<span class="highlight">Child</span> Restraints and Rear Drawers

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:03
ThreadID: 28653 Views:2033 Replies:4 FollowUps:11

I am looking at buying some second hand outback _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for my 100 series.

I will need to relocate the child restraint anchor points.

Has anyone had this done professionally? I am located in Sydney. I have been told i need an engineers certificate.

All comments and suggestions appreciated.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:42

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:42
Dave,

You will have to go to a Child Restraint Fitting Station. They will be able to relocate the child restraint and then issue a certificate for the modifications.
The yellow pages should be able to point you in the right direction.

AnswerID: 142666

Reply By: Ozman - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:46

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:46
thanks Wayne. I tried that they wanted over $500.....
AnswerID: 142667

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:53

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:53
I guess from that response you figure your kids aren't worth that...

There's a price tag attached to an engineer taking responsibility for the decision as to where the mounting points get moved to. Unfortunately the price tag is probably proportional to the likelihood of the average joe suing the engineer if the kids come to harm later.

FollowupID: 396222

Follow Up By: Ozman - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:22

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:22
My son is worth the world.

thats exactly why i want it done correctly.

what i meant was ...... second hand _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx plus about 500 is almost the same cost as new _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx that have restraints fitted!

i work with engineers every day and i understand why the cost are what they are.

I had some constructive feedback which is what i was after!

FollowupID: 396231

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:12

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:12
Sorry mate, misunderstood the context of the response.

It's amazing how many people don't think that way.

I am constantly amazed by the number of people who have their kids inappropriately, inadequately or completely unrestrained in vehicles. In my line of work it's very frustrating.

FollowupID: 396237

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:42

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:42
Funny thing Dave,

When I was a kid(yeah I know it was a long time ago..lol), there were no seat belts in cars, no child restraints( we all used to sleep or travel lying down on the back seat or such, and we used to ride in the back of utes.

I cannot recall anyone of my era being hurt whilst travelling around.

But then again, there were a lot less vehicles around :o)
FollowupID: 396264

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:50

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:50
"I cannot recall anyone of my era being hurt whilst travelling around. "

Sounds like you may have knocked your head a few times though:)

FollowupID: 396276

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:40

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:40
Hi Willem,

I too can remember family holidays to Qld where mum and dad drove through the night and the three of us kids slept in the back of the station wagon with the seat folded down on a double foam matress.

That would have been about 1975 or 76 I reckon.

But then you could drink and drive back then & in all likelihood get away with it - Random Breath testing was introduced in Victoria in 1976. It was around then we still had open speed limits in some areas too. No crumple zones in cars, no collapsible steering columns.

The road toll in the early 1970's was into the low 1000's per year and the injuries in people that weren't killed were horrific.

Ambos that were working back then regularly attended quadruple fatals - a very rare occurrence these days. They will tell of 4 bed cars (as opposed to single bed cars these days) and the two top stretchers were fibreglass bottomed so that they could load the bodies of the fatalities on the top beds without the blood running onto the patients below. And of telling white lies to the patients about the outcome of their fellow travellers at least until you could get them to hospital.

I still work in one of the worst areas of Victoria for road trauma but it's nothing like the mud, blood & beer days as they are referred to now by some. I still work with career ambos approaching 40 years in the job.

If you can't recall people being hurt, & you have the luxury of parents or much older friends to ask see if they can recall the roads and the friends they lost, particularly if they lived in a rural area.

It sound like you have a few years on me Willem but even I can recall at least 4 friends lost to vehicle crashes in my late teens. There were only 25 of us in my year 12 group so that's a fair percentage.

Time dulls the memory, but I'd hate to wind back the clock.

FollowupID: 396289

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:44

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:44
Most of the fee is in the RTA's slice for doing the paperwork
FollowupID: 396311

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:57

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:57
Hey fellas

Don't get excited.

I am talking about the 40's and 50's....waaaaay back.

Yes, I lost a couple of good mates in car crashes. It happens. I have had a few crashes myself and have survived. The luck of the draw I guess.

I was just reflecting on my recollections of an era gone by in contrast with 2005.
FollowupID: 396371

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:56

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:56
Dave,

I had my license to fit child restraints and seat belts a few years ago when I had the 4wd shop. What they have quoted you sounds like a bar that goes across the back of the vehicle. I think that there is a better way.
Give Scott a ring at TJM Megastores at Emu Plains, 02 47 35 66 91, they are a child restraint fitting station. Being a 4wd shop and sell the draw system that you have should be able to help.

At the time that I was doing this the RTA didn't get any thing from the fitting station only that they could refer people to us that had to have child restraints fitted.

FollowupID: 396391

Reply By: STEVE069 - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:38

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:38
Hi Ozman,

Check your hand book some toyotas have anchor points in the roof in the cargo area.

AnswerID: 142673

Follow Up By: Member - Bware - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:14

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:14
Yeah, my 80series has them in the roof which keeps the strap out of the way when using the cargo area. Our 2nd car(2wd Kia) has the anchor points below rear hatch which makes packing bulky things like prams, suitcases,bikes etc impractical.

FollowupID: 396228

Follow Up By: Ozman - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:23

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:23

I have a 2004 100 series GXL and the only points are on the floor.

dave
FollowupID: 396232

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:26

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:26
G'day mate,

don't know where in Sydney you are but try Mobility Engineering in Hornsby and ask for Morry. If he puts an anchor point in the roof he will probably need to block one of the existing points in the floor, due to load restrictions.

mobility engineering

cheers.
AnswerID: 142727