Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

White lettering to the inside or to the Outside??

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 09:34

Sir Kev & Darkie

Article Overview - All Terrain (AT) Tyres
When you are looking for a compromise between off-road capability and good on-road manners, an All-Terrain (AT) tyre is the way to go. View Full Article...
I have just replaced the tyres on Darkie and have conducted a small experiment in relation to the above.

I bought BFG AT in 265 x 75 R16's and have the Raised White Lettering to the inside, while a bloke at work got BFG AT in 245 x 75 R16's with the RWL to the outside the day before.

So it shall be interesting to see who gets better milage and less punctures LOL

I paid $334 F&B for the BFG's and hope I get a good run out of them.
I did a quick run from Calliope to St George return on the weekend towing both directions and the tyres seem to have better response to steering than the Cooper ST's I replaced them with.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
ThreadID: 73305 Replies: 16
Views: 1155 FollowUps: 30
Thread Summary
Post Reply Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 388741   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 09:55

Member - John replied:

White letters to the inside, always much better milage and less punctures......
Before the last trip
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 1 of 16
FollowupID: 656434   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 09:59

Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) posted:

Come on John!! The lettering on the outside protects the sidewalls from scuffing,, everyone knows that!!! ;)) Michael
Lunch on the Bore Track  S.A.  July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow!!
Fortunately, tomorrow never comes.!!!
Vehicle: Patrol ST 4.2TDI 2003
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 656436   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:05

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

We shall see,

The bloke at work has his tyres on a Hilux that frequents building sites, and Darkie goes everywhere.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 656438   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:14

Member - William H (WA) posted:

Morning Sir Kev.
You will get good milage out of them,i have them on the Tojo for the last four years and im up to 87,000 klms at the moment and the tyre bloke said i have 40,000 left in them,then after that they will go on to my camper trailer,i run the tyres at 38Psi with the white lettering on the out side.

Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury...WA
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 656440   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:30

Dave(NSW) posted:

Hey Kev,
You should have put the white lettering on the out side on drivers side of car and on the inside on passenger side of car LOL.
Cheers Dave..

Click Image to Enlarge
GU RULES!!
Trader: Draw System
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 656447   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:23

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Dave,

I had a good debate with the tyre fitters about the white lettering, they didn't like my theory that with the lettering on the inside the tyres suffered less punctures and better milage hehehe

If I did go 50/50 on them I would have had one of each type on each side LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 388743   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:14

Member - Noel K (NT) replied:

Morning Kev,
You won't have any problems with the BFG 265 x 75 R16's, we run them on our work Toyota's and my own private vehicle and they handle the heat up here much better than others. We travel extensively on gravel, sand, rock you name it without any control issues... and with the writing inwards.

Good choice mate.

NOEL K.
Don't worry about it, just go!
Reply 2 of 16
FollowupID: 656446   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:21

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Noel,

I have run BFG At previously but Darkie came with those crap Coopers on him so I am glad to be finally rid of them LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388749   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:01

Member -Signman replied:

Morning Kev
I am still waiting for an answer to my application for a Government Grant to sort out this imprtant issue !!
I will keep you informed as to any progress. In the meantime, any statistics you may wish to supply will be entered up into the data base.

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY
Reply 3 of 16
FollowupID: 656445   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:20

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Signman,

I'll keep you posted LOL

I was hoping you would pick up on this thread, as the jury is still out on which way to run the white lettering ;)

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388754   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:28

Member - Vince B (NSW) replied:

Good choice Sir Kev.

Now all you have to do is spray the white lettering with GMH black LOL.

Vince
Tibooburra July 2007
Click Image to Enlarge
Accept good advice gracefully - as long as it doesn't interfere with what you intend to do.
Reply 4 of 16
FollowupID: 656451   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:45

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Toyota Black would be better LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Islands Reef and Dive 3 days Islands Reef and Dive 3 days
The Whitsundays - QLD
Beyond the islands and their fringing coral reef lies the outer Great Barrier Reef and together they
Uluru and Kata Tjuta Helicopter Flight 30 Mins Uluru and Kata Tjuta Helicopter Flight 30 Min
Ayers Rock / Uluru - NT
Jump into a helicopter and see these amazing places the best way possible - from the air!
Entry Level Rallying-Cheap Thrills Entry Level Rallying-Cheap Thrills
Macedon Ranges - VIC
Front wheel drive Rally Experience driving in one of our Hyundai Challenge Cars.
Horses, Wine & Beer Tour Horses, Wine & Beer Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Horses, beer, wine... It sounds like a day at the races!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 388755   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:32

Member - MUZBRY(Vic) replied:

Gday kev
It all depends on who or whom you are trying to impress.
Murray
About 1 hr past Huggets Crossing
Click Image to Enlarge
MUZBRY
Reply 5 of 16
FollowupID: 656450   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 11:45

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Murray,

The white clashes with Darkies dark looks LOL

So the white went to the inside ;)

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388773   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:41

Member - steveinoz (NSW) replied:

Good afternoon Sir Kev. I have spoken to several people about the subject. There was a unanimous answer. " File off the lettering it will solve any problems with Wheel Balancing and Alignment" Most people put the lettering on the inside to stop them getting stolen.
who is this ?
Click Image to Enlarge
NOTHING RACIST ABOUT ME.
I HATE EVERYTHING EQUALLY...
Reply 6 of 16
FollowupID: 656468   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:22

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Who would want to steal the Raised White Lettering?? ;)

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388785   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:29

Member - Scrubcat (VIC) replied:

IMHO you blokes are full of it.
Which way do you have the spare ???

Scrubby.

Click Image to Enlarge
I don`t know where i`m going but i`m enjoying the journey.
Reply 7 of 16
FollowupID: 656474   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:59

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

White on the inside Scrubby LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388786   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:50

Ross H (QLD) replied:

Hey Kev
It wont make any difference cos we all know darkie doesn't go fast enough for a wheel ballance to make any difference. You would be better getting a set of tracks off one of those cars modified for the snow fields as speed is limited to the pace of a D9 and this would serve you and sam well........LOL
Might even be able to get to the same places off road the rest of us get to......ROFLMAO

See ya
Rossco

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
Reply 8 of 16
FollowupID: 656475   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:00

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Ross,

I want to go off road not into a Caravan park like you ;)
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 11
FollowupID: 656476   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:11

Ross H (QLD) posted:

Hahahaha I think sam would beg to differ.

Yep next van park is Fraser in about 3 or 4 weeks hahah
Should bring Dino oops sorry Darkie for a run.....LOL

Rossco

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 2 of 11
FollowupID: 656478   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:16

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

If it is the last weekend of November I am busy :( Actually I am busy every weekend until December at this stage
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 11
FollowupID: 656479   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:22

Ross H (QLD) posted:

Nah no set date we will just see how our shifts line up and may even go mid week to miss the weekend traffic.

Should organinse a SEQ EO weekend sometime soon up there.

Rossco

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 4 of 11
FollowupID: 656517   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:57

Trevor R (QLD) posted:

Ross, if Kev is busy the last weekend of November we should confirm Fraser for that weekend. This way the Nissans could roam around free of that "Maheno waiting to happen" that Kev drives. Toyota..... Coopers then BFG's....??? when will this boy learn???????????
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
FollowUp 5 of 11
FollowupID: 656543   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:44

Ross H (QLD) posted:

It's to late Trevor he has already been and gotten himself stuck...?

Kev stuck on fraser

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 6 of 11
FollowupID: 656647   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:57

Trevor R (QLD) posted:

What's up Kev, Cat got your tongue?
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
FollowUp 7 of 11
FollowupID: 656648   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:59

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I see Ross had some left over paint from his house on wheels LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 8 of 11
FollowupID: 656661   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:56

Ross H (QLD) posted:

Looks like darkie,
Same condition as darkie,
Moves up the beach the same speed as darkie,
Was an honest mistake....hehehehe

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 9 of 11
FollowupID: 656704   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:42

Member - Mark G Gulmarrad posted:

hahahahahhahahahahahhhhahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahh!!!!!!!!!!!
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
Road to Rosehill Station 60 klm from St George.
FollowUp 10 of 11
FollowupID: 656719   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:35

Ross H (QLD) posted:

So Mark
You thought it was darkie too

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 11 of 11
AnswerID: 388788   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:10

Member - steveinoz (NSW) replied:

Sir Kev. Why not turn them inside out. You could probily entre the A1s or V8s next year. Darkie on POLE. Go for it.
who is this ?
Click Image to Enlarge
NOTHING RACIST ABOUT ME.
Reply 9 of 16
FollowupID: 656477   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:14

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

One of the Coopers tried that so I ended up with a racing slick on the back. Have just been quoted over $500 to repair the damage, plus the added expense of having to replace those dodgy Coopers ;)

Darkie has taken Pole position at Bathurst before. It took about 6 mins fully loaded for a trip to do a hot lap from memory hehehehe

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388800   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:51

Member - Dunworkin (WA) replied:

Hi Sir Kev, We have the white lettering on the outside of ours, the first set we had on the 'beast' we got 110,000ks out of them and so far, the set that we have on now is going good as well, (touching wood here!!!), so definitely white writing on the outside ha ha ha.

BTW, thanks for the light hearted thread.

Deanna
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
Reply 10 of 16
FollowupID: 656488   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:12

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

There is nothing light hearted about this thread, It is a highly discussed topic and I am endeavouring to get to the bottom of it, along with the chief instigator of the enquiry "Signman" LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 656509   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:26

Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:

I stand corrected!!!!!! when I stop ROTFL I will wipe the smile off of my face.:)

Deanna
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 388802   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:09

PradOz replied:

Its reverse racism you trying to hide the white lettering on the inside
HAHAHA
Reply 11 of 16
FollowupID: 656512   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:42

Member - steveinoz (NSW) posted:

Sir Kev.
I have had a word with my friends at BTC and they have informed me that it is company policy for the writing to be on the outside of the tyre. Having it on the inside will definitely make them ware out quicker, as they will be rotating the wrong way. All tyres must rotate in a forward direction. You can only run them backwards, when reversing.
who is this ?
Click Image to Enlarge
NOTHING RACIST ABOUT ME.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388831   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:56

Member - Rob S (NSW) replied:

The outside for me Sir Kev don't forget the bling factor.LOL
But when they get muddy it dosen't really matter!

Click Image to Enlarge
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!
Reply 12 of 16
FollowupID: 656522   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:11

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I hope Signman is monitoring this thread to add to his list ;)

Who needs additional Bling when I drive a LANDCRUISER hehehehe
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Horses, Wine & Beer Tour Horses, Wine & Beer Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Horses, beer, wine... It sounds like a day at the races!
Boxing Day - Sydney to Hobart Cruise (Spirit) Boxing Day - Sydney to Hobart Cruise (Spirit)
Sydney - NSW
Experience the world's greatest Yacht Race 'Sydney to Hobart' on Boxing Day.
Pamper & Pole Dancing - Ultimate Hen Pamper & Pole Dancing - Ultimate Hen's Party
Sydney - NSW
The Pole Dancing & Pamper Package is the perfect experience for a memorable hen's night.
Sail Sydney Harbour- Sail Sydney Harbour-'Spirit' America's Cup Ya
Sydney - NSW
Hoist the sails, get behind the grinders and experience first hand, what it's like to sail a state-o
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 388853   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:09

Bonz (Vic) replied:

It depends on whether you wear your undies on the outside or inside

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Reply 13 of 16
FollowupID: 656532   Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:14

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I didn't know Roachie had BFG's on his rig LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388905   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 06:35

Kiwi100 replied:

How odd that nobody has mentioned thermal efficiency. Tests have shown that having the lettering on the inside helps to reflect engine heat and thus contributes to tyres running cooler. This works best in summer.

In winter, the reverse applies. It is often best to turn the tyres over once ambient temperatures begin to drop. The black sides will then absorb more engine heat and help keep the tyres warmly efficient.

Sheesh - am I the only person here who knows this important stuff?

Reply 14 of 16
FollowupID: 656615   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 06:48

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

You have now put the cat amonst the pidgeons LOL

I wonder if Signman has thought of this in his quest to determine which way to run tyres??

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 388990   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:44

Member - Mark G Gulmarrad replied:

Hey Kev

if ya rig wasnt a bitumen baby the writing would be covered in mud!!!!!
Road to Rosehill Station
Click Image to Enlarge
Road to Rosehill Station 60 klm from St George.
Reply 15 of 16
AnswerID: 389685   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 12:41

Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) replied:

Well young Kev,
As far as I'm concerned if I'm paying it's white lettering in.

If the tyre manufacturer wishes to shout a set then I've no problem at all with white lettering out!

Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 16 of 16
FollowupID: 657444   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 12:58

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

That tyre in question was mounted white writing on the inside.

So it must be safe then LOL It saved the day as a spare

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website