Tidying up <span class="highlight">battery</span> terminals - not your usual <span class="highlight">battery</span> question!

Submitted: Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 17:29
ThreadID: 88700 Views:9522 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Is there a gadget that can replace having a heap of wires connected to the positive battery terminal? Some form of 12 volt power board I guess?? Hope that question makes sense :-)
Thanks in advance for your replies.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 17:42

Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 17:42
You can get a powerboard type of arrangement that is fused also which is very useful. Derek Bester has them and he is an advertiser on here and has excellent service

Looks like this

AnswerID: 463585

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid- Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 21:35

Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 21:35
Bonz, that wiring is a bit rough old mate LOL.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 737431

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 23:29

Friday, Aug 26, 2011 at 23:29
T-D

Totally agree, and I would be that ashamed of such an effort that I wouldn't dare show it on the Global Internet.

I suppose you are aware that this Bonz character is a graduate of the Terang College of Anything and Everything where the first mandatory module is called 'The Farmers Lifeline' . Kid you not, it's where learn the 1001 ways to use fencing wire.

DD
FollowupID: 737437

Follow Up By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 00:12

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 00:12
Ok Guys
Please keep to the question asked ....I also would like to know of a PRACTICAL SOLUTION

Have a great weekend
FollowupID: 737438

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 06:39

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 06:39
Gents, one 6mm2 wire runs to each of the three fused circuits on the fuseboard. It does the trick, admirably. I did consider hiding a join under the ribbed conduit but felt that it would fail more than likely and in the worst place, say just north of Broken Hill, just west of the Silver city Hwy, near an old woolshed, hence I rejected that idea.

FollowupID: 737440

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:40

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:40
Ahem! Bonz.

Be a good chappy and stick to the question asked as requested by Brian R(WA) above.

I respectfully suggest that it would behoove you to do so.

DD
FollowupID: 737511

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:01

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:01
Youre a bloody Dag DD. Brian I think these guys are alluding to the quality and usefulness of the solution I used, hence their ontopicness is acceptable

FollowupID: 737518

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:08

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:08
T-M-M

I very rarely ever do this - show and tell - how I do stuff, so feel privileged.

I have included 5 pics via photobucket with explanatory notes thereafter.

Pic (1) I removed all the all the 12V aux add on's off of the main battery and replaced the positive terminal with one that has a 'bolt post' on it. I then removed the supplied 'bolt post' and replaced it with a Brass longer one. The leads on there now are: OEM fusible links, Starter cable 35mm, Winch cable 50mm, Dual Battery Feed 35mm(I'll tell you why in a minute) IPF driving lights and HID headlights.

Pic (2) Shows a bleep load of custom mods, however you are only interested in the Fuse Box and Ignition Block here. The Fuse box is fed by an 8mm cable straight off the Aux Battery Buss Bar which you will see in the next pic.

The Ignition Block is there to supply an ignition source, you know, the 'ignition source' that members keep asking about all the time. It is fed by a fused 5mm cable. One of the most invaluable 12V custom mods that I have done.

For those interested you can see to the left where I have given the ARB air locker setup the flick and made a custom mod setup to replace it.

Pic(3) Shows the Aux Bat Buss Bar which is fed by a 35mm cable which all things 12V aux/aftermarket are fed from. Includes inverter, Rear Anderson Plug, which are fused using Maxi Fuses (16mm cable).

You will also see the Dual Battery Controller there which is one of Commercial member Derek Besters from ABR.

Yes Derek, you do see a 35mm cable in and out. I intend 'firing' both batteries up next time I am winching through your Dual Battery Controller and will only report POSITIVE results. (LOL)

Oh! almost forgot. That Brake Controller circuit Breaker you can see up on the right, is powered off of the main battery. (That is just for Bonz and other picky dudes)

Pic (4) Shows the Fuse Box for the IPF & HID lights plus the winch controller whiich is directly below the fuse box.

Pic (5) Is an electrical box that built for a 4WD comp truck. Was mounted behind the Cabin and manages all the 12V operations other than the OEM 12V engine loom.

The reason I included it, is that it shows another variation of the Terminal Post and Buss Bar. I used a centre Post with a surrounding 'Buss Bar Ring' for this application. A 35mm feed cable from the battery enters through a grommet in the bottom of the box and attaches directly to the post.

The relays were switched from the cabin via a 4mm, 7wire, Trailer Cable, and exited the box via the Fuse box to their respective applications.

The Comp Truck also ran a 24V system for winching, however that is another story.

You will notice that all cables have been 'conduited' where applicable and finished off with shrink tube, which has been colour coded where required.

Hopefully this will give you a few ideas.

DD

PS

( suck it up Bonz-arelli)
FollowupID: 737562

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 17:56

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 17:56
Great pics DD, good to see youve moved on from hiding joins to doing them well. If you get a look under the hood of this unit guys, the wiring is reasonable top notch

FollowupID: 737677

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 23:14

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 23:14
Haha, and the wiring is just the beginning, plenty to gaze at under that bonnet, just when you think you've got it covered you manage to find something else under there!.

FollowupID: 737699

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 02:18

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 02:18
Bonz

You have to stop mentioning the Hidden Joint thing/issue and as for you Krakka, well, there is a bunch of stuff going in this week now that I have figured out how to do it.

DD
FollowupID: 737703

Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 02:01

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 02:01
Power stud?

Fuse box?

Buss Bar?

Heaps of possibilities.

What do you want to achieve. Just neaten up the battery post? You can mount a fuse box someehere and have all accessories run from that. Get one that has one input(for power), and multiple(however many you may need) outputs.

Or you could just run power to a power stud, and then run all accesories from that. Its just a bolt, on an insulated base that you can screw down. Same as battery terminal really, but you can put it where you want.
AnswerID: 463618

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:43

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:43
Ah! Muntoo

Your suggestions are the way to go and as you imply, the only barrier to this stuff is the limitations of ones imagination.

DD
FollowupID: 737512

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 07:51

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 07:51
The 'Bonz' style solution is how I have wired up all my vehicles in recent times after having had a bad short on a trip decades ago due to rough and ready wiring all to the post.

The other suggestions I would make are putting a sticker somewhere that reminds you what each fuse is for as it is surprising how quickly you forget. Don't forget to have a selection of spare fuses in the kit.

In some cases for the heavy draw outlets I use a circuit breaker rather than a fuse so that resetting is easier.

AnswerID: 463620

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 15:56

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 15:56
I have done that labelling too Alastair. I have also got some of the a pair of terminals soldered in parallel if I needed to up the level of fuse to that particular link. Whacking more than 20 amps through some of those terminals potentially could weld the fuses in before burning out. I have some circuit breakers too, for defined links.

Always a good idea to put heavy duty trailer 7 core though into your cab too, saves a lot of singles and the colour traces are helpful :-))
FollowupID: 737471

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 09:07

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 09:07
Take a main cable off the battery to a connection block or power stud.

You can even used breakers as a solution.

Derek from ABR

AnswerID: 463622

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 09:15

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 09:15
Any job can be done neatly but the problem is most items are not fitted all at the same time hence the piggy back and mess of wiring. Forward planning is a good idea otherwise you do need to re-do many wiring connections later.

Always remember that the battery must be easy to remove so the less mess around the battery the better.

Derek

FollowupID: 737447

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:18

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:18
Thanks Mighty Moose, for bringing this to the forum.
Some good things out there, I think I may be able to make use in the van......it has 3 or 4 wires coming from the battery

AnswerID: 463711

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 18:05

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 18:05
yep I agree, thanx also, that stuff from Derek is great

FollowupID: 737764

Reply By: rapid80 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 23:26

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 23:26
This is what I did. A fuse/relay box for each battery. The main battery fuse box runs through a solenoid so it's only on with ignition, the 2nd battery's box is constant feed. Each fuse box is protected by a 70amp circuit breaker and there are 10 circuit breakers in each box plus 5 relays. All waterproof. 1 wire from the battery.

AnswerID: 463909

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 11:09

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 11:09
Rapid80

When someone takes the effort to go the 'extra mile' to conduit their cabling, shrink tube the fittings etc, etc it's a general indicator (not absolute by any means) that the subject installation will be A1.

Your use of Cooper-Bussman products is very illuminating as I have never seen them before, especially that relay,circuit breaker box.

So I am wondering (a) are you in Australia and (b) if so, where can I get a catalogue of Cooper-Bussman products that are available in Australia.

DD
FollowupID: 737826

Reply By: rapid80 - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 12:08

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 12:08
Hi Dust-Devil
Yes and no to being in Oz, I live in Perth but work overseas. I imported the bussman products from the states but they are available here. Flexible Drive Agencies are the main agent and I have seen some of the products in the 12 Volt Shop in Perth and I think some of the Blue Seas products are actually Bussman. I tried to deal with Flex Drive but they had no knowledge of the products, very limited range and I couldn't source the micro relays,mini circuit breakers or the delphi terminals, wire seals and cavity plugs needed to complete the fitment whereas the US dealer had everything and was cheaper, even incl freight.
Figured I was going to keep the car for a long time so was worth doing it properly plus I do a lot of remote trips so wanted it as reliable as possible. No fuses to worry about, each circuit is protected and the whole lot is waterproof to IP66, as a bonus its compact and neat.
AnswerID: 463936

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Sep 01, 2011 at 01:23

Thursday, Sep 01, 2011 at 01:23
R-80

Thanks for that.

I guessed as much as I hadn't seen any of that Cooper-Bussman gear hear in Australia, however, I do use the Blue Seas components which are excellent.

I'll get onto Bussman in the states and see what I can arrange.

I have been caught before with 'so-called' agents in Australia for O/S manufacturers.

They never carry the manufacturers stock and take forever to get what you want, and then think they are clever when charging grandma's gold teeth for it.

DD
FollowupID: 737866