camping spots along the Murray

Submitted: Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:19
ThreadID: 7888 Views:7768 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
Hi everyone,

Will soon be bringing my dad's treasured camper from Adelaide to Sydney.
Am planning to get it registered with NSW plates in Wentworth and
following the Murray River to Albury - Corryong - and to the coast and home.

Which are your favourite camping spots, suitable for newbies, along the Murray River?

Cant' wait to hear from you
zedjay

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:31

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:31
How far are you travelling Day 1 Plenty of spots I can tell you about around the Riverland. Easy one is take turn off highway to Lyrup, just before Ferry, a couple on R/H side or take turn off to left and a number of good campsites off along that track.All at water's edge and very few others about. Katarapko Creek has excellant camping especially if you are into canoeing or bird watching. I could only name another 50 or so if you are stuck.Nil Taurus Excretus
AnswerID: 34162

Follow Up By: ZEDjay - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:59

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:59
Des

Planning to only take the day to get to Wentworth as will only have a temporary rego sticker and need to get it to the border to register in it NSW -- but you never know how things will go --and it's good to know there's a spot to pull up if we need to.

I'll be getting back to you soon about the other 50 though ;-)
thanks
zj
FollowupID: 24605

Reply By: Dean Mc - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:38

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:38
G'day Zedjay,

Boundry Bend is a great spot up near that way.
Has a caravan park if you need it, but the riverside camping on the sand bar is much better. Good fishing there soon also, but watch the kids if you have them, as the currents all the way along this part of the river, in and around the sand bars particularly, are very strong, and there have been a couple drowned at Boundry Bend alone in years past.
Beautiful country through there though! You'll love it.
AnswerID: 34163

Follow Up By: ZEDjay - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:55

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:55
Thanks for the tip Dean - I'm checking the map now.
zj
FollowupID: 24604

Reply By: Big Trev - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:47

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 14:47
I will only tell you about this one if you promise to keep it a secret!

PROMISE?

Clarkes Lagoon in between Walwa and Tintaldra on the old Murray Valley Highway after Wodonga, but before Khancoban.

You can get to it by taking the new Highway from Wodonga to Corryong, but before you get to Corryong, you turn off to Cudgewa, follow that through to the old Highway (which is right near the Tintaldra village), turn left on the old highway, travel along for about 5 or 6 k's, and Clarks Lagoon is on the right.

Now you have to promise not to tell anyone.

Just two warnings, the water is @#%%# cold, and quite fast. It is the Murray.
AnswerID: 34164

Follow Up By: ZEDjay - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:53

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:53
Big Trev,

Your secret is safe with me ;-)
zj
FollowupID: 24603

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 22:13

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 22:13
Been there is fantastic, is the Tintaldra Pub there still, Alf used to be the publican, its the most amazing pub.......Laterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 24711

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 08:24

Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 08:24
Bonz, the pub is still. The last 3 times I have been there, there is a woman behind th bar, so I am not sure about Alf. Cold beer, game or two or pool, ah, does life get much better.
FollowupID: 24787

Reply By: dock - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:43

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 15:43
Anywhere between Tocumwal and Yarrawonga turn left on any dirt road off the Murray Valley Highway that doesn't say no river access and you will end up hitting the river. There is about 20 beach camping areas with a myriad of tracks in between,some with toilets.All are free,take your rubbish out with you. The tracks are suitable for campertrailers and 2WD unless it rains,when you may have to wait until it drys out before getting out.All these spots are busy in summer but there is usually plenty of spots if all the beach sites are taken.You can collect fallen wood for fires unless there is a fire ban on.Go midweek and not near Xmas or long weekends and you will probably have it on your own.
AnswerID: 34172

Reply By: Willie - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 19:53

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 19:53
ZEDjay,
Please remember that camping along the Murray is free in South Oz and Victoria. There is not much public access to the river in NSW. There are a couple of places between Wentworth and Euston. As said before, if there is no sign stating 'No river access' you may go and camp and there are heaps of places. The Barmah Forest comes to mind as well......near the township. Good campsite on NSW side.
Willie

Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 34206

Reply By: Rowen - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 22:18

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 22:18
Yep, all these spots are bonza.

Me & some m8's often do the Murray Marathon & there is a plethora of lovely beaches that you can access off the main roads b/w Yarrawonga & Echuca.

My 2 bob's worth= 'Picnic Point'.In between yarra & echuca on nth side ( near Mathoura from memory. got a gr8 caravan park.

enjoy!
AnswerID: 34220

Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 09:51

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 09:51
At Wentworth just below the wier is a top spot..close to town..shady ..plenty of fire wood..good fishing...boat ramps..toilets at wier...free
AnswerID: 34256

Reply By: JohnR - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 10:40

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 10:40
The only part I am acquainted with was just so recent as last week along the River Road on the Hattah-Kulkyne National Park. Only a few kilometres North off the Hattah Robinvale Road. Camping is allowed between the river and the road in some places and teriffic too.

I am a newbie though to have favourites but this will be one, a nice yellowbelly in the first half hour and proximity to Mildura and the road networks. Real peace too.

http://dell/c:/bin/rivercamp
AnswerID: 34261

Follow Up By: JohnR - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 10:42

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 10:42
sorry hyper didn't work
FollowupID: 24660

Reply By: captnsnooze - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 13:53

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 13:53
Gooday]Bit late with reply but hope it is of some use.

25k west of walwa there is a great reserve for camping in beats the hell out of any sites east of Walwa. you turn into it about 25metres before you get to the 25k walwa sign.

Burrowye reserve.

Once you egt there you wont want to leave.
AnswerID: 34265

Reply By: captnsnooze - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 13:55

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 13:55
also you have several sites aroiund rutherglen to wodonga, Police paddocks just out of Rutherglen see the forestry map available at the visitors s\centre and another nearert to Wodonga called Richardsons Bend.

If you camp at Burrowye take a drive over the hill to Koetong (follwo the signs to guys forest and Shelley then Koetong) and enjoy a refreshing beer at the best pub in Aus.
AnswerID: 34266

Reply By: Blackie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 16:12

Saturday, Oct 18, 2003 at 16:12
If you have a decent map check out the road between Buronga (NSW side of Mildura) and Euston (NSW side of Robinvale Vic There are a number of nice bush camping spots. If you want to stay at a caravan park The Riverbend CP ( in Mildura but very bushy) is very pleasant, as a local I reckon its the pick of many, at least for location. There are a number of other parks along this road.
AnswerID: 34273

Follow Up By: ZEDjay - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 12:46

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 12:46
Hi Blackie,
Thanks for the tips. As it will be our first night in the camper - a caravan park might be a good idea.
I followed your lead, and to let you know - the Riverbend CP has now changed its name to River Beach Camping Ground.
Thanks again
zj
FollowupID: 24942

Follow Up By: Blackie - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 17:57

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 17:57
I should have known that. I dont know where I got that name from. It used to be called Apex Park probably still is if you're a local. The beach etc there would still be regarded as Apex Park.
Enjoy yourself its a nice spot,
FollowupID: 24967

Reply By: ZEDjay - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 12:51

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2003 at 12:51
hi everyone -- so many great places to stay and so little time -- this time around. I'll let you know how we go. I'm really looking forward to a bevvie at the Tintaldra Pub ;-)
Thanks for advice.
zj

AnswerID: 34588