Trade in time on Patrol

Submitted: Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 16:21
ThreadID: 76580 Views:3348 Replies:9 FollowUps:15

Related Pages

Apologies if this is too general an enquiry - just after some initial pointers to start more detailed research.......

My 3.0l Patrol is coming up for 5 years old and am starting to look at possible options. My usage is really only sand and towing the boat, the rest is city driving. Would like to move to a diesel/ auto

Having not really kept track of the 4WD market for the past few years, is anyone able to give me a quick snapshot of what my best options might be in terms of other makes.

From what I can see that Landcruiser has priced itself way above my budget, the Pajero seems to have risen through the ranks a bit, the CRD Patrol is no quantum leap rom what i have got and the new Patrol wont be available in diesel? The other alternative would be a used Discovery 3 so would be interested to hear any feedback on how these are going.

I would probably keep my current Patrol as have had 5 years trouble free motoring (touchwood) but really want to go automatic.....

Darren

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 16:24

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 16:24
Sand, towing boat, city driving? Pajero hands down. ;-)
AnswerID: 407402

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 17:13

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 17:13
Yes I agree. Great all round tourer plus excellent auto & I/Cooled T/Diesel.
FollowupID: 677466

Reply By: jschacher1 - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 16:41

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 16:41
Prado...anytime!!
AnswerID: 407409

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 17:40

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 17:40
If you can't stretch to D4 a series 2 D3. Nothing else is in the same ballpark.

OBT
AnswerID: 407415

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 19:46

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 19:46
seconded, assuming you mean a Disco 2 series TD5 - pre-03 but after '98 (they're getting up into the $20,000s after that) and you're laughing

if you can find a Disco 3, never mind a 4 series for $17000 let me know.

Excellent value for an off-roader that has few betters and luxury interior.

Suffers from early 90s reliability/Pommie phobia reputation that is long past it's sell-by-date but didn't stop excellent sales in Europe, the US and Africa. Enjoy a superb vehicle and take advantage of the skewed Aussie prices

Pajero is also a good shout but not as good value

FollowupID: 677355

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 17:57

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 17:57
Hi. I am truly amazed at the instant answers to your post. People who do not need any info on the size of boat; no mention of the sort of sand driving (across a beach with firm sand every month or so; or perhaps a quick jaunt across the Simpson before lunch). Do you want a ute? a wagon? how many passengers? what ground clearance? do you need low range?
We could point you at a Jeep Wrangler (great on sand, plenty of grunt) or a Suzuki Vitara, or a Triton ute, but who knows which?
But, please, no instant answers
AnswerID: 407419

Follow Up By: Darren C - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 18:48

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 18:48
Yeah - alright - fair point.

Was trying to keep fairly simple as I am not really a 'hardcore' off roader, but fair enough I should have clarified

1. Wagon
2. Low range for those trickier beach sections/ dunes over here.
3. Clearance on Patrol is fine and probably assumed (maybe wrongly) that most of the 4Wds on the market were about the same
4. ability to tow a 5m tinnie.

Am assuming most 4wds on the market cover the above apart from maybe low range

Thanks for replies so far
FollowupID: 677349

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 18:56

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 18:56
The Prado and Pajero will do a good job to replace his Patrol under those conditions.
Some of the well known dual cabs will also come close
FollowupID: 677351

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 19:22

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 19:22
Hi Darren. Actually, I wasn't having a shot at you for asking, but at those others who seemed able to choose your next tow vehicle with almost zero information.
Your big dilemma is that you have got a serious 4WD now, and, as you say, the Nissan replacement hasn't really happened, and the Toyota offering is pretty expensive.
If anyone has the perfect answer to your question, then my best advice is "Run a mile" from that answer, because it's got to be nonsense.
Hence my reaction to the instant answers toy your question.
Yes, I'd suspect Prado or Pajero will be a good fit for you needs.
Of course, only Prado really cuts the mustard!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 677354

Follow Up By: Darren C - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 02:04

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 02:04
No worries - definitley no perfect answer and everyone has brand allegience, just really after an indication of what my alternatives might be as the market does seem to have changed significantly......maybe I should try and dig out any recent 4WD of the year magazines and see what they say as they would be pretty unbias.........wouldnt they?!

Darren
FollowupID: 677392

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 11:37

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 11:37
They are only unbias to those that dont advertise in their magazine,of which all the common 4wds manufacturers do; )
They would be mad not to

They are worth reading for their opinions and then go and look at the points they picked up on.
They are just humans and have prefernces based on their physical size,past experience and what they use them for.

A lot of them sell back issues and advertise the contents on their home site

FollowupID: 677426

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:47

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:47
Tenpounder,

"you have got a serious 4WD now".....3.0 lt Pootrol????

Bwahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!

And you talk about poor advice.......LOL
FollowupID: 677452

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:56

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:56
Listen, Hairy. I drive a Toyota, OK? But we don't need to be rude all the time about Patrols, even 3 litre diesels. Anyway, I'd think it was serious if I had a 3 litre Patrol, but that's another story.
FollowupID: 677454

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:10

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:10
Hi Darren

Their is probably only one valid reason for getting the diesel and that is range
and that is not in your equation.

Cars like the 200 series can be great but seriously expensive and their little brother the prado still has one of the worst tip over angles for any big selling wagon.

It would simply be less expensive for you to step up to a current petrol auto GU 4800 at under $60k when you factor in an extra $1500 a year on fuel costs..

It is a lot more powerful with greater low down torque , quieter and better braked than your current one, and retains the silky smooth 5 speed auto with manual shift mode.

The GU is still probably one of the most stable and best tow cars around as it retains the long wheelbase and has the highest static stability of any new 4wd.

AnswerID: 407442

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 22:56

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 22:56
Robin!! You would make a great Patrol salesman!! But they would have to put you in petrol sales though!! :) Michael

FollowupID: 677389

Follow Up By: Darren C - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 02:07

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 02:07
Good point - maybe no need for a diesel based on current usage - will check up on fuel consumption.....
FollowupID: 677393

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 07:07

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 07:07
Darren,

I note that you say it will be mainly used for city driving so I will make the assumption you have access to reasonably priced LPG.

In this case the GU 4.8 will be more economical to run than a diesel.

Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or have limited availability in remote areas.

FollowupID: 677398

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:55

Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:55
Didn't he state Diesel/auto? was a preferance. Nissan are a great tow vehicle (4.8 very torquey) the catalytic converter in grass could be a problem if he does decide to go off road. He could alway put a bowser on the back to run the Patrol. Resale value on the petrol is way down compared to the diesel.
FollowupID: 677528

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 22:37

Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 22:37
Now Micheal , I would never be much good as a salesman because I prefer to always use supportable facts in any discussion, however once I helped someone out who did a doctorate in sales and his thesis made selling look quite easy if you could do one thing.

That was to visual yourself as standing in the other persons shoes and then ask whats in it for me !

Yesterday when we had slid into a bad situation , one wheel in slush right along to the diff and no real hope of backing out , I remembered that the salesman used that on me when I was hesitating over the price of twin diff locks.

Imagine yourself in that situation he said - and I did and I bought them !

FollowupID: 677650

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:17

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:17
Darren

A Kia Sorento will do all you are asking at a very fair price.

Genuine 4wd with low range, ladder frame chassis and a most respectable diesel that will easily pull a 5m tinnie.

Also, don't discount the Petrol version, it's a cracker.

The best bang for your buck 4wd on the market IMHO.

Jim Best.

AnswerID: 407444

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:54

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 20:54
Darren,
Jim is referring to the previous Sorrento (I think?) that has just been superceded in the last few months by the new model, but he is right in that it is a top vehicle that would suit your needs well. The new one might too, albiet, more car like than the older one. Less internal space than the patrol though, if that matters.

FollowupID: 677367

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 21:10

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 21:10
Maybe a Jeep, I am Isuzu through and through, and I will need to up date the MU one day and have been doing a bit of research and for the dollar the Jeep Grand Cherokee seems to fit the bill. that 3 litre V6 diesel has heaps of grunt and the gear box is great (all Mercedes Benz) just need to see if reliability stacks up.
AnswerID: 407454

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 21:11

Friday, Mar 05, 2010 at 21:11
Maybe a Jeep, I am Isuzu through and through, and I will need to up date the MU one day and have been doing a bit of research and for the dollar the Jeep Grand Cherokee seems to fit the bill. that 3 litre V6 diesel has heaps of grunt and the gear box is great (all Mercedes Benz) just need to see if reliability stacks up.
AnswerID: 407455

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 11:51

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 11:51
Why not hunt around for another patrol in roughly the same condition as what you have now except with an auto box , change over costs with an honest dealer would /should not break the bank.
AnswerID: 407502