Double DIN (in dash ) GPS ?

Am pondering with the idea of getting a 2*DIN GPS from China, of maybe from a dealer in Oz ( but still Chinese) but am unsure what I should be looking for, as far as what processor/speed, and will they run Ozi Explorer, and /or any other Australian mapping software.

Any Guru's out there than can help would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Nick - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 06:55

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 06:55
Bucky,

Seen DIN heaps of times over the years, but I have never asked anyone what it stands for. Excuse my ignorance, but what does it stand for ?

Thanks Nick
AnswerID: 418488

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:41

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:41
DIN = "Deutsches Institut für Normung" and translates to "German Institute for Standardization".

FollowupID: 688587

Follow Up By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:48

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:48
Hi Nick
Have a look here .
Single DIN is 180 mm x 50 mm and Double DIN is 180mm x 100 mm
Neil
FollowupID: 688589

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:09

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:09
Nick
Thought you were "taking the bleep ", but it seems that your definition is correct

As Sam Newman once said on the footy show

"Whale Oil Beef Hooked"

FollowupID: 688591

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:29

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:29
I never did understand anything that Sam Newman said!

FollowupID: 688595

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:34

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 08:34
Oh, and he was. "Hooked" that is! LOL

FollowupID: 688597

Reply By: Member - Colin S1 (WA) - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:43

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:43

Have a Chinese unit in the work cruiser running ozi explorer works well for a budget model was $430 , seems to be well made and tough used out in the desert.

Obtained from www.elinz.com.au

Also have a VMS unit in my D-Max it is just brilliant but for $2400 you would hope so, no name Chinese does al the same things but.

Colin
AnswerID: 418494

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:59

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 07:59
G'day, I have one of these, not too bad, a couple of niggling problems, still trying to sort them out. They are, the clock is out two hours, no matter how I set it, it loses two hours. Ipod controls don't work, it reads the Ipod,but won't control it.

Seeing the screen at times is difficult, I have it angled towards the driver as far as possible, need to angle it out at the bottom and see if it helps, have noticed that most factory ones are angled that way. Plug and play if you still have the factory head unit.

GPS seems to be good, my first time with one, can run Oziexplorer etc, on SD card. Other functions, radio,cd etc, seem to be ok, yet to hook up cameras etc.

All up, for the price, I reckon a good unit. Hopefully will be able to fix the niggles.

Double DIN GPS

AnswerID: 418496

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:34

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:34
Hi John,
Looks like you've got a series I or II Patrol. Do the existing sound system connectors and wiring match with the new unit as claimed?
Where does the gps antenna fit?
I see they boast technical backup from within Oz as a reason for buying from them. Have they offered any suggestions on your clock and iPod problems? ie, is their backup as good as they say?
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 688626

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 12:35

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 12:35
Joc, Hi, the pic is from the web site, mine is a 2004 and the existing connectors all match. I have been chatting with the bloke that sells them, just been busy and haven't got back to him. Easy to talk to etc. I get the impression that the back up is good, just need some time to get back to him.

FollowupID: 688630

Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 10:34

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 10:34
Bucky, I have one of the Chinese made systems Australian marketed and supported. The latter is the important part, they are only as good as the support. I have hard of a Chinese one where the screen control isn't good enough and the menu of OziCE can't be read because it is too small.

With mine it is great, but as John elsewhere says there can be some issues. My iPod control works but only charges earlier iPods. That is an Apple issue of changing standards. Generation changes in differing iPods - the industry term is revving or revisioning to make you buy extra bits.
AnswerID: 418518

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:32

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:32
Hi Bucky,

I have the Polaris unit (a rebadged Caska) and overall I am happy with it (had it for 2 years now). I deliberatly went the Polaris over a Caska as at least it came with a warranty and I could get some tech help if required (but haven't needed). I have managed to run Ozexplorer on it by swapping over the navigating SD card, but the later models now come with Ozi for a small price premium. I also have a Garmin GPS in my wifes vehicle and actually prefer the nav software that comes with the Polaris, just personal choice as here. IMHO the VMS unit has better features, but not worth the 2x price compared to the Polaris. Or if you are game, go the Caska and save a few $$$.

I run my Ipod (works well with series4 Ipod nano, but doesn't charge my series 5 nano - but still controls it), have a reverse camera hooked up and my bluetooth phone works fine - but doesn't upload the address book. Overal I am happy with it, but there are better on the market if you want to spend more $$$.

Oziexplorer on my Polaris

AnswerID: 418528

Reply By: Rainman WA - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:34

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 11:34
Theres an post on Pradopoint about a unit available for Digoptions that may be of some interest. Australian dealer with good support.

http://www.pradopoint.com/viewforum.php?f=28
AnswerID: 418529

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 15:25

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 15:25
Was thinking about fitting one of these myself but thought that it would be too difficult to see the maps and camera etc. Instead I fitted a Hema Navigator 5 near the RHS A pillar and this seems to work better for me with both the maps and the reversing camera as it is in my line of sight without having to turn my head much at all.

I would be interested in hearing how you guys with the centre mounted double DIN kit find it.
AnswerID: 418546

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 15:45

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 15:45
G'day, I find the double DIN unit good to access, touch screen etc and as it is the CD, DVD, radio etc, easy to find, in the normal place etc. Not having used the Hema unit, I can't comment.

FollowupID: 688651

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 16:54

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 16:54
Sorry John I didn't make myself clear - I was wondering more about the line of sight to the centre mounted unit rather than operating it. My eye sight is not the greatest these day and I wear multi-focal glasses.....was thinking it would be a bit difficult adjusting from the road ahead down to the centre of the dash.
FollowupID: 688655

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 05:26

Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 05:26
Patrol22

Funny, I wear multi focul glasses all the time and never have a problem driving.
just go back to your optomertrist, and get the frame adjusted, as a slight adjustment makes the world of difference.

FollowupID: 688732

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 06:43

Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 06:43
Patro22, Apolgies, I wear glasses, long distance and for reading and have no trouble reading the screen etc.

FollowupID: 688734