4WD Self-drive Tracks in the Flinders Ranges

Submitted: Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 20:20
ThreadID: 87508 Views:19646 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
We are hoping to visit the Flinders Ranges next month, and we're aware that there are some self-drive, pay-to-drive tracks around on private properties. My question is are any really worth doing for the scenery, rather than the 4WD challenge (or perhaps for both reasons), or can you get just as good viewing on public roads through the Flinders?
We'd appreciate some suggestions along either line, please. We hope to visit from Arkaroola down to Mt Remarkable.

Thanks, John

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 20:51

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 20:51
Hi John

I can reccomend Warraweena for both those purposes.

It was the site of a previous exploroz gathering and worth the effort.

It a little south east of Leigh Creek.

AnswerID: 459688

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:45

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:45
Hi Robin
Thanks for the suggestion. We'd noticed Warraweena, and it had been mentioned before on the Forum, so we had it as one possible drive.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733299

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:01

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:01
The Flinders Ranges offers some of the best 4WD tracks around. The majority are on private property and give you access to some great off-road driving and scenery to boot. You get nothing like the views by driving through the already wonderful Flinders Ranges National Park which is also worth the drive.

So I suggest you get hold of an RAA of SA map of the Flinders Ranges as it shows you all the private and public tracks and contact details

You don't say how long you are staying but allow two weeks to drive some of them. If you are only staying for a short time then I suggest you base yourself at Rawnsley Park Station which offers plenty of choice for accommodation and a great restaurant as well.

Warraweena has been mentioned and it takes at least three to four days just to drive their tracks.

RobA
AnswerID: 459689

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:21
"The Flinders Ranges offers some of the best 4WD tracks around."
I'll disagree there Rob. In comparison to the difficulty of the Vic High Country or Tasmania, we found almost all the tracks including the PARs & private properties are of an easy to intermediate standard which is great for novices, those driving un-modified vehicles or in many areas even soft roaders.
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 733298

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:53

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:53
Hi Rob
Yes we've got a couple of weeks, but we also want to do some walking (and a bit of taking it easy) so we'll just have to go with a couple of drives. We have the Hema map, so we've got contacts, but no real details of what drives are like.
Phil's brochure link (below) also looks very useful.

Cheers, John

FollowupID: 733301

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:58

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:58
Craig, John who asked the questions said

"any really worth doing for the scenery, rather than the 4WD challenge"

For scenery the Flinders is hard to beat and yes the Vic High Country and Tassie is a fantastic place and offers extreme 4x4ing but I think John was talking about going to the Flinders and he wanted easier tracks.

If you know the private tracks in the Flinders you would know they don't allow softraders.

So I think what Rod said about the Flinders is spot on and answered what John wanted.

Not everyone wants to go extreme 4x4ing.
FollowupID: 733303

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:30

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:30
"....he wanted easier tracks...Not everyone wants to go extreme 4x4ing."
My point exactly cool one. If you look at the private property web sites many play up the difficulty of the tracks but in comparison to many other areas they are often quite tame. People should not be put off thinking they are really hard as most can be handled in stock cars by average drivers.
As for soft roaders I'd estimate well over half the dirt roads & tracks in the Flinders & Gammon Ranges would be suitable hence my carefully worded
"... in many areas even soft roaders." Many of the 20+ properties have a selection of different grade tracks too suitable for less capable cars & beginners.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 733309

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 00:16

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 00:16
20+ properties?
FollowupID: 733315

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:06

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:06
As well as warraweena, can I suggest Argadells and Bendleby Ranges for good views and nice 4wd tracks and camping.

You'll find a good list of the tracks and others in this brochure.
AnswerID: 459692

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:57

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:57
Hi Phil,
Thanks for the brochure link - looks very useful indeed - and also the Argadells/Bendleby suggestions. We were looking for camping places around the area of Argadells.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733302

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:05

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:05
Argadells is great. I have some photos at www.nenke.info. Nice spot to camp as well.

Pete
FollowupID: 733444

Reply By: fordtough - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:11

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:11
John, we did SkyTrek (out of Willow Springs Station) a few years ago and it was fantastic. Thoroughly recommend it, great views and a great drive. You need low range 4x4 as some of the climbs and descents are steep. They also have nice little campsites on the station.
AnswerID: 459693

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:17

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:17
Yes, Skytrek gets plenty of mention on the Forum, though we'd sort of got the impression it was more for the driving challenge. From the replies it looks like most of the range drives are also great for the scenery though.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733306

Follow Up By: Farquo - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 09:27

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 09:27
Drove Skytrek last week. Great views but not a huge driving challenge. 2wd for the first 30 km then low range, mostly 2nd and 3rd gear for a speed appropriate to the roughness of the track. 1st gear twice up hills - once when I misjudged it and should have been in 2nd, once when I stopped half way up to look at a roo for the passengers. Stock Patrol - needed the clearance. I enjoyed the drive. I am not into extreme 4wd.
FollowupID: 733321

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:52

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:52
In general John the free tracks follow the valleys & gorges while many of the private properties own the high ground & the spectacular views. There are plenty of great places to see from the public roads that will fill a couple of weeks but likewise the private tracks have plenty to offer with some great secluded camp sites, accomodation, lookouts and interesting 4x4 tracks.
We spent our first three visits to the area on mostly public roads then last time looked at 5 of the private properties. It's all good no matter where you go.
Recommend Ron Moons Flinders Guide book for excellent detail.
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 459695

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:24

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:24
Thanks Craig,
Yes we're getting the impression that most of the 4WD range drives are worth a go if you have the time. This trip we want to do a mixture of things, so it will be a case of taking both the "high road" and the "low road", by the looks. We found pics like those back in post 77188 look worth checking out for the "low road".

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733307

Reply By: mikehzz - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:24

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:24
I have enjoyed Sky Trek and Arkapena. Both are quite easy on the 4wd scale of difficulty but are very scenic and interesting. The Flinders Ranges is one of my favourite destinations and it's a pity it's 2 days drive away from me. Mike
AnswerID: 459700

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:45

Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 22:45
Hi John

Firstly I hope that you have given yourself lots of time to visit one of South Australia's best places to visit. We have been to the Flinders countless times and it is one destination that you never tire of visiting. I am ashamed to admit that it has been a couple of years since we were there, and when we did we intended to stay only 4 nights and 10 days later we headed for home.

For me it is not the 4x4 challenges but the scenery first and foremost. I have said enough, so here are some images of what you can expect to see and you will see why everyone is spell bound by the sheer beauty of the place.........

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

When we head up to the Cooper, we are taking a detour via Blinman just to top up my Flinders images.

Enjoy our great Flinder and one thing is for sure, you will return.

AnswerID: 459704

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 06:03

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 06:03
Thanks for the images Stephen, brilliant.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 733317

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 12:51

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 12:51
4th to last photo. I reckon that would have to be the most photographed view of the Flinders.
I love the place too Stephen. Thanks for the photos.
Fab.
FollowupID: 733333

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 14:24

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 14:24
Gday Stephen,
We too stopped in via the Flinders on our way back last week. I'd forgotted how nice Parachilna Gorge was......great spot to camp and just look at those huge gums. Bitumen all the way between Wilpena and Blinman now too!
FollowupID: 733340

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 14:36

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 14:36
Hi Fab

Yes the Bunyeroo Gorge Scenic Drive is always one drive that is a must for any visit to the Flinders and would be one of the best.

John mentioned that he would like to do some walks, and the Old Wilpena Homestead is an interesting easy walk and full of the local history. Another very long and rewarding hike is the St Mary Peak Hike, so here are a couple more images from some of the walks.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Hi Phil

The Bitumen has been in place now for a couple of years. I can remember when there was no bitumen just past Hawker...those were the days before it became a National Park and we had many great camps out along the creeks, which is now not possible.

FollowupID: 733341

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 17:33

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 17:33
You take a great photo Stephen. It's hard to believe that the views and colours are actually better in real life. :-)
FollowupID: 733364

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:21

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:21
Thanks for all the great photos, Stephen. Don't put up too many though or we won't have any excuse to go! LOL.
No doubt we won't have enough time to see all we'd like, but we hope to see a good cross-section at least. And yes we'd like to try several walks, including to St Marys Peak, if the legs and weather are on our side.
We also plan a detour to take the Cooper ferry if it's still running when we travel down, so please keep up the updates on that.
Thanks again,
FollowupID: 733390

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:52

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:52
Hi John

Where ever you do go, you will have a great time with breath taking scenery. The walks may be long, but very rewarding. Makes sure you take plenty of water and something to eat if doing the St Mary Walk.

As for the ferry, you have my word that I will not let the team down with all the happenings on the ferry. In a week or so time, I should have my first lot of figures for the running this time round.

FollowupID: 733397

Reply By: Member - Graham Watson (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 00:59

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 00:59
We have done skytrek at Willow Springs twice. It takes you to the highest vehicle accessible place in the Flinders Ranges. For photos see here from photo 119 to 164 and here from Photo 139 to 178. The track is fun without being difficult and the views are great from the top of the range.
We have also done The Touch of salt track at Nilpena Station which takes you out to lake torrens. Photos are here frrom photo 085 to 111 and here photo 105 to 116. This was a bit different to our trip to Lake Eyre South when there was water in the lake.
I would also recommend Bendleby Ranges, although the views are not as spectacular as Willow Springs.

Graham Watson

AnswerID: 459706

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:34

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:34
Hi Graham, thanks for the info and photos. I suspect Bendelby will be a bit too far out of our way for this time.
Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733392

Reply By: wicket - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 09:44

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 09:44
and don't forget Stokes Hill not far past Wilpena on the Blinman rd, not difficult 4x4 but a great free view from the top
AnswerID: 459722

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 13:33

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 13:33
Skytrek and Rawnsley Park are places worth visiting. Enjoy the trip.
AnswerID: 459734

Reply By: DesF - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 19:15

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 19:15
Hi, I see you have lots of good reply's, one they have omited is the Artimore PAR, it is a great drive and free. I see on here a couple of days ago that they have graded some of the PAR's , they were getting a bit washed out with all the rain up there. I will be up there on the 23/25th and we will be doing most of them , always a great scenery.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 459764

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:39

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:39
Hi Des, we've found Artimore and yes we should be able to drive that.

Thanks, John
FollowupID: 733394

Reply By: Member - John R (cQld) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:42

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2011 at 20:42
Thanks again to everyone who's taken the time to reply and contribute. Lots of great information as usual from the forumites. Now all we need is an extra couple of months to see all the sights!.

Cheers, John
AnswerID: 459774

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 07:15

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 07:15
John,

Have done a few tracks through the Flinders and Stephen has covered most of them.
My favourites in no particular order:

Skytreck (Willow Springs - Cost)
Mt Caernarvon:

Mt Jacob Backtrack (Arkaroola - Free):

Mt Chambers Gorge (Free):

Wortupa Loop Track (Gammon Ranges - Free):

AnswerID: 459798

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 20:34

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 20:34
Hi Richard

Great photos - thanks. We can see where these are, and can probably drive most of them at least. Could that be Grindell's Hut in the last one?

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 733485

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2011 at 07:13

Thursday, Jul 14, 2011 at 07:13
John,

Correct. Last year we hired the outstation which is the building in front of the hut and stayed there for a week with a group of painters. I climbed the hill behind the hut early morning to take this photo.
AnswerID: 459892