Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

ARB LTR suspension system

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 06, 2002 at 00:00

charl makssi

i own a 94 GQ patrol 4.2 efi which still has factory shocks / springs. i do plan to travel all of australia and will need a tough suspention system, now if price is any thing to go by the LTR seem to be the obvious choice? or are they? if anyone has them fitted or any feed back will be appreciated. cost is not an issue just want a good overall suspension system.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 727 Replies: 7
Views: 661 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 2003   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 07, 2002 at 00:00

Steve replied:

I asked my local 4wd shop about them and he stated they were "overpriced and of no benefit". He does compete in various off road events, and uses specialised arrangements on these (Multiple ranchos per wheel). On his daily driver (80 series Landcruiser) he has settled on Nitrochargers as the best ride and value for money.
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 2008   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 07, 2002 at 00:00

jono replied:

if you want to go serious, go for the adjustable Rancho's with in cab switches. seen them on an 80's series and worked very well
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 700   Submitted: Friday, Feb 08, 2002 at 00:00

Peter posted:

I have had various 4x4s over the years with various suspension systems. I fitted my 80 series with Lovell springs (40 mm lift) and adjustable Rancho 9000's about a year ago. I think this is the best settup I have ever driven (other than a Range Rover but that wouldn't carry the load.) Cheers Peter
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 2016   Submitted: Friday, Feb 08, 2002 at 00:00

Paul replied:

I wanted the LTR's so I went down to my local ARB store and the guy behind the counter told me that they where a waste of the extra money so I bought the Nitrochargers and 2 years on after heaps of hard woek I couldn't be happier. Just remember that anything other than stock shocks is a 100% improvement and once purchased,your judgement is biased to the amount you spend so, dollar value is not the mark of qaulity in shocks.
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 2026   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 09, 2002 at 00:00

Nigel replied:

I got OME coils and Nitrocharges fitted to my 95 GQ Wagon and it transformed the handling about 3000%. I've had them on for 2 years now and think that it was money well spent. I fitted the heaviest variable coils at the back which makes the vehicle sit flat when fully loaded with a trailer, and slightly higher at the rear when unloaded.
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Sydney Helicopter Flight and Jet Boat Adventure Sydney Helicopter Flight and Jet Boat Adventu
Sydney - NSW
Experience Sydney Harbour in a very unique ways!
5 Day Jackaroo Jillaroo Program 5 Day Jackaroo Jillaroo Program
New England / Dubbo - NSW
Mate, if you're looking for the real Australia then here's how to get into it - the Station way of l
Native Australian Cooking Workshop Native Australian Cooking Workshop
Sydney - NSW
Learn about native Australian cuisine and ingredients while watching a 6 course lunch been prepared
Freycinet National Park Freycinet National Park
Launceston North-East - TAS
Visit one of the worlds most amazing beaches at Freycinet National Park, with its renowned white, si
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 2081   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2002 at 00:00

Peter Moore replied:

I fitted OME coils and nitrocharges to my 97 diesel GQ and even with over 200l fuel and all gear gave avery good ride on all terrain. I agree the improvement will blow you away. Don't know why I waited so long to fit them. Peter
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 2082   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2002 at 00:00

charl makssi replied:

paul, nigel, peter moore thank you for responding but unable to view your reply, i am interested to in your views please repost.
charl
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 2091   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 13, 2002 at 00:00

Greg replied:

I have a 89 gq 4.2 diesel with LTR,s and am very happy with them after 75,000km. As what alot of people say there are better alternatives if you don't venture past the great dividing range. However if you are going to travel for hours on end on dirt roads then LTR's are going to help because of there remot cannister holding more oil. More oil means less heat and less chance of shocky fade.
The other benefit is the adjustability of them but ranchos have that in a better system. The rebuildable part is crap because you have to take them off your 4wd and send to melbourne and wait for their return.
In short if you are going outback they are great if not go for the OME standards or Ranchos
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website