Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Experienced Citrus Picker required

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:46

MADEC

Experienced Citrus pickers required from mid May in South Austalia's Riverland, work can last up to 4 month plus, please contact Leighton Pearce @ MADEC Jobs Australia for further information lpearce@madec.edu.au, mob 0407681558, (08) 85829307
ThreadID: 31335 Replies: 5
Views: 1032 FollowUps: 11
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 158106   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:59

cruiser replied:

Tell me this, how does someone who has just retired and is looking to get work while travelling get a start at fruit picking if they have never done it before.

I have been looking at various "Harvest Trail" websites, and everyone including the person who posted this, wants "experienced" workers.

I have found the same with the cotton and wheat harvesting. Seems like you have to know someone who knows someone.

All I want is a chance to have a go at it. I might not like it or be able to handle it, but it would be nice to get a start and see.

Makes it hard I reckon, surely someone out there is prepared to give unexperience people a go, but I am buggered if I have been able to find out who.

Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 412483   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 15:09

porl posted:

I pick lemons from a tree in the yard of a bloke down the road (luckily he ain't caught me) so i suppose you could count that as "citrus picking experience". I mean once they see you're good at it what the hell, and if you're not then they'd get rid of you anyhow.
FollowUp 1 of 7
FollowupID: 412484   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 15:10

Michael B posted:

Cruiser,

You may just have to tell a small 'porky' to get in the gate, however you must have, at some time or other, plucked the odd apple/pear/orange from a tree.

I reckon that would at least entitle you to say that you had some experience........lol

Michael B (SA)

PS If you are serious about this I have some relies living at Kingston-on-Murray and would be quiet happy to give them a ring for you.
FollowUp 2 of 7
FollowupID: 412498   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:02

Member No 1 posted:

porl, your also an experienced thief...hehehehe

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 3 of 7
FollowupID: 412502   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:09

Eric from Cape York Connections posted:

Little white lies.
In the late 70s I applied for a job as a bridge and wharf carpenter only requirement was I needed a commercial boat licence I said no worries I will bring it in tomorrow.
Funny tomorrow never came got the job did it for 2 years.
Had a ball.

Cape York ConnectionsCape York Connections
Member: Lapsed Membership
FollowUp 4 of 7
FollowupID: 412513   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:52

Member - Doug T (QLD) posted:

Same all over Dozer Drivers,Truck Drivers,Fruit Pickers,Musterers,you name it ,everywhere you look all got to be experienced well I wonder what is going happen when all these experienced people have passed on .

Doug

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Mt Bundy Stn
FollowUp 5 of 7
FollowupID: 412546   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:06

Member - Matt M (ACT) posted:

Porl,

I think they were asking for citrus pickers, not citrus nickers.
Cape Leveque
Click Image to Enlarge
Life's a beach....
FollowUp 6 of 7
FollowupID: 412620   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:37

Willem posted:

We managed tp pick a variety of fruit in Victoria some years ago with no experience up front.

Must say it was back breaking work. Or maybe I was too lazy...LOL
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to bag a bunny

FollowUp 7 of 7
AnswerID: 158109   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 15:09

MADEC replied:

In my experience many growers would trade experience with reliability, This job is such a job. The growers in the Riverland desire grey nomads in preference to other group because of their attitude towards work, life and reliability. All grey nomads should have no trouble gaining employment in the riverland from mid may. I will be looking for 300 people, I'm available on phone or email. Remember nomads normally come with vehicles, licenses and accommodation, this should place you high in the pecking order. Buy a picking bag, give me a call, I'll send you a application ( sorry it's a requirement) and we hopefully will see you in may
Cheers Leighton
Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 412492   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 15:43

cruiser posted:

Well, I must say, that is the first positive response I have ever had to trying to get a start.

Every time I have emailed the labour provider, I have had nothing but dissapointing negative replies, something along the line of "sorry, experienced only need apply"

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 412516   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:10

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Good response Leighton. Glad someone can see past this "experienced only need apply" crap.

As Doug posted above, what happens when all the experienced whatever's cark it? We're not born into this world 'experienced' at anything except feeding, crapping and peeing :)))))

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 158136   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:30

cruiser replied:

It is comforting to read some of these responses and it makes me realise that I am not alone.

I was beginning to think that it was just me and that in turn makes you wonder "what is it about me, am I expecting to much, or do they think that I have to heads, or that I am to old or something"

I have had a look at the rates of pay and wondered if it was a case of the farmer being able to pay less to backpackers because they are itinerant workers and are willing to accept a lower rate of pay cause they need to top up their funds.

I know this practice is probably only occuring on a small scale (or would like to think it is), but when you get repeated knock back cause you dont have experience, you tend to think of all sorts of silly reasons as to why you cant get a start.

It only takes 1 person like Leighton and if thats what you want to do, then you are away, so I applaud him for giving me some encouragement to keep trying and to have a go.

I am only 56 years young and whilst not the fittest for my age, I am willing to give it a go cause there is still life left in this old bugger.
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 412521   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:47

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Nothing wrong with you Cruiser. I'm very interested in how you go as i'll probably be doing something similar in a few years time.

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 158178   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 20:14

Garbutt replied:

A mate of mine (sadly now dead from cancer) had a thousand jobs in his day, and always said that he could get a job by saying yes he could do it. Never said I can't do that. He shore sheep, drove trucks, boats and forklifts, packed shelves, did everything under the sun because he never said I can't. He always claimed that he was never unemployed longer than he wanted to be.

GB
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 412606   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:14

Des Lexic posted:

Your back. How did the trip go?
I'm going to the Kat on sat am to have a paddle with Wolfie.
Maybe you could apply for an orange picking job. You can do the tops as you won't need a hydraplat. You've got plenty of spare time.
I've got plenty experience as a citrus picker. That's why I do what I do now.
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE Plus - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Harley Ride - Yarra Boulevard Tour Harley Ride - Yarra Boulevard Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Take in Melbourne's panoramic views on the back of a roaring Harley Davidson motor bike!
Shopping Tour, Shop till you drop! Shopping Tour, Shop till you drop!
Sydney - NSW
8-hours of serious bargain shopping!
30min Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride 30min Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride
Gold Coast - QLD
What better way to get the adrenaline pumping than on the back of a 1000cc 106BHP powersport monster
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 158181   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 20:17

Mike Harding replied:

It's interesting that you deleted one commercial post today but permitted another one (this one) to continue - do you have any kind of consistent rule on this? I don't mind, you understand, but potential advertisers might?

Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions