Reminisce favourite Aussie sayings

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:12
ThreadID: 92340 Views:5240 Replies:48 FollowUps:35
In rememberance of some of the wacky language that made up the Aussie venacular in a time before political correctness, we invite you to share and build this post into a list of Aussie sayings that you remember, or maybe still use!! Give a translation too if you can. For example, do you call a meat pie a "maggot bag?".

Try if you can to limit the number of crass sayings please, it would be more useful if the sayings you selected were clever, funny, and out of the gutter but it must be recognised that many of these "out of fashion" Aussie sayings went out of fashion just for being that - too inappropriate to be repeated in the mainstream (being created by farmers and people living a hard life that didn't have to worry about every word they said). But here you are invited to share and list the ones you think we should celebrate and remember.

WARNING: This post may contain pejoratives and disparaging innuendo that may offend. We take no responsibility for any offence taken by person reading the material that may be posted here.

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

Reply By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:27

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:27
One of my favourites is:
"As busy as a one-arm paper hanger with the crabs"
Others:
"A dry as dead dingo's donger"
"As funny as a turd in a punch bowl"

Sausage Roll: Battered Bog

I am sure your post will trigger an avalanche.

If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

AnswerID: 479617

Follow Up By: howesy - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:48

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:48
As busy as a one legged man in an ar$e kicking contest.
FollowupID: 755130

Follow Up By: the_fitzroys - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:53

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:53
As busy as a Beirut bricklayer.
Lou
FollowupID: 755131

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:37

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:37
"Going for a durry". Off for a smoke. Said this to the receptionist and all I got was a blank look.

"Dogs eye and dead horse". A pie and sauce thanks.

"Flat out like a lizard drinking water". Very busy.

"A slice of bread short of a sandwich" and "Not the full quid". Not the brightest bloke in school to put it nicely.

"Fair suck of the sav mate". Stop pulling my leg and lying to me.

Over to the next one.

AnswerID: 479619

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:47

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 14:47
Useless as tits on a bull.

As ugly as a hat full of aresoles.

Face like a smashed crab.

AnswerID: 479620

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:34

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:34
Does a bear bleep in the woods.

Is the Pope a Catholic.

Has Howdy Doody got woulden balls.

More arse than a bus load of poofters.

Useless as an ashtray on a motorbike.

FollowupID: 755094

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:43

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:43
Thick as two planks.

Thick as a brick.

Dumb as dog bleep .

Face like the South end of a North bound camel.

FollowupID: 755095

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:49

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:49
Here's one for ya mate.

A powerful car/4wd truck.

It's got more pull than a 16 year old on a Saturday night.
FollowupID: 755102

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:02

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:02
Gday Hairs,
A few years ago at a restaurant a waitress came up to my 8 or 9 year old boy and asked if he would like some desert.......he answered

" na thanks mate, Im full as a fat laddies knickers!"

I dont know why, but the entire table turned an looked at ME. LOL
FollowupID: 755103

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:11

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:11
I got no idea why mate.
What on earth would give them that impression.

FollowupID: 755105

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:51

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:51
Hi Hairy

Here is another one for you

It's got that much power, it would not pull a greasy stick out of a dogs ass

FollowupID: 755110

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:36

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:36
No S*** Sherlock.
FollowupID: 755115

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:38

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:38
Hey Hairy,
Once knew.
a shelia that banged like a dunny door in a cyclone.

FollowupID: 755125

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:14

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:14
Stubby short of a six pack. - not all there or not really switched on
AnswerID: 479622

Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:35

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:35
As black as the inside of a cow.

So dark you couldn't hear a dog bark.

Flat as a s*#t carters hat.

Blow the milk out of your tea.

Pissin' down,like a tall cow on a flat rock.

FollowupID: 755124

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:27

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 15:27
septic tank = Yank = Citizen of the United states of America
AnswerID: 479623

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:02

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:02
Going back 47 years ago when we first came to Aus from England my parents had a real problem.
Had some furniture delivered and the delivery bloke said "see ya later" M&D wondered why he'd be coming back and stayed up late waiting. Dher

Other time invited to a party (Aussie hosts) and said to "bring a plate" Mum thought they were short of crockery so did just that took an empty plate.

An other one from that era.

See ya later alligator, in a while crocodile

AnswerID: 479626

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:13

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:13
Would know the difference between bleep and clay

Neither my arse nor my elbow

FollowupID: 755134

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:20

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:20
Beyond the black stump.

FollowupID: 755135

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:06

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:06
hA HA
My parents came over about that time and after their first day at work the shop got locked up and everyone said
See ya later

mum looked at dad and dad at mum and they wondered if they hadnt been listening

where were they meant to meet ? what time?
FollowupID: 755142

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 10:17

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 10:17
Hump day - Wednesday

Cough - f-off

Sorf - Piss off

Piss off early tomorrows Saturday

FollowupID: 755172

Follow Up By: landseka - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 10:32

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 10:32
"Piss off early tomorrows Saturday" is the punch-line to the saying.."hooray, today (Friday) is poets day...Piss off early tomorrows Saturday
FollowupID: 755173

Reply By: Nargun51 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:11

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:11
Some of my father’s expressions;

Such an old woman he sits down to pee

More cunning than an outhouse rat

Shot through like a rat up a drainpipe

Wouldn’t shout if a dog had him by the balls

Short arms, deep pockets

Done up like a pox doctor’s clerk

Mutton dressed up as lamb

Done up like the chief mourner at the Pope’s funeral

Putting on more side than a rat with a gold tooth

All ribs, p... and wind.

A face like the north end of a south bound camel

Shivering like a dog s... (poop) ing razor blades

Shaking like a dog after a flood

A cocky’s breakfast; a fart, a pee and a good look round

Tongue flapping like a flag in a storm.

A bob short of a pound.

A roo loose in the top paddock

Sticks like a turd to a blanket

And the last lucid comment he made 6 hours before he died

I’m buggered and a long way from home
AnswerID: 479631

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:30

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:30
Stone the crows, which means "My Goodness"

He took a Denny Hayser, which means "Had a spectacular fall" Lord knows who Denny Hays was??

Fair Dinkum, which means he's telling the truth

Furphy, which means it wasn't really true. Useage "It's a Furphy"

I think the origin of this was from the "Furphy water tanks used during the 1st world war when the diggers gathered around for water and a bit of a gossip.

AnswerID: 479633

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 08, 2012 at 10:10

Thursday, Mar 08, 2012 at 10:10
Where does "Furphy" come from? I am glad you asked.

It was actually the name of the manufacturers of a famous water cart made in the early 1900's. The presence of the cart in military camps in Australia during the First World War led to the name of Furphy becoming an indelible part of our language. The carts were typically placed near the latrine area, the only place in the camp where soldiers were out of the controlling eye of their officers allowing them the freedom to express their thoughts on the latest news and to tell the odd "tall story".

Hence the connection to telling stories and pork pies.

FollowupID: 755296

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:38

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:38
As happy as a one legged man at an ***** kicking competition.

When ya have your first beer after a hard days work
"That went down quicker than a cheap Hooker"

Couldn't get a root in a brothel.

He's got a head only a mother could love.

He's got a head for radio.

I've seen better heads over a **** trough.

If I had a dog and it looked like you, I'd shave it's ***** and teach it walk backwards.

An attractive woman,
" She's not a bad drop".
She'd put a horn on a jelly fish.

AnswerID: 479634

Reply By: Robtbob NSW - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:49

Blisters- some one who appears when the work is done
The Judge- some one who sits on a case when there is work to do
Don't come swinging your arms- Bring some thing with you when you come
AnswerID: 479637

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:28

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:28
Knock with your elbows.

See 3 above.

FollowupID: 755154

Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 16:49

How do you confuse an Irishman, or Pom, or Kiwi, or Ozi depending on those present

Lean 3 shovels against the wall and tell him to take his pick
AnswerID: 479638

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:53

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:53
As sharp as a pound of wet leather

A sandwich short of a picnic

A shilling short of a pound

As popular as a pork chop in a synogogue

As smooth as a baby's bum

Flash as a rat with a gold tooth

Like a rat up a drainpipe

As cunning as a ****house rat

AnswerID: 479646

Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:44

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:44
Popular as a fart in a phone box.

He keeps popping up, like a turd that won't flush.

More front than Myers.

As handy as a small pot.

Not the sharpest in the drawer.
FollowupID: 755127

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:55

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:55
I love a good snot block ( vanilla slice)

AnswerID: 479647

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:34

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:34
Hey Muz,
Have you every had Shaggers back?
Or see a few wooly woofers?

I do know the old lady next door is Captain Rats.
Maybe I'm being as silly as a wheel.

FollowupID: 755109

Reply By: Time - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:59

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:59
From a Taxi driver on an Andrew Denton show,

"As bind as a welders dog"
AnswerID: 479648

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:59

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 17:59
Wouldn't know if his arse was on fire - not very smart
If your aunty had balls she'd be your uncle - in answer to a useless "what if"
So unlucky if he fell into a bucket of tits he'd come up sucking his thumb - very unlucky
AnswerID: 479649

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:04

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:04
Grinning like a cow chewing prickles and
Grinning like a tin of worms going fishing

are two favourites of mine

but so is, the following when observing a specimen of the opposite sex from afar and then once closer......

She was good from far, but far from good!

AnswerID: 479652

Follow Up By: landseka - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:59

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:59
"See ya Tuesday"..= hoo roo = goodbye

"I'll knock you into the middle of next week" = "I'll smack you!"
FollowupID: 755111

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:43

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:43
Hey Bonz,
It was that cold it was a three dog night and the wind blew that hard it blew a dog off it's chain.
FollowupID: 755126

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:45

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 20:45
hahah

Wouldnt shouot if a shark bit him!!

Lol Thats Kev!

FollowupID: 755128

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:00

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:00
As tight as a Fish's Arse.
FollowupID: 755132

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:50

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 18:50
a few more,

"bewdy bottla" nice
"bonza" happy with that
"grouse" really nice
"takes an hour 'n a half to watch 60 minutes - a bit slow! - where I live!
"hoo roo" see ya later, my favourite sign off!

The naughty 4 letter word came from the first letter of each word of a criminal charge from the early days, the charge was "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" probably one of the most popular words in the world today!!
more to come! hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 479654

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:25

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:25
G'day again,
"G'day" - my favourite sign on = hello - good morning - good afternoon - good anything, probably the most adaptable saying for anyone to say to break the ice for any reason! just to say hello!

"two bobs worth" just your opinion.
hoo roo,

FollowupID: 755114

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:51

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:51
'n again' n' again!
"you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear!"
you can't make something good out of something bad!
hoo roo

FollowupID: 755117

Reply By: tony&bron - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:13

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:13
as croock as roockwood cemetary-----sick
running around like a chook with its head cut off
mad as a cut snake
AnswerID: 479657

Reply By: Mark R - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:32

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:32
Yeah, my dad also used to say "stone the crows" often. Also "starve the lizards" with the same meaning as above "my goodness" though they were said with a bit more of an edge than would ever be implied with "my goodness", more like "that's amazing".

Also "it's so dry the trees are chasing the dogs".

Also "well, bugger me".
AnswerID: 479658

Reply By: Nickywoop - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:40

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:40
"You can't make strawberry icecream out of pig bleep "

As in an old lady dressed as a teenager.

Down on your luck,

"If it was raining virgins, I'd pickup a poofter, with his bleep sewn up"

Better not give any more, might get barred!!

NICK
AnswerID: 479660

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:57

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 19:57
I'll snot ya! Means I'll punch you in the nose.

Do as your told or, I'll rip your left arm off and beat ya to death with the soggy end.

FollowupID: 755118

Reply By: louie the fly - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:11

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:11
My old pop had some cracker sayings. When it was real dark it was "as black as a dog's guts". One time I helped him paint his pigeon house. He reckoned the paint job had "more runs that Bradman".

Of course there's the open the Integrated Adjective by John O'Grady.

Integrated Adjective

I was down on Riverina, knockin' round the towns a bit,
An' occasionally restin' with a schooner in me mitt;
An' on one of these occasions, when the bar was pretty full
An' the local blokes were arguin' assorted kind o' bull,
I heard a conversation, most peculiar in its way,
Because only in Australia would you hear a joker say,
Where yer bloody been, yer drongo? 'Avent seen yer fer a week;
An' yer mate was lookin' for yer when 'e come in from the creek;
'E was lookin' up at Ryan's an' around at bloody Joe's,
An' even at the Royal where 'e bloody never goes.
An' the other bloke said, 'Seen'im. Owed 'im 'alf a bloody quid.
Forgot ter give ut back to 'im; but now I bloody did.
Coulda used the thing me-bloody-self; been orf the bloody booze,
Up at Tumba-bloody-rumba shootin' kanga-bloody-roos.'

Now their voices were a little loud, an' everybody heard
The peculiar integration of this adjectival word.
But no one there was laughin', an' me I wasn't game,
So I stood around an' let 'em think I spoke the bloody same.
An' one of them was interested to ask 'im what he'd got -
How many kanga-bloody-roos he bloody went and shot -
An' the shootin' bloke said, 'Things are crook; the droughts too bloody tough;

I got forty-bloody-seven, an; that's good e-bloody-nough.'
An' this polite rejoinder seemed to satisfy the mob
An' everyone stopped listening an' got on with the job
Which was drinkin' beer and arguin'an' talkin' of the heat,
An' boggin' in the bitumen in the middle of the street;
But as for me, I'm here to say the interestin' news
Was Tumba-bloody-rumba shootin' kanga-bloody-roos.'

John O'Grady.
AnswerID: 479675

Reply By: Mark (Geelong) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:15

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:15
My Dad used to say

"he was as tight as a bulls arse in springtime
Mark (Geelong)

AnswerID: 479676

Reply By: Teejay - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:28

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:28
As a child I'd ask my Pop what certain things were in the shed on his dairy farm. His usual response was , "It's a wigwam off a Gooses Bridle".
AnswerID: 479682

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:38

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:38
Mad as a cut snake!

silly as a wet Hen

Useless as a C..full of cold water.

Not worth two bob

bleep as a parrot

Dead as a door nail

Axle.
AnswerID: 479685

Reply By: Giffo65 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:46

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:46
Teejay

My Father used the exact same saying.He also said, a blind man on a galloping horse could see that ! and busier than a one legged Grasshopper in a chicken coop.And when flipping a coin,"Heads I win ,Tails you loose !"
AnswerID: 479688

Reply By: SDG - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:53

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 21:53
As a kid my mother would always be complaining that my room looked like a bomb had gone off in it.

My old man was always going to see a man about a dog.
AnswerID: 479690

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:05

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:05
hey!! You lot,
Fair suck of the sav.

RA.
AnswerID: 479691

Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:34

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:34
As usefull as an ashtray on a motorbike
Meaning absolutely no use at all
Also....as helpfull as a hip pocket on a singlet....meaning roughly the same thing about some person or other

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

FollowupID: 755148

Reply By: NTVRX - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:47

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 22:47
When something didn't work or was broken...."It's Wallaby Ted's brother.....Roo Ted"!!

Someone that's is "Thick as two bricks" Low I/Q or "Tail light....not bright enough to be a head light"!!! or Sharp as a bowling ball!!

Someone that was pleased with themselves...."Happy as a dog with two dicks"!!!

Sand storm in Mildura...."This place is so sandy & dusty even the Crows fly backwards"

If a bloke was a thief....he was called....Hydraulic...."He's lift anything"

AnswerID: 479696

Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:18

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:18
It was so windy the dog had the same bleep 3 times!!!

AnswerID: 479700

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:36

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:36
Seen a car once that had more hits the Elvis.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 479701

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:41

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:41
I know a kid you would have to tie a sausage around his neck just to get the dog to play with him.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 755152

Reply By: TrevorDavid- Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:39

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2012 at 23:39
Hey mate I bet your arse is jealous..............bout the bleep coming out of your mouth

As tight as a fish swiming backwards.......now that's water tight.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 479702

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:05

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:05
Sharp as a bowling ball...

My mate has taken off with my Mrs...I'm gunna really miss him.............

4/5ths of 5/8's of F... A..

AnswerID: 479705

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:33

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:33
She'll be apples.

Especially if you're trying to get the site hit rate up LOL.
AnswerID: 479707

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:38

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 00:38
As flat as a bleep carter's hat.

Lower than a snake's belly in a wheel rut.

Darker than the inside of a dead bear's bum.

Not Aussie, but still good:
Does Dolly Parton sleep on her back?
Does a fish fart under water?
Are the Kennedys gun shy?

AnswerID: 479708

Follow Up By: Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:53

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:53
Some of our favourites are

Does Dolly Parton bleep in the woods?

Does a one legged pope swim in circles?

and one my (now deceased) wag of a neighbour used to use a lot was
" And my cock's a carrot" if someone told him a tall story!

It doesn't work all that well when I tell it although always gets a laugh!

Heather

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 755179

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 04:15

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 04:15
I gotta keep out of thais one !
Only get moderated

AnswerID: 479712

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 05:53

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 05:53
Someone with buck teeth.
He could eat an apple through a picket fence.

Does Jack Newton swim in circles?

Does the Pope wear a funny hat?

May your chooks turn into emus and kick your dunny down.

So stupid that he wouldn't know a tram was up him 'til the bell rang!

Ya bloody wombat

Another beer? Na, better hit the frog 'n toad.
AnswerID: 479715

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 06:43

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 06:43
AS a true born Cockney, many of those sayings are a derivative of Cockney slang and not truly Australian but funny all the same. Time to go up the Apples and pears and hit the sack.
AnswerID: 479718

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:47

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:47
Whatyatrynasay?? We're all convicts anyway ;)

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 755177

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 22:07

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 22:07
But I like the Australian adoptions:
Joe Blake for snake
Noah's Ark for shark
Billy lids for kids etc

and "he was so tight if he owned the ocean he wouldn't give you a wave".

"he was as full as the last tram".
FollowupID: 755263

Reply By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 08:14

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 08:14
Lets not forget all the pearly gems of the Australian rhyming slang.

Cheese and Kisses - Missus

Kev
AnswerID: 479721

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:46

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:46
Great, I was actually hoping to find a few more of these!

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 755176

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 12:46

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 12:46
Well now that I've had a little time to contemplate.

Dunny door - Commodore
Bag of fruit - Suit
Dog and bone - Phone
Noahs arks - Sharks
Young and frisky - Whiskey
Captain Cook - Look
Pat malone - alone
billy lid - kid
porkie pie - Lie

And some others:-
This arvo - This afternoon
Bloody oath - agreement
Don't get your knickers in a knot - Stay calm
Full as a goog - FOP - p1ssed - drunk
havin a naughty - self explanatory
your shout - Your turn to turn a round of drinks for your mates.

FollowupID: 755182

Reply By: poppygrumps1 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 08:18

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 08:18
Smells like the sh%thouse door on a prawn trawler
AnswerID: 479722

Reply By: Member - Matt M - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 09:10

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 09:10
It went down faster than a buck tooth groupy backstage at an AC/DC concert.

Sweatin' like a fat chick in the back seat of a Torana.
AnswerID: 479728

Reply By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:55

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 11:55
You little ripper!! Thanks for all your responses. Made for fascinating and funny reading.

Hoo roo,
Michelle

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 479742

Reply By: Penchy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 13:18

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 13:18
"are your arms and legs painted on?" - not working very hard
"dumb as a box of hammers" - not real sharp
"couldnt organise a root in a brothel" - not very well organised
"face like a dropped pie" - see "smashed crab" - not very good looking
"couldnt get a root in a brothel" - not good with the ladies
"give it the berries" - use some more acceleration
AnswerID: 479748

Reply By: wato35 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 15:40

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 15:40
There is a bloke we call "pot hole" avoid him at all costs.

AnswerID: 479757

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 16:24

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 16:24
As a CSM once shouted at me in the grunts....

"Son, if you're looking for sympathy, you'll find it between sh*t and syphilis in the dictionary'.

And the old shorthand for bank notes....

$5 - Pink Lady
$10 - Bluey
$20 - Lobster
$50 - Chinaman (not PC but it was what it was)
$100 - Blizzard
AnswerID: 479762

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 16:56

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 16:56
Dads' favourite, "Haven't got a brass razoo !" = Broke, no $$$.

Actually found one somewhere in a souvenir shop once, bought it, and gave it to him when visiting one year . . . eons ago : )
After he passed away years ago, sorting through stuff, I found it with his knick knacks, and it's now with my knick knacks in a drawer : )
AnswerID: 479767

Reply By: poitr - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 17:50

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012 at 17:50
I can remember these from my old man ;

Has a head on it like a busted dunny seat (= very ugly)
bleep a brick (= exclamation if you've hit your thumb with the hammer)
Don't come the raw prawn (= don't get smart with me)
Lard head & lard headed poppin-jay (= someone who was coming the raw prawn)
Jeepers creepers (= thats a surprise)
Dill (= not very smart)

Haven't laughed as much for a long time.
Cheers, Poitr
AnswerID: 479774

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 18:16

Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 18:16
I remember grandma,
" Ditto brother Smut"... same to you or same as you.
"Sorry is as sorry does" apologise & repair the damage.
Don't care, was made to care & don't care was hung" ..... Never quite 100% sure.
"Courage, Brother, do not stumble"..... go & do what you have to do & don't change your mind.
Not Grandma but,
Up & down like a yo yo.
"Up & down like a Harlots' pants....Something going up & down a lot.
Going like a Bondi Tram.....Speeding.

Good Idea, my 1st lot timed out so have kept the list short this time.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye for now Ma.
FollowupID: 755892

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 20:16

Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 20:16
"Brought up in the lift while the lift was in the basement." = no manners/education.

AnswerID: 480449

Reply By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 22:12

Thursday, Mar 15, 2012 at 22:12
A meat pie = a rat's coffin

Asparagus = gorilla snot

See ya
Longtooth
AnswerID: 480466