Nissan must of lost a lot of sales to Toyota with Cab Chassis"s

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 21:30
ThreadID: 91603 Views:6269 Replies:13 FollowUps:26
Before the 4.2l Diesel was fazed out Nissan seemed to have healthy sales with their cab chassis,with tradies especially, Now your lucky to see a new Nissan tray back!, around here anyway , its obvious the 3.0l wasn't a attractive substitute,....shame as to look at the Nissan was and still is a more robust and roomier vehicle., than the Toyo., IMHO..They should have sourced a competitive engine and kept the competition on,....Toyo have it all to them selves now,in this catergory.....Have a drive down the main st of Goondiwindi on a friday afternoon,you will see what i'm on about ..lol.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:00

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:00
Axle!! Its really hard to believe that Nissan or Renault couldn't build or source a decent 6 cylinder engine to replace the 4.2 td donk.. And to think they continue with that unreliable 3 litre 4 cylinder. How they sell anything at all in the Patrol range now that the 3 litre is it only engine available is beyond me.. This is my second purchased new, GU 4.2 and if i was thinking to replace my current ageing 4.2, i would buy a Toyota 200 series diesel, regardless of the improvements made to the 3 litre motor, I just couldnt bring myself to buy a 3 litre Patrol.. Michael

AnswerID: 476623

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:54

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:54
At least with Nissan in the race there was some healthy competition.
There is only the Defender now in the big ute class and no one really wants to got there if they are serious about a work ute.
AnswerID: 476629

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 09:56

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 09:56
Mercedes are looking at introducing the G-Wagon ute they sold to the Army to compete against the 70 series.
FollowupID: 751767

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 14:01

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 14:01
Yes ,I thought about that one after I posted,lets hope it takes off.

FollowupID: 751797

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:06

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:06
That Merc ute is pretty ugly and could be mistaken for a Grewta Wall if the grill badge was missing.. I read somewhere that the Mec G wagon was $160,000... Yike, is that right!! It is still the same shape as it was 30 years ago!! Michael.

FollowupID: 751813

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:07

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:07
OOOPPS Great Wall i mean!!

FollowupID: 751814

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 18:37

Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 18:37
The army has already bought a heap of G wagons, both 4 x 4 and 6 x 6 utes, parked next to a Landrover, The G wagon look smaller.

Shane
FollowupID: 751938

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:56

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 22:56
Axle,
I like your post. As a person who has owned and still does own a Toyota I am going to answer your post.

I don't have one eye and I also believe in brands competing for top dog in the market place. It is a shame Renault have demolished all the work Nissan did bringing their vehicles up to the level of the Tojo's. Before anyone gets up me for what I have said I will give an explanation. The Toyotas earned their rep from places like Bougainville, New Guinea, stations and mining. The Nissans were up there but the main problem then was their weight and rusting bodies. They had the best gearboxes and diffs in the business. Have seen them tried underground but all the mines went back to Toyota at that time due to chassis's, bodies and parts.

The 3l Patrol has dragged them down and down and down from the issue of reliability and warranty (remember mines don't get warranty and all the cost is born by them.)

Exploration have 3 at work. Cost!!! 1 engine and one blown turbo and electrical problems for very little work done by the utes. Where I worked they had problems with the V8 Toyotas until they installed low water alarms (all these electronics and they still don't come with something that simple). They still don't like the V8's as they don't need that power and where the a/c's and alternators are mounted causes bulk problems. Last night on nightshift I drove one through an underground puddle twice with the water over the bonnet and it will be only a matter of time before the alternator or a/c compressor. Before anyone says I have done this a heap of times with my V8 cruiser and have no problems. The water I am talking about would rust gold.

Yes!!! Toyotas fail and have problems but the reason mines and stations pick them is they have less problems which equates to less $

At the moment with the price of Toyotas starting to bite they are looking around at other products. As the head of Light vehicles said to me. Nissans will not be looked at.

These are facts and I am not a one eyed Toyota owner.

Have a good one,
RA.

AnswerID: 476630

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:47

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:47
Don't blame Renault for the ZD30 debacle, it's a Nissan engine.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 751751

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:59

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:59
Andrew,
thanks for that info. I always believed Renault was to blame.

Nissan always made good engines and I guess someone screwed up. Who ever owns them (Renault) are not backing the product they bought and the engine is still around.

Renault have owned them for a number of years and the problem goes on with no warranty. That is if you don't fight tooth and nail.

RA.
FollowupID: 751752

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 12:07

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 12:07
That's interesting Andrew. I was under the impression that the original engine was Nissan made and they fixed them but the later engines are Renault and they continue to have problems. Are you able to clarify any further?

A
FollowupID: 751781

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:01

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:01
G/Day RA, You see it all first hand, lol.....But The market is wide open for a heavy duty 4x4 ute the same size and spec as the other two, As you say Toyota pricing is a worry, it will be interesting to see what comes to the market in another five years?

cheers Axle
FollowupID: 751791

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 16:32

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 16:32
Axle,
you must get yourself one of these. It is the latest from Toyota with the new fuel efficient Black Shadow Engine. Ran well until last friday night when it' flame went out.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 751808

Reply By: turbo 79series - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:35

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 23:35
Just bought a new 76 series wagon should have waited now that toyota are bringing out a dual cab land cruiser.
AnswerID: 476636

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:58

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:58
This story about a forth coming dual cab has been around awhile,any proof?
FollowupID: 751795

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 20:40

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 20:40
If they did they wouldn't be able to keep up with demand. Where can I order one.

The main problem with the car industry is they are not making cars that people want. Putting a 3lt engine in a large unit like the patrol was always going to be a problem.

FollowupID: 751839

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 22:38

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 22:38
Yes I'm a member of LCOOL pictures there of a dual cab land cruiser ute.Should be coming to Australia at the end of the year
FollowupID: 751862

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 23:32

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 23:32
There were some photos taken in a middle eastern country of dual cab Landcruisers. This was a couple of years ago if I remember rightly. They had a "well body" or "tub" for the ute and a rear step that could have doubled as an extra seat. The photos were posted on another forum I think. From memory there were also photos of the mid wheelbase which was discontinued here in about 1990.
I will try to see if I can find them.

FollowupID: 751867

Reply By: Member - Corrugate75 - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 06:55

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 06:55
G'day Axle,
I agree. I've got the 4.2 Ute (which I traded in a LandCruiser for and the thing has awesome torque - we pull a 6 tonne swather tractor around during harvest and the 4.2 is a excellent tow vehicle. But after owning 3.0L wagon, I won't be buying a 3.0L ute when this one is due for a change.
In my opinion, while turbos and intercoolers are good, you can't beat cubic capacity!
Corrugate
AnswerID: 476642

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 10:28

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 10:28
No replacement for displacement
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

FollowupID: 751769

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 16:33

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 16:33
Corrugate! The ute benefits from a lower diff ratio than the wagon. The 4.2 is still a great engine! Michael

FollowupID: 751809

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 07:32

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 07:32
Hi Axle,

I liked the old 4.2lt patrol. It was a solid ute with good motor, suspension and diffs. The greenies put a stop to it with the pollution standards.

Its not good to have no competition it makes companies lazy.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 476643

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 08:46

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 08:46
I am pleased that the middle son did not wait. He got a 2008 4.2td Patrol. I think it is a GU! Always mix them up.

Personally we have a 100. The comments about competition may well be true. Without it I also worry that Toyota may drop some of theirs. If we ever need a replacement then this possibly lowering of standards is a worry. One reason we got the 100 instead of the Patrol was the slightly longer rear allowing us to comfortably sleep in the back lengthwise when all "extra" seats were removed. It was that close.

AnswerID: 476646

Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 10:44

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 10:44
Hi Axle,

Thread 91567 touched on this very issue. In my reply 9 of 15 (Hmmm reminds me of a Star Trek series...no that was 7 of 9 yum) I laid out why a mate of mine bought a 6 cyl NA Patrol trayback diesel over the equivilant Landcruiser. For $10,000 less who wouldn't. Now I am a current Toyota owner and most of my 4WD's have been of this marque but if I was to have been in the market when both of these brands had 6 cyl NA and Turbo diesels Mr Toyota would have had to have put a hell of a lot sharper point on his pencil to convince me buy his product. I personally wouldn't consider the 3.0lt Patrol and I must admit that apart from the grunt factor I have reservations about the Toyota V8. Geeze...I might have to go and have a look at a Landrover....think I will keep my old banger for a while...lol

AnswerID: 476652

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 12:51

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 12:51
Pop, I'm still amazed other companys haven't bought out a cab chassis the same spec as Toyota and Nissan, Even the wagons!, I'm sure mitsubishi could

come up with something, The Paj is very good but why not go head to head with the other two.

FollowupID: 751790

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:21

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 13:21
Hi Pop

What series was 7 of 9 in , I thought Voyager which runs on TV here but she hasn't shown up yet , and I'm sure I would have noticed ?

Axle - I thought the ford ranger cab chassis matched the Nissan in most specs ?

FollowupID: 751793

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 14:30

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 14:30
Axle,
The Mitsubishi, Mazda, Nissan Navara, Toyota Hilux (have I missed any) all make what is rated as a 1 tonne 4x4 AFAIK. These vehicles although quite capable in their own right do not fall into the same category as Landcruisers, Patrols and yes even the venerable Landrover IMHO. I am sure any of these manufacturers would or should have the technical and financial resources to build a serious competitor for Landcruisers but for reasons best known to themselves choose not to.

Robin,
Yes, getting a little OT here but I am sure that any red blooded male with even a shred of the required chromosome count would have noticed if 7 of 9 was wandering around in that second skin that passed as a uniform. I don't think she made an appearance in Voyager but she was certainly there when Captain Picard (spelling?) was having a wee problem with the Borg.

FollowupID: 751800

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:06

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:06

7of 9 becomes a member of Voyager towards the end of the first season, maybe the begining of the second. She becomes separated from the borg in the delta quadrant, and Janeway takes her under her wing in an effort to become normalised.

FollowupID: 751812

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:28

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 17:28
"Normalised" hey, wonder if any help is needed (;-0)

FollowupID: 751816

Reply By: Jim* - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 19:00

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 19:00
I have to agree with others regarding Nissan’s slide in reputation, which is disappointing.

I also own a GU Patrol that’s getting on in years and high in km’s - (the third Nissan I’ve owned) and there’s no doubt my next 4WD will not be a Nissan - more’s the pity.

As to what I’ll buy next? I don’t know yet, but probably a Toyota.

We recently toured in some of the mining areas in WA and I was surprised at the number of Great Wall utes we saw.

They are not my type of vehicle, but as a work vehicle and if used mainly for local driving the bean counters in mining companies must see a serious advantage in about a third of the upfront price of other vehicles.

The same situation would arise for a tradie wanting a ute for local work.
At a much lower initial outlay you’d have to seriously watch for reports (good or bad) about the Great Wall and size them up.

Jim
AnswerID: 476681

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 20:38

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 20:38
Jim,

Yeah, don't know how good or bad the Great Wall brand will be in the mining sector, or anywhere else for that matter, but just maybe it is a case of "I'll buy your iron ore, copper, nickle or whatever if you buy my vehicles, very cheap, very nice".
It's a great arrangement, we sell them the ore at $200 a tonne and buy the finished product for $20,000 a tonne, although I'm sure the miners wont pay anything like that price. Everyone is a winner.

FollowupID: 751837

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 21:34

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 21:34
Sure, Nissan have put in a bad motor and lost sales.
But Toyota make some average decisions too - they release the FJ Cruiser without a diesel motor (but this vehicle has no competition); they never had a TD/rigid axle in the 100series.... etc etc

But I like the way things have evolved. My 2002 TD traytop cost me $41k in 2004. After 8 years of ownership, its currently worth $35k thanks to Nissan's incompetence, Toyota's incompetence (teething probs with the V8) and the mining boom! The HDJ79 might go down in history as being the best of the traytops ever built?

I say don't change a thing :-)

AnswerID: 476704

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 21:42

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 21:42
Forgot to add that the Nissan Cab Chassis always had a tarnished reputation because of its weak chassis (when abused) - the coil cabs bent the towers and the leaf sprung versions cracked forward of the front hangers. Toyotas beat them in this regard but the smart Nissan 4.2 enthusiasts (and I've known a few) would get the chassis reinforced before they fitted the tray.
FollowupID: 751848

Follow Up By: 158 - Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 00:05

Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 00:05

It Toyota released the FJ Cruiser with a diesel motor, would it be a HJ ... ?

FollowupID: 751868

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 08:09

Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 08:09
Yeah... "HJ Cruiser" with the 76Kw 2H motor :-))
FollowupID: 751881

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 22:23

Thursday, Feb 02, 2012 at 22:23
Nissan should have dumped the 3.0lt engine years ago, Even if the new 3.0 engine is good no one will by it because of the 3.0 reputation

They should have called it something else like 3.2 or something. They need to get away from the stigma of the old 3.0 engine.

Toyota have such a dominance in the ute market with the V8 Manual that I cant see anyone challenging them for some time. Some like the GWall may in the short term because of price, however will they stand up to the mining industry. I dont think so.

Wayne B
AnswerID: 476709

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 07:57

Friday, Feb 03, 2012 at 07:57
G/Day Wayne, The G/W is evidentley down on towing specs as well,... but for the price, ?

FollowupID: 751880

Reply By: robert s4 - Wednesday, Feb 15, 2012 at 16:38

Wednesday, Feb 15, 2012 at 16:38
could someone please tell me what is the problem with 3.0 litre patrols i have a 2007
AnswerID: 477853

Reply By: robert s4 - Wednesday, Feb 15, 2012 at 16:40

Wednesday, Feb 15, 2012 at 16:40
could someone please tell me what is the problem with 3.0 litre patrols i have a 2007
AnswerID: 477854