Aluminium storage boxes to hang down underside of caravan

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 16:08
ThreadID: 85300 Views:3506 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Any idea if I can buy ready made or need custom built aluminium, and where in Victoria? I need length 1mtr, depth 30cm , height 25cm.

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 16:55

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 16:55
Hi Morlo

I don't know about anyone in Victoria, but when we wanted a specific sized box made for our generator (and the likes of super cheap didn't stock the size, we found an aluminium fabricator from yellow pages. I trust you are aware of the effects of adding weight to your caravan will have on its balance and stability, and any damage the box may sustain it its location.

AnswerID: 449601

Reply By: dazren - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 21:59

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 21:59
Hello morlo, if you are anywhere near the western suburbs of Melb, there is a Very big disposal warehouse in north altona, it is opposite the entrance to the western lawn memorial cementry, and next door to pickles car auctions.
the have just about everything you could imagine like a supercheap,bunnings, and harvey norman all in one. they have a very large range of the aluminium boxes, in all shapes and sizes, i doubt if you would find a bigger range anywhere, i have no connection with the place, just that i reckon it is the best boy's shed i have ever seen. rgs dazren
AnswerID: 449648

Reply By: Member - Geoff H (Q - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 22:03

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 22:03
I did a lot of shopping around to get a decent price for a custom box here in Brisbane.

Just take your time and you will find the right pace.

AnswerID: 449650

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 08:27

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 08:27
A bit off topic, but a good story. I had to organize a clearance sale recently for a deceased estate. One buyer later told me he got the deal of the day. He'd bought two old USA food boxes, Viet vintage. Sort of like eskies but made from aluminium. Says they sell fro 1000s in the uSA. Bikers strip them out, polish them and use them as panniers. So if you see some old USA esky looking things in your enquiries.......
AnswerID: 449679