Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

self high pressure wash

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:12

jackablue

Does anyone know where I can use a high pressure hose to clean my fourby in south sydney. The only reason I want it clean is because I have a major service due & I can't take it to my mechanic with 3-4 cms of mud on it. Can't really get buckets of water up under there, & the rain hasn't been enough to get it all off.

The mechanic doesn't have a high pressure hose, & I'm not paying $100+ for it to be detailed to wash of dirt.

Jackablue
Advertisement
ThreadID: 8932 Replies: 6
Views: 548 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 39265   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:20

Member - Bradley replied:

Gday Jacka, unfortunately not familiar with that part of syd. but can tell you that a lot the commercial carwashes now have one bay set up for fourbys and boats . You could always rock up to the wash bay with a pocket full of gold coin and a set of ramps ( see it done all the time in vic ) . Keep your eyes open for 'free time' car washes, where if you put in say $8 you then get another 5 minutes or so for nix. No need to pay for pro detail buddy. Cheers Brad.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 238479   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:28

jackablue posted:

Thats what I am looking for, all the ones around here only wash the top.

Jackablue
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 238481   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:50

Member - Bradley posted:

OK just go to supercheap or similar and get some $30 short ramps , good for years of underbody washing :-) I used to live in Benalla in country vic and they have a great wash bay with a raised concrete stand about 3 foot high that you can walk all round and go for it with the gerni, pity more places don't put a little forethought into their set ups.. Cheers mate.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 238483   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 10:01

jackablue posted:

Got the ramps, got the gerni but can't use it because of water restrictions!

Jackablue
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 39266   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:23

Member - Cocka replied:

Give Car Lovers car wash a buzz. Not sure where they are out your way.Carpe Diem
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 238480   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 09:37

jackablue posted:

None that I know of south of sydney. North yes, West yes.

Jackablue
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 39282   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 11:27

ron1 replied:

find a nice river crossing some where and take her ffor a swim :) couple of fast runs in some shallow water should do the trick ,right
ron1
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 39298   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 14:58

Member - Ross replied:

Bunnings or similar hardware stores hire Gerneys or equipment hire places.

Might cost 30-40 bucks but you'll get a better job than paying mega gold coin at Carlovers or similar.You're only as old as she feels

Rosco
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 257035   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 15:00

Member - Ross posted:

PS ... Sorry cobber .. shoulda read your response more carefully re water restrictions. Can't use grey water ?????You're only as old as she feels

Rosco
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Stand up Paddle Boarding + Bonus T-shirt Stand up Paddle Boarding + Bonus T-shirt
Melbourne - VIC
A 2 hour Stand Up Paddle Boarding Group Lesson at St Kilda as well a Stand Up Paddle Boarding T-Shir
Mountain Bike & Kayak Overnight Tour Mountain Bike & Kayak Overnight Tour
Central Coast - NSW
Travel the historic Old Great North Road by mountain bike and camp out under the clear skies of Dhar
Mt Wellington Descent bike ride Mt Wellington Descent bike ride
Hobart - TAS
Short on time? Big on adventure? Try this fast and exhilarating three-hour biking alternative.
CHIC Fashion Walking Tour CHIC Fashion Walking Tour
Sydney - NSW
On this chic Fashion Walking Tour you'll get the inside track on Sydney's best-kept shopping secrets
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 39299   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 15:05

Member -BJ (Sydney) replied:

Jackablue there's 1 in Anderson St Marrickville only 1 Sth off cityRegards Bob
Where to next
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 257040   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2003 at 15:38

jackablue posted:

Thanks BJ I'll check it out.

Jackablue
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 39398   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 11:33

Member - Andrew O replied:

Jackablue,
I cleaned my car on the drive last weekend using my own hi pressure cleaner. The water restrictions say you have to use a bucket ... so I did ... I put the inlet hose for the pressure cleaner into the bucket, put the bucket 2 feet higher than the cleaner, and away I went. Gravity feed is fast enough to get the water to the cleaner. Save your money & save (more) water by doing it this way.

So much to see, too little time ...
Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 257129   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:02

jackablue posted:

With the bucketting of rain last night where I am, I jumped in the car & found plenty of huge puddles & water sitting on the road. The deluge was a great underbody wash.

Jackablue
FollowUp 1 of 1