Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Birdsville to Innamincka via Walkers Crossing

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:40

campaholic

Article Overview - Walkers Crossing
Route for driving between Birdsville and Innamincka through the flood plain country of the nothern overlow of the Cooper Creek before rising onto the Sturt Stony Desert on the Birdsville Track. View Full Article...
G'day Everyone,
I am heading off to Birdsville for the races then I am heading down to Innamincka for a couple of days. My question is in regards to the Walkers Crossing PAR.
I am pulling a Jayco (offroad) and my mate is pulling a camper trailer, I was wondering what the condition of the track is and does the track allow for camper vans/trailers. If I need to go via Cordillo Downs then so be it but I would rather go the Walkers Crossing route.
I will be ringing the relevant people in Birdsville and Innamicka closer to my departure date to get accurate track details but any info before hand would be greatly appreciated.

Nigel
ThreadID: 71007 Replies: 6
Views: 518 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 376359   Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 00:26

Member - Ivan (ACT) replied:

Track is in good to great condition - nothing that will prevent a trailer. Travelled it three weeks ago

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
100 Series LandCruiser V8 (2005)
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 376387   Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 09:36

Outbackogre replied:

Travelled it a few weeks ago. The track and Cooper crossing was bone dry, but check local authorities for current conditions. We had no probs with the track but it was a bit tricky getting onto it from the Innaminka end - we had poor maps and the signage was average. You should have little trouble coming from Birdsville. Bit rocky and rough up near the Birdsville Track turnoff tending to flat sandy track in the dune country. Keep the speed down. It's not always easy to see oncoming traffic and you'll enjoy the trip more. Cheers. Rob.
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 376421   Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:00

Geoff M replied:

I too travelled to Innamincka via Walkers Crossing two weeks ago. The track was fine, and passed people towing trailers.
Couple of washouts to watch for, and lots of tracks around the oil fields but the signposts are good.
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 376475   Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 20:24

DOBBO60 replied:

I travelled that route last week. Apart from the rocky part as you come off the Birdsville Track, it is in good condition. A road crew was working just south of Walkers Crossing. Passed a couple of cars towing campers so you should have no problems.

Dobbo
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 643884   Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 20:37

Member - Bruce T (SA) posted:

We travelled via Walkers Crossing to Birdsville a few weeks ago. We were towing Kimberley Kampers and had no problems. It's rough and as was said earlier the signage is very ordinary. We came from Moomba and spent a lot of time looking for the right track - the maps we had, which were new, were out of date and no signs. The result was we drove through Moomba which we should not have done. Our detour was not intentional - signage is really important.

Bruce and Di
Crossing The Simpson 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Simpson Desert 2009
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Tasmania East Coast Tour - 2 Days Tasmania East Coast Tour - 2 Days
Hobart - TAS
Explore Tasmania's spectacular East Coast over 2 fun filled days!
Tiger Moth Scenic Formation Flight - For 2 Tiger Moth Scenic Formation Flight - For 2
Sydney - NSW
Experience the ultimate flying experience - formation flying in a genuine vintage tiger moth aircraf
Premium Gliding Air Experience Flight  - Sydney Premium Gliding Air Experience Flight - Sydn
Sydney - NSW
Soar like an eagle high above the picturesque Camden valley, with views to the Sydney skyline and th
Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills
Adelaide - SA
This abseiling adventure is designed especially for those who are seeking a real thill.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 376572   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 15:42

campaholic replied:

Thanks for the replies, at this stage it looks like I will go this route. Some great info, that's what's great about this site.

Nigel
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 376591   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 19:21

The Zogs replied:

Good info about the track a we were thinking of the same route. I to was thinking of going to the Birdsville races but was told that its very crowded and a shortage of camp spots, would love to know more as this outback trip is our FIRST and really don't want to go to the center and still think we are in the CITY
Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions