A first hand look at the infamous Canning Corrugations

Well if you've ever wondered just what those Canning corrugations are like, here are a couple of video clips from the section at the top end of the track between Wells 50 & 51. While this is a shocker of a section, it's no where near as bad as the 32 km heading south down into Well 33 or further south of Kurnawarritji. The run from the Talawana intersection to Georgia Bore will also result in you seeing a dentist to have the fillings put back in lol. Gives you an idea of how rough it can get though.

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 23:54

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 23:54
Looks just as good as the road to Mitchells Falls from the river crossing and most of the 85Kms of the Bungles track.

Lots fun. And after 5000Kms only broke a tail light globe.

How did the teeth hold up?

We just fitted Bilsteins and a few mods. Hopefully that will make it better and we wont break any tail light globes.

I just feel sorry for the ones we passed that were doing less than 10KPH. Yeah You better believe it. 10KPH. You should have seen how hard their wheels were bouncing. Drivers should have been shot for causing their cars to take all that hammering.

Thanks for the video.
AnswerID: 380097

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 14:02

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 14:02
G'day vk1dx

It's simple math. 10KPH = approx 12000 shock absorber compressions per hour, albiet long-stroke compressions. 90KPH =108,000 compressions per hour if travelling over the same road. Whose shockies will get the hottest? Ask any mechanic in the bush and they'll tell you that the 12,000 long-stroke shocky compressions will not heat the shockies anywhere near as much as the 108,000 short-stroke compressions.

Check out the rubbish tip at Drysdale River Station if you want to see a pile of knackered shockies formally belonging to the "skip over the top" brigade.

Me? I'll stick to my "whatever speed is appropriate, even 10 KPH if necessary" approach.

Russ.
FollowupID: 647435

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 14:12

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 14:12
All I can say is that thy weren't hot. Strange that the ranger and the old bloke at Drysedale (the one in the hat) agreed with me. We also put our tyres down to 20KPI for those roads.

One bloke at the Bungles said his were down to 35??? Marvelous what you find out when you ask them first.

You aren't the Russ and Sue from RASIGS are you?

FollowupID: 647436

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 00:01

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 00:01
G'day Phil,

sorry, not guilty re: RASIGS. Don't even know what RASIG is, though I suspect it has something to do with radio comms.

I definitely agree with lowering tyre pressures, so long as speed is also lowered, otherwise you risk overheating the tyres instead.

Russ.
FollowupID: 647516

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 05:06

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 05:06
Don't worry about the RASIGS. I was wondering if you were an old lost mate from Vietnam.

I agree. And slower. At 20-25 PSI tyre pressure the ABSOLUTE max we would do is 80KPH and only for a short distance. We would normally sit around 40 on heavy corrugations and higher on lesser/softer ones. Of course there are also many of reasons to go even slower at times. It's not set into the cruise control. It's just a "ballpark" figure.

As is our custom whenever we stop (fuel, photo, toilet or camp/cuppa) we check tyres, wheel nuts and shocks. Always have and its amazing how many do not. Even though they say they do. You watch them. At the gate on the highway to the Bungles we stopped to pump ours up to have a cuppa. We watched cars coming out after us. Only about a third pumped up their tyres. ONLY ONE leant down and felt the shocks. And that was a BAD road when we were there in June.

20 to 25 PSI was also a figure we used in the Army and more recently in the 4WD refresher course we both attended. 20PSI almost doubles the amount of tread on the road and it also allows the tyre to "balloon" and absorb a lot of the "bumps". Tyre wear is not an issue with us as they are the last link with the road. 35PSI is the recommended figure for bitumen from our tyre brochure and 26-32 for slow/rough gravel (and corrugations) .

This topic is about corrugations and I do not want to hijack the thread. My email is vk1dx@bigpond.net.au. Please feel free to contact me direct.

FollowupID: 647523

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:13

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:13
Hi Phil
2 Sig Reg- 1 LSF- OKR

VK2EZY

FollowupID: 647545

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:46

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:46
Hi David

Me STT: 1Sig, 104, 110, 127 and lotsa mobs (!!!!!) in 20 years.

Can't peg you though. Try: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au

FollowupID: 647548

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 01:48

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 01:48
Cant be that bad, driving and filming at the same time, camera seems very steady, well done. Just the average Kimberley corrugations, wait till just before the wet season and try drive some of the tracks up here. Ayres Rock has nothing on some of the corrugations around the joint. Sounds bloody terrible though in the videos, can almost hear your voice vibrating. Good vids though, ya lucky bugger.
AnswerID: 380099

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:33

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:33
Bought myself a new Sanyo digital before I went and the anti-shake in it is amazing. Even on full zoom it knocks a lot of the shakiness out of it.John and suzette who were travelling withn us were so impressed with it that they went out and bought one just a few weeks back. Mounted, the vibration actually caused the camera to shut down.

Cheers. Mick

FollowupID: 647410

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 08:36

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 08:36
Reminds me of The Old Ghan line.
Shane
AnswerID: 380103

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 08:54

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 08:54
Hi Mick
How do they compare with the Connie Sue from before Mackenzie Breakaway and down to past Parallel No 2 Road? There were the same type of corrugations from about 10 kilometres before Geraldton Bore to about Notabilis Hill on the Old Gunbarrel as well.

Sorry we could not pick up the book.

AnswerID: 380107

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:52

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:52
Yes they were heart breakers as well Stephen. They're on a per but still under the ones between Georgia and the Talwana turnoff east of Well 24. Welcome home.

FollowupID: 647412

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:03

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:03
Just out of interest, what speed were you travelling at Mick??

AnswerID: 380108

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:31

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 09:31
Kev,

On heavy corrugations I was at 15 - 18 kph. I found that any faster caused more issues than it was worth and heated the shockers up to billyo.

Mick

FollowupID: 647409

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 11:37

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 11:37
Hi Mick,

Good video - thanks. Yep they sure are bad. I can tell you that a month later they hadn’t improved - lol.

Some people just don’t want to let their tyres down do they? On guy in a V8 Cruiser ute just couldn't get up a dune at around W36. He had several goes and then he then let us through. We suggested he let his tyres down.
We caught up with him later and he said gee letting them down does make a difference - we went down to 36 PSI! I guess that sort of thinking is why the corros are getting worse.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 380126

Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 12:42

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 12:42
Hey Mick, how bad are the tree branch and spinifex scratches on the door paintwork? And what were your tyre pressures? Oh, and at risk of starting another firestorm, how would I or any other brave/foolish soul go towing an off-road van and/or camper trailer along the CSR?
Great video thanks to a steady hand and image stabilisation.....Glenn
Warrie

AnswerID: 380134

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 12:55

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 12:55
Whoops, instead of resuming caravan cleaning duties I got into your video clips and note that you have at least one C/T. So how did it go. PSSST - will a Jayco Outback make it?...... Glenn
Warrie

FollowupID: 647429

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 16:06

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 16:06
Glen,

do yourself a real favour next time and cover the car with Auto-Skin or Scratchpro. They are a roll on PVA based duco protector that I've been using for three years npow. Just hit the car with a pressure washer when you get home and it sloughs away. Not a scratch to be seen. Great stuff.

FollowupID: 647446

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 13:50

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 13:50
There not corrugations , the fraser island inland track from inskip point are the worst i have ever seen as far as corrugations go .
AnswerID: 380143

Reply By: xxx - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 13:52

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 13:52
I'd have to agree that corrugations are the bane of outback travel.

The GBH is the worst I have experienced.

"I just feel sorry for the ones we passed that were doing less than 10KPH. Yeah You better believe it. 10KPH. You should have seen how hard their wheels were bouncing. Drivers should have been shot for causing their cars to take all that hammering."

I can't quite follow the above comment. Theoretically, you can imagine a speed where the tyres bounce from the top of one corrugation to the top of the next, rather than fully describe the whole contour of each peak and trough. But I wonder if there is any actual scientific evidence that this particular speed can be found, maintained, and if in fact it reduces stress on the vehicle. Overall, I imagine that energy, damage etc increase with the square of the speed. I'd like to see data such as shock absorber temperature at different speeds before making rash comments about shooting drivers.
AnswerID: 380144