Nissan Navara Diesel/Gas News

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:46
ThreadID: 38856 Views:10623 Replies:5 FollowUps:10

I thought i would share my good news with you all, Last week i had my Nissan Navara 3.0lt ST-r 2002 converted to Diesel/Gas by DieselGas Technologies in Penrith NSW, i am very happy with the outcome.

I have managed to get 920km on 1 tank of fuel which 75 Litres was Diesel and 35Litres of Gas .

I also gained at least 30% more power and god its so noticeable the 4wd is like a rocket now :)

They only took 2 days to do the conversion and had to modify the exhaust system to allow the gas tank to fit underneath.

You can really notice the difference in power and kilometres and no more black smoke.

I even got the $2000 rebate back from the Government it did however cost me $4200 but its worth it in the long run.

My Narava was the first to be done in NSW , if any of you would like to see some photos of the conversion or want to talk to me please do as i am more than happy .

Check out www.dieselgas.com.au/home.htm
The guy that did my 4wd was Brad Pollard and what a great guy he is , nothing was an issue and all question where answered , i will be sending my comments and recommendations to 4wd monthly very soon

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:06

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:06
Thanks for the post Stephen. We run a similar vehicle (Rodeo not Nissan), and,although instant results appear impressive, it's possible that wear in the long term may be accelerated.
Neither GMH nor RACQ admit to having test results on the technology, and hence cannot offer guidance.
What guarantees/ evidence exist that the technology is benign?
Seriously, I'd book in next week if I felt that future reliability was secure.

(Maybe I should have checked your link first). JH.
AnswerID: 201124

Follow Up By: Stephen NSW - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:53

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:53
Hey Jeff,

I would have a look at the link and go from there , as its actually better for the engine in the long run, Nissan have also now told me that i am still covered under there warranty of 3 years. As long as you look after you 4WD you shouldn't have a problem, change your oil every 5000km and she should be right.

I will keep you all updated as to what happens but so far so good.
FollowupID: 460333

Reply By: Dieseljuice - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:45

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:45
Hey it sounds awsome!! I have my Patrol booked in Perth, 6 month waiting list...I'll be in around febuary. I am still wondering what is better for power, diesel/gas or Dtronic? I would guess that both would add extra stress to the engine but then look at the figures the smaller 2.5 Pathfinder pulls out!!and im sure they didnt go about putting in extra strengthend pistons,valves,etc. 20-30% extra power wont kill it. Especially if ya just keep driving normal is just means less squeeze of the right foot to get the same result ...but if ya need the extra oomph when in trouble, its there if ya need it. Im leaning towards the Gas instead of Dtronic 1. Same power and torque.2.cleaner engine/oil.3.less emmisssions.4.greater mileage.5.$3000 gov rebates (WA) so cost about $1000
I emailed the guys at Safari to see if I could still fit a Dtronic after gettin gthe gas system ...Mmmmm40% extra power and torque!!!!! But they advised the Dronic is not compatible with the gas system....= (....still i would like to see them do one and put it on the dyno to see the results...
Anyhow i look forward to osme discussion bout this.
DieselJuice
AnswerID: 201130

Follow Up By: Stephen NSW - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:55

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:55
Dieseljuice

You lucky bugger getting $3000 back, if i had known that i would of drove to WA :)

Tell me with the Dtronic how much power do you get ?

Are you doing your Patrol for power or for KM?

FollowupID: 460334

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:23

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:23
Dieseljuice
you are also lucky to get it booked in for 6 months, I have not even been able to get them to look at my rig yet. Might try again tomorrow.
FollowupID: 460349

Follow Up By: Dieseljuice - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 01:17

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 01:17
Hey Steve,
Im going the gas for both power and extra klm range.
Dtronic and gas both provide the same extra output of both kw and torque!!
So perhaps the Dtronic may not be so popular now or they will have to drop their overinflated price down from $1400 to sub $1000 seeing as though all it offers is extra power not 20% more mileage,cleaner engine and oil, less emissions and quiter engine!!

Im getting my rig done through Lovato AutoGas i booked in 2 months ago i cant wait a I am already missing what I feel to be a 10% power and torque reduction from fitting the larger 305/75 cooper ATR's which by the way I have done 30,000klms on (mainly road but 10,000 sand, gravel) and they are only about 25% worn!!At this rate I think I will easy get 100,000k's from them......top tyre I reckon!!

Regards Dieseljuice
FollowupID: 460350

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:53

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:53
Stephen,

I'm interested in putting gas injection on my "Chevissan". I've emailed DieselGas twice about having this done. So far, they haven't had the decency to even reply.

Prolly to hard for 'em as due the engine make.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 201132

Follow Up By: Stephen NSW - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:57

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:57

Did you email Brad ? As i know he is away this week on A/L due to his wife having a new born.

I am going there next week for a final tune up if you like i will ask them , dio you want to send me your details of the 4wd and i will let you know

you can email me on stpt@tpg.com.au

Also i know they are very busy with new request's due to the rebate, but there a great mob and have great customer service skills which goes a long way

FollowupID: 460335

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:21

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:21
Stephen,

It's a 1999 GU Patrol with normally aspirated 6.5 litre V8 Chev diesel in it. All I wanna know is "Can it be done?" and "With it being an indirect injection engine, is it worth having it done?"

Tell 'em they can email me at

leslowe@iinet.net.au

Thanks, Steve,

Bilbo

FollowupID: 460338

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:23

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:23
PS - Yes. I emailed 'em twice about 3 weeks ago and got no reply.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460339

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:17

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:17
Gday Bilbo

My '98 GU is booked in Dec. Its the 2.8, and they bassure me that if I go with a 6.5 in the future, it is compatible and all good. Mark Collins has been most helpful, try him on the following:

markdcollinsATbigpond.com
lovatowATiinet.net.au

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 460374

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:06

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:06
Stephen, I've actually visited that site previously, and when I enquired, was given the contact details for the Brisbane agents, who, in turn, were polite and prompt in their response. Unfortunately OE blocked the attachment Brisbane posted, and I've let the idea slide, having wiped their mail this very afternoon.
(Btw, I was quoted $4000 and 6 weeks waiting).

Three points leave me wondering:
(1) Your Navara is 2002 model? Why does Nissan give a toss about a 3 year warranty now?
(2)You were exhausting black smoke prior to conversion: what caused that?
(3)I didn't see any stated guarantee in the link as to maintained or extended engine longevity following conversion. Implications don't count.

Mate,I hope the above doesn't come across as aggressive, because that's not the intent. Our old 2.8L Rodeo averaged 8.7 L/100km over 280000km: current job is lucky to score 10.5, with pretty conservative driving. With an anticipated life of 5-600000km, I'd LOVE to reduce fuel use by 20%.
(And yes, I'll watch gas/diesel progress with interest, and, probably, envy. JH.
AnswerID: 201142

Follow Up By: Stephen NSW - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:06

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:06
Hey JH,

Answer to your questions:

(1) Your Navara is 2002 model? Why does Nissan give a toss about a 3 year warranty now? I took out the extended 3 years warranty when i brought it at the end of 2002 and nissian told me that they would still warrant the 4wd with the gas conversion.

(2)You were exhausting black smoke prior to conversion: what caused that?
I have had very little black smoke in the past but when i had the gas put on i had black smoke for 2 days which dieselgas told me that this is normal as its clearing out all the old dirty gunk from 1 the engine and other parts around the engine to the exchaust system, since then i have had no black smoke and its running like a treat.

The extended engine longevity warranty is something you buy through Dieselgas company if your car is not in warranty form the place your brought it at and if the car has done under 100000km i think , not 100% sure on that one mate

and all good JH

FollowupID: 460809

Reply By: Member - Richard L (WA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:49

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:49
Stephen........have my 2002 Navara booked in for conversion in Perth......won't be till new year.........however great to hear how successful you've found it.
1 question.......have you blocked of EGR VALVE...or any opinion on doing so
AnswerID: 201452

Follow Up By: Stephen NSW - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:09

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:09
Hi Richard,

I thought the EGR VALVE had to be left open as this is part of the cooling system isinit?

if i am wrong please inform me as i would like to know more

FollowupID: 460810