Camping in Grampians - Vic

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:44
ThreadID: 9294 Views:10189 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
G'day All,
Is there anywhere, ANYWHERE?, in the Grampians I can camp in January for a few days R & R where there won't be 3,000 ghetto blasting yobo's surrounding me.
Any thoughts would be appreciated. (Doesn't have to be IN Grampians, just near). Taking GU Patrol and small camper trailer, (not worried about trailer)
Rolande

Reply By: Gerry - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 09:46

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 09:46
Hi Rolande,
Last Christmas break the wife and I did the Grampians. We initially went into Halls Gap to see the Ranger who was extremely helpful and directed us to a fantastic, very lonely little campsite along the Glenelg River about 20km East of the Gap. We were there for 4 nights and didn't see a single soul. The other good part was that since it was considered a bush camp, no fees applied. Looking at some topo maps, I reckon it was pretty close to 37 deg 11.76 min S lon. 142 deg 20.36 min E lat. There was a dirt/grass airstrip nearby which was teeming with 'roos every sunset - fantastic! But, armed with this info, I suggest calling in on the ranger to make sure. There are some really great drives along some of the backtracks in the area - get yourself a good map of the area from the ranger station, it's well worth it.
Enjoy... Gerry
AnswerID: 40947

Follow Up By: ROLANDE - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:08

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:08
Gerry,
thanks for the info, will follow up and let you know how I go, will be in the second week of Jan so should be able to post soon after this
Rolande,
p.s. Will be scouting the Otways by bike next week to see if any of the old camp spots are still around, will post findings also to anyone interested
FollowupID: 303541

Reply By: ROBERT - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 13:21

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 13:21
hi looking at going in early jan myself looking for similar campsite if you find one pls let me know
thanks robert
AnswerID: 40963

Follow Up By: ROLANDE - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 01:52

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 01:52
Will try to let you know how I went
Rolande
FollowupID: 303580

Reply By: bruce - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 13:48

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 13:48
What about Rocklands resevoir just to the west , plenty of free camping areas at Glenndenning camp area on the west side , heaps of others on the east side off the Hamilton - Horsham rd.....heard that the water level has risen a bit so should be o.k for a swim and a fish....cannot get away our selves ..to busy with bowls...cheers
AnswerID: 40964

Follow Up By: ROLANDE - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:06

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:06
Bruce,
Used to live up that way, all the locals go to rocklands to fish and do whatever so I didn't consider it. Thanks for the thought anyhow
Rolande
FollowupID: 303540

Follow Up By: bruce - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:21

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:21
Rolande..must have been some time since you were there..I have been camping there for 20 yrs and havent spotted a " local " yet ..not that there is many to spot...cheers
FollowupID: 303542

Follow Up By: ROLANDE - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:42

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:42
Bruce,
Has been about 10 years since I was up that way, locals referred to some I worked with who lived about 1 hour away, they may have embellished somewhat about the number of people up there, will give it another look, thanks
Rolande
FollowupID: 303543

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:45
When we were there 3-4 yrs ago, everywhere you went was PAY to camp, PAY to breathe, PAY to fart..

We stayed there a few days, its a nice place, HEAPS of winderies around the place, was good.

I think you have more chance of the Yobs in the bush than in one of the main campign areas, then again its Xmas, what do people expect?? The one time of year EVERYONE/EVERYTHING goes away...
AnswerID: 40971