What is a good multimeter thanks .

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:15
ThreadID: 76769 Views:10915 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
What is a good multimeter . I would like to buy a good multimeter . Mainly for general automotive use . Spending between $100-$200 . thanks .

Reply By: Nik & Dee - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:29

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:29
Get a FLUKE. They are a trade quality meter. I got mine through work so don't know about price

I have the 116 and it does everything I need it too and has a thermometer as well
AnswerID: 408361

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:43

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:43
Agree 100%...Fluke are the bee's knees. Don't think you'll get one for $100-200 though. I paid over $500 for mine 14 years ago. Still going strong and I use it almost everyday.
FollowupID: 678317

Reply By: B1B2 - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:34

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:34
G'day Luther,
It depends how proficient you are, a $10.00 Bunnings special is good and will measure DC Amps in series and dc volts. This clamp meter is handy for dc amps measurement without disconnecting anything. It also has DC volts.
They have been on special at $100.00. Have a practice with a cheap one on the car using ohms for checking fuses, you might find it is good enough. I use the cheap one and break out the big one when it's getting trickier.

From Dick Smith online -----------

1000A AC/DC True RMS Digital Clamp Meter

Product Code: Q1476

[+] Enlarge image

Features a 4000 count bar graph display, AC/DC current range to 1000 Amps, and data hold, MAX/MIN hold & peak hold. Category III 1000V safety rating. Supplied with test leads.
Write a review
Be the first to write a review
A$168
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

AnswerID: 408362

Reply By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:35

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:35
for that sort of money, you'll get a DC current clamp meter included.
Mine's got V/A/Ohms/diode/Hz/duty cycle, all in AC and DC, auto ranging, hold and delta functions.
Most importantly, the current clamp is good for AC and DC in two ranges, 40 and 400 amps.

It's got fast integration times, good readout and it was cheap - I use it every day and love it.

From memory, they're around 120 bucks at Jaycar, half that on ebay.

Best regards, Peter
AnswerID: 408363

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:51

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:51
I do agree with others that FLUKE are the best, but at a price.
However, I also have had good service from Jaycar and Altronics units.

Also, I have a datalogging meter that I find handy so that I can evaluate what is going on over time, things like measuing current draw over time of devices like fridges or finding intermittent faults.

I also keep a "Supercheap" el-cheapo meter in the toolbox in the car for road side diagnostic work.

A final thing, check how difficult it is to change the batteries in the meter. Some meters are a PITA to change

FollowupID: 678321

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:41

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:41
I have a Fluke 73 which I've had for about 15 years. Top quality gear.
AnswerID: 408365

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:51

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:51
Meters adequate for automotive use are available from about $10. For $50 you'll buy a Fluke lookalike. (As already said, Fluke is something of an industrial standard.) I've been in electronics for many years and I have a lookalike that I treat with respect, and carry a cheap one for most automotive jobs. Accuracy is much the same, but if the cheap one is killed, or dies, I'm not too distressed. An expensive meter can be damaged or killed just as easily as a cheap one.

There is some advantage in having one with a dc current tong and a good big display, but apart from that, for automotive use, I'd suggest buy cheap.

AnswerID: 408368

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:03

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:03
Serious work demand serious quality .... however ... and even tho I hate digital readouts ... I bought the model before this a while back.

Has more than enough features for basic use ... and as one lives in the toolbox stuffed into a thick sock for most of its life ... The price for two of them was acceptable.

Site Link

AnswerID: 408370

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:08

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:08
Fluke are the best but i think jaycar might be the go thanks .
AnswerID: 408372

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:09

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:09
I got a Fluke Clamp Meter look alike for $1.99 + postage ($18 from HonKong)
on ebay.
Here is an example
not a Fluke look alike but cheap enough
Multimeter
Sometimes you get lucky when noone bids and the seller is honest and does not cancel the auction.

Search fro Clamp meter and you will find Fluke Clamp meters for around 100 or cheaper. Get a clamp meter, has many andvantages.

If you pay more than $100 you have more money than sense.

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 408373

Reply By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:27

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:27
AI worked in electrical engineering up until about 15 years ago and we all used flukes. Thats because we had to measure ac voltages and currents accurately so you need a calibrate'able true rms meter and fluke was the only choice, they were expensive but work paid! For around the house and auto a regular meter will fine its easy to make a meter measure dc reasonably accurately. Heres an example for under $30 then spend $50 on a range of test leads, clip leads, current adaptor etc they are more handy than the last digit of accuracy on the meter.
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=QM1524&CATID=12&form=CAT&SUBCATID=457
If you want to spend a bit more theres another one here that has a beep continuity tester, very handy, throw that in your kit, a long piece of (10m+) medium duty hookup wire and some clip leads and you'll be well set up to solve any truck or van electrical problems that occur along the way.
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=QM1326&CATID=12&form=CAT&SUBCATID=558
AnswerID: 408378

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:44

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:44
Go to jaycar and have a look. Fluke are excellent but you wont need 99% of their accuracy and what they can do.

Just go and get a simple one from the staff at Jaycar. Give Dick Smith a miss as they only know about woolies stuff and groceries.

AnswerID: 408379

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:47

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 13:47
Hi Luther, As has been said, Fluke are good but expensive for non-professional use. I have used many in my time but the one I carry in the troopy is this one from Jacar for $119.
It will do all you want without fancy features to trip you up.

AnswerID: 408380

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 18:51

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 18:51
I've had one of these for about 12 months now - Don't know why I didn't get one years ago - so simple to measure current now. Also I used the temp probe recently for checking a thermostat. Great bit of gear.
FollowupID: 678375

Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 14:15

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 14:15
Depends what you want it for. I've had a Fluke from the mid 80's and they are a really good bit of kit but I think it was more than $200 even then. If you are thinking of putting it in a tool box or taking it on trips get a cheap one from Jaycar or Dick Smith. I have got a $10 Dick smith anologue meter in the car which I find sufficent while travelling around. If it gets destroyed or lost I won't lose any sleep over it. I'd be a bit peeved if anything happened to the Fluke meter though!

AnswerID: 408383

Reply By: Simon C - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 14:30

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 14:30
Also try RS Components. I purchased a ISO TECH IDM72 for around $175.00 and it does every thing the fluke will do, and is looks/feels like a quality meter.
(Page 2725 on their 09/10 cat)
AnswerID: 408391

Reply By: Marny - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 21:57

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 21:57
Dont be fooled into thinking that digital is best either. For many automotive applications an analogue meter is superior especially with intermittant voltages like blinkers. An analogue will show whats giong on while a digital is still trying to figure out what just happened. Cheers marn
AnswerID: 408479

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:05

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:05
I have an old moving coil meter and have used it for tuning radios and antennas. Wouldn't swap it for anything. Its treated like gold. Got it in about 1972 from Dick Smith, the man himself, from his first shop at St Leonards (I think).

But I never take it away. I just pack a cheap digital one from Jaycar. Got it about 10 years ago and I think I paid about $70 for it then. Its reliable and rugged. It'l take a knock.

FollowupID: 678415

Follow Up By: Marny - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:15

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:15
Still have my hioki from when i started my apprentiship in 96 and wouldnt swap it for anything. great for reading dioids too but use the fluke for resistance and instrumentation work. Digital is good for that. Cheers
FollowupID: 678416

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:32

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:32
Looks like I have a few years on you. I started in electronics and communications in 1968. Not much need for digital then. The first computer I worked on was in 1919 and it was as big as a house with a whole bunch of relays (1000s) and you could walk into it. Then back to radio comms. Radio programming, computers and all that network rubbish until I retired 5 years ago. Thank heavens.

Time for bed

FollowupID: 678425

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:40

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:40
"Time for bed"
Reckon it is if you've been working since 1919 :-)
FollowupID: 678428

Follow Up By: Marny - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:41

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 22:41
Its been a big milennium:)
FollowupID: 678429

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Mar 12, 2010 at 08:37

Friday, Mar 12, 2010 at 08:37
vk1dx, 1919?? Was that maybe a little later at LRWE Salisbury?

FollowupID: 678463

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 13, 2010 at 07:50

Saturday, Mar 13, 2010 at 07:50
Give a "young" bloke a chance will you please fellas.

The real year was a little more recent. And it was at Dundas in Sydney. How about 1969? That better?

I don't get much sleep these days and am making more errors each day.

Have a good weekend.

Its all good.
FollowupID: 678568

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Mar 12, 2010 at 09:18

Friday, Mar 12, 2010 at 09:18
Any multimeter for $50 or so is good enough unless you are an experienced sparky and then you would probably already have one.

Mine was $45 NZ from dicky about 10 years ago and does all I want around vehicles.

Have put all the extra wiring in car and rewired vanwirh heavier 12v and its been OK.
AnswerID: 408527

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Mar 13, 2010 at 12:11

Saturday, Mar 13, 2010 at 12:11
These comparative results are ranked according to the average of their DC % variation measurements.

Model - Average DC % variation

Aulec CTC DT9205A - 0.03%
Triplett 2030 - 0.06%
Heathkit IM-2215 - 0.09%
Fluke 8022A - 0.11%
DSE Q-1559 - 0.13% ($79)
Fluke 21 - 0.16%
Parameters 7080B - 0.21%
Fluke 75 - 0.23%
Brymen BM727 - 0.28%
DSE Q-1419 - 0.35%
Meterman DM78A -0.37%
Aulec DT9205A - 0.38%
Digitech QM-1500 - 0.83%
Digitech QM-1536 - 0.85%

The DC readings of all Digital Multy Meters shown varied less than 1 % compared to a Fluke 289 meter as the comparison test meter.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 408643