Driving in NSW with a Lift Kit ??

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:47
ThreadID: 70718 Views:7956 Replies:15 FollowUps:40
Just heard a report on the ABC that ,as from Aug 1st, all suspension mods that increase the body height by more than 50mm are illegal. And that any lift under
50mm must be supported by an Engineers Certificate. I am unsure if this is
retrospective or not. RTA spokeman said any vehicle found in breach will be
issued with Defect Notice & a large Fine. Not sure of all the details, or if I got it right, but if this might affect you..check it out....oldbaz.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:52

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:52
i saw a 6" lift on a Patrol the other day and wondered the stability of the vehicle. I think it makes sense to limit to 50mm. Michael

AnswerID: 374785

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:14

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:14
I havent found a lift kit to be desirable or neccessary but you are right in that
some wild things are on the road. It seems over 50mm is all illegal, but I am unsure what the score is if you already have a sub 50mm lift & no Eng. Cert.
No doubt someone can explain...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 642039

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:07

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:07
I had an engineering certificate done when I went up in tyre sizes....at that time it was $330.00. (2yrs ago)

Hopefully you can combine the lift & tyre size increase in the same certificate fee & ......does the lift restriction include the increase in tyre diameter if you are doing both at once?

I would say that the national 50mm tyre diameter increase will never go ahead in NSW then.....:(
FollowupID: 642053

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:13

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:13
Just had another thought....what is the height that they are going to use as the base reference.....

Specs for my Prado say 745mm from the guard to the bottom of the rim on all 4 tyres....well I have 750mm at the front & 760 at the rear still with standard suspension....rear seats in & towbar attached....even with a full load of fuel it doesn't drop that much...

How are they going to police it? I guess it will be those with the big lifts that will get most of the attention & the real hoons those how want there cars lower to the ground!

FollowupID: 642054

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:24

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:24
SormyKnight

Perhaps that is answered by the gact you haven't modified the suspension and assuming it is within weight specifications I can't see a problem.

The how are the going to police...well the obvious ones will be just that; usually vehicles involved in serious accidents have the 'ruler' put over the vehicle to see if there we are contributing factors... If the vehicle has been 'lifted' and not approved I would suggest there could be adverse implications fro the driver.
FollowupID: 642056

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:24

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:24
read....by the 'fact' not gact.. where is that spellcheck button.
FollowupID: 642057

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 12:50

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 12:50
SormyKnight, I have a lifted 4runner that's about 40mm higher than standard. And I also have a custom car (I know this isn't a custom car forum) that's seriously lowered (10" rear, 6" front), engineered, TSA approved on full rego, and approved by my insurer. I mean, the rear bumper is about 70mm off the deck. I have NEVER (add EVER EVER) been questioned by the cops about my ride height on either vehicle.

Your comment "How are they going to police it? I guess it will be those with the big lifts that will get most of the attention & the real hoons those how want there cars lower to the ground!" is a bit of a generalisation. I'm sure it has a bit to do with the way you drive. I know of some guys with bog stock turbo cars that get hassled all the time because they drive like knobs.

Just an observation.

Louie
FollowupID: 642222

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:54

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 12:54
oldbaz

that ruling is already in effect in nsw now...........went to check out prices for my lift kit about 8 months ago and the suspension bloke in Grafton told me that then.

50 mm in height is correct,cheers.
AnswerID: 374786

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:00

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:00
I actually thought it was law also Mark but fishing rod holders have been illegal for years but you still see plenty of them still hanging of the front of the bullbar and it obvious that the police dont book them. So i guess the lift height restrictions probably wont be policed also!! Michael

FollowupID: 642032

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:05

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:05
You may be right, but you did not need an Engineers Certificate then, from
Aug 1 you do. I have checked the RTA site & under Ministerial Announcements
the details I gave are correct, but cant say on retrospective part.
Quote...Vehicles raised above the 50mm limit will only be granted conditional Registration for use under specific conditions like competing in an off road competition.
FollowupID: 642036

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 21:14

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 21:14
Read the latest 4 x 4 Monthly

There is quite a good article in there setting out what is to happen and how it will affect FUTURE mods.

Apparently its not retrospective.

FollowupID: 642266

Follow Up By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 18:00

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 18:00
Graham - unless I read the 4x4 article wrong, the national rules they were looking at looked pretty reasonable (up to 50mm ok, above up to a limit with cert.) - this NSW ruling means even a 50mm lift now needs cert and they won't allow anything above it. I wouldn't be NSW if we didn't go against the flow in the rest of the country! arrrghhhhh! She'll be right, we'll just vote them in again at the next election and then continue to complain ;)

I don't understand lumping all this in with Hoon legislation - there's a big difference between a functional (small) lift on a fourby and a totally unfunctional drop on a high-undies with doofdoof.

Sad thing is, with the maintenance some roads get around this state, it's almost a requirement to have high suspension!

As to the comments talking about visability of pedestrians, etc. I challenge anyone to prove there's less visibility in a slightly lifted fourby compared to a standard sedan!
FollowupID: 642359

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 18:55

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 18:55
As I understand it isnt it a NATIONAL standard and if so NSW will have to fall into line with all other states.
What I dont understand is why people have to have 5 in lifts and all the fruit.

My brother had a Toyota Surf for going skiing and it had a lift and muddies and was a real handful at any decent speed.
It was however good for driving over traffic islands on the odd occasion I need to LOL

FollowupID: 642367

Reply By: chisel - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:21

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:21
Looks like it is a new development, not some existing rule.
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,25790506-29277,00.html
AnswerID: 374788

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:39

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:39
A copy of the release follows.

It doesn’t say whether this rule is retrospective or not, but reading the statement tends to suggest it will be and it will definitely have insurance implications. Implicit in all insurance contracts is that the vehicle is in a ‘road-worthy’ condition. If it doesn’t meet these requirements then it won’t be deemed to be road-worthy.

My understanding (and please correct if wrong) is that this will relate to a change in height of the vehicle versus the original manufacturers specifications. If the lift doesn’t change this, but was added because of accessories adding weight to the vehicle, than it should be okay….(?)

Lift Rules - Minsiterial Statement

Good luck out there……
AnswerID: 374791

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:52

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:52
I would think you are right. If I had any lift I think it wise to check out the legalities. The Insurance one could bite the hardest. Once again the 4WD
fraternity are described as "hoons" for having what used to be a legal lift kit.
Poor choice of words from a State Minister, but then again they promised to crush the cars of real hoons that street race too didnt they?....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 642045

Follow Up By: chisel - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:54

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:54
I wonder if driving around with a sagged old suspension due to age of vehicle and weight of accessories is now considered illegal because the height has changed from original.
FollowupID: 642046

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:57

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:57
Ha Ha, funny you should say that...lowering your suspension by 50mm is illegal
too.......without an Eng. Cert........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 642049

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:03

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:03
I have driven a 60 series with sagged suspension & yes it was dangerous......with the suspension just above the bump stops the vehicle was very unpredicatable on moderately rough roads at speed....

.....much more than what a new 2 inch lift would have done.....
FollowupID: 642050

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:53
Big trouble brewing in NSW by the look of it .
AnswerID: 374792

Reply By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:59

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 13:59
“Vehicles raised above the 5 centimetre limit will only be granted conditional registration for use under specified conditions like competing in an off road competition,” Mr Daley said.

"Car Hoons" Ministerial Release
AnswerID: 374794

Follow Up By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:17

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:17
Oh , now i get it . You could already have an engineers certificate issued before these laws take effect for a lift over 50mm but it wont be worth the paper its written on because you cannot register the vehicle .
FollowupID: 642055

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:58

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:58
So the question is, if you already have a significant lift, can you reregister the vehicle at the end of the current rego period OR it has to go over the pits for some reason OR you get a gas conversion done OR if you run out of rego for some reason?

Plenty of if's I know....
FollowupID: 642102

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:22

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:22
In New Zealand you have to have vehicles 'over the pits' every six months for a "Warrant Of Fitness" (WOF) check. It has come to my attention that they are now checking the load rating on tyres on each axle. If you have different ratings on the same axle you will fail the test ! Does not matter that the ratings are above the minimum for the vehicle - they have to be the same on each side of the axle. I guess they are meaning that they are looking for the same level of flexibility in the tyre side walls for stability purposes. I would also note that both Australia and New Zealand try to have the same standards in both countries so what ever happens 'here' is likely to be followed 'over there' shortly after !

KK
AnswerID: 374797

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 21:12

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 21:12
Actually thats not new in good old NZ

When I was Taxi driving prior to 1995 we had cars turned down for a

certificate because they didnt have 4 IDENTICAL tyres.

Identical as to make tread pattern Everything.

Not actually a stupid idea co if you had say a Dunlop 195x 70 x 14 on one side and a Michelin 195 x70 x 14 on the other side you would be having problems as they handle completely different.

I once had a Vauxhall Victor and it had low profile crossplys on it

I put a pair of radials on one end and had all sorts of troubles.

Had to take them off as I could barely hold it on the road on some corners.

What we do when we were young LOL
FollowupID: 642265

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:23

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:23
Hmmmm .... Just read Mr Daleys' comments.

Obviously dont know much do he ???

Gunna be a lot of 4wd owning, 40yr old and over "hoons" - in NSW by the looks of things ... Im even going to be twice the hoon most people will be, coz both mine are 2" over factory specs when empty.

Wonder if the clown understands that in the case of "proper" 4wds tthe weight ratio is balanced by all the extra fuel tanks, barwork, etc., and vehicles are probably more stable than factory specs ... and of course - keeping tyres narrow by law - adds to the instability issue.

Another ... you "will" all have unfettered, electronic overides on your vehicles supporter - I think ... who cant see past the toyota brochures supplied to govt purchasing contracts.

AnswerID: 374798

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:09

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:09
"Wonder if the clown understands that in the case of "proper" 4wds tthe weight ratio is balanced by all the extra fuel tanks, barwork, etc.,"

if thats the case then there wont be any lift-so no problem??
FollowupID: 642284

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:35

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:35
fisho64: You missed Oz Troopy's point . With the lift Kit and add the weight you are back near to standard height.

You ever put a legal load on a stock standard ute? There is not one out there that would not have the nose stuck up in the air when you load it up. Ive owned nissan, hilux, landcruiser, landrover, rodeo utes, not one of them could carry its full load with the poor suspension they put on them.

There is nothing bad about my 3" lift - its the best thing I did to this ute. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 642333

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:43

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:43
exactly what I was saying, except its accessories he was mentioning not a load on the back of the ute.
Barwork and extra fuel tanks are not items which you just just remove to head to the shops. If you replace suspension and add fixed load but its at the same height it isnt a lift, its stiffer suspension, so no problem is there?
FollowupID: 642337

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 15:00

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 15:00
I get your point fisho .... but I doubt whether many of us leave the accessory chassis mounted - fuel and water tanks full for daily use around town. I even remove the twin jerrycan/tyrecarrier when back in town.

The accessory weight may be a given ... but the content levels will affect height.

Same goes for the all the extra tools and spares ... not needed for general running around.

FollowupID: 642339

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 15:05

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 15:05
Yes was reading it wrong - but - Yes Problem is - you can not take off your suspension every time you remove your load and thus you will be 3" higher again.

IE - My 3" lift raised my car 3" with the basis accessories. It remains 3" higher due to a set of Air bags when I am at full load. Prior to the lift I would belly drag in the sand when loaded and get bogged regularly. With the lift never had a problem. 3" makes all the difference in my model car. My 3" lift might only be at a standard 1990 model Hilux height.Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 642340

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:31

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:31
Tis' good to see the NSW government is as always across the big issues!

Forget about the hospitals, the schools, the railways and any other basic service.

If I was a cynic I'd say any smoke screen is a good smoke screen when you aren't actually doing anything useful.

I'd imagine any decent 4wd shop will be looking at making an alliance with one of the local engineers so that the vehicle leaves their fitting bay with not only the new suspension but all the relevant paperwork ticked too.

AnswerID: 374799

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:53

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:53
Geoff, Thats a very cynical attitude!!! :) Michael

FollowupID: 642062

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:19

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:19
Hi Michael,
It's one shared by a large number of NSW residents!

Of which I suspect you are one, ;)

FollowupID: 642072

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:23

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:23
Its a frustrating mess, this state. They should have a new caption on our number plates, "The State of Disrepair"!!!! Michael

FollowupID: 642073

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:34

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:34
Geoff and Michael,

As an ex-NewSouthWelshman, not a lot seems to have changed.

Police in SA have different targets - over here we have a large number of young people killing themselves and others in hotted up, lowered 2wd vehicles.Police here, quite sensibly couldn't give a damn about 50mm lifts on 4wds.

I wish other states would stick to the important issues. Too many "howard scrubbys" over in NSW.

phil
FollowupID: 642076

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:51

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 15:51
Hi Phil,
That's right you hail from the beautiful New England district, I'd forgotten until this post!

Yes, there are some "interesting" things going on in Adelaide at the moment. I've just gotten back yesterday from two weeks working near sunny Innamincka.

I've spent a lot of time reading the Adelaide newspaper in that period.

I think it was last Sunday there was a lengthy article in the Adelaide paper were one of the journalists followed a group around as they moved from one burn out and drag race venue to another and another. That all took place on public roads on the previous Saturday night.

A very enlightening piece on the problems facing the SA police.

You are very correct, far too many wannabe "Harold Scruby's" her in NSW. Unfortunately that is what happens when the major population centre is full of suits and self importance.

FollowupID: 642080

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:33

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:33
I just heard on thr ABC that it will not be retrospective.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 374800

Reply By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:44

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 14:44
Its about time too,Would imagine a lot of sellers would be sweating on a verdict considering they could be stuck with a lot of 4-6 inch lift kits..

AnswerID: 374802

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:30

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:30
50mm is nothing. They need to do a realistic height. It took a 3" lift before I could take the Rodeo through soft sand without dragging through. I also run a slide on camper, there are no issues with instability. Cheers Tony

50mm is not resonable
FollowupID: 642086

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:37

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:37
Well if you're in Qld that 3" lift is illegal....
FollowupID: 642088

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:46

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 16:46
When using the QLD Formula & measured the lift fell within the guidelines according to my mechanic.

Illegal - So is breathing now - because of a few idiots going overboard we all pay. My two cents worth. Cheers
FollowupID: 642090

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:55

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:55
**Illegal - So is breathing now - because of a few idiots going overboard we all pay. My two cents worth. Cheers**

Hiya Tone

Doesnt that apply with all facets of life though mate,you just need to see the bush tracks to see the bigger tyres are wrecking the joint and Parks are shutting them down...

FollowupID: 642115

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:43

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:43
Warfer69 - I agree with you - yes all facets of life - rules are needed but there are too many knee jerk ones now.

I agree you have to limit the height a car is raised and lowered
I agree you have to limit tyre size. ETC The idiots with the monster tyres only do damage to the tracks we want to use. Some idot has monster tyres up this way and when its wet he digs monster holes all over the place.

All cars are different so 2" 4" would be a good range
25mm larger tyres would be reasonable.
I see no reason to lower a car unless you somehow think you look great when you do. etc etc etc whinge :-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 642336

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:28

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:28
I have a 50 mm lift and when the vehicle is loaded it sits at the standard height.
I think that this legislation will cause a lot of problems for all.
As usual a knee jerk reaction from the RTA.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 374819

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:53

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 17:53
The way I read it is, that they are after the Hoons with low rider suspensions that are next to no springs at all.

The Gents with their LC, Prado, Pajero, Patrol etc with a 2"-3" (50-75 mm) lift in a well maintained vehicle will just slip beneath the radar undetected, lets face it, they will need a reason to check your vehicle in the first place, don't give them that reason.

And yes as long as you have the receipts for your lift that proves the date of fitting then you are in no way illegal before July 2009.

Storm in a tea cup I think.
AnswerID: 374821

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:01

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:01
I just wonder what the insurance angle will be and how insurance companies respond. The risk is that if it isn't 'safe' to have a 50mm lift now, it might be irrelvant from their viewpoint as to when it was done??

FollowupID: 642103

Follow Up By: viz - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:52

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:52
NRMA will not insure over 50mm. When I mentioned airsprings in the back (2" lift) I was asked can it go over 50mm, yes I said. NRMA then said if I raise it over 3" it will not be insured. Dunno how they are going to measure, or enforce that. However it was passed by them, but I did have to get the suppliers (All Air Suspension) invloved - ironically they supply air suspension to the NRMA for use in their service vehicles...

My question is: I have also the next size up in tyres - combined I get about 4 more inches - is *that* legal?

A useful link:

Tyre Size Calculator

viz
FollowupID: 642124

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 21:33

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 21:33
The insurance companies cannot refuse you, if you are legal, & pre July installations appear to be legal.

I've had this out with AAMI and they said "not over 50mm" I countered with the vehicle is currently legal and that they need to review their stance and they had to back off (in writing).

Since that conversation my engineers report for TONI's conversion had to be a FULL report & it covers ALL my mods including suspension.

But as for pre July conversion & lift, as long as it is legal before July it will be legal now. BUT I feel you may have to prove the conversion date if push comes to shove. Keep receipts.

My 75mm (3") lift was absorbed buy the extra weight of the new engine & long-range tank and I would defy any copper that tried to tell me otherwise, despite my eng. report.

Mine and most other well set up rigs are safer loaded now than the rigs were new.
Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 642145

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:00

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:00
Hi Colin

Hear what you are saying. I just wonder whether come renewal times whther they will be willing to renew insurance on vehicles with lifts over 50mm.

Time will tell I guess.

FollowupID: 642227

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:26

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:26
Im sorry but I cant believe how many people have a naive view of insurance companies.
The onus is on the customer for disclosure.
They can and will happily take your premium and then when there is an accident, refuse to pay until YOU prove that it complies.
They DO NOT have to "accept" it as legal, you have to tell them its legal.

It is standard operating procedure for an insurance company (after an accident) to tell everyone else they are liable, and even if only 1 in 20 crumbles in horror at the sight of a solicitors letter from the insurance company they have saved tens or hundreds of thousands.

It will be left to YOU to prove your position. It isnt innocent til proven guilty, its the other way round, and it is NOT illegal for them to do it.
FollowupID: 642285

Reply By: psproule - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 20:51

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 20:51
Could I suggest some correspondance:

Michael Daley MP

Or an email:
office@daley.minister.nsw.gov.au
AnswerID: 374855

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 01:18

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 01:18
Might not.......one install some kinda inflatable air bags with an on board compressor, to raise or lower the lift spec at will.

Drive around the city street among mr plod at normal suspension body height and ehn offroad and needing clearance you hit the butons on the dash to inflate and lift?

I seem to recall having that feature on a Ford Fairlane back in the mid 80's!

I had the back jacked way up for looks and massive over steer when I attracted the attention of plod who did a U turn and followed me - and pulled me over!

By the time we stopped - the car was normal height.

Guy scratched his head, said he thought I was sporting a illegal jacked up rear suspension, but on inspection it appeared to be normal.

Told him it was just the lines of the car - from certain angles it created a bit of an "optical delusion" ;o)

He said - I guess so and left, without any warning or tickets!

Later I just inflated it again - the gauge and raise lower buttons were on a small bracket below the dash - the compressor in the boot.

Was great when carrying heavy stuff in the boot for eliminating a saggy bum, & conversely when out with the hoon mates for looking the part with the jacked rear!

I could even adjust the spotlights level on the run bye the air adjustable suspension....

Lots of good points - and all by air bag shock absorbers & compressor.

Some guys just had the air bag adjustable shocks - plumbed to a tyre valve sstem on the rear bumper and raised them at the servo, with the tyre fill connector (i.e. no on board air compressor).

On the fly adjustment was a bit of a luxury back then.

Can't see why it won't work for 4wd's - lets face it your not gonna get stopped if it looks normal, and when you need that extra lift you hit a button - what could be simpler than that!

AnswerID: 375011

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:30

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 02:30
isnt this what the 100 series Lexus has (or Sahara?), when vehicle gets to 60 kmh it drops to normal height.
FollowupID: 642286

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:19

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 14:19
The adjustable suspension is covered in the rules.

> " 2. The suspension height must only be capable of being altered when the vehicle is stationary " <

As this aspect is not " height " specific but " adjustability " specific ...It even makes an unregistered 1985 mazda 626 illegal to register now ..... pffffft

This also makes ADR approved, factory fitted electronic, computer controlled override suspension illegal in NSW vehicles ..... bewdy ..... only got ABS to go now ... LOL

BTW ... citroen and others have been providing adj susp & headlights since probably before this "roads" minister was born ... One would think a "roads" minister would have the aptitude and knowledge for the job ... but apparently not.
FollowupID: 642332