Banning the use of trailers etc on the Canning Stock Route

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:35
ThreadID: 73311 Views:4665 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
There is a rumour that trailers and the like are going to banned from the stock route due to the excessive damage to dunes by snatching the trailers over and also the runups are being made wider and longer destroying the vegetation causing erosion.
This is due to the bleep s who refuse to deflate their tyres etc.
Far as I'm concerned can't happen sooner.
There are a couple of other tracks in Australia where they have banned trailers etc, and I guess there will be more to come due to the lack of intelligence by some of the users.
nugget

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:45

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:45
I guess the poor little cows are having a hard time getting over the dunes, maybe they should just go straight through the bush like they used too!!! (TIC)

AnswerID: 388759

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51
What are the "Other" tracks thats have banned trailers??

Maybe the focus of track issues on the CSR should be directed to the high number of Tag A Long tours that have a high ratio of clients that don't know how to deflate a tyre and don't know how to drive in sand.

Sounds like a crock anyway as the vast majority of CSR is not the focus of anybody in authority with the power to ban anything.

AnswerID: 388762

Follow Up By: the nugget - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:37

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:37
"Sounds like a crock of etc" - Typical Victorian response as the CSR users have you lot to thank for the introduction of permits on the CSR, for the arrogant and billigerant way that some of your lot treated the elders a couple of years back at the Calverton ranges, and just show how thick and stupid some of your lot are, earlier this year, victorians again with their disgraceful behaviour in front of visitors, aboriginal elders and their wives as (reported in the 4WD Australia October issue & the WA 4WDriver magazine) that has now resulted in a couple of othe aboriginal groups at wells 5-14 and wells 41-51 are currently putting into effect a plan to introduce a permit system similar to the one that is current now.

Another ignorant fact shown by "member John" is his questioning of "anybody in authority" well it is only a matter of time before the Wiluna & Halls Creek shires in conjunction with the indiginous groups and the Department of Environment and Conservation will start regulating and controlling who uses and who doesn't use the CSR.
It is a historical feature, one of the last truly 4wdrive tracks, so well renowned that there a lot of international 4wdrive enthusists who come to Australia just to drive the track. and as usual there is always that HOON element that stuff things up for everybody else.

We need to drive and treat the CSR with more consideration and as much care as possible or otherwise it will cost us dearly in more ways than one.
nugget.

FollowupID: 656469

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:58

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:58
"Your Lot" nice of you to tar the whole state with your emotive response.

I'm sure Victorians are a small percentage of the overall users of the route, even your own reply offers the advice that "there a lot of international 4wdrive enthusiasts who come to Australia just to drive the track"

By the way, Its the Calvert Ranges last time I looked not the Calverton.

Anyone regardless of where they come from who behaves in a disrespectful way towards others, whether they be Traditional Owners or other does not do anyone least of all themselves any favours and will almost always cause a negative response of some sort.

Can you please advise the source of your "rumour" otherwise its just that, another unsubstantiated rumour and no fact applies.

No funds are spent on maintaining probably close on 90 percent of the CSR now so I would suggest that the Wiluna Shire among others would have other priorities to spend its no doubt limited road funds on and regulating the CSR would suddenly require funds to be spent.

The CSR whilst suffering increased use year on year is still a minor use route compared to many other remote tracks such as the Simpson and the current permit system in use on the CSR was no hindrance to my recent trip, the permits were easily obtained and the cost was negligible in comparison to the overall costs of the trip.
None the less I have no doubt that certain groups will always exercise their possible rights to issue permits to access their lands not necessarily as a response to anything other than they can under the current laws.
I would submit that there is not much we can currently do about that at the moment.

Its also one thing to require permits and another to actually police the permit system.
I came across a number of vehicles who did not have permits and they did as they pleased. With no enforcement this won't change.

Driving any track or route in this country requires due consideration and care.

Still waiting for your advice on other tracks that have banned trailers??

FollowupID: 656485

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:24

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:24
So who started the rumour Nugget??????????????
You can't trust those victorians can you John, Lucky I just moved to Tassie LOL. Isn't there a rumour every year about banning trailers on the gibb but then they realise it's not actually the trailers it's the idiots who don't lower thier tyre pressures.
As asked "Who started the rumour" or is this the start.

Josh
FollowupID: 656500

Follow Up By: the nugget - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:45

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:45
I was at a bbq the other night and someone there who belongs to 4wdrive club saiid that it had been discussed by their members.
nugget
FollowupID: 656505

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:00

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:00
"I was at a bbq the other night and someone there who belongs to 4wdrive club saiid that it had been discussed by their members"

LMAO !!!

Oh that's just gold that is !!
FollowupID: 656506

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:21

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:21
Now I'm confused!!! Is the 4wdrive club looking at banning trailers or is the wiluna shire going to or is it just a group of guys in a club who got their nose out of joint by someone towing a trailer and saying they should ban it.
Unless there is actually evidence that a government body or tribal elders are going to put permits in place then it is just a rumour and has no merit.
When we towed our trailer into steep point we were checked by the ranger to see if we had lowered our tyre pressure. This would be a better option than a banning trailers cause anyone with a permit can still destroy a sand dune with high tyre pressure. Going into steep point was very soft sand and we had no trouble at all with the trailer and low tyre pressure and yet talked to another guy who didn't get in cause he kept getting bogged. He was running high tyre pressure, so a trailer is not always the problem.

Josh
FollowupID: 656507

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:02

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:02
Mate of a mate second cousin removed rumour again!!

Enough said.

FollowupID: 656520

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:33
damn straight

Ive been at barbies where weve actually figured out if there is a god or not
- so its quite possible
FollowupID: 656536

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:48

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:48
Quick call "MYTH BUSTERS". Myth is BUSTED.

Josh
FollowupID: 656545

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:02

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:02
So get outmore
What was the answer at that BBQ to the question on God?
And the second question is What 4wd does he drive? :-)

FollowupID: 656558

Follow Up By: mowing - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:17
Nugget

Quote :"I was at a bbq the other night and someone there who belongs to 4wdrive club saiid that it had been discussed by their members"

What a classic statement.

Mate, Friday is for the funnies, you are either late or early.

FollowupID: 656565

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:47

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:47
John "So get outmore
What was the answer at that BBQ to the question on God?
And the second question is What 4wd does he drive? :-) "

1. Yes...

2. SHE drives a 2003 Triton GLX dual cab...

Extra info: SHE will likely smack me for that comment when I get home in the morning...
FollowupID: 656592

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:52

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:52
LOL very good :-)

FollowupID: 656593

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:04

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:04
actually by the stage we agreed on the outcome there was no way we could remember it
FollowupID: 656673

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:40

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:40
Dear Mr Nugget
Having travelled the CSR (just my wife and I) towing a trailer from well five to Halls creek including side trips to The Calvert and Carnarvon Ranges less than two months ago I think I can talk with some authority.
At no time did we use a run up or 'landing strips' as some locals call them or even required a snatch over any dune.
However we did meet other vehicles without trailers doing exactly what you have mentioned, using the run ups and being snatched.
I do have to mention that after we left Durba Spring where we stopped for three days a catered TAG ALONG group of fourteen inclusive of their "leader" caught up to us and bullied to get past.
After a short period I found a clearing with no spinafex to pull over and let them pass.
A short distance up the track we caught up to this group and joined the rear of the queue to negotiate a rather large dune. Fifty percent of them used the run up hitting the face at I guess seventy kph. They swayed from side to side assisted by the weight of the gear loaded on the roof racks, spitting out rooster tails of sand leaving great scallops which each successive vehicle exacerbated.
Having witnessed this damage occurring silly old muggins me dropped my tyre pressures from 16 in the front to 8 and from 24 in the rear to 12 psi. engaged low range third gear and towed my trailer over the top without a problem.
We came across people with cracked and leaking diffs and broken springs and heat damaged shocks. I don't suppose getting airborne or excessive approach speed would have contributed to this at all.
Before blaming trailers for dune damage I suggest you sit on the side of the road watch for a while and be entertained with what others do.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 388794

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:54

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:54
Yep, spot on...........

I have witnessed exactly the same thing, on both the CSR, & SD...

The banning of trailers will do absolutely nothing to reduce the incidence of track damage...

So, if this (proposed banning of trailers) comes about, who they gonna blame then???
I'll take bets here and now that the damage will still occur, and conditions will continue to deteriorate...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 656484

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:00

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:00
I'll second that Pinko & Ed.

FollowupID: 656486

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:02

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:02
Hi Pinko
Well said, and I think that the Tag Along groups should be banned, not the responsible drivers that know what they are doing. After all they are the ones with no bush experience, do not know how to drive their newly acquired 4 wheel drive toy, don't know the meaning of driving to track conditions and why you have to drop your tyre pressures. They pay very good money to get from point A to point B in as quick a time as possible, just to say that they have driven the CSR, Gunbarrel or Simpson.

Those that are keen to get out into our great outback, should join a Four Wheel Drive Club, gain the necessary experience, and then get out there in confidence and know how to drive their vehicle the way that it should be and knowing that they have done it by themselves, the way that it should be done.

I know that there are some good Tag Along Companies out there, and there are some real cowboys as well. I once got into a heated conversation with one Tag Along operator once, saying how he joined two snatch straps together, and then had a permanent 18m snatch strap, as he could not get the two apart. When I went on to say that he should have used a piece of wood of old newspaper or magazine in the loop, so he should at least prize them out to undo the two straps. He then called me a smart ass and I would not know the first thing about four wheel drives - End of Story and say no more for the Cowboys.

FollowupID: 656581

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:47

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:47
I don’t mind the illegal immigrants crossing our borders but not those damn Vics – you can’t trust them. For years they’ve been pinching our best footballers and knocking off our top sporting events.
Now they’re destroying our countryside.
The sooner we set up a permit system and check point at the WA border the better.
AnswerID: 388797

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:02

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:02
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 656487

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:44

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:44
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 656503

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:24

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:24
After our last desert trip (SD - French line) I can't wait until trailers are banned from remote tracks. I know that various members here - see above - will be miffed because they know how to do it right, but I'm sure that they will concede that there are a whole lot more out there who don't have a clue/care and shouldn't be out there at all, much less towing, and it is this scourge to whom I refer.
I own a Trakshak but wouldn't ever consider towing it through the desert - it just isn't necessary. This trip was a family of four in a twin cab for a month so don't argue that it can't be done.
I concur that the tracks probably won't improve that much due to the larger nos of travellers each year, but I would argue that in the main the tracks will be easier to use, and the days of waiting up to an hour watching a crew of trailer towing geese hitching unhitching rehitching and towing each other over the dunes and generally creating mobile road blocks out of themselves will be gone, and I for one think that is a good thing.
Again I feel sorry that the competent trailer towers will be disadvantaged, but you are in a minority these days.
AnswerID: 388821

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:27

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:27
Hey there GBC,

I'm not sure I agree with what you are saying.

Basically, ban those who can and do, do the right thing? And I fully agree with you re there being plenty who have no idea (Shouldn't they be the ones who are banned?).

This will make tracks easier to use? There are many who do the right thing to ensure continued use of these remote area tracks.

Those who don't have a trailer and need ridiculous run-ups, disregard existing trails and have no idea what suitable tyre pressures for conditions are, can continue to use and damage these remote tracks?

There are many out there who consider people who own 4WD's (and use them) to be in the minority these days. I guess we all need to be careful about who/what should be banned...

Not trying to be a smart ar$e, just think that there has to be a better way to "ban" those who are actually doing the damage, not just blanket banning a certain group of users. As usual, funding and policing have a very large role to play.

Ross.
FollowupID: 656597

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:36

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:36
"Far as I'm concerned can't happen sooner. ".........
Maybe you should learn to tow a trailer and you might find out it isnt the trailer doing the damage but the drivers....black and white!

Ask your friends, Uncles, second Cousins, Sisters, boy friends, Grandmas 4wd club when they plan to enforce the ban?.......

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 388825

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:53
Ummmmm..where did you hear this rumour? Down at the pub?

CSR is a Historic Stock Route and Public Thoroughfare.

Who is going to enforce the banning of trailers?

For some reason there is a ban between Well 1 and Well 5 due to pastoralists in the area concerns and has been so for years.

Track 'damage' on the CSR has been there since the 1980's when large 4x4 Tour Operators used Unimogs and alike to scramble up the dunes and long before the advent of trailers.

Any vehicle with incorrect tyre pressures will cause scalloping on dunes but normally the summer winds will smooth that out ubntil the next lot come along. The more popular a place becomes the more used the track will be.

Inherently there is no such thing as track damage, just an undulating surface that varies from season to season.
AnswerID: 388849

Reply By: mowing - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:57

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:57
And nugget was last seen running into the sunset with his tail between his legs :)
AnswerID: 388896

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 04:27

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 04:27
Guy's
We have not long got back from towing a camper on the CSR, and never had a problem.
But we are educated, and take free advice when offered.
We are also experienced desert travellers, and know that low tyre pressures are the go, and will drop them to below 10 psi, without hesitating, if needed.
Never once did we have to resort to snatching each other up and over the dunes.

And as for those "Jumbo Jet" run up's out there, we never once had to use them either. We would just aproach the dunes and go straight up them, with SFA air in the tyres, it's rather easy.

We did have one little moron out there, have a go at us, for towing trailers, but he failed to look at his own Troopy, that had narrow, and high tyre pressures, and about 1/2 ton of wood on the roof. Now the damage that causes to the dunes, is far in excess of a properly weighted vehicle and trailer, with it's weight distributed over 6 wheels.

Chatted to some guy's in Alice that were running 50+ psi, in their tyres, and were heading for the Simpson. Nice fellars they were, but needed to be educated, and would not have a bar of dropping tyre pressures.
Just who is in the wrong ?
Lets educate

Maybe instead if bitching and blaming each other, the appropiate people should be putting up the odd sign, explaining that high tyre pressures will destroy the dunes, as well as their vehicles

AnswerID: 388903

Follow Up By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 07:33

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 07:33
As we were the other vehicle out there with you Bucky, we totally agree.

We did not use the run ups, we never had to be snatched over a dune. We listened to and learned from the advice given by experienced desert travellers. We lowered our tyre pressures and we drove to conditions.

It's not the trailer that wrecks the tracks, its the driver who refuses to listen to advice given by those who know how to travel in these conditions.

Viv
FollowupID: 656612

Follow Up By: Rolly - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:59

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:59
"It's not the trailer that wrecks the tracks, its the driver who refuses to listen to advice given by those who know how to travel in these conditions."

Now, isn't that a fact.

And don't we have a plentiful supply of them.
FollowupID: 656649

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:51

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:51
I hear what you're saying Rossco.

Perhaps then, there should be parameters such as enforced tyre reduction etc.,? But noone in power will touch that subject because to drive responsibly in the dunes generally requires tyre pressures outside of the parameters given by the tyre manufacturer. No 4wd training organisation will go on paper and recommend 18 lb(or less) in a tyre, because the legal ramifications of this have already been borne out and are now precedent. The above statement is also the reason why backpackers in troopies all over Fraser island are running 45lb - they are told in no uncertain terms that if they deflate their tyres their bond will be taken off them and the insurance on the vehicle is void - as is most of ours when running at those pressures. Typical of our gov't and legal system, but unfortunately true.
I will say though that I towed trailers for years offroad in sand for work, and regularly tow an 18ft boat up to Waddy point on Fraser, and anyone who reckons a trailer doesn't have any effect on tracks, or doesn't cause a vehicle to get bogged or spin wheels or scallop out dune faces has simply not been there. They are a bleep of a thing in soft sand.
Why do you reckon the Army played around for ages trying to get PTO driven trailers to work?
AnswerID: 388993

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:49

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:49
Hey GBC,

I guess that's the problem, enforcing suitable measures that allow all who want to use these remote tracks to do so.

I didn't know hire company's won't allow tyre pressure drops, maybe they shouldn't rent the vehicles to be used off-road! (And that'll never happen, too much revenue).

Having just returned from a trip towing a camper trailer, I agree that it had a noticeable effect on some of the sandy tracks we drove, maybe more than if we hadn't had the trailer?. We ran suitable pressures in vehicle AND trailer (sometimes below 12 psi), engaged lockers before we ever looked at getting stuck and didn't need massive revs to get through. Some of the river beds up that way are decievingly soft! I guess a vehicle running 40+ psi in the tyres, with the right foot buried and wheels churning, sans trailer would have made quite a mess of the same sort of tracks...

As others above have so rightly pointed out, it's not the vehicle/trailer thats the problem, it's always the person behind the wheel.

Ross.
FollowupID: 656815