Camping on <span class="highlight">Eyre</span> Hwy near Yalata SA with a toilet ....

Submitted: Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 15:03
ThreadID: 111258 Views:2683 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
I am travelling across the Oz (West to East) in Dec 2015. Some of members of my party are fairies and can not 'do what needs to be done' in a hole. Can anyone recommend somewhere within 100 or so km's from Yalata where we could camp (tents) for a night where there is a toilet. Long drop will do .....
Thanks.

Reply By: new boy - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:05

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:05
Just looked up Camps 5 plenty of camp spots but on the Nullabor toilets are very rare but could possible have been put in since we last did it. A couple of choices are A. camp close to a roadhouse rush in next morning Or B stay at the roadhouse they all have small parks beside them .
AnswerID: 546679

Follow Up By: Trek'n_Teach - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:41

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:41
Might have to get myself a copy of Camps 7 (I think that's right). Maybe some more up to date info. ...
Ta.
FollowupID: 834459

Follow Up By: baznpud (tassie) - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:49

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:49
Get your self the app Wikicamps and put it on your ipad/iphone.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 834461

Reply By: Swartsy - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:27

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:27
If you want a great place to stay and you don't mind a bit of dirt road then go into Fowlers Bay. (32km south of Nundroo) Nundroo is 51km Easy of Yalata.
Great little place and good fishing too.
AnswerID: 546681

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:26

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:26
and with hot showers too!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 834456

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 19:00

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 19:00
Another vote for Fowlers Bay. It is a top spot and lots to explore in the area.

FollowupID: 834462

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 20:18

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 20:18
Yes perfect suggestion!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 834465

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:21

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:21
I recommend 65kg plus mulloway fishing of Coombra beach Yalata, temps are starting to reach mid 40s plus that time of year. A fantastic experience though!
FollowupID: 834473

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:38

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:38
"Long drop will do ....."
If they hang their backsides out over the edge of the Bunda Cliffs, it is a VERY long drop. :)

OKA196 Motorhome.
AnswerID: 546682

Follow Up By: Trek'n_Teach - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:35

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:35
Depends on how many "Are we there yet"s I get. I might recommend this and then give them a little push .......... the joys of travelling with teenagers ........
FollowupID: 834457

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:54

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 16:54
Get a shower tent and a fold up dunny takes up next to no room and light weight. Digging a hole in some spots is nigh on impossible anyway.

Enjoy your rather warm trip.

AnswerID: 546683

Follow Up By: Trek'n_Teach - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:39

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 17:39
G'day Dunc,
Trying to avoid this as we are on the road for 4 weeks and I think this is the only spot we will be without a loo overnight. But I may have to resort to this.
Already packing drill and drill bit for tent peg holes ......
Thanks.
FollowupID: 834458

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:10

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:10
Other option is to camp at the various motels along the way. A number have small caravan/camping grounds attached from memory.

D

FollowupID: 834460

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:30

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 18:30
Pretty sure there are now toilets at the Head of Bight. Was there in 2012 and that's my memory plus I just checked in Places which confirms my memory.
Michelle Martin

AnswerID: 546685

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 20:21

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 20:21
Scratch that, no good to you in Dec I think they close the road in after Oct and its day use only.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 834466

Reply By: john m85 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:06

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:06
could leave the fairies home
cheers.
AnswerID: 546695

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:26

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:26
This might help, it is aboriginal territory, not that its bad, but don't expect replies to soon.
http://www.yalata.org/
AnswerID: 546697

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:27

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:27
Insight to the area as well, well worth it.
FollowupID: 834475

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:31

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:31
Everything in the Yalata district should still be open in December
FollowupID: 834476

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:29

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 22:29
I love this part of Aus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 546698

Reply By: Geoff N (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 02:51

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 02:51
Nundroo roadhouse has a camping area, with toilets and shower in the roadhouse and, iirc, a laundry. And beer and steaks. There used to be a caravan park just north of the pub but I've not stopped there and suspect it may be closed.
AnswerID: 546704

Reply By: Bigfish - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 09:13

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 09:13
HAHAH..Sounds like your in for an interesting trip..

Solution...Don't feed the fairies for a day or so...lol

Glad its you mate and not me....
AnswerID: 546708

Reply By: Trek'n_Teach - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 11:52

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 11:52
Thank you all for your replies. You have both been helpful and humorous ........... might head for Fowlers Bay, look interesting and might be a bit cooler of the evening closer to the ocean??????
AnswerID: 546720

Follow Up By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 13:40

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 13:40

There is also Coorabie Farm...showers, toilets, even has power. Turn S 5 kms E of Nundroo into Fowlers Bay Road. 10 kms of gravel.

Its a private property... the stations we have stayed on usually seem to be most interesting places.
Phone number is 08 8625 6126 so if you are considering staying there it would be worth phoning ahead to see it is operating when you intend traveling.
I've just bought a copy of Camps 8 Australia Wide and the details are from it.

regards,
Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 834487