2012 Mazda BT 50

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:29
ThreadID: 90235 Views:16928 Replies:9 FollowUps:23
Anyone brought one yet? Have it down as No 1 as a new vehicle, as it is some where between $4K to $6K cheaper than the Ranger. I have take one for a small test drive and am quite impressed.
I was hoping to buy the new Isuzu D-Max but have been told it could be as late as the end of next year before we see it here.

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:51

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:51
Hi Isuzumu
Brother took Ranger for a spin the other day hooked a 21ft Jayco on and said it pulled off the mark better than his 3lt Nissan he was really surprised how well it performed ,he drove 3.2 diesel
Cheers reggy2
AnswerID: 470653

Reply By: racinrob - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:55

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 16:55
Saw the Mazda ad on TV last night and my ears pricked up when they mentioned the 3.35 tonne towing capacity.
Like you Bruce I am looking for a new tow vehicle and was looking at the Amarok, looked at the Ranger and wasn't impressed.

rr VKE 237 sel 6678
AnswerID: 470654

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:27

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:27
Driven the Amarok also but no auto unless you want the full time 4WD, no low range, and top spec one.
FollowupID: 745146

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:35

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:35
rrr Rob just noticed 6678
FollowupID: 745148

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:03

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:03
They have a heap of Turbo lag, the back seats are uncomfortable and the polished alloy bar looks shocking ;)

AnswerID: 470658

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:31

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:31
Might have been the drive Kev hahahahaha, did not happen when I planted the foot the next time I took off. And quess what I won't be sitting in the back seat.
FollowupID: 745147

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:46

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:46
Agree with Kev.

Delivered one from an airport to a yard for a mate and had the same experience as Kev. I also found the motor very noisy.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 745150

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:50

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:50
Motor noisy??? I could not even here it and Kev was in the back seat I was driving it.
FollowupID: 745152

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:59

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 17:59
It also had the typical dual cab squeak from the tub rubbing somewhere ;)

FollowupID: 745153

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 19:56

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 19:56
Buy whatever you want, just not a Hilux. Too many of those dam things on the road nowadays. We need more variety. Couldn't imagine the Mazda being $4-6k cheaper than the Ranger for the same spec vehicle, must be different.
AnswerID: 470677

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:13

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:13
Do you think I would just throw these figures on here with out do some research on the matter.
From Carpoint XLT Ranger 3.2 auto best I can find is $59K the BT 50 XTR $54K, and I have a quote of $51,790 and the specs are 99% the same, the Mazda probably has more gear.
FollowupID: 745166

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:20

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:20
Hi Bruce

There are people getting them for very low 50k drive away (Ranger) on the Ford Forum. Might be worth negotiating with a dealer a bit???

Still haven't got mine. Last word was first week of December. One thing I like about the Mazda is all the accessories they have ready to fit from factory...UHF, Dual batteries etc. Check them out on youtube. You might have to Google.

Terry
FollowupID: 745169

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:27

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 20:27
Thanks Terry, waiting for both companies to get autos in so Annie can take one for a test drive. The auto I drove from Mazda was their demo up from Melbourne, had the silly alloy bar on it. But yeh they do have a good choice of extras where the Ford is a little behind.
I am sure the Ranger will come down in price and the one thing with Ford is I can buy a dual cab XL with an alloy tray with an auto, where I cannot in the Mazda. Hope you get yours soon mate.
FollowupID: 745170

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 21:32

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 21:32
Isuzumu, If you can buy the Mazda for $6k cheaper than the Ranger then Ford are looking very silly aren't they? Everyone should buy the Mazda. Seriously and typically the vehicles are usually different spec, if thats not the case you've answered your own question and don't need the Ford to compare.

In reality Isuzumu they are more than 99% different as you say, I suggest you do your research a little better. Now read on, there's plenty thats different when it comes to the car in total.

Quote Drive Comparison "The Mazda and Ford utes share about 85 per cent of their parts but some clever styling touches help set them apart. Outside, the main differences are front panels, bonnet, headlights, grille and bumpers. Inside, the dashboard and console are the same in the Ford and Mazda but the ignition keys, steering wheels and gearknobs are different.

The Mazda's engine and gearbox are identical to the Ford but in our experience the performance is vastly different. In our 0 to 100kmh test (four people on-board, full tank, slightly uphill) the diesel BT-50 stopped the clocks at 13.2 seconds - two seconds quicker than the Ford. We put it down to the fact that the two-door Mazda is about 100kg lighter than the four-door Ford and the Mazda had travelled more than twice the kilometres of the Ford before it got to us, so the engine may have been more willing.

The biggest difference, though, is the steering feel. Perhaps the Mazda's lighter weight contributes to the improvement, or perhaps Mazda has tuned its steering differently, but judging by the cars tested, the Mazda feels better. The Mazda's brakes were also more reassuring, though we can probably put this down to either the Mazda going through a better running-in process or perhaps the Ford Ranger experienced some abuse before it reached our hands.

The Mazda's not perfect, though. We subjected our back seat testers to our road loop and they emerged to report that the back bench should be used only in emergencies. Two small cushions on the floor and two on the back wall of the cabin provide little comfort. And while there are lap-sash seatbelts for the two rear occupants, there is nothing in the way of head protection. If the Mazda were hit hard from behind, it's likely the back bench passengers would hit their heads on the rear window.

Given that Mazda has a strong focus on safety with its passenger car range (head-protecting curtain airbags are available either as standard or as an option on most of its hatchbacks and sedans) it's unusual that the company has chosen not to make seat-mounted side airbags available on the BT-50 (they're standard on the Ford Ranger XLT).

Another point to note: the Mazda dual-cab's price is $2440 cheaper than the almost identical Ford but the Mazda works out only $580 cheaper once the $1862 charge for air-conditioning is included.

FollowupID: 745178

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 09:44

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 09:44
TerraFirma,

Of course they would find differences as they compared a 2 door model BT50 with a 4 door Ranger.

How about finding a comparo that actually compare the same designation of vehicles ie 4 door vs a 4 door.

FollowupID: 745202

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 10:44

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 10:44
I was going to say something along those lines as well Kev, but though I would be wasting my time, so thanks mate.
FollowupID: 745204

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:16

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:16
My point was that they are not 99% the same vehicle are they.? Anyway the review reads to me that the Mazda is possibly the better buy and Isuzumu got better prices on the Mazda so at the end of the day if he can't get the Izuzu Dmax the Mazda is the obvious choice.
FollowupID: 745206

Reply By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:51

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 22:51
I said it months ago, and i'll say it again.

The new BT50 and Ranger are going to change the game forever.

They will be what all others are judged against.

These days honestly, WHY would you buy a Hilux, Triton or Navara?

The Amarok, BT50 and Ranger are the only dual cabs worth the dollars these days.
AnswerID: 470702

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:00

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:00
The whole lot of them are show Ponies!!,..Go like the clappers,..good for mum and the kids,.....But as far as a robust tough As" vehicle goes...You still can't go past the Patrol, Landcruiser, & Landrover for a all terrain tough vehicle.

FollowupID: 745205

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:38

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 11:38
Why would you buy a Hilux? Now thats humerous. The Hilux you are comparing was introduced in 2005 and your comparing it to vehicles introduced in 2011. Simply the Hilux is the biggest selling 4x4 utility vehicle of all time Muntoo and neither the Ford nor the Mazda nor the VW are going to change that. To beat the Hilux you have to establish a reputation for reliability, not bells and whistles & KW's. Don't listen to me though, listen to the people that make the Hilux the biggest seller, the customers.!
FollowupID: 745207

Follow Up By: GimmeeIsolation - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 12:30

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 12:30
Called into VW dealer Monday to have a gander at the Amarok. They did have more elbow room to sit in than the Jappas and are roomier inside. More grunt coming early next year with the Auto plus single cab and tray back.
Had several in the yard ready to go to the mines in the Pilbara which was a surprise considering they use to buy Hilux as standard.
Evidently chose them over the over the Jappas due to the extra safety features and the more car like driving experience. The dealer can deliver them with ARB Steel Bullbar, offroad rims, whatever tyres you like, spotties, winch, etc.
The 8 speed auto coming has a very low first for towing/offroad. Normal use has it taking off in second. Cannot take the power specs for gospel when comparing as the 8 speed will keep you in the torque range and the 0 - 100 kms/h times seem to back this up. Already power chips available and some VW dealers are downloading software for more grunt again with warranty intact. Standard of finish looked much better than the Jappas and the seats certainly were. I do not own one, just looking around what is out there. They all seem like a quality downgrade from my fully specd D3 TDV6 which has not let me down despite what people think. No I dont want to get into a slanging match about how good Jappas are. Spending 30 years in Mining I drove them all and spent years delivering them across Australia - driving. They are not for me.
FollowupID: 745211

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 12:40

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2011 at 12:40
Thats good feedback Gimmee. There's no doubting the Hilux and the Navara are now dated in design and features however I'm sure they will release completely new models in the near future. I also agree that the seats are often overlooked, I spent big bucks on Recaro's for my Hilux which has transferred the vehicle dramatically in terms of comfort. You raise some very good points.
FollowupID: 745212

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:11

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 19:11
Some of the Pilbara mines have Great Walls mate, DO NOT think that because the mines have them they are good. Mines also have billions of dollars and full time mechanics.

But, mark my words,

The Amarok and BT50/Ranger are the best 4wd Dual Cab utes ever built.

Considering Mazda dont do fleet vehicles, i still reckon they will trump the Hilux within 3 years.

FollowupID: 745337

Reply By: snowman - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 00:26

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 00:26
The differences between the ranger and the bt 50 are

Ford ranger 4x4 xlt double cab pick up 3.2l product advantage
bedliner and 12v socket
sports bar
rain sensing wipers
privacy glass
3350 towbar and wiring
auto headlights
electrochromatic rear mirror
motion sensing/volumetric alarm
cooled console
reverse sensors
chrome grill
chrome side steps vs aluminium
extensive chrome exterior trim
tailgate lock
full underbody protection
heated and power fold exterior mirrors
battery management system

Mazda bt 50 4x4 xtr dual cab pick up 3.2l product advantage
satellite navigation

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 470785

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 06:42

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 06:42
Still does not add up to nearly $8K difference from the two quotes I have from each dealer. Also in the XL/XT variance which I can not find any difference the Mazda is $4045 cheaper. But thanks for showing the difference.
FollowupID: 745295

Follow Up By: snowman - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 07:07

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 07:07
I picked up my ranger yesterday, for less than what you where quoted for the bt 50 price.
There was a large price difference between the states, i live in south west Victoria and bought the ranger from Adelaide. They even delivered the ranger to me at no cost.

Cheers Dave
FollowupID: 745296

Reply By: Member - tdv - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 14:36

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 14:36
Bruce

There is a write up at drive.com.au today with the BT-50 winning the ute of the year over the Ranger and Amarok. Seems they couldn't split the Ranger and BT except for price really. They did admit the Ranger has more fruit for the dollars but reckon even if you option them in the price doesn't match. They failed to add a few extras into their costings though including the tow pack that is standard on the Ranger but not on the BT.

Either way you can't go wrong, I just hope the Mazda styling grows on you :-)
AnswerID: 470817

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 15:08

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 15:08
Thanks for that Terry, one thing I noticed on the BT was the tow bar was a lot better looking than the one on the Ranger. So if you got one on the vehicle you would be looking else where for another lol.
FollowupID: 745329

Reply By: Member - Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:07

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:07
I stand corrected if my memory is wrong, but wasn't there a problem with chassis cracking caused by too much load behind the rear wheels an the BT50's. A quick search didn't bring anything up, but I thought that there was a post here a few months ago.

Des.
AnswerID: 470823

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:55

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 17:55
totally new vehicle Des do not think anyone would have had time to wreck one yet lol
FollowupID: 745332

Reply By: SaintlySteve - Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 24, 2011 at 23:29

I'm new to the forum. I was eagerly anticipating the release of the new BT50/Ranger range of utes. What I'm really after is a diesel single cab with an automatic transmission 4x2 or 4x2 hi-rider. A basic workhorse, but once again if I want an auto I'll have to buy a dual cab 4x4 and spend well in excess of $50k, which I'm not going to do.
I can't understand why they don't offer the auto across the range.
I live in the western suburbs of Sydney and most of my work is usually in the city which on a good day takes an hour and a half of bumper to bumper traffic to get to, so I want an auto.

Who does the market research for these clowns. They could get so many more tradies buying them just by offering an auto even if they do charge a premium for it.

Looks like I'll have to go for the Triton or stick with my trusty LPG Falcon ute.
AnswerID: 470857

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 07:16

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 07:16
I was told by a Ford salesman that I could get an EX in Super Cab in auto with an alloy tray. But your right about their research into what people want.
FollowupID: 745386