Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

'92 GQ oil pressure

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 19:21

This weekend just past myself and my wife both drove our 92 GQ at the Bullsbrook (WA) 4x4 Gymkhana, now the car was getting pushed quite hard. The question is that normally the oil pressure sits at 2 on idle and 4 while driving but during the comp it sat right up between 6 and 8, it is back to normal now but I was getting a bit concerned, has anyone else had this problem and if so what cured it.
I couldn't find anything in the gregorys manual regarding this topic.

Thanks in advance

Mark (WA)
ThreadID: 7540 Replies: 7
Views: 430 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 32532   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 19:51

GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) replied:

gday mark.
my gq usually sits on about 4 but when its cold 6-8 if backing of down a hill 6-8.
i wouldnt be to concerned original guage probly not that spot onjamieson wild cat
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 32535   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 20:14

Martyn (WA) replied:

Mark,
I have a 92 GQ, the oil pressure read anywhere between .5 and 4 dpending on a lot of things, tyre pressures, ambient temp, speed, how many people are in the fourby etc etc. The gauges on the 4.2 aren't known for their accuracy, as long as the light goes out and the gauge moves you're right. Going higher than 4 is unusual and not something I personally have heard of before, you must have the optimists gauge. There are a number of threads talking about this topic have a look. This is all my opinion stuff as usual. Keep the shiny side up
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 32536   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 20:16

David N. replied:

There are many previous posts re these gauges. (sender problem)
I got sick of mine and put a mechanical full swing VDO so now I know I have good oil pressure.
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 32540   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 20:37

peterK replied:

I did a sender unit in the High Country at xmas, the indication was the guage sat high 6-8, but stayed there. Also my oil light came on - but not a full glow (i know it doesnt have variable settings - but I have witnesses).
Not much help I know, but at the same time I cooked a battery - so I think that may actually have triggered it all.
My understanding is that Nissan took out the guage in the GU, as it wasnt that accurate anyway.
peter
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Hen Hen's Night Belly Dancing Class
Brisbane - QLD
Why not shake up your hen's night with music, dancing and a whole lot of fun!
Learn to Stand Up Paddle Board Learn to Stand Up Paddle Board
Melbourne - VIC
Stand Up Paddle Board in a group environment!
Barrington Tops Private Charter 4WD Ecotour for 2 Barrington Tops Private Charter 4WD Ecotour f
Sydney - NSW
A full day exploring the scenic edge of the Hunter Valley, and climbing to over 4000ft above sea lev
Beer & BBQ Cooking Class - QLD Beer & BBQ Cooking Class - QLD
Brisbane - QLD
If you enjoy Great Boutique Beers & a Hearty Gourmet BBQ then this is the class for you!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 32541   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 20:39

floyd replied:

The sender is the problem. It is common on Patrols. I had one that started to read low and Nissan checked the pressure with a special funky device and said that the pressure was fine. Had 2 senders put in until one of them read the same as the special funky device. Aparently this is common on all of these models. Get it checked so as you sleep well and then get a good sender so as it reads right.
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 32546   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 20:59

Willie replied:

My oil pressure guage has been lying on zero for years. The sender is crook and I could not loosen it from the block.This would have meant drilling it out and running a tap back into the block in fitting a new sender. Decided not to worry about it and disconnected the lead.
WillieNever a dull moment
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 32986   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 07, 2003 at 13:33

Big Trev replied:

I have had my 1989 Nissan Maverick / Ford Patrol (Diesel) for 12 years, it has only now done about 170,000. The oil pressure gauge has read low since day dot. It will read a little higher after an oil change, or when its cold, but it generally sits in the bottom 1/8th or 1/4 of the gauge. I am not at all worried about it. Great motor, very hard to break.
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website