<span class="highlight">Hiclone</span> - do they work

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:27
ThreadID: 18253 Views:7042 Replies:19 FollowUps:22
I would be interested to hear of peoples thoughts on using Hiclones, to improve fuel economy - do they actually work - or just a gimmick?

They reckon 15 to 20 % better fuel economy?

Looking at fiiting one on my 95 carby model triton.

What do you think?

Reply By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:38

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:38
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
NOT AGAIN
AnswerID: 86857

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:44

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:44
gday zebu.
i have one fitted to my goggo mobile(not the dart)
i soak it in snake oil first.leave it over night in snake oil for best results.
fit the fuel filter on the wrong way.
swap ignition leads around and now find im now using only. 1 ltr per 100ks.
of course they dont work.
AnswerID: 86858

Reply By: madlee - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:46

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:46
Hi.testing on my diesel 4runner now.I have only travelled 400km so far.No noticeable difference in power or economy.They say the more you have the better.I am using 2.At $160 ea it is a hard call.Wait for more replys,hopefully you might get some positive feedback.
AnswerID: 86859

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:03

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:03
Okay blokes......he's waved the red rag........

Now, where's the BULL???????????

This is another emotive subject; right up there with tojo v nissan......diesel v petrol......waeco v engel........bfg v coopers etc etc.

Some people swear by hi-clones....others swear at 'em.

Pesty runs em in his 60 series; but then again he needs ALL the help he can get to keep his bucket of bolts on the road...hahahaha
AnswerID: 86862

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:13

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:13
I will try and be subjective - 4.2l petrol lwb maverick - no hiclone for a couple of years - then a hiclone for approx 7 yrs - now no hiclone for a year - the difference was....................................................in conclusion - save your money and spend it on something else. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 86864

Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:21
Ill be nice

Search is you friend....click on search and type in hiclones.... then forward me $10000 in un marked bills and i'll send you that contract for the purchase of the Opera house.

shadow
AnswerID: 86866

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:32

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:32
Would you like that in 50's or 100's.......I've been trying to buy the Opera House for quite a while; ever since I successfully bought the Harbour Bridge a few years ago. It was a steal at only $5,000- and the silly buggar who sold it to me let me leave it where it is (in his back yard) and isn't even charging me any rent for the privilege of leaving it there.

I'll get that $10K to you in tomorrow's post shadow. Thanks.
FollowupID: 345449

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:47

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:47
I've got some land for sale.

Beach frontage in Qld, 2 acres for just $15,000. Fine ocean views.

I'll refund your airfares if you buy.

I'll show it to anytime you like; anytime at low tide that is.
FollowupID: 345452

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:12

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:12
Sorry Jimbo,
But I already bought 400 metres of beach at the Gold Coast a few weeks ago for only $5,000- . I'm a good bloke though and am quite happy to let other people walk on it whenever they like, so long as I can do the same when i go there.....(not likely!!!).
I know it's an indulgence owning land that you hardly ever get to use, but that's just the sort of nice simple bloke I am.
LOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 345479

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:28

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:28
Bill,

How dare you mock my decent, genuine offer, you poor simpleton ("simple bloke I am").

I was actually going to throw in a hiclone, and maybe a litre or two of Bi Tron to clinch the deal.

Can't say fairer than that (Arthur Dailey).

Keep out of my businees dealings you heretic.
FollowupID: 345481

Follow Up By: theshadows - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:44

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:44
I told you you being tight Jim !!! throw in a a poleriser as well and its "money in the bank".

shadow
FollowupID: 345492

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:44

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:44
For Goodness sake you blokes. Get a grip. Next thing you will say is,
"I'm a bank manager Trust Me"
I'd rather buy a hiclone!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 345629

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:28
Got one now in the Jack, courtesy of Bradley who had it collecting dust.

So far ... feels a little bit nicer to cruise above 80 clicks, but that's all. No other improvements.

Hey, you have a 30 day money back guarantee. So by all means try it and then decide. But be prepared for no marked improvement.
AnswerID: 86868

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:31

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:31
In deference to the baggers I have 2 in my Patrol. Immediately after installation I noticed smoother idling and also that the turbo lag was less, turbo coming on-stream about 300 rpm earlier. Also better fuel economy, around 2lit/100km's better.

Mate had 2 fitted to his Defender extreme the same day, same story, turbo coming in earlier and better economy. Are they worth it? Mine paid for itself already with a trip to Qld and back (and a bit.

Hi-clone offer a money back deal, unconditional. I spoke to the guy at head office in Melb and he confirmed that. Whats to lose. Try a couple, if they dont do nothing get your money back.

As some have said above some people have successes some dont.

AnswerID: 86874

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:04
I also have one in my parol & have found that it has improved fuel consumption, power not so sure of
Let the knockers say what they like most that do havent tied them or given them a chance & as they are laughing @ us who use them all i can say is my wallet is better off when i fill up
I have found i am about 2 dollars per 100 klm better off from having mine fitted for just on 12months now & having documented all my fillups i'm the one whos laughing
warren
FollowupID: 345500

Follow Up By: David Au - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:43

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:43
So now Hiclones can change the mechanical design and operation of the turbo and cause it to get more revs eariler ROFLOL
UNBELIEVABLE what some can dream.
FollowupID: 345524

Follow Up By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:39

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:39
You can talk yourself into anything! You probably sub-conciously change your driving style.

I'll bet my super that if someone removed it without your knowing, you'd not notice.
If 1% of people are sucked in by this garbage, then they are laughing all the way to the bank!

Think of this....If it worked the manufacturers would fit them as fuel economy is a big selling point.

Why does this post keep returning???
ROTFL
FollowupID: 345571

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:55

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:55
Don't laugh too soon. The two things that are indicated (early turbo boost, better fuel economy) could be possible if the Hiclones actually increase the pressure difference across the turbo by resricting the inflow of air to the turbo........ The unfortunate thing is this would have to mean a trade-off in power at the higher engine revs.

You could always stuff half a potato up your inlet and achieve the same result.........for a lot less than $160.
FollowupID: 345599

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:41

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:41
Hi guys believe what you want, I don't drive it any different. Also both Mclaren and Ferrari run a similar arrangement on their F1 cars, its actually cast into the air intake and produces a similar swirling arrangement to the Hiclones.

FollowupID: 345706

Reply By: angler - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:55

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:55
If they save 25% each why not put in four and drive for free.
AnswerID: 86879

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:09

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:09
so if i fitted 5 would that mean the fuel companys would owe me money lol
FollowupID: 345502

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:18

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:18
I have a mate who put 5 into his Troopy, if he goes anywhere he has to keep his second tank empty because he is actualy making fuel as he drives, and he can fill that one up. if he does any really long trips he has to take a trailer with empty jerry cans in it and constantly empty the tank into them.
He tried just putting a single litre of fuel in the tank before he left to solve the problem, but with the increase in power, and minimal weight the troopy was like a top fuel dragster, and chewed thru back tyres
FollowupID: 345532

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:22

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:22
now you being just plain silly ....... its the goverment thaqt charges you for all that feul you making with the fitman tof 5 hi-clone and state revenue chargeing you fuel duty.

shadow
FollowupID: 345533

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:12

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 23:12
just a little story about hiclone.
spoke to our local suplier can we do a dyno test before and after you fit the hiclone.
sorry we dont have a dyno.
we do whaen can we do the test.
thats was about 18 months ago.
still waiting to hear back from him.
waiting waiting waiting.
no phone call no flowers not even a thank you hahahahaha
AnswerID: 86889

Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 01:28

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 01:28
The automotive equal to placebo's, hard to find people who have handed over 100 plus, hard earned dollars to admit they were had. Luckily I was able to save the money by letting a mate buy one for his GU TD3.0 patrol, and then gave it a whirl in my 60 after he found no difference. Just made rushing noises in mine. It is now cruising the streets pretending to be helping another mates Hi-Lux.
AnswerID: 86898

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:10

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:10
i dont remember saying my Nissan was a turbo or even a deisel
& guess what its neither
warren
AnswerID: 86917

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:06

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:06
Hi aussichef.I ve got the same model wagon as you and get about the same results as you do.These guys are just some bais when it comes to this kind of thing.
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 345543

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:42

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:42
hang a sec aussichef ......david AU was posying a follow up to bonzo post not yourse. Have a look and settle down.

It is interesting that topics like these get right out of hand.
however somehtimes people reaaly want to bleive in fairy tails and bonzo yourse is a beautie.
for the non mechanical out there the biggest restriction in a TD motor is the turbo compression hub.
Ay idle its only turning about 30k a minute. haveing an inlet device upstream or down stream from the compressions wheel dosnt matter the restrictor is the compression wheel. when the air hits the wheel the air stalls around the hub then is pumped through.
to say the turbo engine spooled up 300 rpm earlier is impossible. no if no but its a law of phyisics ,there will be no corrspondence entered. Take it out with Isaac newton if you wish.
with that i'm takeing a screen shot and posting it to nasa. i'm sure the shuttle could do with one of there.

shadow ....shhh... I keep seeing stupid people.

FollowupID: 345572

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:43

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:43
No

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 86926

Reply By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:24

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:24
Off course they can help for some vehicles, the underlying theory is sound and used by motor designers. However it depends on the vehicle, if there are any problems in the design or manufacture in the breathing department then yes it can help. They were around in another guise a couple of decades ago and worked on a bigger range of cars but now vehicles are better designed and manufactured so there can be little or no improvement. So do they work, yes, will they work on your specific vehicle, don't know unless you try. If you have a full flow exhaust (reduced back pressure) and a vehicle that has a good induction system then it's unlikely to give an improvement you can feel.
AnswerID: 86944

Reply By: Member - Johnno - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:53

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:53
Fitted 2 to my 100 series std diesel with only discernable difference as far as I can make out being a much much smoother idle, which in itself is almost worth the cost as in the tropics we always run engine for the airconditioning if sitting in the car whilst standing/ waiting for someone etc.
AnswerID: 86950

Reply By: Howard T - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:57

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:57
Got one on me series 80. My opinion buy 2 @ $150 each. Send em back within 30 days get your refund and fit a snorkel.
But just my opinion.
AnswerID: 86970

Follow Up By: David Au - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:09

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:09
What is a snorkel going to do for you?
Certainly not improve your performance.
FollowupID: 345616

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:04

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:04
David Au
Now you have opened a can of worms.
I (for one) can declare that a snorkel does dramatically improve fuel consumption. Cleaner- cooler air- with a slight increase of positive induction does wonders for my Rodeo V6 petrol.
Before snorkel fitting...average 15.4l/100km..over 4500kms using standard unleaded...after snorkel and NO other changes to vehicle or driving style..same situations now 13.1l/100km.
Other changes slight increase in pulling power up a particular hill in my area.
Ok..i'm not using a dyno or ASA fuel test..just a bit of common sense and cynical obseravtion.
FollowupID: 345636

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:17

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:17
In agreement with snokels......i went from 30-35 ltrs per hundred kms down to 22-27 with a airflow snokel on my fj60 series. i was stocked the best $200 dollars I've ever spent. It also gave 10kms more to speed . got to 120 kms flat bikkies.... gee that 60 series chewed some juice.
shadow
FollowupID: 345638

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:11

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:11
Sorry David, I gotta go with these guys, I was convinced a snorkel would make no economy difference but it does on my 1kz-te TD. I only bought it so I didn't drown the donk, but at a very least I was getting another 30-40km out of 50L of diesel. Don't know what that works out to in per 100km but pretty damn good IMO.
FollowupID: 345662

Follow Up By: Smocky - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:52

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:52
Hi Signman,

just so I understand this, I have a 2004 RA Rodeo 3.5L Petrol Auto(which I'm VERY happy with by the way). The only slight complaint I have is that I have to fill up so damn often. I don't care that much about the fuel economy, it's just that with a 70L tank, I only get low 400's before having to refuel.

Will fitting a Snorkel to my Rodeo really improve economy? Any suggestions on which one? I'll have it fitted this weekend.

Cheers, and thanks very much.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 345792

Reply By: Howard T - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:50
Sorry mate. Dont wish to start a bum fight but........diesels just luv air.........more air more they purrrrrr........well at least mine does.
AnswerID: 86984

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:37

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:37
Maybe this has nothing to do with it but I removed two restrictors out of a 1992 holden Jackaroo 1992 V6 exhaust and noticed enough of a change in my economy that I am glad I have done it. Personally a good exhaust is more help than a Hiclone thingee.

It seems weird but by the time the air has reached the piston it has gone around bends and twists so would that not kill the rotation of the air. It cannot increase the pressure as It is a bit of steel or chrome.
Just my opinion

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 87001

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:50
you nailed it one . after a 90 degree turn in the pipeing all the vortex would be lost. you then have the manifolds the inlet ports........
if you want increase the mixture flow you would be better off putting etch swirls on the inlet valve heads now that helps i got 2 hps out of a motoguzzi v650 4V motor useing that type ov valve. {mind you i just could have slapped the heads back on a bit better.}

shadow
FollowupID: 345657

Reply By: ev700 - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:12

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:12
With all of the fierce competition in the vehicle market and all of the $millions spent on research, wouldn't the car companies jump at a chance to improve economy and performance if it was as easy as fitting this device?

The entrepreneurs who sell after market stuff focus on making you dissatisfied with what you've got and then offer a 'solution'. It's about emotion, the heart ruling the head.

In marketing, it's good to use technobabble like 'fuel vortexes' - have a look at the 'techno' bumpf spruiked in daytime advertorials to trap women into buying expensive anti aging cremes that do SFA.

AnswerID: 87108