What boots to wear?

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:08
ThreadID: 73297 Views:7910 Replies:22 FollowUps:15
The trusty Blunnies are nearing the end of theor life, sad eh? I have had these since 2005. Anyhoo I saw some laceup high leg boots the other day and thought they would be a good alternative to the elastic sided boots I have worn for hmm 40 years.

I have been told though that they are uncomfortable when driving and that elastic sided boots are better. I remember using the shoelaces from boots back when I was 16 to repair a landrover fanbelt in the high country and have also used them to repair a backpack when I used to do a bit of hiking, I also remember tying a harness for abseiling using some leather shoelaces. It seems shoelaces are handy for lots of stuff other than shoe things.

I wanted to stay with an aussie boot though hence the question as Blunnies are going offshore.

What do you think you lot, what do you wear when out and about?

Reply By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:13

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:13
Gidday

On a day when Valentino won another Moto GP crown how could it be anthing other than Rossi

He should be proud to bear their name

Rocco
AnswerID: 388680

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:50

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:50
Well ummm, actually, just in case ya weren't aware...

Rossi boots are manufactured by (here in OZ) by the Rossiter family company (3rd generation, I believe)
No connection to Valentino whatsoever ;-)

Rossi Boots

If I weren't wearin' Redbacks, I'd prob'ly look at these;-)

SWMBO wears Rossi when out'n'about;-

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 656391

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:03

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:03
Gee Ed, How could I not have known that?

Just call it a feeble attempt at humour ... or something like making a link between one of the world's great bootmakers and one of the world's great sporting champions ...

Rocco
FollowupID: 656395

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:16

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:16
Blunnies, Tipians, Rossi, Redbacks, double pluggers, scuffs, Mongrels, Rivers

I reckon I have tried most and like the good old Blunnies and Mongrels

AnswerID: 388681

Reply By: Volvo driver - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:17

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:17
it all depends on what you plan to do in them...horses for courses,
AnswerID: 388682

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:18

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:18
well outdoorsy stuff as well as driving and workboots too

FollowupID: 656370

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:18

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:18
If he wants lace ups he must be about to trade his grenade for a Lawn Rover again LOL

FollowupID: 656371

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:43

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:43
not a chance! although I am going to the LR factory in Solihull next month

FollowupID: 656375

Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:49

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:49
if you're only gonna do outdoorsy stuff like cut the grass, walk the dog and drive then any type of ES boot will do.. you don't need heaps of support for that,

on the other hand... if you were considering hunting sambar in the Vic high country.. as some do... you would need the good stuff,

if you don't do the hard stuff just get ES boots like blunnies, yakka etc etc

lace ups are a PITA if you don't need them
FollowupID: 656388

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:25

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:25
Hey Bonz,
I've had a pair of Mongrel boots slip ons, for for over 12 months now. very comfortable and are wearing well. As a carpenter, working on construction sites, Concrete, broken tiles, steel, and just general abuse on a work site, they cop a fair bit of abuse. And of cause they get a polish each week as all good boots should, ;)
Very happy with them.

AnswerID: 388685

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:00

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:00
Bonz

On my 3rd pair of Redbacks........very comfy and the soles are so soft to walk on.
AnswerID: 388691

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:29

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:29
Second the Redbacks :)

Not only a comfortable long-lasting boot, but they are AUSSIE MADE, and competitively priced to boot (pun intended;-))

My current 'everyday' pair of 'lastic sides is at least 3 years old with a bit left in 'em yet, and I wear 'em (literally) every day o' the week..
Can't recommend 'em too highly IMO... (YMMV)

Confucius say.....

FollowupID: 656385

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 07:32

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 07:32
A redback question for rb fans. I had a pair of rbs for 10 years. Best boots I've ever had. They finally dies. Just got new pair. My first rbs were instantly wonderfully comfortable. The new pair are not as comfortable. Maybe they will wear in? Has there been a change in rb design over , say, the last 10 years?
FollowupID: 656422

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:25

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:25
Mfewster, maybe your feet have changed a little in 10 years ??

Seriously, I doubt if there'd be 2 feet on the planet Ed Zachary the same, any off-the-shelf boot would have to be a compromise.. some feet would be closer to the 'standard size' than others ;-)

I have 2 pairs of RBs (same 'nominal' size, same style), my 'everyday' pair which are as comfortable as, ummm, well, as comfortable as an old boot ;-)

The newer pair by comparison are still somewhat tight, so there's no doubt that they do indeed 'wear in'..
No doubt this would apply to all leather boots, and the time-proven method of stretching a new pair of boots, is to soak 'em (in water), and wear 'em around while wet.. they will soon conform to the shape of the foot inside 'em..
Don't overdo it though, or they'll end up being too loose...

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....

FollowupID: 656448

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51
Another vote for Redbacks...

I was issued with steel-capped lace-up Blundstones for the rural fire service. The soles were heat, oil, acid, etc. resistant but the boots were like walking around in steel clogs, and they sucked the heat out your feet too. In fairness, I'm sure Blundstone does make more comfortable boots than the ones I had - otherwise it's no wonder they're going off shore! And in case you're wondering why the rural/volunteer fire brigade is never there when you need them - they're probably all still lacing up their boots!

When I had to use my own money to buy boots for working in a Deli, I got some elastic gussetted Redbacks and never looked back. However, after a few years of trudging through meaty fats/oils etc. and various cleaning chemicals, the soles were rather corroded and the boots themselves, while still in excellent condition, used to attract the flies as a cow pat would. (I think my sister was a little horrified that her pet cat used to like licking my boots too) After finishing that job, I tossed those boots (I think Smith Family or Koomari got them) and I went for the Redbacks again. They were comfy right from the shop and after five years they're still in tip-top shape. The good thing about elastic gussetted boots is that if they're a bit muddy I can just slip them off when going inside and they are great for camping as well as you can just slip them on should you need to go get up for any reason during the night. I wouldn't recommend them for hiking though - I'd get lace-ups for that.
FollowupID: 656454

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:03

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:03
I also have been wearing Blunnies for years, but while at St. George they were getting a bit uncomfortable. The inner sole had worn through.
Off down the road for a new pair, and I went to an Ag Supply place.
I told the girl I was after a new pair of Blunnies, and she said size won't be a problem, but depends on what style you want.
Just for a giggle, I said I wanted pink ones.
She went to the shelf, and bought out a pair of pink suede boots.
It put me back in me box quick smart.
I didn't get them anyway, they weren't Blundstones.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 388693

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:04

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:04
i'm a tradie who's pretty hard on boots, i'm currently wearing Mongrels and reckon they aren't to bad, they seem to be holding up well and are quite comfortable.
previous to these i had some Blue Steel which whilst being quite comfy, didn't last me very long at all before falling apart.
AnswerID: 388694

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:07

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:07
I have been a fan of the Olivers for years. the elastic sided ones have been my favoured ones but i did try the lace ups, too much fartin' around so i went back to the lastics. they recently dropped all the small sizes so i cant get them anymore(claret colour) so i had to look around to find something similar in size and lightweight steel capped. i settled on the redbacks. they seem to be good, still prefer the olivers but the redbacks were the closest and most comfy as i wear them almost 7 days a week! my sidekick has had mongrels for a while and he says they are good also.
AnswerID: 388696

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:34

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:34
Yep, second that, Olivers.

Was born in them and will die in them.....lol.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 656425

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:12

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:12
Bonz
I've been wearing elastic sided blunnies for 40 odd years myself , can't beat them. When they introduced the shock protection sole they were even better. Can't be bothered with laces every morning as I wear then every day,but can see that a shoe laces can be handy at times. Sad to see that they are forced to go off shore to survive.
Cheers murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 388698

Reply By: rags - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:39

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:39
I faced this problem about 4 yrs ago after tearing tendions from ankle [whilst wearing blunnies with elastic sides].I needed boots with better ankle support so i went down this track and eventually found a new pair of blunstones [177 style] lace ups high sides.These have been the most comfy boots i have worn and in fact i am about to replace them with a new pair and will not be changing.
http://www.blundstone.com/product_info.cgi?subpageID=safetyworkwear&sub_categoryID=130264
AnswerID: 388701

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:05

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:05
I swear by Rossi. Had mine about 5yrs now. Dug holes,kicked rocks.scraped the ground with them. Still going, had to replace the inner sole. But nice and
comfy walking all day over rough ground.
AnswerID: 388704

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:07

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:07
Think I heard Rossie were going offshore
FollowupID: 656396

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:31

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:31
G`day Bonz,
If you don`t need steel caps go for the "Blunnies 200" just great mate.
Usually cheaper to buy at a stock agents than at a shoe shop.
You get $10 trade in for your oldies at Rodwells Bendigo.

cheers ,
Scrubby.
AnswerID: 388709

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 05:56

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 05:56
G'day, have a pair of Mongrel lace ups with a zip, very easy to slip on, very comfy. AirZone 261020.

AnswerID: 388720

Reply By: Member - Lewis K (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 07:19

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 07:19
Gday Bonz.

Steel Blue are the boot for me. Made in WA, the profits go to charity and an excellent boot to wear. I live in mine for about 11 hours every day
AnswerID: 388724

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:31
Totally agree, work long hours all day on my feet and Steel Blue are the best i have ever worn. Current pair is over 2 years old, and is nearly time to hang em up. But they endure every type of punishment possible, all types of oils, acids, fuel, saltwater, cement, mud and still remain strong. Steel Blue Argyle they are.

Previously wore the Rossi Poseidon i think, the high top lace ups and was lucky to get a year from them. Zips always broke before 3 months, and soles never lasted more then 12 months. Are also very uncomfortable compared to Steel Blue. Steel Blue are the boots of choice in the mining and offshore industry around here.
FollowupID: 656502

Follow Up By: sabre73 - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:07

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:07
I heard that steel blue are now made in China. I wonder if the quality will go down.
FollowupID: 656765

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:31

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:31
Check 'em all out here.
AnswerID: 388730

Reply By: aka - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:38

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:38
Carted concrete for 30 years blunnies would last 12 months by far the best and most comfortable were OLIVERS made in Ballarat would last 2 years
AnswerID: 388731

Reply By: trainslux - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 09:28

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 09:28
Rossi boots.

Locally made, great product, and when approached to make a custom size in the mulga's they made 2 pair for me.
Last set had 2 resoles, and 15 years of daily use.

Wont wear anything else.

Trains
AnswerID: 388735

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:11

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:11
Bonz,

I wear the same brand of boot as my 4bys

DUNLOPS!.

AnswerID: 388739

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:15

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:15
Are they the Volley Tread pattern?? hehehehe

FollowupID: 656432

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:55

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:55
I have had a pair of Olivers for about 8 years. I've walked all over the Flinders with them, worn them to work, around the house..everywhere and everything. Other than the 2 inch wide hole I put in them along the tongue when I stuck a branch through my foot while on the dirt bike, they show minimal signs of wear. Still comfortable and planty of years left in them. They are the lace up types.

I also have a pair of RM's. Very comfortable too, but too good to wear as knock abouts.
AnswerID: 388764

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:30

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:30
If I remember Army and (possibly) all other services boots are lace up?

Bought these ($175) size 9 CAT steel-cap boots, but they didn't fit
are still in the box and are available ha ha

Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 388771

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:47

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:47
Gday Bonz,

Red Wings or Thomas Cooks are both really comfy.......good for driving and working. You will need gators if your welding though!

AnswerID: 388829

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:49

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:49
My Husband works in the mines (surveyor) and does a fair bit of walking, he always wears medium to high lace ups, used to be Blundstones but lately Olivers haven't been too bad (he goes through boots regularly so they get a tough life).

His latest "mine issue" was Mongrel but they were mongrels, the fit wasn't right and that's reported from a few different people, it was resulting in sore feet so he brought himself Olivers, out of his own pocket.

The non lace ups I've had Blundstones in the past and didn't find them comfy enough. Got my first pair of Rossi boots some months ago and they are fantastic in comparison.
I have a lace up pair of Steel Blue which seem comfortable enough considering they are half a size or so too big for me.

It really depends on your foot, if you read the hiking sites and stuff they talk about the fact that you have to get a brand with uses a "last" that matches your foot. I guess Rossi match mine better than Blundstone because the Blundstones would always rub at the heel.

Oh and I'm like a bloke I only own maybe 3 pairs of shoes, so when I buy a shoe it's generally worn to most places. The only reason I have 3 pairs is that one are lace ups, one are non lace ups and the third are good for mountain bike riding!
AnswerID: 388847