so it easily fits into the low spaces in cars and ute trays and if settled will go un-noticed until it's too late. Natural is lighter so it's danger is the inside roof areas of cars where it will get trapped, but is less likely to do so.

I know we are over regulated, but there are some areas where it makes sense. I would like to see the "service stations" not lose the ability to fill your bottles just to save a few dollars on cheap labour. We already have enough cash receivers why lose skills just for that.

My advice with gas is, do what you want, but do it by yourself away from anyone else.

That way we can blame the accident on the fault of the appliance and not the dumb operator doing the wrong thing, as no-one was there to see you.

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 642040

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:35

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:35
Thanks Cam, I am aware of what is called BLEVE (pronounced 'blevvy') or Boiling Liquid Expanding Vapour Explosion which poses a very significant risk when liquified gas catches fire but it seems odd that you can refill the LP gas cylinder in your car, but not a free-standing or loose LP gas cylinder. I just question if the risk during refilling is that high? Does gas have a higher risk of catching fire during refilling than petrol?

Petrol is particularly hazardous because of the static electricity build-up during filling/pouring, particularly amongst the vapours which are 'stirred up' in the same procees. The fuel tank in the car is well earthed to prevent static electricity build-up and the pump nozzle is almost always in contact with the car while fuelling. A jerry however, is invariably electrically isolated which poses a huge risk - this is why they must be filled on the ground (ie. not in the car) and more importantly, the metal part of the nozzle of the bowser must be in constant contact with the jerry at all times during filling. I'm not aware of static electricity posing such a significant risk for refilling gas cylinders.

It's been said that the captains of Navy vessels are happy to carry a range of munitions but are deathly scared of carrying a single jerry full of ULP due to its volatility.
FollowupID: 642043

Follow Up By: Dion - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:19

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:19
It's not that CO's of warships are scared of carrying a single jerry of ULP. It is by regulations that liquid fuel with a flashpoint less than 61.5.C is not permitted to be carried.
Naval aviation fuel is differetnt to that, the two junior services use in there wokka's (rotary winged aircraft), it is far more stable and has the higher flashpoint that meets the regulations.
Except in an emergency, wokka's containing a lower flashpoint fuel are not permitted to land on a RAN vessel.

Dion.
FollowupID: 642098

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 07:46

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 07:46
tim_c,

Petrol has an additive that helps prevent a static charge from building up when being pumped. There should be almost no chance of a static discharge occurring due to the fuel being pumped through a gas station hose.

KK
FollowupID: 642184

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 11:07

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 11:07
Thanks KK, my understanding was that the bowser nozzle is earthed by an earth connection built into the hose - that's why you need to have the nozzle in contact with the jerry at all times. I wasn't aware of any additive to reduce static electricity build-up. I understand it is still a danger, and that's why filling to glass or plastic containers (other than approved jerries) is strictly prohibited.
FollowupID: 642203

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:54

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:54
You are right Tim, the additive is just there to help dissipate any static build up due to pumping liquid through the hose. Different example and fuel type I know but can you imagine single point fuelling a 747 or even water ballast into a super tanker. The huge rate of flow and side wall friction of the liquid through a hose can generate huge amounts of static build-up. I have seen film of what looks like a lightening flash inside a super tanker tank caused by high rate of pumping water ballast. Static can build up almost anywhere in the right conditions. There should not be any static due to pumping at a service station but there could be from the tank / vehicle to the earthed filler hose.

KK
FollowupID: 642238

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 23:02

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 23:02
need an acme to pol fitting
AnswerID: 374707

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 07:50

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 07:50
One thing to remember is most automotive gas bottles are fitted with an AFL (which is an auto shut off when the bottle is full) most servo's dont fill any more due to OHS red tape and are suposed to be filled by a qualified/trained person even BCF and other places fill them for you. But like all things today it only take one person to stuff it for everyone else.

Regards Ross
AnswerID: 374723

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 09:15

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 09:15
This is absolutely standard practice in New Zealand. If you want to fill your gas bottles you take them to the local service station that has LPG. Attendant does the filling (you cant do your own) at a weigh station between the petrol pumps on the forecourt, bottles are weighed before and after filling. Also, attendant wears goggles and gloves and will not fill any bottle past it's test date.
The only difference to your question above is that the bottle filling point does not use the same hose fittings as you have on a vehicle tank. Only problem is that everyone wants their bottle filled on a wet and cold day so there is often a queue on cold & wet days. I put my 45 kg bottle on the trailer and take it to the depot for filling. Servo will not fill it as their scales don't read up to that weight and the young forecourt attendants would probably not handle the weight of the big bottles.

KK
AnswerID: 374733

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:10

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:10
I agree with Kiwi

The New Zealanders are more advanced on this. Most fuel stations have a simple weigh and fill station amongst the bowsers where the attendant will fill your gas bottles.

Years ago when gas was first becoming popular garage stations here would often have a filling outlet next to their big tank for filling gas bottles. Not as advanced as in New Zealand with weighing facilities - they would just charge you to fill an entire bottle.

Yesterday - Wednesday - I saw a bloke pull into the Liberty servo at naval base (south of Fremantle) with 3 gas bottles looked like off a fork lift or posssibly from home and proceeded to fill them laying down in his trailer. Seemed the same as filling a car.

I have heard of people wanting to fill from their gas at home - problem is that is low pressure gas (same gas) and your car needs high pressure or a very large gas tank. I did read a guy in England had fitted a special gas compressor at home in his carport to refill his car. Now that would be an issue.

The gas is the same. Storage bottles are under high pressure and your house pipes are under low pressure for safety. I once bought a gas hot water system that was fitted for bottled gas and needed to get the jets changed to suit low pressure street mains.

FollowupID: 642003

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:28

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:28
Isn't the reticulated house gas natural gas which is different to LPG (Liquid Petroleum Gas)? There was some talk about natural gas powered vehicles but they didn't have the range because natural gas has to be compressed to a high pressure to get a similar volume as LPG which is low pressure. One is a liquid, which evaporates to a gas and the other stays a gas. I think the tanks are different too.
AnswerID: 374752

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:56

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:56
I was in Broome a couple of years ago and there was a bloke at the bowser filling gas bottles to power a hot air balloon. Another point is why are domestic bottles filled by the kilogram and vehicles filled by the litre?????
AnswerID: 374761

Reply By: Member - Dave G (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:17

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:17
Just returned from a trip around France and my mates mobile home has the conversation for filling up a service station bowsers, no problems over there cant see any reason why we shouldn't be able to do the same here or maybe the stations themselves don't want anyone to get the cheaper refills
AnswerID: 374776

Follow Up By: lbudgie - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 22:37

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 22:37
got it in one there Dave G, dont want anyone to get cheap refils. those swap and go places are making a killing.
FollowupID: 642151

Follow Up By: muzzgit - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 00:34

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 00:34
Yeah, in Perth it's $29 for a 9kg "swap and go" or $22.50 to wait for the fella at the camping shop to fill it up.

What a rip off!
FollowupID: 642168

Reply By: paulnsw - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 22:27

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 22:27
why pay $20 to $40 for a 9kg or 8.5kg changeover when you can fill a 9kg yourself for $10
use gas at home in stove and hot water, in caravan and BBQ.
all the same stuff from the same tanker
whats the difference between me filling and a goose at a servo
heaps filling there own gas bottles
why is it illegal? probably only to protect ripoff gas companiies
filled our own gas bottles in UK and Europe so what the difference in Australia excepting a gas company scam paying off the gas authorities
AnswerID: 374999