PAVLOVA: Outrageous Kiwi Claim

Submitted: Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:35
ThreadID: 53113 Views:9461 Replies:13 FollowUps:31
In Thread 52852, an Aussie Wannabe called KiwiAngler shamelessly submitted a post claiming NZ ownership of the uniquely Australian Pavlova dessert dish. Any culinary historian worth his salt knows that a real Pav has passionfruit on the top and in the late 1920's/early 1930's when Anna Pavlova visited Australia (and nz) this fruit was indiginous to Australia and was not known in NZ.

I submit this exhaustive research article proving that a soggy meringue cake appearing in an NZ Davis Gelatin recipe book does not justify their false claims and that the real, true-blue Pavlova was invented here in Perth by the chef in the Esplanade Hotel.

Acknowledgements to Glen Ralph of the Wilmar Library in South Australia.

The Pavlova
From the meringue it was another step, a giant ballet step for mankind as it were, to “propound” or create the pavlova.

There is no doubt that the famous dessert was named after Anna Pavlova, as has already been mentioned above. But there is much less certainty about who created it. Some allege an Australian origin, and others that it originated in New Zealand. Who has the right of it?

To answer the question I undertook a little research, the results of which I present here, but without wishing in any way to claim that the whole story has been uncovered. There may yet be more, and, as will appear, I was not able to verify everything.

I found the most useful reference to be The Australian National Dictionary; a dictionary of Australianisms on historical principles, edited by W. S. Ramson (Melbourne, Oxford University Press, 1988), which I reproduce here in part, omitting some quotations which seem fairly irrelevant:

Pavlova. [from the name of Anna Pavlova (1885-1931), Russian ballerina: see quote 1971]

1. A dessert; a large, soft-centred meringue topped with whipped cream and fruit.

[N.Z. 1927 Davis Dainty Dishes (Davis Gelatine N.Z., Ltd) (ed. 6) 11 Pavlova…
Dissolve all but a teaspoonful of Gelatine in the hot water, and all the sugar [etc.]

1929 K. McKay Practical Home Cookery 155/1 Pavlova cakes…Cook like
Meringues…They are delightful and simple to make besides being a novelty.]

1940 WESTACOTT & LOWENSTEIN 275 Choice Recipes 40 Pavlova Cake. Four eggs, 8 ozs. Castor sugar, 1 dessertspoon vinegar, 1 dessertspoon cornflour; 1 pinch cream of tartar. Beat whites stiff, fold in sugar, beat till dissolved, add other ingredients, lastly vinegar. Line a 9-inch tin with grease-proof paper slightly moistened; allow sides to stand up 4 inches as it rises very much, bake 1 1/2 hours in slow oven. Turn out and leave upside down to cool. Turn over and put whipped cream and passion fruit on top.

The Australian National Dictionary gives other citations, some of which, among other things, will be referred to below. There is, however, one reference, cited by the editor I suspect out of a sense of fun rather than from the obligations of scholarship, and I cannot forbear to reproduce it here, perhaps for the same reasons:

1986 P. GOLDSWORTHY Zooing 114 Pavlova n. (comm. abbrev. Pav.), a famous Australian dessert, named due to its mouth-watering properties in honour of the distinguished Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov (1849-1936).

Well, we all make mistakes sometimes.

The change from the egg-shaped meringues of Mrs. Beeton and the Daily Wants to the pavlova we know today seems to have been made in the late 1920s. The first recipe I was able to trace was that mentioned in the Australian National Dictionary, the one which appeared in the Davis Gelatine booklet, Davis Dainty Dishes, in the edition published in 1927. In order to confirm this I searched for a copy. The only copy recorded in Library collections seems to be that held by the New Zealand National Library. I sent an email to them, and hoped for a reply. Unfortunately my request was ignored, and I am therefore unable to confirm whether or not the recipe published therein was called a pavlova. The renowned ballerina had just completed a triumphal tour of Australia and New Zealand. It was reported in the press…”Expectations reached the highest point and every eye was focused on the stage from the packed balconies and stalls of His Majesty’s Theatre in Melbourne tonight, when the curtains of an alcove in a Moscow toy shop parted and the world’s greatest prima ballerina, Anna Pavlova, was revealed to the excited and applauding audience in the ballet Coppelia.” (13 March 1926)

The New Zealand claim is dealt with by Michael Symons in One Continuous Picnic: a history of eating in Australia (Adelaide, Duck Press, 1982), but with no mention of the Davis Gelatine booklet:

“In A taste of New Zealand in Food and Pictures, N. A. Munro stated in 1977: ‘It is often claimed, and perhaps justly, that the ‘Pav’ of affectionate parlance is New Zealand’s first and only contribution to international cuisine – that is, excluding foodstuffs native only to this country.’ Munro credited the idea to a nameless “benefactress” and fancied a date of ‘probably 1926, when the great ballerina toured this country, or shortly afterwards.’ To help check this for me, librarians of the National Library of New Zealand kindly consulted their collection of cookery books. In fact, they found a recipe for “Pavlova Cakes” in Mrs. McKay’s Practical Home Cookery, Chats and Recipes, published in 1929. The ingredients were roughly those of a pavlova, but it was not the pavlova as we know it, because the mixture was baked into three dozen little meringues. But there is more to the New Zealand claim than this. Even earlier, in Terrace Tested Recipes, collected by the ladies of Terrace Congregational Church, the second edition published in Wellington in 1927, there was a recipe submitted by a Mrs. McRae for Meringue Cake. This was three whipped egg-whites, eight ounces of sugar and a dessertspoon of cornflour (the pavlova ingredients less vinegar), put into two well-greased sandwich tins ‘in a fairly hot oven on a low shelf and leave until the fire is almost out.’ The two halves were filled with whipped cream and cherries or strawberries, or served as two cakes. From similar recipes published in 1933 and 1934, I think it fair to say that the Meringue Cake was common in New Zealand in the early 1930s. Its form varied, but it was to all intents and purposes what we know as a “Pavlova,” sometimes even complete with passionfruit on top.” (page 150)

Another contribution to the debate comes from The Bulletin columnist Ross Campbell. In a lively article he related his experience with the pavlova at Harrods in London. The article is worth reproducing in full, although parts of it are not entirely relevant here. Perhaps it should be noted that there is no support for Campbell’s statement that passionfruit is a “fruit unique to Australia.” (See Passion Fruit, by J. Farrell, E. E. Prescott, F.L.S., and F. H. Read, an article in a book edited by W. A Shum, entitled Australian Gardening Today. Adelaide, The Advertiser, n.d., pp.277-279). Campbell wrote:

THE BATTLE OF THE PAVLOVA
HARRODS is still the most classy department store, even though it advertises on buses now (“open all Saturday with a cast of thousands”). It is the place to go if you are looking for a £200 chess set with a board three feet square, or a Christmas-wrapped vintage Rolls and Bentley labelled His and Hers. So I felt a touch of satisfaction when I saw in their cake department a sign saying “Pavlova Cake—20p. a slice” (that is A.43 cents). The Pavlova, a distinctive Australian contribution to cuisine, had been officially recognized as posh.

“But I was shocked to read the rest of the notice. It said: “Pavlova Cake was created in New Zealand as a tribute to the dancer Anna Pavlova.” Furthermore, the specimen on display was not authentic. Instead of the traditional passionfruit on top of the cream it had strawberries. And the base did not seem to be the proper meringue; it was some brown crusty stuff.

“Indignant, I strode out of the gilded food Halls of Harrods and rang the New Zealand Government Offices. I told them what I had seen. “Does New Zealand really claim to have invented the pavlova?” I asked.

“The reply was courteous but non-committal. An information lady said that Pavlova cake was certainly made and eaten in New Zealand, and some people thought it had been created there. But she did not know for sure whether this was true.

“I consulted the memoirs of Pavlova in the British Museum Library. She had visited Australia and New Zealand in 1926, and Australia again in 1929. But she made no mention of the invention of the Pavlova. She does not seem to have appreciated the importance it would have in perpetuating her fame.

“I then wrote a letter, in a restrained but forceful style, to the manager of Harrods’ Food Halls. I said that the Pavlova – not “Pavlova cake” – was believed in Australia to be an indigenous creation. The fact that it was normally made with passionfruit, a fruit unique to Australia, was strong evidence for the truth of this belief. “The so-called Pavlova cake in Harrods,” I concluded, “made without meringue or passionfruit, gives a wrong impression of the true Australian Pavlova, tasty though it may be.”

The next day I received a telephone call from Mr. R. Jackson, Bakery and Confectionery Buyer for Harrods. He said my complaint about their Pavlova cake had been referred to him. I noticed that he pronounced it PAVlova. I refrained from pointing out that the usual pronunciation was PavLOVa, and anyone calling it a PAVlova ran a risk of being suspected of decadent tendencies.

“Mr. Jackson’s tone was conciliatory. He said: “We are neutral in this matter. We don’t really care whether Pavlova cake was invented in New Zealand or Australia. What matters to us is that it is a good selling line at Harrods. But we don’t want to stir up controversy and ill-feeling. So in view of what you have told us we have removed the placard.”

“I told him I appreciated this prompt action. But, I asked, could not the store now make a proper Australian PavLOVa with meringue and passionfruit?

"Actualy, our PAVlova cake does have a meringue base,” said Mr. Jackson. “But we found the meringue tended to fall apart without support, so we enclose it with a kind of outer crust.”

"I see. And what is the crust made of?” I asked.

"I would prefer not to reveal that,” he replied. “With regard to the passionfruit, we started out putting passionfruit on our Pavlova cakes, but they didn’t sell. People didn’t like the look of all the seeds and liquid stuff on top. We switched to strawberries and the sales trebled at once.”

“The removal of the offending placard was a gratifying achievement. To that extent I had successfully challenged the might of Harrods. But Mr. Jackson did not say they would put up another placard giving Australia credit for the Pavlova. Also I was wounded by the slur on passionfruit.

“Behind the whole affair I thought I could sense a whiff of a not uncommon English bias. It is felt by many here that New Zealanders are a decent, solid, rugger-playing lot, but Australians – well, look at all their queer mining companies. I am not confident that our image would help to sell Pavlovas at Harrods today.” The Bulletin 11 Dec 1971: 13-14.

This leaves the Davis Gelatine recipe as possibly the first real ‘pav,’ if it was a recipe for the pavlova as we now know it. It is unfortunate that it has not been possible to verify this.

There is yet more to our story. A further development of the pavlova recipe is credited to West Australian chef Herbert Sachse, and fortunately, unlike the question of the first pavlova, this is verifiable. Brian Hoad, another Bulletin writer, in an article about a film then being made, the $30 million Anglo-Soviet co-production, Pavlova, which starred Galina Baliaeva, wrote:

“…In 1935 at the Esplanade Hotel in Perth (now demolished) Herbert Sachse whipped up a meringue and cream confection in her [Pavlova’s] memory. Housewives across the nation have been commemorating her in their kitchens ever since.” (Article: Film glosses over Pavlova’s turning points. The Bulletin 16 Apr 1985 p.72.)

This comment in the article prompted an irate Kiwi to write to the Editor a letter which gives another story on the origin of the pavlova. L. G. Simmiss, of Como, W.A., wrote:

“Referring to Brian Hoad’s article on Dance and Pavlova (B, April 16); as a Kiwi in residence in Australia for the past ten years, I have managed most times to keep my mouth partly shut on the merits of Australian lamb v. NZ, etc., but in reading that the now-famous Kiwi dessert, the “Pavlova,” was “whipped up” by one Herbert Sachse in the Esplanade Hotel in Perth in 1935 I feel it is time to open wide and dispel this myth. New Zealand’s No. 1 indigenous dessert, the “Pavlova,” was created there after a visit by Pavlova in 1926 and the first published recipe was in the Otago Daily Times on June 26, 1934 – one year earlier than Herbert’s efforts. How about using your excellent magazine to publish the fact?”

The reference to the new Zealand newspaper is a problem, since no copies are held locally, and it is likely that a request addressed to the New Zealand National Library might well be as fruitless as the Davis inquiry. But it opens up yet another possibility for the origin of the pavlova as we now have it. Brian Hoad’s story is supported by “The Macquarie Dictionary of Australian Colloquialisms,” published under the general title Aussie Talk (McMahon’s Point, N.S.W., Macquarie Library, 1984):

“pav n. a pavlova. [the pavlova was invented in 1935 by Herbert Sachse, 1898-1974, Australian chef, and named by Harry Nairn of the Esplanade Hotel, Perth, after Anna Pavlova, 1885-1931, Russian ballerina]” (page 232)

Herbert Sachse (the name is variously pronounced as SACKS and SACK-SEE) was a farmer in W. A. A brief sketch of his life can be found in The Family Sachse. From Tschausdorf, Prussia to South Australia, 1855-1987, compiled by A. F. Barnes for the Sachse Family Reunion Committee, 1987. According to Herbert’s younger daughter, Margaret (Mrs. M. M. Weller), her father “invented” the pavlova, as she recalled for Mr. Barnes:

“We were on a property belonging to my mother’s father, in what was then known as “The Midlands,” at the towns of Coomberdale and Caroow. The area suffered a four-year drought that finally made the family leave the property, there being no assistance from the Government in those days. My mother was an exceptionally good cook and taught my father to cook, who eventually became Head Chef at the Esplanade Hotel, in Perth. While at the Esplanade Hotel he invented the sweet he named “Pavlova.” There is an article of him in “Australians.”” (Barnes, op. cit. p.102)

Bernard Herbert Francis Sachse was born on 12th May 1898 at Boulder, Western Australia, and had followed various occupations in his life, and died aged 75 on 1st April, 1974, at Kalgoorlie, where he was on holiday. Mr. Barnes cites a newspaper clipping (no reference given), which he said had been sent to him. The clipping read:

“The Esplanade, as every sweet tooth knows, was the culinary temple wherein the world famous pavlova was created by the late Bert Sachse for ballerina Anna Pavlova at the urging of the late and then Elsie Paxton. Bert told me all about it one day in his kitchen after he had switched over to the Palace Hotel. (Anna Pavlova visited Perth about 1925 or 1926.).” (Barnes, op. cit., p.103)

The combined evidence of Mrs. Weller, an unnamed reporter, and Brian Hoad in The Bulletin, as quoted above, make a case for the Sachse claim. The new dish was somewhat different from the “pavlova cakes” of earlier years. The Sachse pav. was not in the form of “cakes,” but was, and is, rather, a dish served up on a flat plate, and covered with whipped cream and fruit – passionfruit, strawberries, or other, according to taste. Arthur Barnes has further comment which is of interest:

“In August 1985 a daily newspaper published an article titled “Kiwi chefs get into a stew over pavlova’s ocker origins.” Therein we read that New Zealand chefs rebuff Astralian claims that the pavlova was invented in Perth. That “Kiwis are gathering evidence that the pavlova was not invented by Herbert Sachse,” but was the creation “of a country housewife near Oamaru in the South Island about a decade earlier.” However, it is not supported by indisputable evidence. Will the Sachse Families support the late Bert Sachse claim to fame? I hope so, hence the reason for mentioning the dispute, and the disparaging and insidious statement from New Zealand, “Ocker attempt to hog the pav.”” (Barnes, op. cit., p.103)

It seems not unreasonable to assume, considering all the evidence given above, that the pavlova of New Zealand, be it the Davis Gelatine or the Mrs. McRae variety, was a pavlova cake, while the Sachse delicacy is the dinkum Aussie dish we all prefer. In this way everybody gets a slice of the cake, or a fair serve, and we can finish our meal in peace.

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:52

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:52
Well,

I read the first four paragraphs and then scrolled down to see how long this went on.

For ever.

Mate you need to take up knitting LOL

You have far too much time on your hands.

AnswerID: 279799

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:55

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:55
Jim, you're not a Kiwi are you?

I actually prefer to crochet.

FollowupID: 543968

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:56

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:56
Agree with gone b ush 100%.

You better fire up the engine mate and go for a drive......

FollowupID: 543969

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:57

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:57
"I read the first four paragraphs and then scrolled down to see how long this went on"

Me to, whats it about??

FollowupID: 543971

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:59

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 19:59
Too much Emu Bitter or whatever they drink over there LOL
FollowupID: 543972

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:04

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:04
Ooops...I should've said I agree with Jim 100%, not Gone Bush.

You crazy mate...haha

FollowupID: 543974

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:10

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:10
Jum,

(hope I've pronounced that correctly) the beer of choice amongst we retirees is James Squire's Golden Ale. A boutique drop best quaffed on a hot day. And we've had a few of them over here in Australia's engine room.

FollowupID: 543976

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:15

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:15
A boutique???

Isn't that somewhere that you get your hair permed??

Assuming you have any left LOL.

Jum.
FollowupID: 543979

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:19

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:19
I think u got Pavlova and Sheeplova mixed up. Too baaaaaad.

FollowupID: 544026

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:07

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:07
A Kiwi mate of mine made the same claim. But he rekkons if it wasn't invented there, then they own it anyway.
Must be tough living next door to Ozzie :))))))))))
AnswerID: 279804

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:10

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:10
All this is just an albumen beat-up.......

AnswerID: 279805

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 22:24

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 22:24
lol
FollowupID: 544012

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:17

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:17
Ex+++ Mate!!HEHEJEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!
Still giggling,Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 544025

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:16

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:16
For a start, passionfruit is not indigenous to Australia according to various sites I have looked at..., it is Brazilian. I moved to Oz 40 yrs ago from the Land of the Long White Cloud and was surprised that Aussies called the Pav Australian. I always thought it was Kiwi...but wouldn't care to debate the point with Gone Bush for too long.
And anyway, Aussies have always called famous Kiwis one of their own...Pharr Lap, Split Enz, Crowded House, Sam Neil, Russell Crowe...(you're welcome to the arrogant pr...k)...the list goes on.
AnswerID: 279809

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:19

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:19
Very good Don.... Very good :-)

FollowupID: 543981

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:29

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:29
Brazilian???

Now you have my interest LOL

FollowupID: 543984

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:07

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:07
Brazilian??? - that's when you go in with a map of Tasmania and come out with the road from Launceston to Hobart.............
FollowupID: 544066

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:16

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:16
Brazilian??

How many is that?

FollowupID: 544068

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:26

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 10:26
More than a Gazilian?
FollowupID: 544070

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:18

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:18
Mate.....you've gotta get out more often! Love your work. Mick.

AnswerID: 279810

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:18

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:18
For a start, passionfruit is not indigenous to Australia according to various sites I have looked at..., it is Brazilian. I moved to Oz 40 yrs ago from the Land of the Long White Cloud and was surprised that Aussies called the Pav Australian. I always thought it was Kiwi...but wouldn't care to debate the point with Gone Bush for too long.
And anyway, Aussies have always called famous Kiwis one of their own...Pharr Lap, Split Enz, Crowded House, Sam Neil, Russell Crowe...(you're welcome to the arrogant pr...k)...the list goes on.
AnswerID: 279811

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:21
oops, sorry...hit the button twice....
FollowupID: 543982

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:35

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:35
You forgot Bjelke Peterson.

He is the sole reason for the hatred of Kiwi's here LOL

Seriously, I consider us one. The old Anzac thing.
FollowupID: 543985

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:37

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:37
yup, me too mate..except when it comes to the All Blicks....
FollowupID: 543986

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:48

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:48
You Kiwis can have those world class chokers LOL

FollowupID: 543988

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:30

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:30
careful now....how did the wobblies go....???

Don
FollowupID: 544001

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:06

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:06
Hahahahahahaha .... as expected ... that's the difference :)))

FollowupID: 544023

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:57

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:57
be it was nz's!!!! We do seem to claimeverything that they come up with!!! LOL !!!....

..........Im aussie if ya'll wondering!!!..................

Laura
AnswerID: 279822

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:13
well we wouldn't claim Chinese gooseberries as our own would we. You pile so much of that stuff on the top of anything and say its Kiwi. YUK! LMAO
FollowupID: 543998

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:07
Kiwis puffed at pavlova origin - Article from: Courier Mail

Peter Williams
July 18, 2005 11:00pm

Just having a laugh ...anyway who givsa....

THE raging debate over whether the pavlova was invented in Australia or New Zealand isn't over, but the evidence uncovered so far favours the Kiwis.

One year into a three-year trans-Tasman research project about culinary history, the New Zealanders have found published pavlova recipes which predate the fluffy meringue dessert's supposed 1935 creation in Australia by up to six years.

But descendants of the owner of Perth's Esplanade Hotel, where chef Bert Sachse is claimed to have baked the first pavlova that year, haven't given up.

Professor Helen Leach, of New Zealand's University of Otago, says one descendant wrote to her suggesting Mr Sachse may have got his dates wrong and in fact came up with the pavlova earlier than 1935.

"The family belief is very strong and that's possible," Professor Leach says.

A descendant told her the light-footed Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova, after whom the dessert is named, toured Australia and NZ in 1926, then Australia only in 1929 and died in 1931.

"So why wait, as he said, until 1935 to develop the dish?"

Professor Leach has told descendants to look through Perth's cookbooks of that era to see if pavlova recipes can be found. "But I somehow don't think they're going to find the evidence, simply because it's just not showing up in the cookbooks until really the 1940s in Australia," she said.

In NZ, on the other hand, a pavlova recipe appears in a 1929 rural magazine, published under a pseudonym. Another is found in a 1933 mothers' union cookbook submitted by a Laurina Stevens of the South Island town of Rangiora.

More evidence from both countries might surface at a food history conference at Wellington's Victoria University later this year.

"Some Australians who are interested in food history are going to come across to it so there could be more information available at that point," Professor Leach says.

She says meringue cakes in various forms existed on both sides of the Tasman, but the pavlova name apparently emerged in the late 1920s.

Professor Leach attributes the spread of the dessert to the women's magazines.

If you have evidence the pavlova was made in Australia before 1929, e-mail cmletters@qnp.newsltd.com.au with the word "pavlova" in the subject line

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 279826

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:32

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:32
anyway, I agree..., who givesa...

Don
FollowupID: 544002

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:24

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:24
One thing I am not clear on here - The posters who said the recipes published in NZ were similar to the modern Pavlova but none were quoted as having the title Pavlova. Was it Bert Sachse who actually was the first to use Pavlova as the name for it?

FollowupID: 544028

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:29

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:29
Woow, well that's my reading for the night.

Gee Gone Bush, wish I had your spare time!!!!!!!!!!! lolwell done.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 279829

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:37

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:37
GB,
Passionfruit......your GAY arnt yah....
The only place you go grabbing is Northbridge, hope you catch heaps...hehehe....

STRAWBERRIES, FRESH TARANAKI CREAM, washed down with a nice solid robust LION BROWN.

You cant get any more Kiwi than that my good friend.

Cheers...mate

Lionel.
AnswerID: 279832

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:50

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:50
Sorry....I forgot to add:

After the Pav for dessert we hoe into sausage rolls and heaps of Watties tomato sauce....puts hairs round your willy...hehehe.
FollowupID: 544006

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 22:59

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 22:59
And of course a feed of South Island whitebait fritters :-))
followed by a bluff oysters ...mmmmmmmm
FollowupID: 544021

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:44

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 23:44
And Lemon & Paeroa
FollowupID: 544032

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 08:19

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 08:19
And chocolate fush.
FollowupID: 544051

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 14:33

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 14:33
And orange milkshakes
FollowupID: 544113

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 15:06

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 15:06
As much as I hate to admit it if you add some chocolate you get a real nice Jaffa shake.
FollowupID: 544129

Reply By: walruz - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:41

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:41
Pavlova...World famous in NZ
AnswerID: 279833

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 17:03

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 17:03
wasnt pavalova a greek opera singer who died recently?
AnswerID: 279943

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 17:07

Saturday, Jan 05, 2008 at 17:07
No I think he was a greek opera singer who died recently BECAUSE he ate too many Pavlova's (the desert I mean)
FollowupID: 544152

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 14:57

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 14:57
Herbert Sachse (the name is variously pronounced as SACKS and SACK-SEE) was a farmer in W. A. A brief sketch of his life can be found in The Family Sachse. From Tschausdorf, Prussia to South Australia, 1855-1987, compiled by A. F. Barnes for the Sachse Family Reunion Committee, 1987. According to Herbert’s younger daughter, Margaret (Mrs. M. M. Weller), her father “invented” the pavlova, as she recalled for Mr. Barnes:

I'm related to old Herb. And stated in the book
AnswerID: 280274