Investigation reslts into Banka Banka Caravan Fire

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:49
ThreadID: 72279 Views:6383 Replies:15 FollowUps:36
I copied this from another forum as it a safety issue and of great interest to everyone here. (Spelling errors and all)

Their recommendations should set the cat amongst the pigeons :-)

The fire investigation is complete..

In between the car and the van the familys gas fridge was on the ground, the father could not get the jerry can out of the holder on the van drawbar as the warm fuel had expanded, he poped the lid to release the pressure and the fuel came out hit him and the pilot light and started the fire.

The family are recovering well and should be out of hospital now, we are still incontact with them and will let you know if there are any further developments.

After speaking to the fire investigation officer, rules on parking in van parks in the NT is being looked at and there will be a change in jurastiction to allow him to enforce new guidlines and have strict penaltys.

One rule is that there must be a minimum of 6 meters between each van and clear roads between all vans, some parks will really struggle with this we feel but time will tell.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:03

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:03
Sounds typical

One act of stupidity and the whole industry will suffer.

Have seen some parks where you couldnt even get an awning out never mind a clear space between vans.

AnswerID: 383252

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:13

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:13
Was at Banka Banka last year, and they there is no designated sites, just some rings and people chose their own sites around the ring.
We pulled in and left plenty of room to the next van, so we didn't disturb people. By the time we had settled down for the night a van had pulled in each side so it was nice and cosy. They ran a genny for a couple of hours, and I snored all night.

Can see the problem. NSW van parks have the 3m rule I think.
AnswerID: 383254

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:18

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:18
Thanks for posting the info Dunco, much appreciated.

Petrol sure is volatile stuff and should be treated with caution - even if a fire didn't start, it is still a risk if the escaping petrol should spray into your eyes.

Unfortunately, I suspect "knee-jerk" reactions such as mandating 6m clear between all caravans will do little other than make sites more scarce, which could make many van parks no longer viable at current tariffs/rates. Not to mention, yet another law (that we've survived how long without?) that van parks will have to remember to comply with...
AnswerID: 383255

Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:28

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:28
'knee jerk' action/s or not, in this day and age of litigation, public liability, work place safe work requirements etc etc what else would you expect from the management particularly if the recommendations resulting from the investigation found such short comings. If it means less spaces, so be it, perhaps it could also result in safer environment for users.
FollowupID: 650902

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:38

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:38
I hear what you're saying DIO and agree it's certainly no surprise.

However, I don't think a 6m "exclusion zone" would have prevented this incident (nor is it likely to prevent similar incidents in the future) as it seems to have been ignited by the camper's OWN gas fridge. A 6m exclusion zone would, at best, only limit the exposure to adjacent campers, which again, doesn't seem to have been an issue in this incident.

I would happily support a "knee jerk" reaction if it was actually targetted at the problem, and therefore might actually protect people.
FollowupID: 650904

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:56

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:56
Timbo,

I think you will find that the "exclusion" zone is just for that....so the neighbours van wouldn't go up as well.

FollowupID: 650906

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:46

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:46
Thanks for that post Dunco. We will all learn something from this event.
The common sense aproach to the safe handling of petrol, and all flammable liquids, must always be paramount in all these situations. We have all handled fuel under various conditions, and probably all can own up to taking a short cut now and then, even when we have known better than to do so. We don't know this family's experience, but thank god they are all safe, although they have had a very painful experience.
BTW does anyone know if they were plastic or steel jerry cans ?

Fred.
AnswerID: 383271

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:58

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:58
Fred,

If you have a close look at one of the photos I believe you can see a black gerry on the A Frame....and if it swelled up, I would therefor believe it to be plastic

FollowupID: 650907

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:19

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:19
I was thinking the same thing Dunco. With the container restricted around it's girth, it would have been an eruption of fuel as soon as the cap came off.
Interesting to see what comes of it.
FollowupID: 650911

Follow Up By: mowing - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:33

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:33
I have two plastic fuel containers on the A frame of the mowing trailer and during warm to hot conditions (and it doesn't take much ie spring) the 10 litre black container billows out like a balloon and the cap has to be taken off very carefully before you can get it out of the holder. The 20 litre red container does not billow out and whilst there is some pressure, no where near as much as the 10 litre. I suspect it is the colour that is attracting the heat.

FollowupID: 650914

Follow Up By: furph - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:23

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:23
It certainly happens with the steel ones too.
The carriers on the front of the Getaway are made to ensure a snug fit. Even on a normal 20* day the jerrycan expands (diesel not so bad) making it impossible to remove without relieving the pressure.
The problem there is that the catch has to be completely released before the lid can lift at all therefore causing the outrush of fuel. Some sort of pressure release vent (as on the red containers) would be the answer.
furph
FollowupID: 650968

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:34

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:34
Thanks for the info Dunco,

But another knee jerk reaction from the Gov.
Rather than educate people in the dangers of fuel............ban something.
I dont think the person was even silly? Just had an acident.

But now...if they bring in the suggested rule, you will get half the amount of vans in a park so the rent will double. Just another move in the direction towrds taking even caravaning out of the average persons reach.
AnswerID: 383274

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:45

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:45
Could not agree more Hairy (NT). If a Jerry Can is built to hold 5 or 10litres thats all that should be put in it, allow room for expansion in hot weather.
The powers that be should realize it was a terrible accident and not come up with a typical kneejerk reaction by by coming up with a 6mrtre exclusion zone.
We left Banka Banka the same morning the accident happened and i don,t think i would have like to have been parked 6metres from the Van and Vehicle when it was going up in smoke.
Education is the answer.
Just my thoughts .
DUKE
FollowupID: 650928

Reply By: dieseltojo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:31

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:31
Seems like every thing is being blamed but the Jerry can makers.If a Jerry can is so designed that un- reasonable pressure is allowed to occur then a simple pre bleed device should be either built in or the manufactures should be forced to make them safe.The sudden release of presser should not endanger the user.Obviously people who are inexperienced in fuel use should not be blamed for a situation such as this.Education can only go so far.If you have ever had you fingers belted by a jerry can that surprised you you will know what I mean.Experiance teaches you to use a big screw driver and very carefully pries the seal.All jerry cans are dangerious if left in the sun, no doubt. Just a point of view.
regards paul
AnswerID: 383283

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:54

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 20:54
Overfilled jerry can.

My black cans have a 20 litre level mark, and when they have swelled they have never spewed petrol when the pressure was released.
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 383287

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:34

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:34
I agree.

Petrol doesn't expand signficantly when hot - but the Vapour Pressure increases dramatically.

If the can is overfilled, the out rush of vapour when pressurised will splash out fuel.

But even if there had been a controlled release of the vapours, it still would have exploded when it reached the fridge pilot light.
FollowupID: 651233

Reply By: scgr0509 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:11

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:11
Hi Dunco,

Thank you for posting this. The incident in question was actually my caravan.
As said, I would put it down to a bad accident than stupidity.
To clarify, the jerry can that started it all was actually a steel army style can - the plastic jerry in the photo was on the other side and carrying diesel.
Initially I thought it was the exhaust however it was the fire brigade who suggested the little finch fridge pilot light.

I am very keen for others to learn from my experience.

1. On a hot day fumes travel a Long way.
2. Get contents insurance
3. Don't try and fight the fuel fire, the extinguisher was useless and the car diesel tanks, gas cylinders and other jerry can went up very fast. I am glad we ran when we did.
4. Expander caravans are a terrible fire hazard, the nylon ends burn very well, the photo you have all seen was take about 60 seconds after the fire started.

I would like to extend a special thanks to all of the NT people who helped us, they we truely amazing, donating money, time and effort to help. Banka Banka station staff were especially amazing.

The burns to my wife are painful but should heal well, I am in a little worse shap and am heading to the Burns Centre tomorrow for as assessment, I am in for a very painful month however - I have had to type this with my only working finger.

Scott

AnswerID: 383290

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:18

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:18
Scott,

1. I hope you and your family have no long term affects from this accident and you get to travel once again.

2. Thankyou for sharing your experience here so that others may learn and that all other reasons for this accident are finally dispelled.

You are what I call a fair dinkum bloke as you have the balls to get up and speak of your errors. Good on you mate and once again I hope you and your family all heal 100 %

Gary
FollowupID: 650937

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:21

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 21:21
Good to see you and the family whilst a little singed are all OK.

No doubt it frightened the hell out of you all and it will take sometime for the kids to get over it.

Hope you get it all sorted and get back out on the road soon.

FollowupID: 650938

Follow Up By: Member - Danielle T (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:32

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:32
Thank god you are all OK. Fire is one of the things that really freak me out. I cant imagine how awful it was for you and your family to have to lose your car, caravan and all your stuff. But at least the unreplaceable (you, your wife and kids) are still here! Lets hope we all learn something in regard to the dangers of fuel and fire. I hope it doesnt take you too long to get ready to take off once again. My best wishes are with you all. Danielle
FollowupID: 650950

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 06:39

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 06:39
Scott,

Thanks for letting us all know about this..... as said above, at least you all are relatively OK. It could have been worse.

I for one have read this thread thoroughly and like to think I have learnt from it, your experience may save me and mine one day!

Best wishes for you and your family, hope you recover fully and soon!

FollowupID: 650961

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:21

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:21
Good on ya Scott, for taking time out to come on here and tell us what happened. Lot's there for us all to learn from.
Hope you and your wife get over your injuries really quickly, and you can get back out there soon. Your obviously a tough bloke so hang in there.
Good to see the people out there responded as only Aussies can, and will.
Your plight will be a major conversation topic at the forthcoming St. George ExplorOz gathering I am sure mate, in a couple of weeks time.

Take Care.

Fred.
FollowupID: 650974

Follow Up By: wizzy - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 09:38

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 09:38
Hi Scott ... any chance of dropping me an email, please. Thnx
FollowupID: 651110

Follow Up By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 10:18

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 10:18
Hi Scott

My wife and I would like to wish both you, your wife and kids our best wishes and speedy recovery from what is a truly traumatic event.

All the best with your further treatment.

Ray Moore
FollowupID: 651117

Follow Up By: scgr0509 - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 08:58

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 08:58
Hi guys,
Thanks for your kind words and encouragement.
We are all heeling well. Went to the burns unit again yesterday and I may be just out of the woods on a skin graft, though full movement in the right arm may still be in doubt. Alive though and very happy about it.

I am keen to get back in the travel saddle, but the wife is not so keen with memories rather raw.

Looking around for a new 80 series factory turbo with little luck. It is the contents, which were not insured which hurts most as we figure we have lots a good 80K odd.

Something which occured to me last night was that this could also happen to the indoor caravan fridge on gas if you open the fuel near the bottom vent and the natural air flow was to draw vapour through to the pilot. Do you guys think this can happen. Perhaps a 12 volt conmpressor fridge is a safer option?

Scott
FollowupID: 651445

Follow Up By: wizzy - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:16

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:16
Hi Scott,

Sorry, didn't include an email in my previous post. Can u contact me please at dennisamor@bigpond.com (Don't worry, I'm not trying to sell you anything!).
dennis
FollowupID: 651448

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:20

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:20
"Something which occured to me last night was that this could also happen to the indoor caravan fridge on gas if you open the fuel near the bottom vent and the natural air flow was to draw vapour through to the pilot. Do you guys think this can happen."

Definitely yes, it only takes a 2% fuel vapour in air to be explosive.

But the solution is so cheap and so simple - enclose the flame in the fridge in wire gauze like a Miner's Safety Lamp.

I wonder how service station explosions are caused by someone driving in with their gas fridge running ? In a servo a naked light is illegal, using a mobile phone is illegal - is it illegal to drive in with a gas fridge on ?
FollowupID: 651449

Reply By: Rossco 09 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:18

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:18
Does anybody want to discuss fire extinguishers in this type of situation? Maybe what is really required is a review on recommendations for carrying extinguishers and other type of domestic fire fighting equipment.

Who's to say that a certain number of extinguishers should be carried in certain locations inside/outside of a rig? What rating should they be respective of their mounted location? What size should they be as well?

Standard fire plans in the past have included words to the affect of "fight the fire if possible", and in this situation it certainly sounds like a "if not, run". But if you had to stay and fight to do everything you can to save a life, do you think enough equipment could have been accessible (extinguishers, blankets etc.) to stop it, even if only in the initial stages?

Just food for thought.
AnswerID: 383338

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:48

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:48
I doubt whether any domestic fire extinguisher would've handled this fire....would've had to have foam I suspect...but I am sure someone will add to this.

FollowupID: 650986

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:24

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:24
Rossco & Dunco, from what Scott said (above: reply 8), the usual car fire extinguisher was of little value in this situation.

While foam extinguishers are one of the best types for liquid-fueled fires, a few years back I did a quick Fire Brigade course in fire extinguishers. We were told that the foam extinguishers at servos and on fuel tankers are only used in case of a spill with no fire. The foam is quickly sprayed onto the fuel to provide a covering to trap the vapours until the spill can be cleaned up ie. to reduce the risk a fire (ie. spark igniting the vapours). They said that in the event of a fire, using that little foam extinguisher will be futile and you'd be better off getting yourself away from there.

Obviously, a tanker/servo has much larger quantities of fuel than a jerry, but it's 'fuel' for thought anyway...
FollowupID: 650988

Follow Up By: Rossco 09 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:47

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:47
I posted the questions because when I was in the Airfarce we did a fire fighting refresher every year. This included putting out liquid fires using the foam method. I'm very hazy on this, but basically involved putting the foam onto the liquid at an angle so that it created a new pool on top without splashing everywhere until there was no oil exposed; hence smothering it's air supply.

However, I always wondered how effectively a fuel fire could be controlled when it's not conveniently pooled on a flat surface.

I also wonder if Van's and Motorhome's should have a very large extinguisher mounted somewhere externally with a long hose that someone can use to save the lives of occupants inside it or the car (if a van). It seems most are now fitted with the luxury of gas bottles, large water tanks, battery banks etc. Can they also accommodate extra kilo's in life saving equipment? Unless you get a fire out early, I don't believe for a second that a 2kg bottle mounted somewhere in the kitchenette will save even a small van in a disaster.

jmho
FollowupID: 650990

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:25

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:25
Ah, it all makes sense now! Being in the Air Force, they most likely require you to be an expert in dealing with liquid-fuel fires. That's very different to the volunteer rural fire service where they taught us to deal with dry/solid-fuel fires and said "leave the liquid-fuel fires up to the pros". See also Reply 10 by Jezz (below) where he says "The ability to effectively lay foam is a art in itself." I assume he specifically means once the fire has taken hold:
If you are preventing a liquid-fuel fire you might have a chance to go back and cover and areas you missed the first time.
But if the liquid-fuel has already caught fire and you "miss a bit" with the foam, you can end up just splitting the fire sending it in different directions, or you can even have one spring up behind you. The technique is to "corner" the fire, preferably on the first attempt, but most importantly: without leaving any gaps in the foam cover.
It can be done, but it's not something that any average-bloke-in-the-street should attempt without some training (preferably including some practice in controlled and supervised situations). Most of us are better off just getting ourselves far away - a much easier choice when it concerns a $30k caravan, but not really an option for a liquid-fuel fire under a $XXXm figher jet on an aircraft carrier during a mission!
FollowupID: 650995

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:16

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:16
Actually I'd like to discuss a pressure relief valve for plastic jerry cans that are built into the caps...does such a thing exist? I have an idea.
FollowupID: 651123

Follow Up By: Rossco 09 - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:27
Well, if it could be constructed to only allow excess air out and block fluid. Otherwise on overfilled jerry will be leaving a 'Die Hard' fuel trail.
FollowupID: 651125

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:47

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:47
Yeah I've thought about that, and probably for that reason they wouldn't be allowed. I'm still going to have a think about it though.
FollowupID: 651131

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:55

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 11:55
Probably a really bad idea!

The container will continually leaking petrol fumes if there is any upwards change in temperature.

Petrol vapours are far more explosive that petrol in a liquid form (one of the components of fire is the presence of oxygen; the ratio of oxygen to fuel is significantly increased when the fuel is in vapour form).

Somebody walks past the jerry can on a hot day with a cigarette in their hand and Quit has lost a possible member

The petrol smell would permeate everything even worse than a sealed can does.
FollowupID: 651133

Follow Up By: Rossco 09 - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:00

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:00
OK then, sealed jerry with a pre-release manual valve the user operates to equalize pressure safely before opening lid. Valve still blocks liquid, and possibly has component which condenses/collects the fuel component of the vapor. I think we're moving into the realm of replacements for common sense.
FollowupID: 651135

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:13

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:13
Simpler to put a line on the container at 80% capacity with big fat letters “DO NOT FILL ABOVE THIS POINT”

Stop the “The service station at…… ripped me off” posts too
FollowupID: 651141

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:29

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:29
My metal Jerry cans have the "raised mark" on the side showing the maximum fill level, so would think most would have the same feature ??

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 651146

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:44

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:44
I understand that the vapour is more "explosive" than the actual liquid, but the picture I had in my mind was kind of like a screw on cap (similar to what is on those plastic jerry cans) that had some sort of solid filter or 3-stage filter to block liquid and dissipate the combustible content of the vapour to the point of it being harmless at the point it was vented.

Of course, all this is good in theory, in practice it may be a failure. Just an idea anyway.
FollowupID: 651150

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:15

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:15
Road warrior - you could easily just have a separate expansion chamber like the fuel tank in your car has, or else you could do what Nargun and the jerry manufacturers suggest and not fill past the line that says “DO NOT FILL ABOVE THIS POINT” - it's not just there for decoration! There MUST be space (air) left to allow for expansion. This is because liquid cannot be compressed, but gas/air can, so as the temperature (and therefore the volume) increase, the liquid must either stretch the container or leak out, but the gas/air can be compressed and occupy the same space (or less space due to the expansion of the fuel) although at an increased pressure.

I often wondered the same as Nargun also when it comes to "...the “The service station at…… ripped me off” posts too"!

I only ever fill my jerries based on the pump reading ie. if 20L jerry, only fill 20L from the pump (it also makes it easier to keep track of fuel consumption figures). They still swell in the heat, but if you loosen the cap and let the pressure equalise before removing the cap completely then no liquid will spray out.

FollowupID: 651155

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 05:53

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 05:53
" dissipate the combustible content of the vapour to the point of it being harmless at the point it was vented. "

- that's not possible. A 2% fuel vapour / air mixture is explosive.

Unfortunately a fuel vapour / air mixture of MORE THAN 8% will not explode, which leads people into a false sense of security about how dangerous petrol fumes are.
FollowupID: 651428

Reply By: jezza68 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:35

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:35
The ability to fight a fire such as this comes down to several things.

1) First priority is to rescue and remove people from danger
2) Other exposures need protecting. In this case 6mt would not have been sufficient The radiating heat would have well have exceeded 6 mt. Any Structure within even 20 mts would need cooling stream to contain situation. Anybody fighting this would need level 2 PPE to prevent burning. BA would probably be required due to the fumes.

3) Response time. As already stated 60 secs to become fully involved?
4) Correct extinguishers, CO2 no good in the open. Foam no good in wind unless you can position yourself correctly. The ability to effectively lay foam is a art in itself.
5) The volume of extinguisher necessary would exceed the carrying capacity of the van.

Believe me I have dealt with similar as a Vollie Fire and Rescue Member.
You would be horrified as to how many tourists travel with gas fridges soley running on gas and stored in a chipboard cupboard!!! How many times have you parked next to one of these and not known?

The situation in this particular case is an unfortunate accident as a result of the right environmental conditions. My thoughts are with the family.
AnswerID: 383353

Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:11

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:11
scgr0509
Hope you and your family are all on the mend and finish up okay Vans and cars can be replaced but unfortunately wives and kids can not.Thank you for sharing your experience as I have learnt from it.
Hope every thing finishes up okay
Terry
AnswerID: 383386

Reply By:- Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 22:05

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 22:05
A Dry Powder extinguisher is a good all rounder to carry and on todays market a 9kg on special is around $140.00. Be aware that over a period of time with continual vibration or lowering heavily onto a hard surfaces as in a service station driveway the powder in the cylinder can become compacted and when used in an emergency all you will get is a small puff of white powder instead of a white christmas. These extinguishers need to be upended on a regular basis and you wil feel the weight shift if the powder is loose. Regards, Pauper.
AnswerID: 383445

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 05:26

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 05:26
If you store powder extinguishers horizontally, the car's movement will slosh the powder around, preventing compacting.
FollowupID: 651427

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:58

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 09:58
Not entirely prevent, Mike, but will reduce the compaction.
They still need to be given a 'shake up' on a regular basis.

That's advice directly from an old CAMS publication on fire safety.
FollowupID: 651454

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:47
If the Government wants to do something to reduce injuries, they must regulate that Gas Fridges must not be able to ignite flammable vapours.

It's not Rocket Science - Miners' Safety Lamps have allowed miners to use flames for illumination undeground, without igniting the flammable gases in mines.

It's obvious Gas Fridge Manufacturers aren't going to make their fridges more expensive voluntarily - like so many other items, the government needs to make it illegal to sell gas fridges that don't meet minimum safety requirements.
AnswerID: 383558

Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:26
Mike DID
it's not Rocket Science - Miners' Safety Lamps have allowed miners to use flames for illumination underground, without igniting the flammable gases in mines.
First up Miners Safety Lamps (Those with a flame), are not used for Illumination purposes but to detect the presence of gasses underground. For illumination purposes the Miners Cap Lamp and Battery are used.Not having a shot just wanted to straighten that out. As per the fuel in the jerry can shorely we have all learnt from this unfortunate accident that the best thing is don't over fill the Jerry Can and move away from any known Flame or any thing that could possibly cause the contents to ignite before using
Terry
AnswerID: 383570

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:45

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:45
When Davey invented the Safety Lamp, there were no batteries or electric light that could be used underground !!!

The Miners Safety Lamp was the only source of light for Miners for countless decades.
FollowupID: 651398

Reply By: Rolly - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:07

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:07
A tip for young players:

When around a campfire, the natural thing is to position oneself up-wind to avoid the smoke.
So, to refill the genny you drag it around there, clear of the smoke, so that you can see what you're doing by the firelight's glow, without the smoke making your eyes water.

Just think about it:

Close to the fire and up-wind.

BOOM!!!!!!

R.I.P.
AnswerID: 383743