off road caravans

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 12:08
ThreadID: 147367 Views:1781 Replies:13 FollowUps:14
Looking to buy a off road caravan ,about 16-19ft long ,towing with a 2016 prado , with upgrade GVM . Looking at Southern Cross vans at the moment. We are in Perth. Has anyone had experiences with this company? Thanks Uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 14:48

Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 14:48
Uppy, the towing limit for a 2016 Prado is 2500kg, you say you have a GVM upgrade, do you realise that the GVM upgrade amount will reduce your towing capacity by the same amount, so if your GVM increase was 500kg, your towing limit is now 2000kg, don't think any offroad van of 16-19ft will weight that little.

AnswerID: 645573

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 07:23

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 07:23
Hi John,

You may need to explain exactly what you mean here. How does increasing the GVM, decrease the towing capacity? Many people who do not understand will not necessarily put it all together.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 925858

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 14:56

Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 14:56
thanks John , I`m a bit confused now

AnswerID: 645574

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 16:31

Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 at 16:31
I,d aim for something that when fully loaded to the max weighs about 2000kg.. This will make it easier to tow, less demanding on your car and cheaper to travel. You dont need the big, heavy dog boxes that many have. Keep it light and simple will mean a more enjoyable trip. You do not need all the bells and whistles that manufacturers say you need. Their hybrids are chinese , assembled here and as heavy as! Looking on the web they all seem bloody heavy. 2016 Prado is not really powerful enough to be towing 2500kg vans anyways. Its at its max limit and as such means a lot more stress on motor, brakes, transmission, body and driver.
AnswerID: 645575

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 08:00

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 08:00
Macca asked for further explanation of towing capacity reduction when a vehicle has a GVM upgrade. My Patrol had a GVM upgrade from 3000kg to 3500kg, the following was written on the documentation, Your car has had an engineered GVM (Gross Vehicle Mass) increase from 3000kg to 3500kg, "your cars GCM (Gross Combined Mass) remains unchanged at 6500kg. You maximum braked towing capacity has now been downgraded to 3000kg". Hope this is a little clearer?

AnswerID: 645577

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 08:10

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 08:10
Would I be right in assuming that the diff was strengthened, brakes upgraded and?coils/springs/shocks all up graded? How are the axle weights now configured to stay legal. 500kg is a hell of a lot.
FollowupID: 925859

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 09:38

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 09:38
Apart from having decent shocks and springs, a GVM "upgrade" only makes/forces, the vehicle to work in the safety margin reserve the manufacturer made within their design. No free lunches and so the towing rating is appropriately less. It all makes the failure point closer to reality. and it happens under the worse situations.
FollowupID: 925860

Follow Up By: Member - John - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:11

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:11
Bigfish, the rear diff was laminated, shocks and springs changed out front and rear, rear spring mounts reinforced. I wasn't required to do so, but I did laminate the front diff also, as well as changing the brakes to Wilwood front and rear, larger discs and calipers. RMD, I have just done some research and Qld has recently removed the requirement to lower towing ratings after a GVM upgrade, which I think is a retrograde step.

FollowupID: 925861

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:48

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:48
Thanks guys . We`ll look at a lighter van

FollowupID: 925862

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 16:11

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 16:11
Good to see that you did a proper job on the upgrade. Peace of mind and a lot better equipped vehicle for the load. I,m absolutely stuffed at how changing shocks/springs can suddenly see a vehicle get a gvm upgrade.
FollowupID: 925865

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:47

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 10:47
Thanks for your reply.Well need to look at lighter vans

AnswerID: 645581

Reply By: Dusta - Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 14:55

Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 at 14:55
southern cross vans are very heavy . plus your prado is ridiculously underpowered. Great car, shit engine .
AnswerID: 645585

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 05:53

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 05:53
I expect most vehicles will have a lower off road towing capacity than on road for safety reasons because of the extra stress placed on everything. Back around 20yrs ago when we had a Disco I think it had around 1 ton less rating for off road towing something to look into so you get home without any problems at the end of the day.
I couldn't see it being much fun towing something off road that's heavier than the tow vehicle it would be pushing you all over the place giving you whip lash.
AnswerID: 645586

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 09:48

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 09:48
thanks Batts , think about giving the idea away , just stick to tent camping

FollowupID: 925866

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 14:43

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 14:43
No worries. Also if you really want a bit of a camping upgrade maybe a ute with something like a Trayon slide on camper on the back.
FollowupID: 925867

Reply By: Member - Suitcase (QLD) - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 13:29

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 13:29
Do you really need 16' to 19" long? I've seen Goldstream vans in some pretty remote locations. Are you going to take it "off-road" or just down a dirt road?
Suitcase
Prado SX and a little van

AnswerID: 645588

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 15:24

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 15:24
Mainly on dirt roads

AnswerID: 645589

Reply By: Kenell - Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 18:44

Monday, Apr 01, 2024 at 18:44
Uppy, don't write off the hybrids. I have one that is completely Australian made (yes I am certain) and it isn't heavy ie 1300kg empty and 2000kg loaded. Same wheels and height (to tow) as the car and has handled all the iconic roads like Gove, Gibb, Savanah Way and lots more. Apart from flats on the tyres that it came with nothing has broken or bent. If our bladders could manage it thru the whole night we wouldn't be in any rush to change it but alas thats not the case. Oh and it is available for well under $50k. We too are now looking for an offroad van but as others have said they are heavy, rich in unnecessary bits etc. when really all we need is a dunny a bed and some cooking.
Good luck with your search - everything in camping is a compromise.

AnswerID: 645591

Follow Up By: Garry L - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 07:27

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 07:27
"they are heavy, rich in unnecessary bits etc. when really all we need is a dunny a bed and some cooking."

How true Kenell

Good friends of mine have been travelling Australia full time for nine years now in a ten year old Triton towing a small van weighing 2000 kg's fully loaded and they are amazed at how many other couples need to have the biggest, heaviest van and tow vehicle with more features than most homes have when they are only on a two to three month holiday !

I'll stick with my off road camper trailer at 1500 kg's fully loaded for as long as I can !

Happy, safe and light travelling

Gazz

FollowupID: 925868

Follow Up By: axle - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 15:47

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 15:47
Everything in camping is a compromise!

My Father thought the same thing

Tarp over a fence , Forked stick over a hole in the ground, circle of rocks for the fire,

kerosene lantern, a few army blankets, and a overcoat on top if it got to cold

He was Happy, not sure about the rest of us LOL.
FollowupID: 925869

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 11:06

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 11:06
thanks Kenall , We are looking at a lighter van now , we have been camping for years in tents in very remote areas, I`m going on 70 so we want an easy off road van with a island bed, wife wants a few things eg washing machine ,shower and toilet. looking at Stoney creek 16ft to day

AnswerID: 645592

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 18:41

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2024 at 18:41
What model Stoney Creek Uppy? I thought Stoney Creek only did hybrids.
FollowupID: 925870

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Apr 05, 2024 at 14:33

Friday, Apr 05, 2024 at 14:33
Going to get a snowy river src 17

AnswerID: 645620

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Friday, Apr 05, 2024 at 15:58

Friday, Apr 05, 2024 at 15:58
That looks like a very well thought out and put together unit , with quality everywhere. Very impressive indeed.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 925926

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 08:06

Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 08:06
Uppy, your original post said, "Looking to buy a off road caravan ,about 16-19ft long", and now you say you are buying a SRC17, have you changed your criteria, as the SRC17 does not look like an offroad van to me. The suspension is not a suitable set up for dirt roads, let alone offroad. I would be checking the warranty closely to see if "Off road" usage is covered. Good luck

FollowupID: 925933

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 08:22

Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 08:22
We were very interested in the Snowy River vans, some years back, until we realised what suspension was used.
Wouldn’t even consider them for bitumen use now, after previous experience we’d had with similar suspension.

FollowupID: 925934

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 10:51

Saturday, Apr 06, 2024 at 10:51
Thanks guys , the van is getting an up grade for the suspension, independent and off road tyres. Well be mainly on dirt roads

AnswerID: 645624