Proposed Simpson Desert Parks Closure for summers

Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:14
ThreadID: 60478 Views:6641 Replies:19 FollowUps:43
It looks like this is being proposed by SA, NT & Qld Parks and Police for safety reasons.

"The Department for Environment and Heritage (DEH), in conjunction with Queensland and Northern Territory authorities, has undertaken a Risk Assessment of the Simpson Desert Conservation Park and Regional Reserve.

This Risk Assessment has identified that between the months of December and April, there is a very high risk to members of the public who cross the Simpson Desert during this period of extreme high temperatures. Also during this period, dunes are soft and constantly changing shape, increasing the chances of vehicles becoming bogged, and people stranded. At a time when there are very few vehicles in the desert to provide assistance in a timely manner, this is potentially a fatal situation, especially for the inexperienced, ill-prepared visitor"

Closure from 1 Dec to 15 March.

To me it is butt protecting to the max. I will be discussing with them if they had thought through other approaches - minimum convoy of 2 vehicles, mandatory EPIRB, etc.

This incessant regulation to protect people from their own stupidity seems to be going right over the top.

My assessment is that the dangers are not that different any time of year if you are unprepared, and if people are going into the desert at that time of year and they can't do it in the Simpson they'll be doing it somewhere else that is probably not as regulated and perhaps even less travelled.

What is the real difference between 30th November and 1st December... or the hottest day of the year?

You can still dehydrate out there in a heartbeat.

You can still get lost out there and not be found for days.

The sand is still soft and you can still get bogged.

You can still die out there.

I'd be interested in your thoughts - I am yet to speak to them to explore the extent of their thinking further. Perhaps they plan to stop people sailing boats in the winter when there might be storms or prohibit people crossing the Bass Strait between December 25th and January 10th? What next???

Andrew.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:37

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:37
Yep! Im with you...Another pointless rule made purely to protect the idiots...

AnswerID: 318987

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:25

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:25
Andrew & Hairy
I'm with you both.

These restrictions, I fear, are not just to protect the public from it's self, but more importantly, to protect the various authorities for libel by the families, should it all go pear shaped & someone gets hurt or dies.

(SA parks lawyer's reply to the coroner "Your honour, we told them not to travel the desert in summer, so it's not our fault they did")
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 585492

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:44

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:44
Just a bit like having to buoyancy vest to paddle a kayak even on flat water. NANNY WILL WATCH YOU.
AnswerID: 318990

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:04

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:04
Hi John
It is already law in South Australia that people in canoes and kayaks must wear a Personal Floatation Devise (PFD) at all times when on the water. If caught, I think from memory it is about $160 fine per person.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 585518

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 17:05

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 17:05

What it shows is at least some responsibility being taken by Management of these isolated and accessible places.

Sure, we live in a Risk Assessment era. That seems to be the catchcry everywhere.

BUT, as we have often seen in words on this Forum, there are travellers going out into that area at the height of summer, stating that they know what they are doing, when in fact, they really have no idea of the intensity and dangers of exposure to the elements out there in the summer months.

To set parameters for travel througout the times involved means that there will have to be 24/7 policing and I doubt if the DEH will go down that road at the present time.

Do nothing and be damned. Do something and be damned. You can't please all of the people all of the time.

I support the idea.

AnswerID: 318991

Follow Up By: DIO - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:29

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:29
Fully agree.
FollowupID: 585493

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:27

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:27
AND they tow 3 ton trailers :-))
FollowupID: 585510

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:49

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:49
Nup. It is papering over the real problems.

People are going into the desert under-prepared or unprepared.

That is the real problem whenever it is open.

They need to start there, and if they can tackle that problem in July, they will tackle that problem 365 days a year.

If someone was at risk out there in December, more than likely they could strike similar circumstances between Mar 15 and Nov 30 and be at risk in those same circumstances.
FollowupID: 585532

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:06
>If someone was at risk out there in December, more than likely they could strike similar circumstances between Mar 15 and Nov 30 and be at risk in those same circumstances<

You are clouding the issue. We are only talking about the summer months. What is your agenda?

There isn't a problem with under-prepared travellers out there in the desert from April to November. In those months by popular demand there is a significant amount of traffic where risk could be deemed as less.

Ruth says it all in her comment. I reiterate what I say and also what Ruth says

In a previous post some weeks ago I suggeted that Parks management needed to be upgraded to a better level of service and information. The problem is that that the desert encompasses three States and it may impossible to set up a regulatory body to cover all aspects of management

FollowupID: 585535

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:34

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:34
Agenda - just ensure it is discussed openly principally.

Also to ensure that the opportunity to discuss the real issues (like Park management resources you mention and ineffective ways of making sure people don't go out there unprepared are addressed - I don't agree that it it not a problem. It is just that no one has died yet).

And closing things is a great bureaucratic past-time as you know... next it will be the whole park or some other park that you might just want to venture into. Already the management plans for one large park in SA put most of it off-limits 365 days a year because of safety concerns.

I was unaware of a previous (presumably voluntary) registration system for SD. I had in mind a mandatory and policed system run by Police or Parks.
FollowupID: 585576

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:09

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:09
Maybe the Parks pass should be cheaper as they are going to close it for 4 months. Should be 25% cheaper as it is going to only be an 8 months pass.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 318995

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:31

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:31
That's lateral thinking guys, now I want a 25% refund on that pass I bought from you 3 months ago David. He He He.
Thanks Dave & Michelle.
FollowupID: 585495

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:27

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:27
Does anyone know the ratio of deaths in the Simpson Desert Parks over (say) the past ten years against the number of people who have traversed the Park? Do “The Authorities” know? It would be an interesting question to ask them.

I’m glad the ExOz server had a bit of down time which precluded me from posting for a few minutes because it gave me time to look at the BBC News website and read the following:

“Over-cautious parents stop play“
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/7540076.stm

and

“What can we learn from climbing trees?”
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/7358717.stm

I especially enjoyed the first public comment regarding the above link:

“I grew up in the 70's, when every piece of playground equipment was surrounded by a sturdy concrete apron, so you had to be really careful when you rode your bicycle down the slide.”

I’m a little older than him but I did that too :) Taking risks is _good_ - why else bother living?

AnswerID: 319001

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:50

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:50
I'm with Willem. It seems that the Simpson has become a "must do" for the locals and o/s tourists alike. In these days of modern air conditioned vehicles with fridges etc, it can easily seem to be a piece of cake.
But especially during summer, it can be a disaster.
People have died there.
Take a chance I hear the hairy chested brigade say.
Every tragedy has repercussions far beyond those who are directly involved.
The police and recovery crews.
The families yadda yadda.
And perhaps last and least (at the time but not later) those responsible for the management of the area.

I realize that it's probably some senior manager just covering his backside. Is it really necessary? No doubt there are reasons why it probably is.

Yes I know it's another "nanny" restriction, but in my view, it's a sensible one.
Yes, I'm a wuss when it comes to risking my neck for the fun of it all.
But at least I'm a live wuss.
AnswerID: 319008

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:26

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:26
perhaps VKS737 could tell us how many emergencies they have been involved in between Dec and March... and how many between April and November...

Is that something you could arrange Footy?
FollowupID: 585509

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:35

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:35
I'm actually not privvy to that sort of info, assuming that it could be made public. Signmn might be a better prospect.
Perhaps SA National Parks might have it in an annual report somewhere ? I'd guess that 737 wouldn't be involved in every serious case, but suspect that Nat Parks or the police would be.
FollowupID: 585512

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:55

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:55
Andrew, I thought long and hard before I entered into this reply, not sure that I want to cop the flack which will no doubt be fired my way. Whilst I totally agree with the fact that we seem to be having enormous numbers of rules and regulations in every part of our lives - in this respect I am in total agreement.
There was a trial closure last year - you may not have been aware of it but we certainly were here in Birdsville. You must remember that whilst there are those of us who are experienced desert travellers no matter what time of the year you must think about those who have no experience. Please remember that our summer time is winter time in Europe - and that in Europe those people who don't have children are encouraged to have their holidays in their wintertime, our summertime which means that a lot of Europeans hire Britz/Maui fourbies and head out - air conditioner going full bore, etc. Unfortunately, it's not just Europeans - plenty of Australians as well.
What happens if there is a breakdown/accident/illness out in the desert - breakdown only means vehicle and trailer plus two people. Accident means breakdown car/trailer and two people, one vehicle with Police, ambulance with driver and Sister from Clinic plus maybe others (that's a minimum of 5 people).
It comes down to whether people at this end of the desert, as well as the Mt Dare end of the desert need to put their lives at risk to assist someone in trouble who really should not be out there. As well, it also means Rangers/Police frequently have to go from both sides to a middle meet on search.
I'm sorry to have to mention the above but it happens - and whislt there is probably not a person in this town who would not agree to go on a rescue - why should they have to, also remembering that from third week of December until the end of January the Shire is in shutdown as are the properties and the town is very short on people because they are away on annual holidays.
I absolutely love the Simpson Desert, but I'm one of the ambulance drivers and I am not happy having to take it over the dunes but if there has been an accident the RFDS can't get out into the SD so the Birdsville Clinic staff and the ambulance have to go out, stabilise, bring back to town so the RFDS can come and get the patient/s. Sorry to sound as though I'm delivering a lecture - but it's just being practical really.
AnswerID: 319022

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:12

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:12
If you don't want to do it... don't do it.

I've lived in deserts where no one was going to come and get you - it's a risk, let people make their own choices - just as you do....

FollowupID: 585520

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:18

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:18
Well said Ruth, people need to remember that it involves more than just them selfs when doing these trips, anytime of the year.

And Mike is that your standard response? can't think of anything better.

FollowupID: 585523

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:22

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:22
Ruth (and Andrew),

I wonder how this may effect the "locals" who do know what to expect and are prepared for travel in this region at this time of year?

Ruth you may answer this? Do many locals like getting out into the Simmo during the summer or do they just hibernate in the a/c at home or cool down at the bar of the b/v hotel?

I can't see that any closure over the said months would effect me so I wouldn't be too worried one way or another but I can't see why one "learned" person should be able to dictate when or where another "learned" person can travel just because of the weather.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 585524

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:40

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:40
Thanks Ruth, I do respect your view and please don't take this as criticism.

I've never had to use them but clearly the work of all these people is valued at any time of year, and managing risk in conducting their work is important too - but why, if the risks can be managed in July, can't they be managed in December?

Are they that different?

Emergencies in the desert have all the issues you mentioned 365 days a year, in the parks and in many places out of the parks.

People going unprepared into the desert is an issue any time of year. It happens. It happens a lot. In my view a lot more could be done. EPIRBS and lifevests are required in boats. EPIRBS and no single vehicle crossings could be mandated, and policed quite easily with a simple registration system and check at Birdsville or Mt. Dare (say).

To me that would make a real difference to risk versus this idea that it is safe one day and not the next which is promoted by the closure idea.
FollowupID: 585530

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:39

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:39
I am not sure why I am surprised by some of the responses to my post - I've been on here almost since the beginning of the Forum - but somewhat surprised I am tonight.
Andrew, July in the Simpson Desert is very busy, weather is very pleasant if a little cold - plenty of travellers in each direction and lots of communication between vehicles. Very different in January, not much chance of anyone finding you or coming across you by accident.
Trevor, if the weather in summer is nice and not howling northerly blowing sand then locals do go for picnics to Eyre Creek, some go painting, some do photography but no, mostly locals don't go into the SD after the beginning of October - its too hot and usually too windy. Locals are busy going to work, preparing for Christmas with their families, re-connecting with each other due to the busy time of the tourist season which impacts on everyone here whether directly involved or not - as I mentioned earlier - from the third week of December to the end of January a lot of people take annual leave and head to the bigger centres to do the Doctor, Dentist Family and Christmas things, or simply to go to a supermarket and re-stock.
As for the register - some of you may recall that this has been tried and found to be wanting - mostly because people would sign in at one end and not bother to sign out again, why should the people at Mt Dare have the responsibility - anymore than the people at William Creek being responsible for the sad needless drama a few years ago at Lake Eyre.
I am sorry that people don't like the idea of closures - I don't either - but let me ask you this. Would you go out into the SD in December on Christmas Eve to take photographs? Would you go out to rescue someone in the middle of January when the storms are about and you may not know that there has been a couple of inches of rain in the middle of the desert?
You can have as many 'informed moral philosophical arguments' as you wish - but you are sitting somewhere safe and warm/cool - not here having to put your life on the line in 50 degree heat.
This argument isn't about who can tell you what you can and can't do - it's about real people and real danger - try and take a less selfish look at the issue. Every time the ambulance leaves town it takes the only Sister from the Clinic with it - leaving the townspeople at risk - we don't have 24 hour medical clinics in each suburb here.
FollowupID: 585553

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:44
Well said Ruth.
Sometimes people need to be protected from themselves just to protect others.

FollowupID: 585556

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:42

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:42
"Mike Harding posted:
If you don't want to do it... don't do it.

I've lived in deserts where no one was going to come and get you - it's a risk, let people make their own choices - just as you do....

Mike Harding"

When was the last time you saw a news article that read...

"Bodies found in desert...... it's OK though, they knew what they were doing and didn't want to be rescued"

FollowupID: 585601

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:02

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:02
Maybe instead of closure, it could become user pays.
I find it a bit like closing the Gibb, Tanami or Duncan roads during the dry season. After all during the wet we have very few accidents or retrievals but once the dry starts not a day goes by with out at least one.
How much do the locals of any area have to give up and be restricted in the quest of saving people from themselves? Maybe people being a bit more accountable for there own actions especially financially may be the way to go.
No kick in the bum seems to have more effect than the one that hits the wallet first.
AnswerID: 319046

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:10

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:10
Squizzy

That argument does not wash. In the wet you are restricted to travel certain areas due to inundation and many roads are closed.

The Simpson is at present open slather at any time of year.
FollowupID: 585538

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:13

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:13
Longest closure last wet was nine days and all up thirty three days. leaves a lot of the wet it is still open.
FollowupID: 585540

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:44
Open where?

Each year is different. Depends on how much rain has fallen. But that is not the point. The point is: should access to a very hostile environment be closed off for a period of time in the summer months when temperatures are extreme.
FollowupID: 585555

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:30

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:30
Willem,

I reckon you could have the same arguement for the Stuart hwy into Darwin "should access to a very hostile environment be closed off for a period of time in the summer months when temperatures are extreme" LOL!!

My point is, if a check point can't be enforced during the cooler months (as Ruth indicated) then what chance do they have in enforcing total closure and what will be next....all outback dirt roads over the summer period. After all they all can be pretty hostile environments in summer. Imagine doing the Canning in summer? No thanks, but some do and feel the need to. Then would the beauracrats move onto roads covered in snow during the winter months....arrrr bugger it, just close them too "for the protection of the people".

Sorry Willem, I agree with you and Ruth on most things but closing off another part of this country "to protect myself" is one we will have to disagree on I think. I bet if the need arose, and you had to be somewhere where you were not allowed to be you would just go (if you felt it safe) regardless of the "rules" and I am sure that is how most of the locals surrounding the SD would be thinking too. I seem to recall a fur covered friend accompanying you somewhere it should not have been, do I not?

Similar applies to road closed signs in the tropics with flooding, seen it and done it where calculated judgement allows one to drive through the flood water safely. Does this mean we should close the Cape when the water over the Wenlock is 1M deep??? (I know the bridge alleviates this but you get my point) After all we all don't drive the same vehicle capable of the same things. I towed a van through more than 2km of the stuff one wet season....but it was an educated and calculated decision that was safely executed. You have no insurance when you do this and that sits fine with me, similar to travelling the SD in summer, if there was no insurance for this kind of travel at this time of year that would be fine by me but not total closure.

Best regards,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 585612

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:57

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:57
Dear Trevor

That speech of yours is a long diatribe of useless analogies.

Stick to the point of the post. The closure of access to the Simpson Desert in the summer months.

I have said it, Ruth has said it, Footloose has said it, Kim has said it ans Brian has said it. I would not like to calculate our combined ages and experience, but suffice to say, I do think we know what we are talking about.

The Simpson Desert is a dangerous place in the summer months. In fact the whole of Central Australia can be classed into that category. Early European explorers found this out, some with tragic consequences. Even aborigines have perished when waterholes have dried up due to adverse summer weather conditions

It would seem that not many travellers are prepared to learn from other peoples mistakes.

Yours sincerely
FollowupID: 585619

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:16

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:16
Hi Willem,

Please don't mistake my objection to the closure of the Simpson, through summer, as support to those wishing to travel there in Summer, far from it. The whole reason why any such closure to the SD in summer would not effect me personally (as I said to Ruth).

Any trip to such a place as the Simpson (winter or summer) needs to be thoroughly researched and planned for. For me personally I would listen and take on board opinions of experienced travellers like yourself and locals alike.

I do however object to the total closure of the place. This would be (IMO) the start of things to come for other iconic destinations where the controlling authority wishes to remove any liability threats perceived (either founded or unfounded). Places similar to those in my analogies in my previous response. This forms part of the basis for my initial responses.

Your years of outback and remote area travel would more than likely outweigh my total years on the planet and for this reason alone I would most certainly recomend people take on board your advice on travel times. Likewise, Ruth's local knowledge puts her in the same position to you in my opinion and you both will always be held in high regards when looking for travel advice.

Trusting this clears things up a little.

Best regards,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 585731

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:16
I agree with the closure, for the reasons Ruth has given.
AnswerID: 319075

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 23:09

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 23:09

You wouldn't get me crossing the Simpson in the middle of summer or any where else up there again. It's as hot as hell an a real struggle when the temperature get's up around 49 - 50.

Only attempted it once on a different trip and we finished up aborting the journey after three and a half days. I came away from the experience feeling totally buggared.

If people want to drive into a furnace they should be stopped for their own good.

I don't like regulations either, but it's not an area to travel in during summer (well prepared or other wise). Just asking for trouble. Reminds me of 'Mad Dogs And Englishmen' LOL.

Just my point of view.

Kim
AnswerID: 319087

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:24

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:24
Gday Kim,
You probably wouldnt get me going out there just for fun either.
The simpson is a difficult one I reckon.......
I would like to see them deter people from doing it but not ban them.
Some people are used to stinking hot, dry conditions and some arent. Its a bit like sending a group of Territorians camping in the Snow for a couple of weeks, could be dangerous but I doubt they would close the ski slopes over winter because of it?I think it should all comes down to choice and accepting responsibility for your own actions. (maybe a bit more education for those who want to go in?)
I reackon I would have a better chance of survival in the Simpson in mid summer than Sydney in peak hour!

FollowupID: 585621

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:21

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:21
I reackon I would have a better chance of survival in the Simpson in mid summer

Not without a trailer load of beer, you won't.....lol

FollowupID: 585655

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:57

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:57
Too true.....
ROFLMAO

FollowupID: 585670

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 23:03

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 23:03
Gidday Hairy

Yer pigs will fly though the heat of theory

KIm
FollowupID: 585846

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:22

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:22
One thing it might do is save the lives of the innocent people that have little choice in going out there, ie wives and children of the driver.. I like the idea of the two car policy with the Epirb... Michael.
AnswerID: 319099

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:37

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:37
I must admit to not liking the idea of Bureaucrats closing down anything, but after reading this thread, and knowing what some humans can be like, I find myself in agreeance. Some time ago there was talk of closing Hook Point on Fraser Island, now THAT was a load of bollocks!
But this one is a totally different kettle of fish...... in my mind it comes down to the fact that, no matter how prepared or experienced the driver is, the SD in summer is damn hot! Ruth says 50 degrees! She lives there, I reckon she might just know a bit about what the temps are like! Now that 50 deg C might be ok in the comfort of your 4by, but that same 50 deg C is affecting everything on your 4by...... even the paint! So doesn't it stand to reason that the 4by is more prone to fail in extreme conditions than "normal"? So now where's the air con and the fridge? And then said failed 4by driver puts a call in to get help, and rescue people are expected to put their lives and vehicles at risk to save someone who, common sense tells, shouldn't really be out there in the first place. Who in their right mind would want to camp in 50 deg heat? I've camped on Fraser in 35 deg..... it's not too much fun. And as someone else has mentioned, they usually have their wife and kids in the vehicle as well.

I think the issue here is that people don't want to see the bureaucrats closing anything, and that's what is being rallied against. Drop that line of thinking and realize what the real issue is.....

AnswerID: 319103

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:01

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:01
But this is how it works everywhere! Brainless member of herd step into bleep and they decide to close it at all for “safety of the public”. But how about those who are well prepared and really like to test themselves and their (also well prepared!!) rigs in extreme condition? Employ some brainpower and figure out alternative solution ) i.e. 2 vehicle min, EPRIB etc)? Sorry, mate, impossible. For very simple reason – 99.9% so-called “decisions-makers” are plainly brainless and frankly never even been outside.

Serg
AnswerID: 319106

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:51

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:51
The other problem is that 99.9% of the population think they are more capable than they actually are.......
FollowupID: 585688

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:04

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:04
Then let them step in deep 5h1t and pay in full for recovery from their own pocket! No necessity to risk rescues life – helicopter will do the trick flawlessly. So they can learn hard way if they dislike to do it in easy way.

Serg
FollowupID: 585692

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:07

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:07
Serg

If you are going to test yourself you don't need the EPRIB, otherwise you intent to have someone reuse you, and thats what the closures are all about...

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 585854

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:28

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:28
Richard,

I somewhat missed your point.

Serg
FollowupID: 585879

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 21:01

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 21:01
Serg.

If you hit the button someone will and I say WILL come and find you dead or alive.

FollowupID: 586029

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:25

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:25
I am always saddened by those Nanny state suggestions that are invariably narrowly focussed and while often they have a bearing on the direct issue, generally make matters worse overall.

In this case, injuries and accidents relating to Dessert travel come
overwhelmingly from travel to and from the areas on wet slippery roads or result from tyre damage or rough roads leading to vehicle accidents, or simply accidents at higher speeds.
Our latest trip a few weeks ago followed the pattern e.g. rollovers at Marree from damaged tyres etc.

The actual accidents and injuries in the dessert are simply lower in number and of a less severe nature because of the lower speeds involved, and I welcome any enquiry whose net is cast wide and not focussed or what happens once you leave the town limits in a westerly direction.

However my real concern over such proposals is what it does to the sense of adventure and human spirit by having rules and regulations over such free places.

Education and not Regulation - is the harder , but only real path to changing behaviour.
AnswerID: 319111

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:33

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 08:33
Here here Robin.
FollowupID: 585613

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:10

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:10
How about if they bitumise it, put traffic lights on the dunes and emergency telephones every Km.
All vehicles would need to pass a government regulated safety check and all people travelling in the vehicle do a 6 month survival course, take a sat phone, epirb, HF, VHF,UHF and a life jacket.
No vehicles would be allowed into the desert without a minimum of four more as back up and they all must be part of a government owned and operated tag-along tour.

Problem solved! LOL

AnswerID: 319118

Follow Up By: MP - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:30

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:30
Surely having to take a life jacket is a bit over the top!!!
FollowupID: 585622

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:43

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:43
Not if you become bogged, its raining and you fall asleep in your car with the sun roof open.
FollowupID: 585625

Follow Up By: MP - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:49

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:49
Sorry, silly me, wasn't thinking.
FollowupID: 585628

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:02

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:02
Hairy,
You forget minimum 2 fire extinguishers per vehicle and mandatory paramedic per convoy with comprehensive medical kit.

Serg.
FollowupID: 585632

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:25

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:25
To quote P.J. O'Rourke...........

"The forces of safety are afoot in the land. I, for one, believe it is a conspiracy— a conspiracy of Safety Nazis shouting "Sieg Health" and seeking to trammel freedom, liberty, and large noisy parties. The Safety Nazis advocate gun control, vigorous exercise, and health foods. The result can only be a disarmed, exhausted, and half-starved population ready to acquiesce to dictatorship of some kind."

AnswerID: 319121

Reply By: Aussie.Nomad - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:10

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:10
Both sides have valid arguments.
I reckon there's a middle position: Restrict access for people who are not properly prepared. Similar to regulations needed to take you boat into open waters. If the traveller doesn't have basic equipment, comm's and supplies the police, or rangers can refuse access. You'll never stop the idiot who ignores the rules, but most will comply.

On this forum there's always someone having a giggle at the expense of some poor inexperienced person who's trashed their 4WD. But, when it comes to knowingly allowing inexperienced people to risk thier lives in the desert, I believe that those with the knowledge have a duty of care to protect the niaive, and stupid, from themselves.
AnswerID: 319146

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:21

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:21
Well, sort of true. But tell me how anyone can “protect” from not chopping his finger when splitting wood, or not falling from stairs and crack his skull or not putting finger into mains or…. I think it is obvious and it is call common sense. Sadly common sense not that common nowadays.

Serg.
FollowupID: 585656

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:20

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:20
The posts by Willem, Ruth and others cover this topic very well.

But to reiterate, authorities are right to consider the risk management of those who will be called upon in the case of an emergency to affect rescues. They have a responsibility to do this. I think it is far less to do with the individuals who want to undertake the travel. You will never be able to protect people from themselves, but you can at least protect those who will be called upon to assist if, or when, something goes wrong.

There have been responses from those that say they are capable of launching such a trip during these months. The reality is that most Simpson Desert travellers will not have the risks fully covered to do a trip at that time of the year, but there will always be exceptions. However this is about playing the percentages; that is your average traveller turning up wanting to do it. Most people will heed a warning if it is well considered advice.

I must say that I am a great fan of pushing the boundaries and exploring the limits. After all if people didn’t do this then the Great Interior would never been opened up, and Cook would not have sailed into Botany Bay. For those that believe they can plan and execute a trip during the closure period; let them argue to the authorities for an approval to do it on an exception basis. But with that comes the responsibility of having the risks fully covered to the point that they will not need to call on volunteers or the established services such as police and ambulance should the situation arise.

Perhaps this is the course that Andrew from Vivid Adventures should take in this instance.
AnswerID: 319156

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:06

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:06
I'm not rushing to go there during that period either but if I had some reason to, and I was prepared I would with at least one other vehicle similarly prepared.

Closure for six weeks when no one is about in Birdsville over Christmas would make some sense to me.
FollowupID: 585729

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 20:45

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 20:45
Hi Andrew

I guess the issue is making sure that the risks are covered. Some will be able to do this, most won't be able to.

No doubt as part of our business you will be over some of the issues involved, I guess it is the average traveller that you have to set policy for.

I can't remember where I read it, be I recall a story about a Japanese tourist who was planing to set off across the Simpson on a motor bike, ill prepared, but he was just going to 'stop at a roadhouse' along the way for fuel and refreshments......

FollowupID: 585809

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:05

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:05
I don't recall that story, but I do recall a Japanese motor cyclist going over the handlebars and breaking his neck out there... getting messages through to them is particularly hard. I doubt that the "Road closed" sign would get through to them either though.

I guess the next one will be found once the desert opens rather dessicated.
FollowupID: 585833

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:27

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:27
The thing that gets me is....
Where do you stop? (protecting people?)
IF...they close it (the Simpson)....and some one dies just after its re-opened, do you extend the closed dates? ( and keep exteding them?)

IF..all the people who would have done it in the summer months now do it when its re-opened and there is more traffic (and it causes accidents), will they change the laws back? Or will they just make another one?

This bit is hard to explain!....(so dont be offended)

If people want to be part of any sort of rescue team...do it! Everyone appreciates it! But if you dont...Dont put your hand up to do it.......
Everyone still has a choice, .....if you go in its upto you, and its no-one elses reposibility to go and help. ( luckily, ..the world we live in they probably will though)

Sorry..but I just think its so simple.

AnswerID: 319289

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:03

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:03
The claim is that only 35 vehicles crossed during the whole period 07/08... in 5-6,000 (They are not sure exactly).
FollowupID: 585861

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:20

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:20
Hairy.....in theory you are right, in practice it never works that way. The way I read these types of situations is that they are far less concerned about protecting those that want to do it, versus protecting those that will be called upon to effect a rescue.....
FollowupID: 585864