Chemicals for a Dometic Toilet

We are in the process of getting the new van ready for the dream trip. We are not season travelers and its the first time having a toilet & shower in the van.
I noticed the chemicals for the toilet are very expensive ( liquid or tablets) am looking for advice on any proven alternatives. I was told that Napisan 2 tablespoons dissolved in 1lt of warm water is a good alternative, the down side is the toilet needs to be emptied every 2 days to prevent smelling. I was informed from another that if I start using the liquid chemicals in the toilet I am unable to switch to ts or any other alternative.
Appreciate any feed back from the forum.

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 16:50

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 16:50
We use the cheaper Coles or WW napisan. It has been up to 4 days between emptying and the smell wasn't too bad. I think it depends on how hot the weather is. Also it depends on how much you use it as to how often it requires emptying. It is not areal chore to empty it anyway.
AnswerID: 466676

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 16:59

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 16:59
Hi Rod

Do you also dissolve 2 tablespoons in warm water, in your opinion is there any down side to using the napisan ( branded or generic).
FollowupID: 740773

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:54

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:54
We use a cap full, about 2 table spoons, I don't think you need to be too specific.
The generic brands are much cheaper and apparently have more of the active ingredient.
FollowupID: 740797

Reply By: WBS - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:05

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:05
I think you've been badly informed. I use a generic napisan facsimile(Woolies brand) in my Thetford toilet and on average have to empty it every 4 days or so when it gets full. It has absolutely nothing to do with the smell! It simply doesn't smell. I use a good measuring cup full (measuring cup as supplied with the product) in 2 litres of water, dissolved thoroughly before being poured in the cassette. 2 litres of water because that's how much the manufacturer of the toilet advises to put in after each emptying.

I used this formula in my toilet on a 20,000k plus trip last year and was very satisfied with the outcome.(Pardon the unintended puns)

There is nothing to say you can't switch to liquid chemicals at any stage, but it may be best not to mix the two in one application.

THERE ARE NO DOWNSIDES I've noticed.

WBS
AnswerID: 466677

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:44

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:44
WBS

After 20,000kms your toilet would have been well used. Looks like WOW branded Napisan is a great cheaper alternative to the dearer liquid chemicals or tablets.
I would also dissolve in 2lts as this is recommended in the handbook.
Appreciate the feedback
FollowupID: 740777

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:25

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:25
After this question was posted a year or so ago the concensus was Woolies generic napisan. We changed over to it at the time after the advice given.(I remember someone saying the was more of one of the chemicals in the generic stuff) We use our toilet spareingly for no 1's only and with the napisan there is hardly any smell. Just emptied it today after 5 days at about half full. The generic definately works. Cheers,Bob

AnswerID: 466680

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:51

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 17:51
WOW branded napisan has the thumbs up from 3 members already and that is good enough for me. Nothing better than getting the heads up from people who actually use the product. Thanks for taking the time to respond to my query, we will save the money and use WOW napisan.
FollowupID: 740780

Reply By: snoopyone - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:05

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:05
There is one proprietry brand which you should start when unit is new.

Bio magic comes to mind
AnswerID: 466689

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:26

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:26
There must be a good reason why you suggest using Bio Magic as my unit is new , do you mind sharing the reason. Thanks
FollowupID: 740791

Follow Up By: hazo - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:50

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:50
Bio magic contains the same ingredient as the nappy soaker, heaps of info on the caravan forums.

The standard chemicals usually all contain some formaldahyde derivative, which is very good at sanatizing but very bad for the enviorement and people!

The nappysan is an oxygenizer and breaks down into harmless liquid, after doing its job.
We have been using it for 2 years and works perfctly and cheap.
FollowupID: 740795

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:35

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:35
Hazo , formaldehyde or its derivatives are nasty chemicals.
I never heard of Bio Magic until you mentioned the product. Have read their web site and a previous thread on this forum. A lot safer to use and better for the enviroment. Understand why people use the napisan , its safer and is a cheaper alternative. Many thanks.
FollowupID: 740802

Follow Up By: Lex M - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 21:03

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 21:03
Using BioMagic you are paying a premium price for the same chemicals as in the generic nappysan products.

The generic is cheap. We use a capful every three days if it hasn't been emptied, and have absolutely no smell problems.
FollowupID: 740816

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 11:59

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 11:59
Don't have one myself but have heard this one is OK for removing smell

Remove Toilet smell

Pedro
FollowupID: 740861

Follow Up By: Racey - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 09:49

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 09:49
Hi, We tried Bio-Magic and found it not very effective. So much so, we have half a bottle left. It is also one of the most expensive solutions. Now use Nappysan.

Racey
FollowupID: 740940

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 20:15

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 20:15
Hi Racey

Seems most people like the generic or branded Napisan as it works and is cheaper - Cheers
FollowupID: 740992

Reply By: lancie49 - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:56

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 18:56
Another vote for generic NappiSan
No smell from the tank, safe to empty at dump points, cheap, effective, NS does not smell, easy to use,,,,,,,da,dada,dada,dada...............

No matter what you've been using, give the tanks a rinse out, fill with flush water, add NS, and take your Proprietary products to a council disposal site.

I win.

Lance
AnswerID: 466696

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 20:08

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 20:08
Lance , Agree Napisan or its generic brother is the winner in this forum, and will be also used in our van.
FollowupID: 740811

Reply By: Member - Rick P (NT) - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:02

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:02
Hi Daschin
We also use the Woolies home brand "Nappy Treatment Plus" but we put a cap full of Eucalyptus oil in as well, which also helps with the smell.
Safe travels
Rick P
AnswerID: 466697

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:14

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:14
Hi Rick P
Good old Eucalyptus has so many uses. Will keep it in mind if we have a problem with smell. Thanks
FollowupID: 740886

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:34
Hi Daschin

We started out using Bio Magic as i refuse to use Formaldehyde or Bronopol chemicals. There was a slight musty odour. When i tried the Coles or Woolworths Nappy Soaker Powder, no more musty odour. You don't really need to use anything so long as you are prepared to empty every day or two. For those with vacu-flush toilets, or using the SOG system, no additives are needed. Search on toilets if you want to know more about any of these.

If you are using the toilet full time, you will want to empty it at least every three days, regardless of what you use. Any substance to give a better scent (masking agent) only makes things worse as far as I'm concerned. Water only in the flushing tank.

If you have used a chemical preservative type product, you just need to thoroughly clean, soak and rinse the cassette with the nappy soaker solution to get rid of the conflict.

Click on link Toilets for more about toilets and travel.

AnswerID: 466704

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:59

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:59
Hi Motherhen, everyone has been so helpful and I really appreciate the feedback. I am happy to use the napisan or the generic brand 1st up as the unit hasn't been used yet. I guess cleaning the cassette once emptied is very important and will help with any odour. Cheers & thanks
FollowupID: 740807

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:46

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 19:46
Hi their Dasharound, We started off with the Expensive Bio Magic product that gets a mention above & there is no doubt about it is a very good product.. But, like you, we asked the same question on this forum a couple of years back & like most replies to date people have been using the Sani product for a few years now without any side effects, smells etc.

AND...... I eat baked beans on a regular basis!! So I reckon that that is testimony enough!! Go for the Sani product & you wont be dissapoined!! Cheers
AnswerID: 466705

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 20:03

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 20:03
Hi BarryF , Baked Beans now they can create some real action. Glad to hear the Napisan can handle the test. cheers
FollowupID: 740809

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 07:05

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 07:05

AnswerID: 466743

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:00

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:00
Gone Bush

What can I say except a big THANK YOU!!
I will buy a container this week from Woolies
FollowupID: 740884

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 08:09

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 08:09
I also have only ever used Napisan (home brand) and it works fine. If possible empty the cassette after travelling as the shaking on the road ensures liquidfaction and makes emptying very simple.

I put the napisan in old 1 litre fruit jar and mix it before pouring into toilet and then rinse the jar with anothe litre and put that in the toilet. Napisan is relatively cheap and we empty it as opportunity allows.

Look for RV friendly towns and signs to dump points are usually well marked.

I also use home brand olive oil spray to give thge seals a quick spray when servicing to ensure the seals don't dry out.

AnswerID: 466745

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:19

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:19
Hi Alan H

Well , I wouldn't have thought about using olive oil spray on the seals what a great idea. Thanks for sharing this.
FollowupID: 740887

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 09:41

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 09:41
We only use Woolies or Coles own brand Nappisan and have no problems with smells. The other advantage of using this is that it is septic tank safe and environmentally harmless, unlike the ghastly chemicals supplied with most toilets (which also smell like the worst sort of public toilet cleaner!) This means that if we are caught far from a dump point (not often these days) we can safely bury the waste in an appropriate place - far from watercourse etc. Lynne
AnswerID: 466751

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:38

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:38
Hi Lynne
Using products that are safe for the environment and for us to use is very important. I will not use these chemicals especially when there is a safer and cheaper alternative. We will be spreading the word to other travelers ( once we getting going) that might not be aware of the Generic Napisan
FollowupID: 740888

Reply By: Athol W - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 11:59

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 11:59
We have recently completed a 227 day excersion and only used the toilet in the van. We have been using the generic nappi san for some time and occasionally got a smell after 2 or 3 days. We have now found the the Nappi San with Oxy Action (any brand name) works even better. We add this powder to an empty tank without any pre mixing, using about 3 tablespoons.

I have also found that Silicone spray lasts longer on the slide gate (Dometic toilet) to stop the usual seal squeel.

Have fun and enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 466764

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 19:51
Athol

So Nappy San with Oxy Action is another alternative. Any reason why you didn't or don't dissolve in warm water before pouring into the tank/ cassette.
I also have a Dometic toilet so i better give the slide gate a little spray to prevent any seal squeal from happening. I am counting down the days before we are off on our trip, can't wait. Thanks
FollowupID: 740890

Follow Up By: Athol W - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 21:01
Daschin

When I heard about the Nappi san treatment there was no suggestion that it had to be disolved prior to use, and it is just 2 litres usable tank capacity wasted. We have had no issues in relation to the powder disolving in the tank with normal use (anyhow the first use adds water)

Have fun and enjoy your trip.
Athol
FollowupID: 740901

Follow Up By: Lex M - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 21:02

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 21:02
After two or three days the active ingredients in napisan have degraded.
That's why we give it another dose every three days, or two days in hot conditions.
FollowupID: 740902

Follow Up By: hazo - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 12:23

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 12:23
Nappisan Oxyaction , the brand name variety actually contains less of the oxidizing ingredient (Sodium Percarbonate) than the generic varieties ! If you read the labels it is the weight by volume of actual oxidizer that is used in the pack.

From memory the generic varieties contain 300g of SC. Hence the recommendation by most for the generic one, and also it is much cheaper.

If the dry powder is used it will eventually mix with any liquid and work as normal but by mixing with warm water it is starting to work immediately.

There was a concenses on some forums that adding eucalyptus oil or other addtives could prove detrimental to the oxidizing ability of the S Percarbonate, as it could kill the biological action somewhat.

Others suggested adding plain yogurt to assist in the breakdown action but we have found it just works fine by itself, with the occasional top up application if needed in hot weather.
FollowupID: 740956

Follow Up By: Daschin around - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 20:21

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2011 at 20:21
Hi Hazo

Seems like you know your stuff and have plenty of experience. The majority of members vote for a generic Napisan to do the job with a top up if required as you have outlined. Well all I can say is that we will buy the WOW Napisan and give it a go , it is saver & cheaper and should do the job......................love this forum!!
FollowupID: 740995