Gas Cylinder Testing

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 11:58
ThreadID: 91469 Views:10578 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Have a 10 year old 9kg gas cylinder that isn't leaking but needs to be checked/tested before i can refill it. Before I go the expense of getting it tested etc, wondering if anyone has done this lately and how much it usually costs. Got a feeling it may be cheaper to buy a new cylinder.

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:20

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:20
The easiest and cheaperst way it to just swap it over for a full bottle at a 'Swap n Go'. Some will say they will not accept an out of date cylinder but I have never seen anyone check the date or had one knocked back.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

AnswerID: 476048

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:45

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:45
Yep, Same here, 2 years ago i took a bottle in that was well & truly out of date and rusty around the valve, the Servo owner mentioned the date, he said it doesn't matter. Handed me a brand New bottle that i have had refilled a few times.
About 40 odd bucks, the price varies from place to place, seen as low as $27.

FollowupID: 751064

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:57

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:57
Are the Swap-n-Go bottles the right grade for caravanning? Or are they only suitable for home barbecues?

FollowupID: 751066

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:16

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:16
Hi Motherhen
Is there a difference? I thought there was only one australian standard for all gas bottles, not a separate one for caravans and BBQ's.
I understand that gas bottles are available with different outer surface coatings but have not seen any regulations stating that what must be used where.
Please correct me if wrong.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

FollowupID: 751068

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:39

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:39
Hi Chris - you're partly right -

Australian Gas Bottle Standards

In Australian Standard AS 2469 - 2005, the categories which are stamped (numbers 1 to 4) in a circle on the top of the cowall surrounding the valve assembly on gas bottles are as follows:

1 Hot Dip Galvanizing

2 Abrasive blasted + inorganic zinc rich coating + organic zinc rich coating.

3 Sprayed Zinc Coating

4 Red oxide or polyester powder coat.

The numbers refer to the rust proofing treatment of the steel, not the thickness of the steel. Obviously, the thickness of the treatment will vary eg hot dip galvanising is thicker than powder coating.

The Australian Standard requires all gas bottles manufactured in carbon steel to have a wall thickness of 1.75 mm and be tested to a minimum pressure of 320 Mpa.

The only exception is gas bottles manufactured in stainless steel are to have a wall thickness of 1.5 mm, and be tested to a minimum pressure of 360 MPa.

Stainless steel would probably be the best for caravan usage, but they are likely to be quite expensive. So, when exchanging gas bottles, the number 1 in the circle should be preferred. The number 2 bottles should be the minimal treatment for caravan usage. The number 3 and the powder coated type with number 4 in the circle should be restricted to home use.

Mh

FollowupID: 751070

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:41

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:41
Have a look HERE for the appropriate code for your lpg cylinder's use.

When my bottles get close to out dating I go with the Swap & Go replacements , but make the effort to select a bottle with the correct code, and one with a recent manufacture date stamp. I don't just let the attendant hand me any one.
FollowupID: 751071

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:45

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:45
G'day MH....beat me by a whisker LOL Wish I could send some of this rain your way.
FollowupID: 751072

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:35

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:35
HI Fred

Hope your not needing webbed feet and floaties over there. I'll take a "raincheck" for May-June and onwards thanks.

Mh

FollowupID: 751074

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:54

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:54
Nice one guys.

The very first bottle that I swapped was an empty 5 year old of mine for a full out of date bottle from the swap shop. I was a bit thoughtless and did not see the date until I had used it a few times. It's people like that service station owner and those that hand over out of date bottles that make my blood boil. This bottle that I ended up with was refused when I took it back. The bloke had all the right in the world to do so as the seal had been broken. My fault.

We took it to the local LPG depot and got it emptied, tested, dated and filled again.

Luckily we were not somewhere remote.

You live and learn.

FollowupID: 751076

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 10:10

Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 10:10
The servo owner is not to blame. he hands his empties to the delivery truck and takes his replacements.
The servo owner should mark the empty ones that are oit of date so the company can take the appropriate action.

Pays to check though ...
Bill B

FollowupID: 751119

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 10:25

Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 10:25
You may be right there mate.

The lesson is to check when buying.

We have two that are almost full and way inside the date limit. These days we do not use the high pressure bottles. Where do you carry then? A real nuisance. We use those small low pressure cylinders. At least you are allowed to carry them in the car and on the trains. We changed when we went to the Kimberley and took the car up on the train. Technically LPG bottles are not allowed in the car when on the GSR trains. That's when we changed and haven't gone back. Heaps less weight in the car also including less weight for the stoves.

FollowupID: 751122

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:55

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:55
Yes, it worked out just a bit cheaper for us to get a new bottle. We had to get it there and then and pay the price asked as they wouldn't fill our out of date bottle. It is not just checking - they replace the seals. Not that many months after we'd got the new on and dispensed with the old, i went to change over to the second (original) bottle and when turning it on, i could feel gas squirting out so couldn't use it and had to get another new bottle - so it seems seals to have a use-by date much in line with the 10 years. If you have the opportunity and time to shop around, you'll probably pick up a new bottle cheaper again. I wanted to stay with the old ones as they were a perfect fit. Even measuring the new ones, they seems the same, but are a just a bit different to each other and the originals.

AnswerID: 476051

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:58

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:58
Bought a caravan last year. "86 Vicount" Still had the original bottle on the front with gas! Took it to "swap and go" no probs at all. It was out of date by 15yrs.
AnswerID: 476052

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:27

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:27
Of course 'Swap and Go" bottles are 8.5kg not 9.0 kg and are slightly smaller in physical size - you still pay the 9.0 price to fill them up.

Garry
AnswerID: 476055

Reply By: Member - bill f (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:50

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 13:50
Have exchanged out of date ones 3 times now . All are now new ones but saw a notice at the local place that there is a surcharge on out of date bottles. Also have found two different sizes. Some are slightly squatter & fatter than the others & so willnot fit into the carrier on the van. A pain when the full one on the barbie can't be taken on a trip. Another job to do before next trip. Bill
AnswerID: 476056

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:58

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 14:58
I have had two experiences where swapn'go has leaked out over night because of faulty taps. They are 8.5kg not 9kg.
When my bottles are out of date my local gas company inspects, new tap and 9kg refill $44.
Our local 'Fishing tackle australia' refills for $19.50 9kg. but the bottle must be in good condition ie. no rust. I do rub down and repaint when neccessary.
All for your safety.
It pays to keep your gas containers in good nik and clean and well maintained.
They have been known to catch fire and they take no prisoners.
If a full gas bottle goes up it will expand in volume by about 760 times.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 476060

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:48

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:48
Expands 272 times ,,, http://www.elgas.com.au/welcome-to-elgas/common-questions..
760 is a LOT of gas.
FollowupID: 751095

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:49

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:49
http://www.elgas.com.au/welcome-to-elgas/common-questions
FollowupID: 751097

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 20:52

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 20:52
My mistake Desray your right it is helium with a 1/760 expansion ratio oxygen is even higher.But the radiant heat from LPG is amongst the highest.
For those that are interested Google BLEVE there is some good youtube footage on boiling liquid gas explosions.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 751103

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 18:08

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 18:08
Throw it in the bin and buy a new one $36 in Big W,,, problem fixed!!! Michael

AnswerID: 476075

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:48

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:48
Hi Michael,
I took particular notice of the grade of the gas bottles for general sale in Big W some months back and they were grade 4. The cheapest and nastiest ones you can get.

On the other hand their swap and go ones were grade 2. I thought "put that one in the back of your head Bruce for future reference".

I have swapped good grade one bottles in the past for grade 2 because they were out of date before I found out about the grades on this site. Now I check them as the grade 2 bottles do rust after a while.

As a personal preference I would have tested a grade 1 bottle rather than swap it away, so to speak.
Grade 1 bottles are not that easy to come by from my experience whereas once they were the only ones available.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 751094

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:52

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 19:52
Hi Hate The City,

If it is a good galvanised bottle, a grade 1, then I would advise you get it tested and stamped for another 10 years, you will be better off in the long run.
Good bottles are hard to come by and the testing expense is worth it in my opinion.

Cheers, Bruce.

At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 476079

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 21:01

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 21:01
Hi Bruce.
A gal bottle is certainly the way to go.
Vince

FollowupID: 751104

Reply By: Member - Gordon T (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 23:25

Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 at 23:25
I am just about to have 2 x 4.5 kg galv bottles re-sealed for the second time - they are Grade 1 and in excellent condition. Last time (nearly 10 years ago) I had that done it cost me $32 each - about the price at the time for cheapie 4 - 4.5 kg models. I reckon my current (aged) bottles are worth being re-sealed and that way I know the quality of the cylinders is A1. The only problem with owning your cylinder is that refill locations are becoming fewer in favour of swap and go -particularly at servos - so it is a matter of making sure that when one of my 4 kgs becomes empty I get it refilled quickly to avoid being out of gas. There is now no refiller in my town and I need to get my cylinders refilled when I am next in the adjoining country city.
AnswerID: 476083

Reply By: new boy - Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 11:17

Friday, Jan 27, 2012 at 11:17
My little BBQ bottle is being test this week $25 at the local dive shop which has a test facility. New at BCF and Bunning bottle $33 to $35 .
AnswerID: 476103