Chinchilla and Region Flood

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 11:57
ThreadID: 83291 Views:6198 Replies:14 FollowUps:16
I have been getting lots of MM and emails from people checking on the status of Flood water in the Chinchilla region and due to limited sleep, and to save repeating myself, I'll sart a thread for everyone to read :) I have been too busy helping with the SES to take photos so when I get some I'll post them up

Chinchilla is getting sltghtly wet with flood water.

Charley's creek which runs through the northern side of town is at 7.25m at 8:30am today and still slowly rising. That is 1.2m over the Warrego Highway.
Water is through the Club Hotel bar and for those who know Chinchilla it is up to the Roundabout near the Post Office/ Commonwealth Bank. It is lapping the Post Offices floor boards.

The Condamine River at Chinchilla Weir is 12.63m @ 8:10am which is 2.63m over the bridge. There is a lot more water comming from as far up the Condamine Catchment as Murray's Bridge (the one where the Landcruiser ute with boat crossed in 2008??)

I have also just spoken with my parents in St George they are now predicting that the Bridge in St George will go under again with a peak of 12.0m (just under the top of the handrails on the bridge)

The Moonie River is flooded again and the Nindigully pub has been told to expect a peak the same as March this year with water to lap the floor boards again so it may have to cancell their New Years Eve party :(

I will keep you posted as to how we are going.

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:56

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:56
Thanks for that Kev, we were wondering how you and your family were going.

Don't send Darkie in to test the water.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 440014

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:27

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:27
Dave,

Darkie and the other vehicles are restricted to high ground only. The police are run off their feet trying to stop people from swimming in the water so driving in it only creates another issue for them to attend to ;)

FollowupID: 711870

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:42

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:42
I knew you would be busy Kev, and glad you took the time to post that info.

All our thoughts and best wishes are with you all, and hope things dry out soon without too much loss, though it looks like the farmers have been heavily affected yet again.

Sensational work you SES people and other emergency volunteers do for your communities.

Hopefully things settle down soon so you can enjoy some New Year Cheer with the family.

Fred

AnswerID: 440020

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:52

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:52
Things are looking good, Charley's creek has peaked and dropped 100mm since 9am :)

Hopefully the water which is rising upstream won't increase the water level.

Hopefully it will be a quite night :)

FollowupID: 711880

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:49

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:49
G/Day Kev

Lets hope things dry out fast, and you and the family keep safe, and St George dries out as well, lets hope there are Water Melons available in February for the Water Melon Festival in February, we are looking forward to seeing you out there with Mark G ect, country people are resiliant and will soon get things back to the way they were.

AnswerID: 440021

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:53

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:53
Daza,

They were still harvesting Water Melons boxing day, they were boating the pickers in LOL

FollowupID: 711881

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:52

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:52
Yep i think that boat is on the cards for us to get home. Not to do what that fella did but!!
AnswerID: 440031

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:55

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:55
I know of a good second hand boat for sale in Dalby hehehehehe

May need some work to fix the motor of the submerged motor though ;)

FollowupID: 711883

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 22:55

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 22:55
Kev its probably been sold. That Murphy visited, we shouldn't have joked a couple of weeks back. Spoke to our house sitter tonight, our place had 190ml in three days with water licking the front door. I went through the drought and missed the main event darn it. We are heading for hot weather in SA. Last night went to the Murray Bridge speed way and froze. The plan for hubby meeting us down here Saturday is not looking too good with St George bridge rising again, so we are probably looking at the home run with out him. Wasn't looking forward to that. I hear they are finally charging the nu nuts mucking around with flood water about time.
Sharon
FollowupID: 711912

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 06:57

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 06:57
Sharon,

It might be quicker to fly home LOL

FollowupID: 711922

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:30

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:30
Charley's Creek has fallen about 100mm since this morning but they are suggesting that it will rise again tonight :(

The water is now 3.0m over the Bridge at Chinchilla Weir.

The St George SES has been called out to Flinton (near Westmar) to evac people there as the Miles, Tara, Meandarra, Chinchilla groups can not get there.
St George is in full blown preperation work for the approaching water, the lessons of the big flood in March is paying off hopefully :)

AnswerID: 440037

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:33

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:33
Chinchilla Declared a Natural Disaster

AnswerID: 440039

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:49

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:49
Good on you Kev, That's why Oz is a great place to live & travel because of blokes like you who are willing to put others first & who are unselfish with their time.
Those unfortunate people who you are helping will certainly appreciate the efforts of the SES & its members. Best wishes
AnswerID: 440041

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:54

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:54
G'day Kev

Hope you, Sam and the girls are all well and enjoying the forced "Stay at Home" holiday.

I've been meaning to send a txt for Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year so will do it here instead.

Be safe and say Hi to the rest for me

Warm regards
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 440042

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:58

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:58
John,

Girls are safe and staying at home. I am still out and about with the SES.

Looks like we will be busy again tonight as a new peak in Charley's creek gets closer. The Police now have the power to enforce evacuations.

Will talk to you at some stage soon.

FollowupID: 711890

Reply By: rumpig - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 19:33

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 19:33
just watched the news coverage with all the flooding everywhere, showed some property / homestead out Theodore way i think it was, that apparently has never been flooded and water is now halfway up to it's roof.
certainly is an amazing amount of water moving about throughout Qld at the moment.
AnswerID: 440047

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 06:56

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 06:56
Theodore has been evacuated.

There is a lot of water around.

FollowupID: 711921

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:11
Tried to ring the other night, hope the new pad is ok mate talk soon
FollowupID: 711923

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:25

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:25
Bruce,

Helping with the SES and trying to move house is NOT working.

Sam has moved a fair bit of stuff but needs help with the big stuff. Once the water starts to receed the SES guys here are going to help us finish it off :)

FollowupID: 711925

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 12:53

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 12:53
I would be over but Annie would not let me buy the new Blackwatch 40 for Chrissy hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 711959

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:00

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:00
Bruce hasn't the MU got a snorkle?
FollowupID: 711986

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:24

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:24
Yes Michael, but it is me I am worried about hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 711989

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:07

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:07
More water on the way :)

Loudon Bridge near Dalby on the Condamine River has reached 10.95m and still rising. This level has exceeded the highest level ever recorded, which was 10.89 in 1976.

Chinchilla weir is at 13.44 which is the 4th highest recording ever only beaten by 13.51m in 1983, 13.87 in 1956, and finally 13.9 in 1976.
So I am thinking if the leels continue to rise in Chinchilla to the levels seen upstream we may break the flood record here in Chinchilla.

Charleys creek has beaten the 1983 flood level of 6.6m and has reached 7.25m, the record level is approx 7.9m which they think we may reach in 2 days time.

AnswerID: 440070

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:42

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:42
Stay safe and dry Kev.

We are thinking of all those who are living through this terrible weather time.

Best wishes.

Patrick

AnswerID: 440071

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:45

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:45
Patrick,

It isn't just the rising water that is an issue. Once the water goes down the clean up is going to take months :(

FollowupID: 711927

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:11
Didn't you say you had an international airport that you can fly in and out of Kev? LOL

Trying to get to Toowoomba at the moment from up here and the highway is cut around Wallaville, and now Rocky looks like it will be cut Friday. Very little chance of getting down your way to pick up my kids :(

Keep up the good work mate. :)

AnswerID: 440112

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:39
drew,

I can't get to Toowoomba to get them for you either :(

Water on the rise here again as the Condamine is holding Charley's creek back.

The Condamine River is expected to now exceed the all time record in height at Chinchilla weir.

Back at it at 0600 in the Am as I have the night off finally :)

Keep Safe up there and if you see Tiny tell him we need his flood boat ;)

FollowupID: 712002

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 19:56

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 19:56
Chinchilla Weir as at 5:30pm today is at 15.11m and still rising so it has passed the 1976 record height by over 1m

Chinchilla Weir is the last gauge on the Condamine river to remain rising so once the peak has passed here it should begin to fall to normal levels :)

The Town of Condamine is currently being evacuated due to rising flood waters.

St George has been told to expect 12.0m of water again. The bridge in St George is at 10.7m so the Bridge in St George will be cut once again this year.

The News Years Eve function at Nindigully pub has been cancelled due to flood water approaching via the Moonie River.

AnswerID: 440232

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 23:15

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 23:15
Down in SA where the only noise on the roof is grass hoppers ive been researching the 1956 floods of the Murray. They estimate the water currently coming down will be months away maybe 4. The river is full now and I thought well what caused the floods in 56?. I went back 4 months and hey presto a cyclone un named hit southern Queensland in Feb of 56. I don't want to put the wind up any one but could the Murray have its own records levels too??
AnswerID: 440245

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 06:50

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 06:50
The iver has peaked at Chinchilla Weir at 15.37m at 2.30am, there may be a small surge above that but I don't think that will happen.

FollowupID: 712159